4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Working in Singapore V12, Yusheng - 23rd Feb (Saturday)

SUSalaskanbunny
post Dec 25 2012, 03:49 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(newaisa @ Dec 25 2012, 03:33 PM)
Nice share lester....
And I guess for this year I will have to try it out myself for pre-CNY traffic.....
planning to go back on thursday night or friday early morning.....I hope most people are still working and not flooding the NS highway though
at that time is still possible, friday night would be the worse i believe...
SUSalaskanbunny
post Dec 28 2012, 11:26 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

compare ur salary brows.gif

http://www.salary.sg/2012/compare-your-annual-income-latest/

dunno real or not.. i am only higher than 14% of d ppl... my pay really that low meh?

Added on December 28, 2012, 11:29 pm
QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 28 2012, 10:04 AM)
You do, lol. Singapore is not like Australia where you apply PR up front. You gotta work here for "a period of time" before your PR application will likely be successful. Exactly how long that "period of time" is depends on your pay, qualifications, etc, ranges anywhere from 6 months to 2-3 years.
unless u got PEP like banker brows.gif

QUOTE(shinnyx @ Dec 28 2012, 10:41 PM)
Hey guys, I planned to take Starhub but the staff required me to have a billing address (PUB/bank billing with my name). However I use e-billing for my bank account. So is there any alternative way to show the billing address?
e-billing also got address right? use that address la... print out lor

This post has been edited by alaskanbunny: Dec 28 2012, 11:29 PM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 2 2013, 09:14 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(momijigari @ Jan 2 2013, 10:35 AM)
Seconded!
My sister graduated with a degree in Nursing from University of Adelaide has been offered below 2.5K exclude housing allowance by one of the government hospitals here.
One of my ex-colleague from UM is only getting $1.8K-$2K as a purchaser after 3~4 years working in Singapore. And UM is reputable here in Singapore except her field of studies is not as rosy as engineering.
for nursing is diff ler... when u start off fresh, your pay will not be much diff from the nurses without degrees... after 3-4 years then the gap will increase... how old is your sister?

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Jan 2 2013, 06:38 PM)
I just come back on that day .. how to come ? smile.gif
secret society leader came to look for us right after he got of d bus... if u gotta heart u will hv a way...
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 2 2013, 11:27 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(momijigari @ Jan 2 2013, 09:49 PM)
Spot on.
What she's doing now is to secure a job first, gain some experience and see how it goes.
Her age is irrelevant here  sweat.gif
age does matter in nursing as they restrict younger ones irregardless to experience to mundane task..
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 3 2013, 08:35 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

hi guys... thinking of selling curry puff n keropok at bridges.. saw a few ppl doing it.. izzit legal?
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 5 2013, 12:27 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jan 4 2013, 08:58 AM)
Legal? dont think so.they just using a trolley, dont think they have the permit as they dont have stall...
yea, trolley only.. ohh, means illegal? how about those that sell ice cream n lottery?

QUOTE(Meaty @ Jan 4 2013, 10:05 PM)
Just to share a real life story/incident that happened 2 days ago(2nd Jan 2013).
If you found that this is 'interesting',preacheable,create more awareness and etc.then you should read on.(Strictly real story only,no grandma bedtime story)
If you think that out of conscience,you own a duty to spread it out to your loved ones and many potential victims out there.Just copy and paste it in your facebook,twitter,linkedin,my space,youtube and etc.(No copyright infringement involved)

On 2nd Jan 2013 around 11:05pm at @KL Sentral
My cousin,in his late 20's intend to board KTM intercity train from KL-Singapore for 2 job interviews(scheduled at 3rd Jan 2013) at one of the leading Law Firm in Singapore.
At 11pm,announcement from KTM."Train rescheduled to 11:15pm"

Without nothing to lose and plenty of time left,he walked to KTMB ticket selling counter located at Level 2.He put his sling bag on one of the waiting bench chair and look up at train arrival&departure time table just opposite the counter.As when he turned back,his sling bag is now missing out of no where!The whole incident took less than 25 sec.
Police report had been made.

What's inside the bag?
-M'sia International passport(worth RM15-20K,syndicate's market price)
-All original certificates(priceless)
-Mobile phone(less than RM1000)
-pendrive with personal info on it(priceless)
-clothes(RM150-RM200)
-anti-radiation glasses(less than RM20)
-Sg's smrt card with value(SGD20)

-2 job interviews had gone(potentially priceless)
Moral of the story
`never leave your belongings out of your eyesight,not even a split second.
`try to put your ipad,tablet inside your bigger clothes luggage and not to use it,not to draw attention from the others.As scum thinks that it is filled with clothes only,less attractive and heavier to hand carry for them.
`attire should be as casual as possible.
`when someone staring at you,just be prepared and alert all the times.
`from him,and from my own limited knowledge.Most of the time cctv inside the building is non-operational.Even there were fully functional,too many blind spots to dodge from being capture.
If you do not take care on your own,no one would.Once it happened,the consequences that came after might be too hefty or unbearable for some time.
kesien... that's why when going back to msia gonna inject a few shots of adrenaline or not being too used to sg will make u get into trouble in msia..

in msia u gotta protect urself n family n belongings... crime rate increasing day by day..

my coy had an expat from india which we had posted to msia for 3 months for training... he got rob 2 times and house break-in 1 time... lost 1 old laptop and 1 new laptop, 2 phones and many other valuable stuff.. he resigned and went back to india.. poor guy

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Jan 4 2013, 11:36 PM)
Start jogging or cycling as hobby and use that to explore new area around your place. Look for better place to eat or buy things etc.

It does not cost much activity.
yeaps... joggin would be preferred as cycling is dangerous in sg.. just had lee hsien loong joggin at the park connector behind my house d other day... great experience seeing him joggin at a neighborhood park far from town
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 5 2013, 06:35 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jan 5 2013, 12:45 AM)
imo, this is actually a bad advise
u should live ur life fully aware of ur surroundings all the time and protect urself all the time...no matter the place u are have a high or low crime rate
because of the slack due to habit staying at a place with lower crime rate, u cannot adapt immediately and carelessness happens.
aware is aware la... but usually u wont take extra precautions when u go out like carrying a knife or pepper spray which i do in msia

QUOTE(momijigari @ Jan 5 2013, 08:58 AM)
Ice cream vendors got licence. Those people performing arts on the street also need licence.
I agreed with this.
There are robberies, break-ins, rapes, assaults/molest and murders committed here.
do u know where to get?

QUOTE(shinnyx @ Jan 5 2013, 04:04 PM)
Does anyone know whether I can change first coach bus schedule after I purchased the tickets?
yes u can... before 3 days i think
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 6 2013, 09:02 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(breakingpoint @ Jan 5 2013, 07:45 PM)
Hey guys,just wondering is it possible to get a working permit in Sg without spm cert?I'm applying for a waiter job there.
QUOTE(breakingpoint @ Jan 5 2013, 09:28 PM)
Yeah shouldn't really be a problem right,it's not like I'm persuading a professional job there..
yes, no problem... why dont go for skilled job? take up welding or plumbling or somekind of trade so at least u will have career progression?

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jan 5 2013, 11:15 PM)
should be no problem but the pay will not be very high I guess.
wash dishes sgd3k i think

QUOTE(brightjoey @ Jan 5 2013, 11:38 PM)
I like to know how you guys work in singapore as a fresh grad? Do you go through job agency or applied it yourself?
applied myself...

QUOTE(xtylish @ Jan 6 2013, 03:42 AM)
how much should I put as expected salary for a fresh grad?
depends on industry, position, jobscope, your qualification and results... typically 2.2-5k
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 9 2013, 07:49 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(ilineZ @ Jan 7 2013, 05:30 PM)
anybody have idea of singapore medical checkup for the employment pass?
which place offer cheapest package?
any idea if any clinic offer express result , like within the next day?
i believe SATA is one of the cheapest... but gotta wait like super long each time

there's this hospital in amk offering express service i believe... got to ask our king lester1987
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 9 2013, 07:51 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

want quick cash? want to work in sg without much qualification?

SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 9 2013, 09:28 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Blank @ Jan 9 2013, 10:47 AM)
Is SGD2700 for fresh grad in the field of industrial real estate design considered ok? I'm kind of worried about the long term prospect in this field as land space in SG is quite scarce..
good.. take it, good prospects

QUOTE(Calcool77 @ Jan 9 2013, 02:24 PM)
The rate seem on the decline trend for the past few weeks, any personal opinion when will it climb back? hmm.gif
I am thinking it will only bounce back after CNY, since inflation rate on Q4 for Singapore is pretty low, about 2.++% if not mistaken..so I think SG goverment is reducing the rate to attract more tourist, perhaps??
yeaps.. only after cny, errr... to protect manufacturing, tourism not too much

QUOTE(cfgann @ Jan 9 2013, 03:21 PM)
Hi guys. May i know what is the expected monthly salary for fresh graduate major in marketing? Is SGD2300 a reasonable price for a starting job? btw i have <1 job exp..

i've been looking for a job in sg nearly 3mths.. still couldnt get one.. :S

Does anyone of you have any marketing/indoor sales job to intro?
yeaps... about there... wanna try being a security guard? they r offering 10k signing bonus
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 13 2013, 10:57 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(eeynauk @ Jan 13 2013, 04:46 PM)
im a fresh grad currently looking for a event planner job in singapore. However, i found hard to get any job vacancy in sg, there are only a field of job vacancies publish in job agency website which is related to my preference. I'm wondering if singapore event planner job need insider to recommend so that we could get into the company?

I did sent out quite a few job applications since december, unfortunately, i din get any reply from them.

Anyone has idea could help me up. >.<
everyday staying in home did nothing but find jobs is kinda bored~! im that kind of ppl cant stay long in home. @@"
try hotels... i dont think it is tough for that field.. u jusst gotta find

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Jan 13 2013, 09:10 PM)
Its not a good news even for 1st property self-stay HDB pruchase for PR coz of the 5% additional buyers stamp duty lor(previously no such rule).
This effectively means that if you buy a S$500k HDB, you pay on top of the additional COV, an additional S$25k for the additional stamp duty.
This makes it out of reach for many PRs
yeaps.. .and worse of all the stamp duty is a cost... cannot capitalize... COV at least the next buyer will pay u back...
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 19 2013, 07:14 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jan 19 2013, 06:00 PM)
http://www.carclub.com.sg/

Price ends up to be (on average) slightly higher than taxi. Slight extra for the convenience of "having your own car" without needing to plonk down 4 digits every month for installments, maintenance, road tax, insurance, etc.
i heard they only allow elites to join, is that true? like bankers...
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 19 2013, 07:15 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

a lot has been discussed for msians going to sg, how about msians in sg going back to msia... at what income ratio make you want to go back? 2.5:1?
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 24 2013, 09:39 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(catacomb @ Jan 24 2013, 03:02 AM)
Hmm maybe the table is for specific field but the salary scale that I know in IT in Singapore don't pay managers 13k a month and I am talking about global big MNC
probably with the bonus and all?

or sometimes we have to look at the scope of work... if it is a regional profit center then it is possible.. if it just a branch to cater to sg market then no lor
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 24 2013, 10:52 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(jungyu @ Jan 24 2013, 10:33 AM)
damn. seconds ago i was so excited thinking it would be a holiday.
if one day i ever moved back to malaysia, it would only because of the holidays.
ahhahaa, i work in sg get msia holis ^^ best of both worlds.. rclxms.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 24 2013, 11:05 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jan 24 2013, 11:05 AM)
In the organisation I work in, some of the departments have ridiculous naming conventions. Fresh grad right out of college as long as got a degree already "Assistant Manager." Their seniors are "Managers" who then report to "Senior Managers." So by title only Senior Manager but by responsibility and payscale is probably just a junior management position doh.gif
some gov agencies are like that as well...

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Jan 24 2013, 10:22 PM)
I will definately send my children to malaysian school if given the choice.
I think malaysia education for us nons are better than SG, if you can manage your kids well.
The things i learn in m'sia is alot more than sg in terms of survival and real life applicable skills and mental preparation for the future mostly on the mentality side

like how we, the nons, fare and compete even though the playing field is not level. Like how despite being discriminated against, spat at and chew up, we still emerge better by working harder.
like how we, the nons, are taught in the hard way that the world is unfair, uncaring, racist and cold. The only way to survive and be come up is to have a siege mentality and hardwork.
like how we take everything anyone says with a pinch of salt and suspicion and we, unlike our sg counterpart, are not easily duped be it by the gov or other people.
agree wif u to a certain extent..
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 27 2013, 12:20 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(john_makaay @ Jan 26 2013, 01:27 PM)
any1 here manage to get PR approved with least than a year working exp in SG? and start from fresh grad
last time got.. now very hard unless u r holding p1 ep / pep
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 27 2013, 11:15 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Acevalentine @ Jan 27 2013, 10:22 AM)
Is anyone working in SG in finance and investment related field? If I am fresh graduated with CFA level one and maybe even MBA, will it be very hard to get a job related? If can what is the average salary for it?
grad from? CFA lvl 1 is very basic... maybe mba? y maybe?

related to? finance and investment related field? the field is so broad... pls narrow it down

avg salary pls go salary.sg

QUOTE(keeycheng @ Jan 27 2013, 10:58 AM)
Hi guys, wish to search for SG jobs but need to know what people said about that particular company.

So do you guys know any sites that people usually talk bout this?

Thanks...
go to acra

QUOTE(janice17 @ Jan 27 2013, 11:07 AM)
hi guys, i just finished degree in aus and thinking to look for jobs in singapore. Is anyone here working in accounting / finance/ investment field?

Havent make up y mind whether to work in banks or MNC companies. Any advices? And what's the average salary for fresh grads? Thanks smile.gif
read above...
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 27 2013, 11:55 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Jan 27 2013, 10:08 PM)
For fresh grad if u have CfA better than MBA. If she be easier to find compared to if u have MBA or degree. 
Salary for fresh grad no diff whether u degree MBA of Cfa.

Just reading on and saw level "one". Not much diff from degree then. Maybe complete ur level 3.
I'm guessing ur MBA is not from top 10 school otherwise u won't b asking above question.
y u step on ppl ar... giv ppl some hope la.. we know u very high position.. dont need like that 1

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.1192sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:20 AM