QUOTE(wenching87 @ Nov 8 2012, 10:42 PM)
For election, yes! We will be back. Working in Singapore V12, Yusheng - 23rd Feb (Saturday)
Working in Singapore V12, Yusheng - 23rd Feb (Saturday)
Nov 8 2012, 10:58 PM
1,305 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
Nov 8 2012, 11:27 PM
QUOTE(wenching87 @ Nov 8 2012, 11:14 PM) WOW!!!!!!! GREAT! GOOD JOB!!! WE NEED YOU!!!!! WE NEED MORE MALAYSIA WHO WORK AT SG LIKE U!!!!! HAHA!!! WELL DONE!!! No, you need only a few people up there to make many Malaysian work/study/live out of Malaysia like me.Added on November 8, 2012, 11:15 pmElection must come back to MALAYSIA!!!! |
Nov 11 2012, 11:08 PM
QUOTE(fenster_84 @ Nov 11 2012, 11:47 AM) Hi guys, can you share some experience on relocating to SG? Im going there next week and will bring my whole desktop rig and luggage. Do I need to go through red lane at customs and declare? All my stuff are more than three months old but I dont have any receipts as supporting documents. Appreciate your advice. TQ If your are walking to the check point or air port. They will ask you to take out your labtop before X-ray. Been carrying labtop in and out, no question asked. If you are willing to spend some money, take a cab from Larkin directly to your new place in sg. Save the trouble to hand carry your desktop(monitor?) and luggage. I forget the rate, should be less than 50rm iirc. You should not be taxed for your own desktop but if you happen to piss them off, they can ask you to power on your desktop and check if you have illegal content in your PC. |
Nov 12 2012, 10:57 PM
QUOTE(L_0430 @ Nov 12 2012, 04:35 PM) University of Illinois. I'm talking about engineering program specifically cuz I never cared about overall ranking. Plus I think the overall ranking might not be that good. But the engineering program internationally is high. Higher than NUS based on what I found. I never really cared about ranking of schools but the experience and perspective you earned. but since the interviewer brought this into topic I could only say that my school is better. UIUC? They have a R&D centre in fusionopolis. If you are in CS or ComE and you are good, give it a try.So, the new US degree have the UK rating "First class" printed on it? In some extend, most local Gov body and private company only know a few top names in US, the rest are "NO CLASS" degree according to their perception. There are good Uni, good unique program from US. If you really have the confident with your skill, find a jobs for US MNC first before you branch out. UK trained boss will always think their education is better, you may not have a fair review in the beginning. |
Nov 12 2012, 11:23 PM
QUOTE(fenster_84 @ Nov 12 2012, 09:48 PM) I was thinking the same thing. Do they actually want us to power up the desktop to check the contents? Do they check whether the installed windows is legitimate? whether the media content is legitimately purchased from online stores etc..? usually not. I know there was a case where the officer found some pirated VCDs from a guy. ICA gave that man a free ride to his unit compliment with a room service. Charged and deported. That's was the time when Singapore trying to project an image of a country that value IP rights to attract some MNC to set up a base here.For donkey years ICA had inspected and X ray scanned my computer equipment at check points, air port and sea port. Used Personal computer is not taxable. Of course you can always choose to walk the "red carpet" for acting as a KS visitor. |
Nov 12 2012, 11:26 PM
QUOTE(L_0430 @ Nov 12 2012, 11:15 PM) Too bad not CS neither ComE. That's the answer most local boss heard over the years. So no "xxx Class" on your degree equal NO CLASS degree, basic pay offered.And no they don't have first class stuff. But I got the summa cum laude which is the highest honors offered. So I can only 'kinda' equate that to the first class honors which people here are more used to. If I said summa cum laude probably no one will know.. Sad case |
Nov 12 2012, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(RigorMortis @ Nov 12 2012, 11:24 PM) oh man, do you know the current US unemployment rate and Obama is trying so hard to make sure america have a jobs before (and ... after) the US election?Not easy to get a Working Visa for non-american. |
Nov 15 2012, 09:44 AM
QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Nov 14 2012, 01:41 PM) Ask the bus captain, restaurant captains, etc if it is worth it. If the answer is yes then more power to them. I'm merely stating that if you are from malaysia and have a degree and you live with yr parents in klang valley, chances are you can live quite a luxurious life even if yr a fresh grad. If you come to SG with maybe lesser pay or the same pay in malaysia dollar to dollar then you might want to reconsider. Life is not a bed of rosses here if you don't earn enough esp since you have to pay for rent, toileteries, groceries, etc stuff that you don't pay back in malaysia. Sure, anyone one can live a luxurious life by leaching their parents, you don’t have to grow up to be an independent man and you actually don’t need to work so that you have more time to play, eat, sleep!Then make sure you get the major share of the will so that you can continue to live a luxurious life from parent's money for years to come. What a good life. Starting pay is not the end, it is just the begining. One can build their career faster in SG with all else being equal. S$500 annual increment vs RM$500 increment, 4 months bonus in SGD vs RM? Those short sighted people seriously need to reconsider. |
Nov 15 2012, 10:06 AM
QUOTE(Mophisto @ Nov 14 2012, 05:36 PM) i read and read and read, why you all keep talking about eating economy rice but never mention about home cooking? One happycall pen, one thermal pot and a rice cooker is basically what you need. Dump the ingredient in the thermal pot, boil it and leave it there until you come back from work for your hot soup.Is it not an option down there? care to enlighten me? If i have a family will it make sense then? It is relatively convinient to buy ingredient in SG round the clock. You have those 24 hour supermarket. the meat are cleaner than those sold in Malaysia pasar and you can buy any portion you want unllike other planet guy who only buy whole chicken. If you lazy to cook, just ta pao siew yok, 1/2 duck or chiken on your way home then cook your own rice(better quality). If you have a family, you get more quality dinner time at home. Better if you have a few bottles at home. On rainny day, I used to ta pao fish head curry from nearby stall. Feed the whole family happily. This post has been edited by r1v3r: Nov 15 2012, 10:11 AM |
Nov 16 2012, 11:38 AM
QUOTE(momijigari @ Nov 15 2012, 10:29 AM) How many rich parents are there? That should make your feel a lot better but it does not reduce the load and suffering on your parents.The culture is much more different here compared to the West. Parents will not say a word (at least mine) even if i am jobless, penniless and staying idle at home. They pay for all the bills, buy me my 3 meals and snacks. And my parents are not even rich to begin with. But anyone who is shameless and not feel shy about leeching off parents can continue to do so. They will not say a word. The clock is ticking and imagine when the time is up. I am not career minded but I can attest that in certain fields you get promotion with increment relatively easy; of course you must be dedicated, hardworking and responsible lah. I am saying not only white collars get to climb the ladder here. Everyone knows the formula of how much in order to sustain their lifestyle income vs expenses From your own personal perspective, you are rightly advantageous( less expenses... from your own pocket). You are young and you have time to make mistake then turn around. You have to make changes if needed. If you can't live off your parent's money as working adult, do you expect your future child to depend on their grandparent too? |
Nov 16 2012, 12:13 PM
QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Nov 15 2012, 10:41 AM) Disagree again. What makes you think as a fresh grad working in SG your chances of promotion is higer than in msia?Don't forget there are alot more competition in SG from foreigners compared to msia. Speaking strictly from a financial services background and IT background, as a fresh grad you are more likely to get a promotion or move to other better paying companies in malaysia than SG. This is simply bcoz there is a lack of talent in those areas as compared to SG where there are alot of qualified indians, pinoys and other foreingers who are more hungry and willing to work more for less hence supressing wages. haha, so what make you think the other way round? I dont have to say why SG as this has been discuss many times. You are right too, one fine day I might work in MY for more layback pace and demand. When I was a fresh grad, I work free OT daily and take up all the training facilities provided by company. Pay is never my major concern but the exposure nad training are important to me. In general, SG have good human resource development vs the DIY style in Malaysia. Young people can progress faster. We face competition but we have our experience/skill to keep us ahead. The annual increment is a kind of reward for your added value. If there is less competition, the increment will be low too? you might say company can replace you with cheaper fresh grad... that's true for company that stop growing. They produce the same quality of stuff every years. You see many such company in other country (malaysia?) but these company cant survive long in SG. The demand is higher in SG so as the progress, your role increase so as your pay. It is hard life but pay better. In MY, if my family operate the TOLL then my life is easy with better pay than SG but that's not the case for most worker in Malaysia. Added on November 16, 2012, 4:48 pm QUOTE(yoloman @ Nov 15 2012, 02:47 PM) Hello I been reading a lot here. Tq so much for the info. Really cleared my mind on the situation in sg. Nice community that support each other. How old is your child? Boy?My wife got a very good offer there and got offered double the salary in SGD. Well she have a good degree. Problem is I only have stpm cert and I was to move in there with her with my child. All my experience is only in sales. Iknow it will be hard to get job there. Anyone here wt similar situation manage to get job there and mind sharing some tips for me? infant care/child care stage: - market rate for child care ~$1k for child care centre or $500 for HDB nanny. Primary/sec school stage: - compulsary expenses are much lower compare to child care but you have to get a place for your child. - may need to take entance exam. can ask your wife to apply dependant pass for you first. Hold on to PR application until you are really sure. Working with Dependant Pass *the limit for S-pass salary had increase to 4k to apply dependant pass iirc. You can help to settle the living/school/logistic problem first while your wife fit in to new workspace. Take turn to introduce new element to your family if you are ordinary people. This post has been edited by r1v3r: Nov 16 2012, 04:48 PM |
Nov 16 2012, 09:17 PM
QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Nov 16 2012, 08:06 PM) Added on November 16, 2012, 8:14 pm Other factors aside, the annual increment in Malaysia is better than SG. "you might say company can replace you with cheaper fresh grad" - no they replace you with cheaper foreign worker who has the experience and is more hardworking than you at a lower pay. The trick for you to sustain your place is to create a niche for yourself in a company where not many others can do what you do. Added on November 16, 2012, 8:19 pm What living off them? You are still working albeit in Malaysia. My parents (and alot of your parents) are not suffering. Camon, are you telling me that your parents suffer just becuase you choose to stay in their house and eat dinner together with them everyday? In fact my parents are very happy if i live with them and eat dinner together with them daily! (they have been making noise these days since i only come back once a month!) Every parent would love to see their son/daughter live with them. We are asian not angmoh. The bond between parents and children run for eternity in asian communities. Or are you trying to point out that your parents feel relieved that you are not living in their house and living so far away in another country? If you know your jobs type is not those cheaper better type, FT influx is not a problem to you. Guess that's different family concept. I move out since sec school. Many of my relative work/study/setup their family out side Malaysia. I will ask my child to stand on their feet and to go out to the world. Come back for reunion or retirement is fine, Never be a big fish in small pond. I have my own plan for my retirement. |
Nov 16 2012, 09:58 PM
Dude, the guy is telling you to work near your mommy home instead of sg. Work permit holder in sg is like trash and you have no life in sg with 2.5k.
Which part is not related to working in SG? |
Nov 19 2012, 09:02 PM
QUOTE(Stab Your Back @ Nov 19 2012, 06:42 PM) well,my cousin a girl,her father bring whole family go thr,she get the job as prisoner guard,just over spm she flew thr..now her family recommend me go thr and earn money,so im asking here. As prison guard, you can rent and stay in the prison hostel. You are allowed to rent out your entire hdb while you stay in prison hostel. That's extra income for those warden with their own hdb. |
Nov 20 2012, 12:47 PM
Nov 20 2012, 03:50 PM
QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Nov 20 2012, 01:44 PM) Yes but you still need HDB approval every year. http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10296p.nsf/Pr...82?OpenDocument |
Nov 27 2012, 11:53 PM
QUOTE(Dendroid_King @ Nov 27 2012, 05:17 PM) Hi guys, Big question: Do you earn more than 2k per month? (there is neg. to increase the limit but not confirm yet)I am working as an accounts executive in a small local company in Singapore. My working hours is from 8am to 6pm Mon to Sat. I have already signed the employment contract. My total working hours is 54 hours. However I check the MOM guideline which states no employee shall be required to work for more than 8 hours a day or more than 44 hours in a week. My question is can I tell my company that is illegal and I need not work on Saturday since my 54 hours already exceed the 44 hours rule? However I already signed the employment contract a few months back. This is the problem. Thanks in advance. Hate to work on Saturdays. Sencond question: Did you read this http://www.mom.gov.sg/employment-practices...es/default.aspx ? Accountant more than 2k is not covered. Count yourself lucky as some accountant need to work till 10pm. This is Sg, most info are there on the gov official site. There is a MOM number on the web for you to make complain. The last things you need is any advice from a person not working in SG on local legal issue. You better don't reply here if you are work permit holder who earn less than 2k. Another guy will call you a rubbish and advise you to work in Malaysia stay in your parent's house. |
Nov 28 2012, 12:01 AM
QUOTE(Dendroid_King @ Nov 27 2012, 11:33 PM) Mackiddo and Mercury, Some parties try to lift the limit to around 4k next year. Hope for some year end bonus and move on after CNY. The both of you offer very constructive advise. Thanks to both of you. Please don't quarrel because of me. I am sure this is just a misunderstanding. Sometimes in life it doesn't matter who is right. When I am angry, I would also say things that hurt others which made the quarrel worse. Anyway I just read more carefully and the max hours from the employment act does not apply to me as my salary is above 2k. It's time for me to move on and to get a new job as soon as possible. Thanks to both of you. And please try to forget the conflicts. |
Nov 28 2012, 12:01 PM
Nov 30 2012, 12:18 PM
QUOTE(tailtwist @ Nov 30 2012, 12:06 PM) Yes...u can bring your mattress/pyjamas/tooth brush/towel/extra clothes n sleep in the office...or even maybe at your client's office!! That bad? can change to security officer uniform instead of pyjamas? Maybe that's another side income.This post has been edited by r1v3r: Nov 30 2012, 12:21 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0514sec
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:22 AM |