QUOTE(Tikietic @ Apr 14 2015, 01:22 PM)
first question would be.. what is your expectation of a coffee latte drink?
if your expectation is high/decent.. your initial "cost" maybe relatively higher than a cincai coffee drinker ba..
most coffee machine of this "category" usually suffers from a very inflexible/short/underpowered steam wand.. the steam heater/boiler is small relatively to those bigger sized espresso machine..
the ECC155 is a step better than those 2-5watt toy machines..
are you planning to source all your gears strictly from m'sia? if yes, that's probably among the lowest price machine you can get(EC155) RM600 - RM900.. for your coffee grinder to pair with this EC155, am not sure if you're willing to part with crazy amount of money for a "decent" grinder? cos, a "decent" burr grinder can cost RM2,000 in m'sia..
else you can start off with a hand grinder.. something that looks like this:
else something in the middle like the Baratza Virtuso Coffee Grinder..
Haha, in term of my personal expectation and that is really hard to come into a conclusion because as a newbie I don't quite know how does a really "good" latte should taste like.
Maybe I would say start with Latte from cafes like coffee smith or other similar chain as a reference. Let's just say making Latte taste similar to these cafe will be my baseline and the ability to exceed that is my ultimate expectation. Of course, I am not saying I will expect the coffee machine to churn out good coffee right off the bat, but rather I would be able to start making good coffee with these machines that is able to meet my end goal as my technique improved with training.
So the problem with the EC155 is the underpowered wand and shorter steam thus causing milk steaming process lengthy and difficult? That's irritating for sure since I usually start my day with a cup of coffee before work. Who would want late for work

Do you have recommendation for a espresso machine around the similar price point that does not suffer from this problem?
I searched Baratza Virtuoso and got the result "Baratza Virtuoso Burr Espresso Grinder V2" at SeattleCoffeeGear.com, not sure if this is the model you mean. I look at the price and it is within my acceptable range and have good reviews too. I would throw money at this model if this is what you recommend a good grinder for a beginner.
I kinda hit by dilemma here, with a espresso machine that cost RM900 and a grinder that cost another ~RM800, would it be better to wait for sale and purchase a all-in-1 machine like the Breville BES870? Or espresso + grinder combo is much more worth the money ?
Top up question, is the grinder found on the Breville BES870 on par with the performance of the Baratza Virtuoso?
This post has been edited by Cyclone1: Apr 14 2015, 02:21 PM