Google NEXUS 7 Official Thread @V2, Officially available in msia! RM999/16GB

mydragoon
post Sep 19 2012, 01:19 PM

7,044 posts

Google ending its $25 gift card promotion for the Nexus 7 on September 30th
http://www.bgr.com/2012/09/18/nexus-7-25-g...september-30th/

When Google (GOOG) launched the Nexus 7 tablet earlier this year, the company offered early adopters a $25 credit to its Play store along with each purchase. The Internet giant on Tuesday reminded users on Twitter that the promotion will run for a few more weeks until it expires on September 30th. The redeemed credit will be available for use on apps, books, movies, TV shows, magazines, games and music in the Play store until September 2013, at which time all remaining funds will be lost. The Nexus 7 is available directly from Google and select retailers in 8GB and 16GB models for $199 and $249, respectively.

just curious... those who bought from local (like DirectD, etc)... your warranty starts when?
mydragoon
post Sep 20 2012, 08:16 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(dreamwar @ Sep 20 2012, 08:04 AM)
Erm, what kind of tax involved? No gst yet..
We are located in Asia which is having advantage geographically, I wouldn't think the shipping fee would cost hundreds to arrive. At 999 price tag, it would be the world most expensive nexus 7 without vat or gst..
not 100% sure, but there are things like SIRIM certification, etc...

plus, Asus... being a 'big' company, sure wanna max their profit la... so, no doubt marking up higher...

for me... i'd look into AP units... i'm expecting prices to drop soon.

but i do wonder if they'd bundle in some freebies. I think it was amazon (or one of the big online companies) selling N7 at usd249 but free original N7 case. that's in US la... but still... goes to show we're still not being treated nice enuff... :S
mydragoon
post Sep 21 2012, 09:44 AM

7,044 posts

hmmm... as expected... AP prices have dropped... biggrin.gif nice!
mydragoon
post Sep 21 2012, 10:21 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(ray71 @ Sep 21 2012, 09:59 AM)
so... should i buy ap or the one brought in by asus? ap price at 949 bundle with a few accessories...
warranty wise... should not be any different. but i'm just curious when warranty starts for the AP set... the day the AP dealer bought or the day we buy? smile.gif

also... what accessories you getting free for AP? i'm actually planning to get 1 as well... looking for best deal.
mydragoon
post Sep 21 2012, 04:27 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(eric_tan @ Sep 21 2012, 03:54 PM)
I think it is a "FAIR" price.... in fact I will be getting the Local unit...

Don't forget Asus needs to make a little money, to cover overheads for the Warranty... don't forget Senq or whoever reseller needs to make a profit... and remember this... if you only earn 5-10% markup... you want to do this business?

if you guys know how much margin all the Parkson/Jusco or even Lowyat Plaza mobile/computer reseller margin.. you also would be complaining la.... you think they really only EARN rm5 per CPU meh? lol....

most people here don't do business.... thus they complain expensive.... if you importer, or do any retail business..... you'll be surprise how much the shop markup is....

First Rule of any business: TO MAKE A PROFIT tongue.gif
since we're discussing the rm999 price tag... i'll chip in my view...

in the end, rm999... its up to the individual to see whether it is worth it or not. some ppl pay rm1mil for a car... some ppl think it's stupid yet others think the rm1mil is worth it.

asus already made some money when they 'sold' the N7 to Google. as for shipping cost, etc... N7 probably made in TW or maybe CN... shipping it to US will cost more or shipping to MY?!?

retail shops in US also sells N7... that means even at the USD249, Asus made money. Google made (a bit) of money... Retailers made some money...

to google... whether people buy from Play store or not... their core business is still ads. ppl dun buy apps but as long as they surf the internet, download FREE apps that uses ads, Google already made some extra money...

so, in regards to rm999 price... i think Asus MY is just milking the most of of N7... they know the demand is there... they might as well make the most out of it...

update1: i'm still evaluating my options... SenQ's offer seems attractive -- 2yrs warranty. i guess it's a member's only thing and i need to topup about rm30 to be member... warranty might be a good idea considering so many complaints abt defects... i'm still waiting for AP sets to drop in prices.

but my Q about AP set is... when does their warranty start? dowan to go buy AP set just to find out warranty started 2 months back... (the day dealer bought the set from US) biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Sep 21 2012, 04:30 PM
mydragoon
post Sep 21 2012, 05:33 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(eric_tan @ Sep 21 2012, 04:59 PM)
I think its not ASUS milking us.... its a margin allocated for the Reseller.... Asus already made their share.... These margin let it be 10,20,25,30% that the shop makes.... if the shop wants to give you discount, its from their Margin....

Don't take it personal.... its only business..... you think rental in MidValley cheap? or Lowyat Plaza?

You can buy from Google at that price (US250), because there is no middle man.... Google probably gave up their profit margin.... and also as a "marketing strategy"
dun worry... i'm not taking anything personally with this... but...

rental... they should factor this into their business plan when they setup the outlet la... and... the outlet solely selling N7 meh? no ma... biggrin.gif

in US... i can buy from google or i can also buy from retail outlets like Staples. price is the same. biggrin.gif
mydragoon
post Sep 21 2012, 11:30 PM

7,044 posts

this is probably my last post about the pricing...

I think it's normal for us to have negative reaction to the local pricing...

AP dealers were previously selling at the same price. these dealers probably got their stock from a middleman who probably got it from USA. the N7 probably came from a factory in China. but you see, even with so many levels, everyone is making money...

in the local set from Asus, it's probably shipped direct from China, cutting down a few layers. yet, price is at rm999, what the AP dealers were charging then.

it's kinda obvious that Asus is being very greedy...

oh ya... i dun think Asus MY even mentioned about the usd25 credit for Google Play.

Added on September 21, 2012, 11:31 pm
QUOTE(devour @ Sep 21 2012, 11:25 PM)
shocking.gif why Samsung rclxms.gif
Samsung is the famous and #1 Android manufacturer... :-)

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Sep 21 2012, 11:31 PM
mydragoon
post Sep 21 2012, 11:46 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(catsper @ Sep 21 2012, 11:37 PM)
The $25 credit offer will expired soon, even in the US.
yes, I know.. probably by the time local dealers get the official units from Asus, it's past the expiry... heh heh...
mydragoon
post Sep 22 2012, 07:48 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(readix @ Sep 21 2012, 07:12 PM)
where did you get for 949?? biggrin.gif
I believe 1 gadget and also direct d selling around that price now.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Sep 22 2012, 07:49 AM
mydragoon
post Sep 26 2012, 10:53 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(SiNkInG @ Sep 26 2012, 10:12 AM)
hi,

new N7 user here...gt it from the shop in ss15...directd store...

mine is batch C90 as well but during purchase, i inspected N7 for any screen lifting issue but found none...

does it happen to the whole batch or just some N7 within the batch?

or did i miss something during inspection? icon_question.gif

btw those ppl who bought from the shop in ss15 or directd store did you ppl ask about the warranty? when i asked the sales person told me no need to fill the warranty book just bring N7 to ASUS if any prob...there is only a sticker there...
when i was at their shop last weekend, i asked and they said warranty starts on the day of purchase. honestly, i also dunno how that works... how would Asus know when i bought? maybe they just BS...

but anyway, later when i go there again... i will try and ask for a more definite answer.
mydragoon
post Sep 27 2012, 08:48 AM

7,044 posts

got a set from DirectD. rm948. C8O.

asked one of the guys why someone say got C9O and now i get C8O... he said the batch they get is mixed.

anyway, i'm ok as long as insides are ok la... opened and checked. good. 2 pin adaptor, though.

for warranty, he said just show Asus the receipt their issued and it will be fine. 1 year from the date of purchase.

yes, i still think rm999 is silly... regardless of how some go out and defend Asus MY. so, i went with DirectD instead. they had stocks. would have wanted to try out the other guy offering rm900... but i think no stocks at the moment.

am i happy... yes. biggrin.gif
mydragoon
post Sep 27 2012, 09:06 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(ian90 @ Sep 27 2012, 08:57 AM)
hi all,
im planning to buy this for my sister's birthday soon...
her main use would be reading pdf documents when commuting. anyone hav any experience doing tat? can let me kno how does it perform as an e-reader?

also, what's the difference between C9O and C8O? i kno im lazy to go read thru the thread. tongue.gif
nolar, just an indication of the manufacturing batch... 8 = August; 9 = September. of course usually the latest batch is best... biggrin.gif

but as long as the unit is OK (*ahem* and cheap), what batch... who cares. biggrin.gif
mydragoon
post Sep 27 2012, 10:09 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(ian90 @ Sep 27 2012, 10:00 AM)
thanks for the info!
so... is there any diff between 'malaysia set' and US set in terms of location settings?
i think some ppl in forum is selling US set coz it's cheaper rite?
difference between US and MY... the adaptor. MY sets will come with 3 pin power adaptor.

US set that i got... 2 pin adaptor.

not sure what you mean by location settings... if you mean the usd25 google play credit, just follow the steps mentioned in earlier posts. it should work regardless of where the unit is from, as long as you do it before the deadline -- fyi, that offer expires sometime end of this month.

yes, US set is cheaper because the people bringing it in is not that greedy. biggrin.gif

MY set is brought in by Asus Malaysia and RRP is rm999.

Added on September 27, 2012, 10:14 amthe set i bought was a gift... so no chance to try this out...

but i'm wondering... how is the usd25 play store credit determined? unit id? google account?

the thing is...
#1. can someone in US buy 1 unit, register and get usd25, return the unit (7 days money guarantee or maybe RMA), then get another unit, sign up and get another usd25?

#2. or does it work by google account -- meaning 1 account entitled to only 1 time usd25 regardless of how many N7 you own

#3. does it also mean that 1 N7 can be used to get many rounds of usd25 if you factory wipe and add a different google account?

anyone flashing and modding...? can try the above if you have more than 1 google account? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Sep 27 2012, 10:14 AM
mydragoon
post Sep 27 2012, 10:43 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 27 2012, 10:41 AM)
I think Google is not that dumb to allow such unethical, dishonest opportunistic methods
It is restricted to only one gmail account
hmmm... then 1 device... claim usd25... wipe, add a different account... can get usd25 on another account?

asking also coz... those units that get rejected (RMA, etc)... if they do get re-sold... if device ID is used... then could be a problem for those who get those 'rejected' unit...

but if no device ID is used to block... then if someone got 3 google accounts... that's usd75. biggrin.gif
mydragoon
post Sep 27 2012, 10:56 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(kof91 @ Sep 27 2012, 10:46 AM)
if you time travel back to 21 july it works.. google patches it already now..
1 device 1x25usd.. 2nd account on same device will not get u additional 25usd
ah... i see. ok. biggrin.gif
mydragoon
post Sep 27 2012, 04:52 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Sep 27 2012, 03:28 PM)
got new promotion apps list?
can also see: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2525288/+40

for the non-apps, you'll need VPN to buy them... i'm referring to the books, music, movies, magazines.
mydragoon
post Sep 27 2012, 05:07 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(ian90 @ Sep 27 2012, 05:02 PM)
um. jz wanna ask if the 25USD credit is tied to the google account?
'coz im thinkin of buyin this for my sister... but i wouldnt be able to giv it to her in time b4 the promotion ends this sunday =(
well, if you have the set with you, you can try asking her for the login and set it up for her... or, just use it for your own account. then wipe the N7 and give it to her. biggrin.gif

but if your N7 only coming after the end of the promo... too bad lor...
mydragoon
post Sep 29 2012, 02:50 PM

7,044 posts

weird... i'm having problem using my usd25 credit. at first... RBC error.

tried changing home address but got problem. now can't even puchase anything from the 25bil sales... when i try to puchase, it says technical error... *sigh*
mydragoon
post Sep 29 2012, 04:51 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Sep 29 2012, 07:27 AM)
I got "RBC" error with my USD25 credit
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1838710
My default credit card (VISA type) is already set to US as the country. Any idea?
QUOTE(garytey @ Sep 29 2012, 07:40 AM)
hi, when i trying to update my google wallet account's home country to US(follow 1st page,even the address), im getting Updating Settings failed. Please try again later.

follow the link of shah method http://www.shahz.net/android/25-dollars-go...outside-us.html
do we still need to change home address to US???
i am still getting error when trying to change my home address...

so now, my situation... claimed the USD25 but can't use it. can't change address. getting error... *sigh*
mydragoon
post Sep 29 2012, 05:07 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Sep 29 2012, 04:59 PM)
how come you can't use it? i can use mine..what kind of issues u getting when u try to use it?
when click to purchase, the normal screen that appears next is select payment type -- card, etc...

but for me... after click... i get this error:

0.0479sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:06 AM