Our country lack of doctor?

scorgio
post Mar 19 2006, 02:00 AM

4,693 posts

I said this all the time and I don't mind stressing it again.

DO NOT STUDY MEDICINE IF YOU DON'T HAVE A KIND HEART.

A DOCTOR IS A RESPECTED PROFESSION.

IF YOUR MOTIVATION IS MONEY, TRY DOING BUSINESS.

This post has been edited by scorgio: Mar 19 2006, 02:01 AM
silllver
post Mar 19 2006, 02:34 AM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Mar 19 2006, 02:00 AM)
I said this all the time and I don't mind stressing it again.

DO NOT STUDY MEDICINE IF YOU DON'T HAVE A KIND HEART.

A DOCTOR IS A RESPECTED PROFESSION.

IF YOUR MOTIVATION IS MONEY, TRY DOING BUSINESS.
you r right, i totally agree with you.. Bump the quote.
chicks
post Mar 19 2006, 07:25 AM

QUOTE(klifex @ Mar 19 2006, 01:41 AM)
which year u in already???..so fast tired already??...there's still more to suffer man...we have to struggle till the end to help people..u know how many people queuing outside for this medical degree??...haih...
i'm glad to findout that..the newpapers these days keep discouraging students from taking medicine...god, it's overloading already..pls dun push further..else, our medical degree will end up cheap ...

u r so luck to get send overseas...taking JPA or MARA or self sponsor?...
8 students is a good number...our 17 people is outrageous already... i think the medical schools should reevaluate their medical education system. Such system will only deteriote the quality of doctors..
yeah,i scared when the time i graduate MD already like salesman
i'm finish 2nd year this coming end of june..
is it true that newspaper discourage ppl take medic? chinese news paper or star?
isaac_lin
post Mar 19 2006, 11:48 AM

96 posts

By year 2015 to 2020, we will have enough doctors ( not sure about quality tho..) The target ratio of 1:600 doctors: patient will be achieve. Now there are so many places offering medicine, I am not sure what kind of doctors will we have in the future... but i am hopping for the best.

If u are thinking of doing medicine, here is something to think about.

Now when u graduate as a doctor, u are ensure a job in the government cos we lack doctors. The private sector is saturated, so gone are the days when u can just apply for a post and draw your 10k salary. For example, when a private hospital open up a post for a specialist recently , 20-30 specialist applied for it.

So fast forward to 2015, when u graduate, there will be so many doctors applying for a post in government hospitals. I have a feeling they will no longer be "automatic" given a job. Only the best will be selected. It make sense right?
So if u think doctors have very stable jobs, glamorous, and rich.... think again.

Gone are the days being doctors are rich, famous and secure. Do medicine only if u have interest.

0.0141sec    0.13    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:40 AM