QUOTE(LittleBro @ Jan 11 2011, 07:32 PM)
Not flames, "sparks". If misfiring, sure got loud sound. And the sparks came after the car slowing down to idle.
if sparks i dunno liao... never seen any car can spit sparks out from their exhaust... Basic Intake and Exhaust Modification Guide, for normal aspirated cars v1.0
Jan 12 2011, 04:09 AM
10,975 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: disini disana |
Jan 27 2011, 01:47 AM
QUOTE(ss1st @ Jan 26 2011, 05:42 PM) What are the advantages and disadvantages of having single bullet and multiple bullets (can ones having more than 2 bullets in an exhaust system?)? More bullets, better sound dampening, more back pressure. Most setup requires at most 2 bullets. This also very much dependent on piping size, muffler type, extractor n engine tuning. I do understand that having bigger muffler will produce less noise (or am I?) but what about the tips? bigger = better or it's just pure cosmetic? Thank you sifus in advance for answering The tip size is mostly for cosmetic purpose. |
Feb 6 2011, 02:12 PM
QUOTE(Lineage @ Feb 6 2011, 11:15 AM) Hi all, yes should change all 1 shot... if not its an half arse job...I'm new in exhaust system..but willing to learn so I can mod it later for my Wira 4G15.. As in first post, TS recommend PowerZone 4-2-1 for 4G15..wanted to know how much for this in KL area? Besides that, it is necessary that we change whole exhaust system in 1 shot? Currently I'm planning to change my extractor first..because current extractor seems rusty and look "thin".. |
Feb 7 2011, 12:58 PM
QUOTE(ldhong @ Feb 7 2011, 12:24 PM) Rojak exhaust system compare to whole full exhaust system which better? Heard that if custom made in the right way better than the whole exhaust sys and it is cheaper rite??? custom made usually more expensive, depending on which workshop u go to.. and custom made not necessary better as the person who customs it for u might know nuts about ur car setup....Full exhaust system powerzone and hotbits which suitable for S. NEO? |
Feb 7 2011, 03:57 PM
Feb 8 2011, 01:53 AM
Feb 23 2011, 01:41 AM
QUOTE(jjjoooyyy @ Feb 22 2011, 11:04 PM) Hi all, i'm new in these, want to ask about intake manifold area i think, in 4g13 carb, the air intake take in exhaust hot air thru a small pipe into the intake piping. I thought cold air is better for engine? that is not necessary especially in hot climate country like malaysia... warm air intake is good for cold start to stabilize the rev and warming up the engine fast...(that's the stock config. ) just unplug the hose from the exhaust manifold heat shield and do a proper cold air intake for ur engine... |
Feb 25 2011, 12:25 AM
QUOTE(jjjoooyyy @ Feb 24 2011, 09:52 PM) oh... cz i wanted to extend the piping for the air filter kone, but the person at the shop said no need, take hot air only good, then show me the piping from the exhaust heat, i still said cold air better, till i bcame confuse.. then din change lo, haha. thanks for your reply, cold air is better... dun listen ur mechanic sinkalan... |
Apr 5 2011, 11:04 PM
Apr 12 2011, 06:40 PM
Apr 12 2011, 11:17 PM
Apr 22 2011, 03:45 AM
QUOTE(responsibleroy @ Apr 18 2011, 11:03 AM) i'm driving satria neo cps manual... should be ok i think... whats ur exhaust piping diameter??...currently i'm using 4-1 hotbits extractor and Turbo S mid-tail system (1 bullet+sflow muffler)... juz wanna know does my setup good enuf?? or do i need to change anything?? 4-1 extractor mainly useful for high rpm usage... perhaps good for high revving engine like campro cps... by using s-flow muffler, back pressure is kept in check so u dont lose so much low end torque.... QUOTE(samwongjyhhorng @ Apr 18 2011, 09:27 PM) my exhaust system setup is 4-2-1 powerzone extractor,2 bullet and s flow muffler for my persona auto..but i found tat my muffler sound quite loud..why will be like tis?any solution to reduce the sound? 2 bullet + s-flow muffler still noisy??.. if all 3 are working well (fiber still alot), ur sound level should be around the same as stock standard.... check if any unit of it has worn/burn out fiber inside... Added on April 20, 2011, 6:26 pmanybody wanna install s flow muffler?i got stainless steel s flow muffler for sell onli RM180..use less than 1 week QUOTE(richardt3o @ Apr 21 2011, 11:43 PM) I'm using a S flow setup. What is the use of bullet, extractor and CAT/CATless etc etc? When I change my setup, I didn't ask about those issue. Anyone mind teaching me? driving Auto tranny B16A btw. extractor - as its name said, it extracts exhaust pulse out from ur engine... a well tuned extractor creates scavenging effect which helps siphon out the exhaust has from combustion chamber (instead of having ur engine piston to push it out)... generally for inline-4 cylinder engine, extractor (or some people might call it header) is normally categorized as 4-2-1 or 4-1 formation depending on how the piping merge together... 4-1 mainly useful for high rev application while 4-2-1 suitable for street driving where most low-mid torque is utilized... of coz, under each category, there are long and shorts of primary piping and secondary piping to be considered besides having it equal or unequal length... and how collector box merge 2 or 4 pipes into 1.... its basically fluid dynamics theory...bullet is mainly used to suppress the sound of ur exhaust system... it also acts as a "reservior" or some sort to improve on throttle response... too big "reservior" will create turbulance inside which increases restriction in exhaust flow... while having no "reservior" will reduce throttle response as sudden increase in exhaust gas will have to "wait" or "line up" before exiting at the back.... CAT is a short form for catalytic converter... it is a very special resonator box which converts harmful CO gases emiting from ur exhaust into more environmental friendly CO2 gas.... it contants very expensive material inside, which we take for granted as it restricts exhaust flow.... removing the catcon is illegal in certain country.... but in malaysia, so far we are still not restricted to such environmental law... removing ur catcon improves exhaust flow, which will releases more hidden horsepower.... |
Apr 25 2011, 09:59 PM
QUOTE(richardt3o @ Apr 24 2011, 09:27 PM) Okay! I understand ur CAT explanations. yes... extractor is at the front part of ur exhaust system... attached to ur engine....is it right for me to say extractor (header) is link to exhaust? I dont get anything u said about bullets. LOL! sorry! mind explaining again? So technically, when I go for a exhaust setup, they will include CAT and bullet? bullets are mainly and widely known as noise resonator... it tones down the noise level of ur exhaust... but many exhaust tuner try with different types and size of the bullet to achieve different driving preference... lets say u are cruising at constant speed at 3k rpm.... the exhaust flow out from ur exhaust will also be constant... when u step on the accelerator pedal, engine suddenly takes in extra air... extra air going in must go out... but during this period, the exhaust flow travelling in ur exhaust pipe is constant... with a bullet, the sudden gush of exhaust pulse will fill up the bullet first... with this, ur engine will still be able to rev freely without having to deal with back pressure of the exhaust... different engine and different driving characteristics will give u different exhaust setup... ready made "package" allows for general street usage... these "packages" allows buyer to be less blur when changing their exhaust system... of coz, if u know ur fluid dynamics and automotive knowledge well, u can alwiz alter the "common" setting to suits ur own driving preference.... QUOTE(responsibleroy @ Apr 25 2011, 12:17 AM) since i bought an aftermarket mid-tail system, i dunno exactly how big is the diameter...but i think its not too big, around 1.5"-1.6" i guess both are almost equally similar in back pressure... having mandrel bent exhaust piping do improve exhaust gas flow... try ask around who had tried both setting to do comparison... i havent tried both of such setting before....Hotbits mid-tail system(1 centre box, 2 bullets, no muffler) vs Turbo S mid-tail system(1 bullet, s-flow muffler)... which is more silent and which will give more back pressure if the piping diameter is same or almost same?? QUOTE(Lineage @ Apr 25 2011, 08:40 PM) How long the fiber can last? if fiber no more already, what can I do? If fiber finish, performance will be affected? performance will be affected a little... but it will be more on audible side when fiber runs out (or burn out)....bullet kosong d, change new bullet lor.... just cut and weld new bullet in place only... there are quite alot of mid section bullets in the market... straight flow oval shape, straight flow round shape, spiral flow, long bullets, etc.... exhaust gas does not need to spiral passing through the piping... it needs to create a smooth pulse which helps in scavenging effect... shape of the mid section bullet determines how much volume inside, which in turn helps ur throttle response, as explained above.. one more thing... exhaust gas is hotter at the front side compare to the rear section because exhaust gas cools down as it flows through the exhaust piping via thermal transfer... exhaust gas travels fastest when it is hot and slows down when it cools... hence, some exhaust shop might recommend u to get a slightly larger piping up front (between extractor till mid bullet) and slightly smaller one at the back (after bullet till muffler)... smaller piping accelerates the exhaust flow so it will exit ur muffler fast... this setup is generally ok.... as long as its not smaller up front and bigger rear end.... |
Apr 26 2011, 06:36 AM
QUOTE(responsibleroy @ Apr 26 2011, 03:06 AM) i c... there wont be significant difference as long as ur fake one is working fine... what an air filter do is just to filter the air entering ur combustion chamber... it has no magic tricks up its sleeve...another question... right now i'm using a fake Apexi Dual Funnel open pod air filter, but planning to change to the priginal one... is there any significant difference between using the fake and the original one?? |
May 3 2011, 12:03 AM
QUOTE(responsibleroy @ May 3 2011, 12:00 AM) i heard using 4-2-1 extractor with s-flow muffler will give more more top speed than 4-1 with straight flow muffler... its not the more the better... the key is to get the optimum flow and back pressure for best performance preference...does it mean that more back pressure=more top speed?? |
May 4 2011, 02:20 AM
all i can say... 4-2-1 gives better mid-range torque... while 4-1 gives better horsepower at higher revs.... that is only the extractor configuration... piping diameter, primary and secondary piping length ratio, all takes into configuration in creating a suitable extractor for ur needs....
May 7 2011, 06:00 AM
May 8 2011, 06:15 PM
QUOTE(william85 @ May 8 2011, 05:50 PM) swirling bullet creates more backpressure.... possibly reduce less noise abit...exhaust gas does not need to swirl out... it should exit in pulse manner so that it is able to help scavenge the following pulse.... |
May 24 2011, 06:32 PM
May 25 2011, 03:31 AM
QUOTE(anti-LAx2 @ May 25 2011, 03:25 AM) How much would it normally cost for an exhaust set up for an auto car? whole exhaust setting without the extractor is around that price...Planning to install S Flow, bullet and change tip. Any other performance mod to recommend for low budget? Went to Everco to ask, quote me around RM680 just for the S Flow, RM250+ for the bullet and tip = RM1XX depends on design. Is this ridiculous or standard? I was shocked when he qoute me that kinda price. Please advise a reliable place to get my exhaust done and how much? Really low budget. |
| Change to: | 0.0568sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:48 PM |