Our country lack of doctor?

TSslashlink
post Feb 14 2006, 12:55 AM, updated 20y ago

117 posts

I post it here(education section) for the sake of the after-form-5 students.

While I was reading this post:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=249886&st=0

There are few remarks from the member who said that our country is lacking of doctor.
I believe many share the same view because few years ago, we read from the newspaper that we need to import foreign doctors.

However please read this:

A speech by Malaysia Medical Association on 23rd May 2003

There are still a large number of Malaysians studying Medicine in many universities in different parts of the world. The standards of these universities are very different and to ensure uniformity, the MMA urges the setting up of a uniform, fair assessment examination system for all medical graduates intending to practice in the country.

In 1990, there was one doctor for 2,569 population and currently, there is one doctor for 1,521 population. This ratio is comparable to doctor-patient ratio of developed countries. In major cities in Malaysia, the ratio is much lower sometimes even reaching a ratio of one doctor for 800 of population. Over-production of doctors will lead to unhealthy practices and it is now time to formulate a plan to train appropriate number of medical students to fulfill the future needs of the medical service in the country.

http://www.mma.org.my/current_topic/presidential03.htm

It is important to note that lacking of doctor only applies to rural area.

Chief Secretary of the Health Department Datuk Alias Ali said the government plans to recruit 400 medical specialists and 100 dentists.  He said the foreign doctors would ease the shortage of doctors in Sarawak, especially in rural areas.

and quoted from news,

The move is consistent with the ministry's plan to completely phase out all foreign doctors by 2009.

The bottom line.

choose medicine is really a bad option if you are financially ambitious. Working in rural area doesnt gain much money. Neither in the urban area coz u need to compete with many other doctor.

However,if you are motivated by wanting to improve the community's health, then.... study hard lor..and apply into medical school lor biggrin.gif

Mgsrulz
post Feb 14 2006, 02:39 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

most people dont want to come back here,because they have to serve a few years(not sure how many) for the government,before being able to set up their own clinic...

waste alot of time,leh...

furthermore,if they work in countries like the UK,they get alot more money.. smile.gif
jdreamer
post Feb 14 2006, 02:51 AM

Screw ITP!
11,092 posts

Yes, lack of caring doctors.
zimer
post Feb 14 2006, 03:52 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(jdreamer @ Feb 14 2006, 02:51 AM)
Yes, lack of caring doctors.
Bingo.

money or life, which is more important yawn.gif

but, well, not all doctors are like that smile.gif
deus_ex_machina
post Feb 14 2006, 08:28 AM

1,165 posts

as number of people in malaysia are increasing, the more doctors are required.
anubis
post Feb 15 2006, 12:23 AM

508 posts

In Malaysia i think u need to serve one year as a houseman, 3 more years as a medical officer. That translates to 4 years of compulsory service. Including 5 years of studying, it takes 9 years after you finish your pre U education.
So you will b in your late twenties when you open your own clinic.

-Jonathan-
post Feb 15 2006, 01:13 AM

Honorary Minister
1,430 posts

my God Parent's daughter is a doctor in UK, and it gives you fantastic returns. I honestly think alot of doctors here aren't professional enough. And yes, insufficient doctors, that mainly because courses are expensive.
Chriss
post Feb 15 2006, 01:26 AM

*** Lai liao ***
634 posts

For me there's alot of doctor out there as u can see so many private clinic.Anyone notice if there is more run by gov clinic increasing in numbers?Even there is its way too small in numbers sad.gif
Most doctor driving cont& premium branded car.Perhap they focus on how to make $ more than putting themself conducting social like work. cry.gif *sob* sad
Kabadi84
post Feb 20 2006, 06:06 PM

weeeeeee..................
1,012 posts

yup doctor jahat huhuhuhu ...but its hard to get a degree for medicine right now even some 10a student still have a slim chance to get the oppurtunities..........
lunarcry
post Feb 20 2006, 10:36 PM

90 posts

most local students who went to further their studies overseas would of course be tempted to serve overseas instead, especially if they're not sponsored. lots of money has to be poured in for the 5 years basic degree itself, especially if you're taking it in a private uni. and fresh grad docs in m'sia aren't being paid adequately. same goes for pharmacists. that's what i think.
luvfun
post Feb 21 2006, 08:27 PM

281 posts

yeah ... most ppl think that pay for docs here are too low.....
klifex
post Feb 22 2006, 02:12 AM

847 posts

too many factors leads to the lack of doctors in local gov sector...i'm one of future one to fill up these places~~haih~~just do what i can la~
WillHung
post Feb 22 2006, 02:49 AM

really meh?
1,211 posts

there will never be enough doctors.

edit: but to answer your question, yes.

This post has been edited by WillHung: Feb 22 2006, 02:50 AM
StarGhazzer
post Feb 22 2006, 10:26 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Chriss @ Feb 15 2006, 01:26 AM)

Most doctor driving cont& premium branded car.Perhap they focus on how to make $ more than putting themself conducting social like work.  cry.gif  *sob* sad
what's wrong with doctors driving expensive cars? as long as they bought it with their hard earned money, i see nothing wrong with it. No one complains about CEOs of big companies riding in S-classes, calling them to conduct social work flex.gif

it's true that we lack doctors... seriously. If you've been to government hospital's outpatient clinic, you'll know. A GP there sees at least 100 patients a day, and 100 is an understatement. Private clinics are not much better anyway, but at least they can control their working hours.

as for the low pay, comparatively to working overseas, definitely... that is if you consider the exchange rate. Doctors in malaysia should be paid more, no doubt about that. We should be grateful that an MO's starting basic pay has already increased compared to couple of years ago, even though it's still not as high as foreign countries.

For those who chose to work overseas after they graduate, it's their choice; no one is eligible to condemn them. BUT for those JPA students who don't want to come back and serve, they should be apprehended and punished. Severely. Hey, the government (that means the public, not the politicians) pays for your studies, it's only rightful that you serve them back...

I believe that the compulsory government service of 4 years for medical related occupations is reasonable. At least we'll have doctors to help lessen the burden of senior doctors in hospitals, and generally speaking, the more doctors, the better the care (again, generally speaking only)... and we as young doctors get to learn about the real deal before doing private service.

Sometimes it's unfair to categorize doctors as uncaring and only focused on earning money. There are patients who think of themselves as kings too.
klifex
post Feb 22 2006, 11:10 PM

847 posts

it's really unfair that the social always think that doctors who is rich arent passionate in their career in saving lives~~sad.gif
to tell the truth, doctors sacrifice a lot during their early days...strive hard to study, less holiday compare to others, pressure everyday facing different patient, different diseases..any mistakes can cause their license to be banned...well, to tell the truth, being doctors is not fun at all, because they are dealing with lives...
somemore nowadays patients are more educated...they tend to act know more than a doctor do...searching up the internet, challenge doctors qualification with the printed facts from internet...
being doctor aren't that easy anymore, simply because patient can gather a lots of information easily about a disease...

we cannot simply increase the seat of medical studies just because our country lack of doctors. quality of doctors definately will drop when too much students in a class...and nowadays, we have lots of privates medical school ...i always wonder what is the quality of these new schools...do they have enough equipments and facillities to teach students? i even heard that students learn anatomy from pictures..god...what a medical students..aren't they suppose to be open up cadavers?

medical studies are not like any other subjects...it's a lifetime studies...once you in it, you will need to up to date to the latest medical news and technology...every 5 years there will be an assessment for doctors to see whether they still fit in medical line o not...

for those who choose medicine as they career, they has to sacrifice many things in their life
Time for study.
holidays...
relationships...
money...

only those in medical line knows~~
StarGhazzer
post Feb 23 2006, 03:09 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(klifex @ Feb 22 2006, 11:10 PM)
it's really unfair that the social always think that doctors who is rich arent passionate in their career in saving lives~~sad.gif
to tell the truth, doctors sacrifice a lot during their early days...strive hard to study, less holiday compare to others, pressure everyday facing different patient, different diseases..any mistakes can cause their license to be banned...well, to tell the truth, being doctors is not fun at all, because they are dealing with lives...
somemore nowadays patients are more educated...they tend to act know more than a doctor do...searching up the internet, challenge doctors qualification with the printed facts from internet...
being doctor aren't that easy anymore, simply because patient can gather a lots of information easily about a disease...

we cannot simply increase the seat of medical studies just because our country lack of doctors. quality of doctors definately will drop when too much students in a class...and nowadays, we have lots of privates medical school ...i  always wonder what is the quality of these new schools...do they have enough equipments and facillities to teach students? i even heard that students learn anatomy from pictures..god...what a medical students..aren't they suppose to be open up cadavers?

medical studies are not like any other subjects...it's a lifetime studies...once you in it, you will need to up to date to the latest medical news and technology...every 5 years there will be an assessment for doctors to see whether they still fit in medical line o not...

for those who choose medicine as they career, they has to sacrifice many things in their life
Time for study.
holidays...
relationships...
money...

only those in medical line knows~~
man i so damn agree with your post... especially this one:
it's really unfair that the social always think that doctors who is rich arent passionate in their career in saving lives

and this one:

the emergence of numerous medical schools in our country gives more chances for students to pursue their dreams in medicine. Too bad the gov uni places are so limited, and it's a heavy burden studying in private...

Glyyde
post Feb 23 2006, 11:49 PM

2,087 posts

QUOTE(klifex @ Feb 22 2006, 11:10 PM)
i even heard that students learn anatomy from pictures..god...what a medical students..aren't they suppose to be open up cadavers?
erm.... if I read correctly from ur other post, u r studying in IMU right? Where anatomy is taught in lecture on pictures and u look at plastic models after that? tongue.gif
klifex
post Feb 24 2006, 12:09 AM

847 posts

thanks man~~sorry, i'm not from IMU~~hehehe biggrin.gif ..very lucky tat i learnt anatomy true cadavers and dissections~

well, we must also consider about our own goverment capability to support more students.
we cannot blame the goverment because there's simply not enough experience lecturers here..and most doctors who are experience are not interested to work for goverment university because of the pay...another words, they rather work in private sector.

however there's also a problem in private medical school, lack of instruments and facilities...
to be able to hired doctors and experience lecturers...these are really "high maintainance staffs"...that's why the course fees is very expensive...

last time during my Dr. seniors time, they only have about 100 students per batch...each doctors takes on 4-6 students during clinical class

now in my batch we have 170 students..during our clinical studies...each doctors take up 17 students...god..guess what happen oduringthe clinical class...we have to line up when we examine the patients...wat kinda studies is this?...sometimes i can't even get my turn to examine the patient...and it'sone of the facts that why the medical doctors quality keep deteriorating...

One more things is that, doctors is no longer the only occupation which can save lives...there's a lots of other occupation which can be as noble as doctors...it's just the education system which leads to the overloading in medical course.

some students dunno why they choose the course when i first met my juniors.. ...why they wanna be doctor. simply because theier parents ask so......just because they dun wanna waste their good result?

This post has been edited by klifex: Feb 24 2006, 12:12 AM
chicks
post Mar 18 2006, 08:58 AM

hi,i'm medic student in Russia.Is very tired to keep on study like this,but no turning back after i've already picked this road.
we are having better here compare to what klifex said.In clinical class we have 8 student class,so we manage to get everyone their chance.
And we are using cadaver as for anatomy,its stink but is better than to study in pictures.
By the way any who like infomation bout MD in russia can ask,would like to help and advice so that you wont regret decision u made.
klifex
post Mar 19 2006, 01:41 AM

847 posts

which year u in already???..so fast tired already??...there's still more to suffer man...we have to struggle till the end to help people..u know how many people queuing outside for this medical degree??...haih...
i'm glad to findout that..the newpapers these days keep discouraging students from taking medicine...god, it's overloading already..pls dun push further..else, our medical degree will end up cheap ...

u r so luck to get send overseas...taking JPA or MARA or self sponsor?...
8 students is a good number...our 17 people is outrageous already... i think the medical schools should reevaluate their medical education system. Such system will only deteriote the quality of doctors..

0.0160sec    0.82    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 09:14 AM