4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Working in Singapore V12, Yusheng - 23rd Feb (Saturday)

ivanswk
post Dec 4 2012, 09:00 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Dec 3 2012, 04:40 PM)
i have a query here...
i'm offered an engineering job is Sg
let me know what do u think of the offer

Salary: 4.5k SGD, after probation 4.7k SGD
Allowances: 150 SGD (phone)
Benefits: Nothing special, no AWS, Bonus based on performance

I have 4 years experience in the same field.

is it a good offer?

Do share your thoughts.

Thanks!
depend on what u getting now cool2.gif
if u currently at RM 4k, then ok but if u now at RM8k plus then maybe not whistling.gif

next thought is wil you be strugling with that income or not hmm.gif
then u need to look at your current commitment unsure.gif mortgage, car loan, GF or wife and kid

ivanswk
post Dec 4 2012, 04:36 PM

+J
2,110 posts

^ tanjong pagar
ivanswk
post Dec 12 2012, 02:06 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(Mophisto @ Dec 12 2012, 12:36 PM)
What other benefit of P1 else then bringing family?
presume to be easier to be a PR thumbup.gif
ivanswk
post Dec 18 2012, 11:51 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(kokcc @ Dec 17 2012, 03:12 PM)
what if i get a working permit from my boss? Is that possible?
I'm going SG next week after christmas and staying in my aunt's house.
Hoping to get a temporary job
hmm if your boss is MOM then ok loh hahaha biggrin.gif

Added on December 18, 2012, 11:53 am
QUOTE(tailtwist @ Dec 18 2012, 11:38 AM)
I've turned 30 this year already....still in SG for now....
mid 30, forsee until here until 40+ sweat.gif
turn down offers to go HK, life is good enjoying best of both world, commuting between kl and SG icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by ivanswk: Dec 18 2012, 11:53 AM
ivanswk
post Dec 18 2012, 11:57 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(lightwerker @ Dec 18 2012, 10:42 AM)
both lo... somehow sg like more prospect..
thats the key word, definitely more prospect rclxms.gif
from what i am hearing few of my competitors is opening up office here in SG, mostly from europe
look on the bright side, they might offer me heheh whistling.gif
ivanswk
post Dec 19 2012, 04:05 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Dec 19 2012, 04:00 PM)
And get rid of that picture. It's not doing you any favours.
this i agree sweat.gif sweat.gif
ivanswk
post Dec 19 2012, 04:13 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(ChroniclesIY @ Dec 19 2012, 03:59 PM)
your CV is too long..

general rule.. max 3 pages..

painful to see wink.gif
cannot go further after the first page sweat.gif sweat.gif

your summary need to ultilise better, just do a total of your experience and try to impress rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by ivanswk: Dec 19 2012, 04:14 PM
ivanswk
post Dec 19 2012, 04:17 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(stevieg8 @ Dec 19 2012, 04:09 PM)
0.8 is MYR to SGD or SGD to MYR? Would I live a lower kind of lifestyle with that amount of salary compared to Malaysia?
definitely cannot stay landed in SG, if u particular on that then maybe sweat.gif

Added on December 19, 2012, 4:18 pm
QUOTE(ChroniclesIY @ Dec 19 2012, 04:15 PM)
bro why you quote me.. haha.. not my CV
cause i agree with mah nod.gif

This post has been edited by ivanswk: Dec 19 2012, 04:18 PM
ivanswk
post Dec 19 2012, 04:29 PM

+J
2,110 posts

[quote=stevieg8,Dec 19 2012, 04:20 PM]
[quote=ivanswk,Dec 19 2012, 04:17 PM]
definitely cannot stay landed in SG, if u particular on that then maybe sweat.gif

definitely not la..even in KL i only stay in a studio apartment..with that mentioned, would i be able to live in a studio in Singapore?

[/quote]
http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/singapore-p...erty-for-rent/1

2k and up for a studio hmm.gif

This post has been edited by ivanswk: Dec 19 2012, 04:29 PM
ivanswk
post Dec 20 2012, 04:47 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(stevieg8 @ Dec 20 2012, 03:23 PM)
Would that be a good idea in terms of money saving? If I bring my wife to Singapore then ill need to rent a house whereas I could do with just a room by myself
rent a room first, especially one without contract, u never know, maybe 3 months u decided to go back sweat.gif

Added on December 20, 2012, 4:58 pm
QUOTE(Dark NT @ Dec 20 2012, 12:21 PM)

Expenses per month :

HDB rental (2 bed room) = $2000 (East)
Car installment (2nd hand) = $1100
Food & Groceries = $1500
Occasional nice meals, gifts for kids, hobbies = $500
Parent in law allowance for taking care my son = $1000
Commitment back in Malaysia = 3000

hmm not included car, personal insurance hmm.. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by ivanswk: Dec 20 2012, 04:58 PM
ivanswk
post Dec 20 2012, 05:12 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(stevieg8 @ Dec 20 2012, 05:00 PM)
Wow..with that kind of expenses I doubt I could save anything from my salary..doesnt seem worth it to go to Sg anymore.
then again u got no kid yet so rolleyes.gif
my pay was awesome until my kid come along, then it just become average, need car and whole house to cater and allowance for childcare
but then again my kid make my life more awesome thou icon_rolleyes.gif

ivanswk
post Dec 21 2012, 08:04 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Dec 21 2012, 08:09 AM)
how many kids?
at the moment, one rclxms.gif

ivanswk
post Dec 31 2012, 10:06 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(T3N5AI @ Dec 30 2012, 11:18 PM)
Have anyone met any Singaporeans that do not inherit their darker side of the Singaporean character?
u have not seen PRC yet hahaha... cool2.gif ,
sg now is so flooded with foreigner, singaporean is not really a concern anymore, the pinoy etc ...
not on character but on the employment mkt icon_idea.gif

2 years back at a massage centre, the gal told me she a singaporean and not from china..
i was like wow, a sg masseur i never try that before rolleyes.gif
bang 3 month close shop, replace by a mixture of malaysian then taiwanese, then china, then left with pinoy..

the service industries is competitive sweat.gif
ivanswk
post Jan 25 2013, 09:56 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(RecruitingTheBest @ Jan 25 2013, 09:32 AM)
One problem that i've observed with Msians from local unis is that they are always in a frog inside the tempurung style mentality. They keep thinking the world is the tempurung, they have this mentality: "I know everything inside the tempurung better than other frogs inside the tempurung so I should be able to compete with other people outisde the tempurung."
could be true
10 years now since most my peers graduate from the local U,
they were doing ok at the beginning
but like a marathon, the gap is widening now, what they really teach inside there rolleyes.gif
ivanswk
post Jan 25 2013, 09:59 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Jan 25 2013, 09:52 AM)
MY education is not the worst yet and SG is not the best. That's not the point. The question is which is better for your kids.
i am a failure in the MY education system, aggregate 33 pangkat 2 SPM
it was THE END for me at that time shakehead.gif
looking back it could have been worst sweat.gif

come to think of it my best buddy din even turn up for the exam
both of us still doing ok in SG, hahah thumbup.gif

think MY have a more lenient edu, u fail and still get second shot in life

This post has been edited by ivanswk: Jan 25 2013, 10:03 AM
ivanswk
post Jan 25 2013, 05:55 PM

+J
2,110 posts

since some have brought up education heheh ...
prompted me to look at top primary school, while planning for my son hhehehe... rolleyes.gif

http://www.edupoll.org/content/view/18/37/

Based on Edupoll’s proprietary research, the Top 10 primary schools in Singapore ( by prestige ) are :
1.Nanyang Primary School
2.Rosyth School
3.Henry Park Primary School
4.Tao Nan School
5.Raffles Girls’ Primary School
6.Anglo-Chinese School Primary & Junior School
7.Singapore Chinese Girls’ School Primary
8.Methodist Girls’ School Primary
9.CHIJ St Nicholas Primary
10.St Hilda’s Primary School

ivanswk
post Jan 26 2013, 11:16 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jan 26 2013, 12:01 AM)
So are you planning to move to botanic gardens area and get involved in school activities as a volunteer so your kid can have a better chance to get in? biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
heard volunteer also need to Q, my colleague yesterday went for a parent interview
so most probably getting it
not sure $ is the main factor or not,
both husband and wife also high flyer
i need to check further sweat.gif

ivanswk
post Jan 26 2013, 11:20 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(athrun300 @ Jan 26 2013, 10:37 AM)
Just a dilemma.  I have just done my Ep but have yet to collect the card. Then another potential employer has called me for an interview.  It's a company that will offer me far better remuration as this is a permanent post (vendor) vs contract position (client) for oil and gas industry. I am wondering if I should go attend the interview.  Hope all sifu can give me some advice. 
u want it right rolleyes.gif

ivanswk
post Jan 28 2013, 04:25 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(anderson2009 @ Jan 28 2013, 02:32 PM)
Woah not worth it to study here then. Aint cheap too even study locally in SG.
matter of perspective and your resources
i always think is good to do someting rather then keep waiting for the best to come along,
for example a MBA that will cost u more than Rm 100k

http://www.hbs.edu/mba/financial-aid/Pages/cost-summary.aspx

when i did my MBA last time, which is bottom last two in uk and i cannot even afford to pay for it,
i need to nego kaw kaw for the co for it basiclly (almost begging level)

i dunno how to summarize how it benefit me overall, well it rank low, it kill most of my weekend, alot of personal money for alot of reference book, alot of late nites

what it did for me i think sweat.gif
i get a job in SG which also help in my PR application (i dun have a degree)
i move on, i dun look at another or better MBA (since i already have one)
my current monthly income exceeded the MBA cost, what ever u call them (ROI)
i learn somethin in the MBA (force learning), other things i learn like (my smart lecturer and my course mate, it keep prompting me i dun want to end up like them)

my industry not many people have a postgrad, it is uncessary which might be true
i dun need the top 10 MBA, by having 1 kapcai MBA,
i think it already put me up there within the 10% within my industry rolleyes.gif

so what next, at mid thirties,
doing another postgrad more relevant to my work at slower pace
expanding my family members
enjoy life cool2.gif

my thoughts is always do something when u young, and you get to to more later part of your life thumbup.gif

ivanswk
post Jan 29 2013, 05:51 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(samual8833 @ Jan 29 2013, 05:26 PM)
No. They didn't.. Coz I haven't get SG job. I also refer to KL recruitment firm to help but they tell me the economy situation and what they know from those who is worked in SG and returned to KL!... I applied for both recruitment firm sg and direct employers! One thing really make me dissapointed is they just want to looking for Singaporean/ SPR to fill those posts! Actually, I got 5 years working experiences.. 2 years from others fields. I'm very interested to the buyer and supply chains jobs but my relevant working experiences in this field is only 3 years!... I received a few calls from US MNC & domestic company in SG, they conducted phone interview with me. But, there's no news from them. I really want to know the salary range offer in SG for those positions!... I know that they are very straight to looking for a candidates to fill those positions! Hope yours can provide some information regarding my case. Thanks.
a quick google with jobsdb, i notice it range up to 8k rolleyes.gif ,
so lower your expectation below 8k
5 figure maybe next few year later ok nod.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0498sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:05 PM