4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Working in Singapore V12, Yusheng - 23rd Feb (Saturday)

crazy25kid
post Nov 14 2012, 11:21 AM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(lostintransition @ Nov 14 2012, 11:15 AM)
Hi all;
Good day,

Just want to ask for some advice when writing the resume + cover letter. This is concerning about how HR is going to contact me for an interview. Currently, I am working and residing in Penang.

In my resume + cover letter, would it be sufficient just to mention my Malaysian mobile number? Or will it be better if I get a Singapore mobile number and put it on the resume + cover letter? Or it does NOT make any difference at all?

Also, is it advisable to mention my home address in Penang on the cover letter itself?

The reason I am asking is that I am afraid HR may view that I am currently rooted in Penang and then proceed to place my application at the bottom of the pile. I believe preference will be given to people already residing, and actively looking for a job, in Singapore.

Thanks for the help.
i found that having a singapore number + singapore address is the best.
however, just by having a singapore number alone is likely to have increased your chances too.
good luck...i was in ur shoes 2 years ago...also from penang. laugh.gif laugh.gif
crazy25kid
post Nov 14 2012, 11:32 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(lostintransition @ Nov 14 2012, 11:23 AM)
Thanks for the fast reply. But do i need to remove my home address in Penang at the cover letter? But a cover letter would look "cacat" without an address....
i recommend not removing it...i kept my penang address.
at least let your future employer know that you are not based in sg at the moment...and also, it does look cacat. laugh.gif laugh.gif
if not, they arrange an interview say on Wednesday when they call you on a Monday is going to be a problem. laugh.gif laugh.gif
the sg number...to me is showing that u are prepared/making effort to go work there.
crazy25kid
post Nov 14 2012, 12:06 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Nov 14 2012, 11:54 AM)
The Sg number is showing you are prepared? actually i still quite confused why SG number needed when you are not in Singapore to look for jobs as it is not functioning when you are outside of SG, unless roaming. rclxub.gif
well...to me (as i mentioned), it does seem that you are more prepared as you are willing to invest into securing a job in sg.
some companies HR do not wish to call IDD...so without the singapore number, you have just lost your chances for those companies.
there are companies which are kind enough and would ask if you have a local number which they can call so you do not get overloaded with roaming charges on a prepaid. laugh.gif laugh.gif
crazy25kid
post Nov 14 2012, 12:18 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Nov 14 2012, 12:11 PM)
That mean when you first get the number you already must requested for roaming service, because by default roaming is off? hmm.gif
for my prepaid, i dun remember telling the person anything or doing anything extra to get roaming.
postpaid, it is off cause you need to pay monthly to turn it on...unless you are on corporate sweat.gif sweat.gif
crazy25kid
post Nov 14 2012, 12:33 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Nov 14 2012, 12:19 PM)
I thought u have to option to pay-as-you-roam?
i think it is still pay-as-you-roam for postpaid...but to activate the roaming, there is a fee you need to pay (monthly) if i remember correctly.
u need to check with the telco... laugh.gif laugh.gif
crazy25kid
post Nov 14 2012, 02:43 PM

1,424 posts

In my opinion, 2.5k is more than enough.
You live your life base on what you earn and what you can afford instead of leeching the benefits that your parents/family can give you when you start working.
It is better to suffer (learn being independent) and differentiate what is a NEED and what is a WANT at an earlier stage.
If you are provided with everything all the time, you will never learn to appreciate the things you have.
Furthermore, it is better to venture out early before you grow accustomed to your comfort zone and reluctant to move.
crazy25kid
post Nov 14 2012, 05:39 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(Mophisto @ Nov 14 2012, 05:36 PM)
i read and read and read, why you all keep talking about eating economy rice but never mention about home cooking?

Is it not an option down there? care to enlighten me? If i have a family will it make sense then?

if u have a family and you cook...you will save A LOT !!!
mostly cooking in is not mentioned cause most are still single or with partner 2 person....not feasible to cook that often. laugh.gif laugh.gif

crazy25kid
post Nov 15 2012, 02:43 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Nov 14 2012, 07:45 PM)
The why don't you go live in Afghanistan instead
You will suffer and be independant more so than in SG.

Typical of daddy or mommy's little boy/girl to only compare with extreme cases.
then y do u wanna work when u can live off your parents and still live like a king. doh.gif doh.gif

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Nov 15 2012, 10:41 AM)
Disagree again. What makes you think as a fresh grad working in SG your chances of promotion is higer than in msia?
Don't forget there are alot more competition in SG from foreigners compared to msia. Speaking strictly from a financial services background and IT background, as a fresh grad you are more likely to get a promotion or move to other better paying companies in malaysia than SG. This is simply bcoz there is a lack of talent in those areas as compared to SG where there are alot of qualified indians, pinoys and other foreingers who are more hungry and willing to work more for less hence supressing wages.

if u feel that u are inferior to everyone else, wat makes you think u are any better back in m'sia?
please continue to feel inferior abt yourself and stay at the bottom if it makes you happy and u can still live like a king.

crazy25kid
post Nov 16 2012, 12:18 AM

1,424 posts

man...i typed too long...unable to quote... doh.gif doh.gif

who said anything abt feeling inferior or superior influence the employers
it does not influence the employers but it influence yourself.
if you think you are capable, then go for it.
if you have given up because someone else sucked and could not make it then kept on stepping on every single fresh grad trying by telling them they should live their life leeching of their parents, then most likely, it is because you feel inferior and you do not think you have what it takes for employers to hire you.
if u suck...you will still suck whether you are in m'sia, sg or any part of the world in that sector.

so u think that the competition will disappear once you left entry level?
in this world, only people like you are able to think of it this way? people from other parts of the world don't?
because you have some extra experience the indians, prcs, burmese will all continue to be stuck at entry level and do not have experience?!
it may be less....because lots of them gave up halfway, probably after the long waiting time when they tried to apply with no avail or they just got too used to their comfort zone because some people keep telling them that entry level jobs are not worth it when you can leech on your parents even though when tried earlier.
the number of positions also become lesser when u go up the pyramid.
employers will not try to squirm their way with all sorts of excuses to lower your pay just because you have SOME experience?

I am not saying that gaining some experience back home first is bad.
I am saying that if you are given a chance even with $2k, it is a lot if you first know how to differentiate between a NEED and a WANT.
just because a particular daddy's boy cannot does not mean everyone cannot.
what is there to lose being a fresh grad?
losing some comfort at the beginning for a headstart ahead of others who might try later?
just try and if you are offered a job with reasonable pay, just accept it.
chances do not come by all the time.
if u are bored, find a low cost hobby like maybe basketball at the public basketball court.
search around the net, sg has A LOT of activity groups which are free to join or with minimal fee to cover the costs
you are not restricted to only clubbing and pubbing for entertainment.
crazy25kid
post Nov 17 2012, 01:09 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Nov 16 2012, 08:06 PM)
Again nobody cares if you feel inferior or superior about yourself. The employers only care only if you could get the job done.
And nobody cares about you if you're a fresh grad and whether you feel inferior or superior about youself! You are just another speck of dust to them.
And as a fresh grad how are you going to demonstrate that you can get the work done without having the relevant experience?
Therefore you go back to malaysia, get a MNC job there and then leverage on the experience.
If you don't believe me just ask other forumers here who are MNC hiring managers if they prefer to hire 1) a fresh grad who feels inferior/superior about himself/herself with no experience to demonstrate that they can get the work done or someone who has the relevant experience and have demonstrated they can get the job done irrespective of whether he/she feels inferior/superior about himself/herself.
u really have problem with examples when it comes to comparison eh? between a fresh grad and someone with experience for the same post?
then what the hell is the experience u gained for if a fresh grad can do just as well and for a lower pay?
a confident optimistic fresh grad can carry oneself better and better sell oneself in the interview than another fresh grad who is a pessimists (unless you are dam good in your words and able to sell something that is black as white)
i am not goin to argue with you abt what self confidence is....you seem to have too much of that cause you think that you are almighty just because you are working in sg.

No. Once you're in the company it's up to you how you create value to the company to differentiate yourself from the other foreign talents and Singaporeans. If you can't do that, might as well go home. Entry level jobs are worth it only (if you can get them in the first place) it is a proven MNC with a decent pay to boot. Which means no S$2.5k monkey business. All others don't help you in anyway. Might as well go back to Malaysia and gain the relevant exp with the relevant MNC since its easier to get in. 
On the last part yes they will try to squirm their way with all sorts of excuses to lower your pay. But their are also not stupid. They know its difficult to find people with the right experience to get the job done especially in my field i.e. financial sector. Just stand firm. I guarantee you they will still give you what you ask for if they find you can offer them that value.
yea, so what is the harm in creating value in SG first?
the experience you gain is DEFINITELY relevant to the company.
unless you were hired to just sit around and wait for time to pass.
i agree, there are times you have to stand firm, never lower your own market value too much.
study what is the pay range for the level of job you are doing.
if 2.5k is the market rate for a fresh grad...where are you lowering your own market value?

If you can have the need and wants in Malaysia but you cannot get them in SG, why bother comming to SG in the first place? If you come to SG just to experience hardship then why don't you go to Africa instead?
u really should try being a politician back home....they earn big bux.
they enjoy comparing with extreme cases to show that the way do it is the best if it is not the only way.
yea, u can have all the need and wants back home.
go ahead, stay there...then there will come a time when u find out that "oh shyt, i am stuck because i have this commitment and that commitment and many more"
ask your friends back home to join you here and see what is the replies.

Time is more important than money. Every year that you lose, you can't get it back. Rather than wallowing in some SME company in SG with not much prospects who pays you less than S$2.5k suffering your way in the process, might as well live life to the fullest back home in Malaysia. Afterall you only get to be 23 once in a lifetime and you certianly don't want to reminisce back when you're my age thinking about the tought time you had in SG. 

This advise is the ultimate career killer. Beleive it or not, your first job will determine where you will be for the rest of your life.
If you start your career in some kuching-kurap SME company in SG, the chances of you going on to work in an MNC is very slim. (not to say it dosen't happen but the chances are rare indeed). You will wallow for some time in those kinda places wasting your life as a result.
time is definitely more important than money
so while u wait for your ideal job in sg...how many years do you think you have to waste during the wait?
everyone also wishes to work in MNC...then who is there to work in the SME?
every job has it values...working in MNC, you learn of procedures and specialize...working in SME, lesser procedures, you learn on a wider scope.
ur first job will never be your last, so i disagree with the first job determines where you will be for the rest of your life.
if u are that particular, then continue applying even after u start your first job, at least you are here instead of back home which a lot of employers desire.
i had frens who changed job 5 times after grad when some are still struggling to get one.

u choose how to live your life.
if u want to live a pampered lifestyle, then by all means, stay back home...even better if u can just lie down doing nothing and still able to get food in your stomach
then soon...when u do finally arrive in sg, you can really blend in perfectly with those spoilt younger generation singaporeans who have been pampered their whole lives and complain.
probably like what r1v3r mentioned...TOTALLY different family values
i prefer not to continue being a burden for my family.
if having meals with your family is a point to stay back, then you should never leave for SG...well, not to curse, until your parents have left for a better place.
yes, my parents definitely would wish i could have my meals with them every single time (i go back home even lesser), but i chose to have them save the amount of money to feed 1 extra mouth on me just because i want to have both my wants and my needs and keep it for buying what they want instead.
they have raised me long enough and it is time they enjoy life.
crazy25kid
post Nov 25 2012, 03:17 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(speedguy10 @ Nov 25 2012, 03:08 AM)
I just come to Sg to work with 1 year EP pass. Do you guys know whether I can sign up for any telco iPhone plan, which is 2 years contract?

yes u can.

crazy25kid
post Nov 27 2012, 10:05 AM

1,424 posts

but usually, dun the stalls have a minimum order of 2 prata kosong?
that is what i usually see
crazy25kid
post Nov 29 2012, 01:47 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(gseed87 @ Nov 29 2012, 12:43 PM)
anyone know the last bus to melaka at larkin? I wanna go back this friday night, but i afraid i'm unable to catch the bus to melaka...
not very certain...but if i remember correctly, my colic once said was 8pm
crazy25kid
post Dec 6 2012, 11:57 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(Redondo04 @ Dec 6 2012, 11:55 AM)
In the pdf file they sent to me, ther is a medical examination form(suppose to be filled by doctor). So, is that pdf file = EP application form?
Where did you got ur EP application form last time?

mayb i PM u part of the pdf file, u help me take a look can??im so confuse now... rclxub.gif
hate to deal with this kind of stuff tongue.gif
i think that is ur IPA (in principle approval)

crazy25kid
post Dec 11 2012, 05:17 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 11 2012, 05:05 PM)
Your IPA letter will state whether or not you need medical check up. For me, I didn't need, terus go to EPSC only, but my fiancee (also EP) was required to go medical checkup.
not sure how truthful is this...but according to my agency, P2 and P1 does not need to go thru medical.
since EP has 3 categories...i suppose Q1 needs a medical.
crazy25kid
post Dec 11 2012, 06:23 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 11 2012, 06:16 PM)
Noneed to clarify liao. If IPA never say must do medical check up that means no need to do medical check up. Just go ahead and make an appointment with EPSC to do your fingerprinting.
MOM says no need does not mean no need...maybe company policy need. laugh.gif laugh.gif
crazy25kid
post Dec 18 2012, 03:10 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(tkhoo @ Dec 18 2012, 02:50 PM)
Guys, as you know that I was rejected work permit by MOM on this bla bla company. And let say I got another job offer with different company, will I still able to get approve my work permit for this 2nd company?

Or confirmed will get same result "Reject"?
case by case
2nd company may be more reputable in MOM's view and have higher chance of approval.
it will not be a confirmed same result of Reject unless you urself have a history which is bad like a criminal record
crazy25kid
post Dec 19 2012, 01:51 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 19 2012, 12:25 PM)
Eh guys, what's the best value for money way to get to Penang and back for CNY ah?

AirAsia is $840/pax (return), JetStar is $697/pax (return), these are crazytalk prices hmm.gif

u think it is crazy, so did i
but AA still sold out the friday night flight at 4xx for sg-pg (i checked everyday since they started selling for cny)
try SIA/Silkair...the price would be almost the same price, but i suppose they are selling fast/sold out
i bought mine flying back on thursday...it was cheaper than AA.

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Dec 19 2012, 01:31 PM)
SG taxi to senai, then fly to Penang?
almost same price when AA started selling flights to penang for cny
it is not worth the hassle for saving a few bucks flying from senai on AA
crazy25kid
post Dec 20 2012, 03:48 PM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(stevenlee1989 @ Dec 20 2012, 03:30 PM)
well, however my priority is to work in Sg. In KL i have a few offers that sounds not bad to me la,bt i still looking for opportunity to work in SG at this moment before i decide to take the KL one
Do you have a job now?
If no, accept the offer while continue searching.
Better to have an income while searching right?
Landing an offer in Sg takes time...we do not know how long.
This offer may not last forever, so take it while it is still there.
crazy25kid
post Jan 4 2013, 08:13 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(jungyu @ Jan 4 2013, 08:12 AM)
guys, know how to buy kopitiam card? it says need to go to the counter but most kopitiam only have the kiosk for top up purpose. where is kopitiam counter?
Drinks counter

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0560sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:16 PM