11 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 >Bottom

Google NEXUS 7 Official Thread @V2, Officially available in msia! RM999/16GB

TSmtxx
post Oct 12 2012, 11:15 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(Garmin_GPS @ Oct 12 2012, 10:59 AM)
guys, advice needed.

If my fren going to usa soon, may i just ask him to help me buy behalf there since its international warranty.

Pro: cheaper price
Cons: any one can share? exactly the same right?

thanks in advance
U can buy more n sell here.
Buy 16gb sell for 850-900 here.
Make some profit.

Same except the charger

Not a problem since international adapter just rm5 in any hardware shop
TSmtxx
post Oct 12 2012, 07:32 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Oct 12 2012, 07:28 PM)
Same. Stock rom but rooted. Received an update yesterday from system update but failed to update. Any workaround?
Rerun system update but cannot get update. Still 4.1.1
you got change system UI?
you fully on stock rom?
any slight change also will cause it to fail.
TSmtxx
post Oct 12 2012, 08:02 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Oct 12 2012, 07:59 PM)
Guys flashed 4.1.2 with 3.41 bootloader successful. Root device with tookit. Now cannot boot to recovery. It show an android with red exclaimation mark. Any idea to fix this problem?
install rom manager, flash cwm touch.
go cmw once using rom manager
when you enter cwm, it will ask something like want to disable stock recovery or not. say yes.

from this point on can always enter cwm without usb cable anymore.
TSmtxx
post Oct 13 2012, 09:58 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Oct 13 2012, 09:13 PM)
Did cwm nandroid backup for 4.1.2 is 2.88gb. Blardy big file. Uncle Benny mentioned if TWRP backup is less than 1gb. Any body done this?
the more aps you install, the bigger the cwm backup.
my cwm backup is 2.18gb.

benefit of cwm is you can make several backup, the file size still about the size of 1 cwm backup only.
if you're on the same rom.

TSmtxx
post Oct 14 2012, 12:21 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Oct 13 2012, 11:09 PM)
Try to transfer cwm backup to PC. Abort coz too slow. Now converting  blog file to zip. Is there a better option?.
What's the plot of making cwm backup if u never keep it in ur device?

Its called a backup. When something screw up u cn restore from it.
If your backup is in ur PC its totally useless. Always keep one copy in our device.

If u want to keep our backup in PC.
Use toolkit to perform cwm backup while USB is plug in.
TSmtxx
post Oct 14 2012, 11:54 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Oct 14 2012, 03:29 AM)
rclxm9.gif Finally managed to get 4.1.2 installed on my nexus 7. This is how is achieve it (if you get exclamation mark-red when update to 4.1.2)

Note: Backup App & data
1. Use wug 1.5.3
2. Select Back to Stock and flash stock rom
3. Finally OEM Lock.
4. System Update again. (Tested if just OEM Lock without Flash Stock rom does not work for me).
5. Restore App & data
isnt it easier and faster to sideload using adb? lol...
oh ya and wugfresh toolkit got some failure history,
mskip toolkit safer.
TSmtxx
post Oct 14 2012, 05:22 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(tennytyy @ Oct 14 2012, 04:21 PM)
RM500 for a Nexus 7, cool  drool.gif
Day dream...that only will happen when all Google service available here, what's taking so long. Faster open play store in more country can get more money ma. What the heck are they waiting for.

Quickly open play store for movies.
TSmtxx
post Oct 14 2012, 07:50 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Oct 14 2012, 06:48 PM)
sweat.gif  sweat.gif Why is it impossible? Since that's the price in US and there's always ppl who bring them in to sell. I don't see why it's impossible. Not saying that hoping Asus will bring in at that price point pun. Anyway, all these are rumours. Can be fake  tongue.gif
if people bring in to sell to you, sure they earn profit also ma.
will add maybe 200-300.

i bought from garage sales 16gb also around close to 1k.
same as the RRP that is considered expensive by many people
TSmtxx
post Oct 14 2012, 09:21 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(anderu87 @ Oct 14 2012, 08:52 PM)
C9O batch is not free of screen lift, I just played shadowgun around 15 mins and now i see screen lift on the left  cry.gif
sceen lift is so trivial, i dont see it as an issue.
mine also got. but never notice it.
yawn...

Added on October 14, 2012, 9:25 pm
QUOTE(G-17 @ Oct 14 2012, 08:48 PM)
Believe me, if it was up to Google, they would open the Play Store to the entire world since day 1. Sadly, the reality is very different. You have the movie studios, publishers, recording companies, regional distribution houses and censorship bodies of each individual country to deal with. One wrong move and they face massive  lawsuits.

Even then you have some stupid governments to deal with. Great example would be Malaysia. Remember, this is a country where some idiot decided to ban Daredevil because it contained the word "devil" in it, thinking it would turn our youth into satanic worshipers. I think the VCD/DVD pirate warlords have a better chance of opening their own "Play-Play Movies" to sell pirated movies (since easy for local gangsters to bribe the local politicians)  than Google opening an official legal Play Movies.

That's the one thing that I prefer in iOS. It's easier to "cheat" Apple. You buy a iTunes gift card online, sign up with a US iTunes account (trust me, thousands of Malaysians have the same US address, which is probably some Starbucks somewhere) and buy everything with that US gift card. Even if Apple knows the location you're buying from, they won't stop you. Google on recently released Play Store cards, so I haven't tried that method yet for Android.
daredevil was one of my favourite movie. i know it was banned but never know the reason.
its was ban due to the word devil? wth man.....so silly.

haiz...if thats the case,i think google wont ever open google movie here.
but if they are smart and want to earn money. will do the apple way like you mentioned.
i really rather buy a movie from play store. same price as go cinema.
but i can watch together with my gf, let my family watch and support the movie producer.

i never buy movie from play store before, how does it work?
i hope its not a "see once and it will be deleted" kind of thing, i should be able to keep it, and watch any time later, as many times as i want right? is it downloaded into sd, or only streaming?

This post has been edited by mtxx: Oct 14 2012, 09:25 PM
TSmtxx
post Oct 14 2012, 11:26 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(nakTT @ Oct 14 2012, 10:31 PM)
Well I guess we will just have to wait for Oct or Nov batch then.
i thought you're not buying?
previously i remember you keep complaining expensive.

anway, now is not a good time to buy,
you may want to wait for the 32gb model
or wait for the 3g model, if there ever will be one?
or maybe just go with the ipad mini.

This post has been edited by mtxx: Oct 14 2012, 11:27 PM
TSmtxx
post Oct 15 2012, 08:33 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(G-17 @ Oct 15 2012, 07:35 PM)
Just noticed something strange, and want to confirm if others have experienced this as well.

Now, after the 4.1.2 update (stock AOSP)  a few days ago, if I turn the Nexus 7 off (not standby, but complete shutdown), plug it in and turn on the charger, it automatically boots up again. Before the update, if you turned it off and plugged it in, it would still remain off, just showing that big white battery icon.

Unsure if this is a bug or feature. Not really a big deal since I've hardly ever turned it off, but it's just something I noticed out of the blue.
Just test.
Shut down n plug charger.
It doesn't boot by itself.
Only show big white charging icon.

U must have press the power button by accident
Or got some pesky kid go play with ur tab
TSmtxx
post Oct 15 2012, 11:02 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(ho-ll @ Oct 15 2012, 08:52 PM)
I have one concern here, in fact a big one. Yesterday night before I sleep I still have battery level around 70%. And a moment ago when I was back from work, the battery level dropped dramatically to only 17%!!!

Is that normal? I on my WIFI. Previously when I used Ipad 3 with WIFI on, it only drops less than 5% if stay idle.

What has went wrong here??
confirm got something running at the back lo.
some badly written app/games if you press home button to go home screen, it continue run.

easiest way is go settings>battery
and see which is the highest percentage app.

mine i go sleep everynight with wifi on, maybe drop 1-5% only.
depending on how many sync by my google reader/fb/google+ apps.
my tablet, i never ever off its wifi and sync.

Added on October 15, 2012, 11:05 pm
QUOTE(G-17 @ Oct 15 2012, 09:38 PM)
Nope. No kids here, and I'm pretty sure I didn't press anything by accident. I can reproduce the situation as many times as I want, it's always the same result. It will turn on by itself the moment I press the wall switch where the adapter is plugged in.

Funny enough, I just noticed something new. If I turn on the wall switch first and then plug in the tablet (while off) it will charge while off just displaying that white battery icon. But if I plug it in and then turn on the wall switch, it boots up.

Weird O_o?
that is not weird...its spooky blink.gif

This post has been edited by mtxx: Oct 15 2012, 11:05 PM
TSmtxx
post Oct 17 2012, 01:43 PM

5,011 posts

Hi guys, TS here.

i would like to inform that i wont be opening V3.

main reason why i folo thread at V1 was because want to purchase nexus7 as soon as possible. when open V2, i thought will have lots of fun discussion about custom roms and general interesting cool stuff.

I tried numerous custom roms, but i feel that stock is the best in terms of fluidity (maybe project butter works best on stock?) and battery life. another reason is stock rom easier to receive updates from google. I will stay on stock rom permanently.

another thing is that, most of the discussion here is too repetitive, always repeating on the how to claim 25usd, rumoured 32gb, 3g, complaining price expensive, discussion on manufacturing defect, and warranty claim. man....its gets really boring. its no longer fun and feels like a chore reading through comments here.

i attached the 1st,2nd and 3rd post in seperate text files in this post.
who ever wish to open V3, just download the text files and copy paste. it should work. pm me if any problem. i will help out as much as i can. icon_rolleyes.gif peace

Attached File(s)
Attached File  post1.txt ( 18.09k ) Number of downloads: 27
Attached File  post2.txt ( 40.2k ) Number of downloads: 9
Attached File  post3.txt ( 348bytes ) Number of downloads: 9
TSmtxx
post Oct 17 2012, 11:13 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(teonghan @ Oct 17 2012, 10:12 PM)
i opened up the back of my Nexus 7 in an attempt to fix the screen lifting issue and am very surprised to see 2 missing screws and some sort of permanent finger prints on the gold plate thingy. anyone got the same issue?
new batch c90 have reduce 2 screws.
i read in xda suppose to fix the screen lift issue.

mine is c70 batch, i folo also remove those said screws.
but still got screen lift.
sreen lift is the most insignificant minor flaws. nothing to worry.
people blow it out of proportion. it doesn affect performance, or screen sensivity.

as for fingerprint, not suppose to have,
maybe during manufacturing the workers accidentally touch without gloves on.
not really a big deal.

QUOTE(chrisyong @ Oct 17 2012, 10:40 PM)
nexus 7 cyanogenmod 10 nightlies vs stock rom any different?
Which 1 having more offer?
obviously cm10 got more features. you get extra profile feature, built in toggles,
volume button move typing cursor, new boot animation, calendar appear on lock screen, and many other stuff.

but not sure whether all these addons got impact on smoothness and battery life or not.

Added on October 17, 2012, 11:36 pmi read in jayceooi blog,
the 4.1.2 update got a hidden feature for nexus 7.

if you are rooted, use titanium backup,
check for list of frozen apps.

there will be a new keyboard called asus keyboard.
unfreeze it. then you will have a new keyboard.

asus keyboard looks ugly like shit compared to aosp keyboard,
but it does have swipe features. can swipe to type, not bad also.

This post has been edited by mtxx: Oct 17 2012, 11:36 PM
TSmtxx
post Oct 19 2012, 05:01 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Oct 19 2012, 04:57 PM)
Another method to fix screen lifting issue:- Glue. Here is how to do it:- XDA Senior Member ckl_88 has posted a method that uses glue—specifically epoxy and not super glue—to fix the screen lift issue. In this method, users take the device apart, use toothpicks to prop the screen up slightly, and administer the epoxy. Once finished, they put the screws back in, and rubber band the device. After checking to be sure that the screen lift isn’t there, drop a phone book on it and find something else to do for about 12 hours.

This method has seen some success and ckl_88 has said that the Nexus 7 was put through a considerable amount of testing afterward without the screen lift coming back. While it is a little more messy than the washer method, it gives users another shot at fixing their device if the washer method doesn’t work.
lol...again with the screen lift issue.

the lifting does not cause any harm and barely notice its there. whens the last time you look at the side of that tablet and focus really hard to check it lifted or not?

doing this, highlighted bold above, you actually risk REALLY damaging your tablet.
worth the risk? you tell me. rclxub.gif
TSmtxx
post Oct 19 2012, 05:34 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(BlackHyppo @ Oct 19 2012, 05:24 PM)
I cannot locate my device through the "maps" Apps from stock. Is it because I have set my location as USA when I register in Google wallet for that 25usd in play store?[attachmentid=3109686]
doh.gif if you no on gps and is indoor, how it work.
if you got wifi but no let tablet use your location how it work.
please go

>settings>location access> tick yes for (access to my location) and (wifi&mobile network location)

after this, very fast can find your location. doh.gif
TSmtxx
post Oct 19 2012, 07:40 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(chaics85 @ Oct 19 2012, 07:32 PM)
guys... new user here.. bought it last week, c90 batch.. so far so good.. unfortunately drop it inside lrt during my visit to kl.. scratch on the side.. cry.gif was trying to look for the casing at lowyat plaza.. but cant find any..

btw, can nexus 7 type chinese character or not? plz teach me.. noob in android thingy.. its such a hassle especially when wanna search for chinese related stuffs...

TQ..
if you read the first page.
got link where to buy accesories.

i really wonder people ever read the first post or not one.
waste time doing it only.

as for chinese character, just google "how to type chinese on android"
how hard could it be?

since you like spoon feed, open mouth, "aaa....."
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...od.pinyin&hl=en
TSmtxx
post Oct 19 2012, 07:53 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(yuxin90 @ Oct 19 2012, 07:50 PM)
lol....chill la bro....he still kinda new to android....dont you remember the last time u were new to android....yeah i understand ur frustration but not many new users know the first page has lots of info...most just search this forum and ask away.....
yup, i remember. thats why i still answer and give link.
while other senior member ignore only. tongue.gif

TSmtxx
post Oct 19 2012, 08:21 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(nanamizuki @ Oct 19 2012, 08:19 PM)
hello ts, cant find any information about nexus 7 batch thingy, what is c90 batch actually? had been search around google it is a fixed version of nexus 7? sweat.gif if so how to check whether it is c90 batch when purchase? tq laugh.gif
the 2nd number is the month it was manufactured.

c7 =july
c8=aug
c9=sept

mine is july c7 version.
unlucky got speaker prob, but asus repaired for free in 3 days so no complain.

every batch also got some unlucky people got issues.
but new batch should be less % to get problem la.

check the serial number printed at the box.
or open your back cover inside got a sticker is the serial number.
TSmtxx
post Oct 19 2012, 08:29 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(chaics85 @ Oct 19 2012, 08:22 PM)
doh.gif i actually read the 1st page la... just wanna go LYP search for something that i can see before buying.. no shop sell any there or i missed out, now PO a case from fellow forummer dy... hopefully will reach by next week..

i did dl google pinyin previously, just that i din see any globe icon like ipond when typing.. so, ma ask here lo..
anyway, thanks for the help, now i can type chinese characters dy...  notworthy.gif
ok sorry for being harsh. had a bad day today. moody.

for android when you want to change keyboard, pull down the notification tray,
got a "choose input method", tap that to change keyboard.

the google pinyin very good app, can use handwriting also.
i prefer it cos the qwerty keyboard no autocorrect, always type wrong.
writing is faster for me. try it yourself and see la. smile.gif

11 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 >Top

0.0482sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:34 AM