PC Audio HiVi / SWAN - Active Speakers (Version 2015), Back and Active

mizumi
post Mar 12 2013, 04:05 PM

35 posts

Auditioned the M50 and first impression is that it is significantly better than those typical desktop 2.1 systems out there. But SQ wise, is still far apart compared to the likes of T200B / M200MKIII / H5 (The ones that I got to audition).

T200B is really very detailed but will not be for those with size constraints. As for M200MKIII, although separation is very good, it is not to my liking as I find it a tad too airy. As for H5, soundstaging is not as wide as T200B. Listening to it also isn't very fatiguing.

If the majority of usage of the sound system is towards music, I would say T200B is the one to go for. But if there is a mix in terms of usage (i.e. 33% gaming, 33% music, 33% movies), I would say H5 + H10 is a better choice (Came across H4 reviews and it seems the SQ of H4 compared to H5 is definitely different with H4 performing better in the highs).

This post has been edited by mizumi: Mar 12 2013, 04:08 PM
mizumi
post Mar 14 2013, 11:53 AM

35 posts

I auditioned it in SG. smile.gif not a fan of the "eggs" look.

This post has been edited by mizumi: Mar 14 2013, 11:45 PM
mizumi
post Mar 22 2013, 08:32 AM

35 posts

Get a sub and u should do fine. though with an additional part lying around. smile.gif but I did come across Cyntrix mentioning abt pairing of non H series speakers with H series subs will incur some loss of SQ.
mizumi
post Mar 22 2013, 11:21 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(CyntrixTech @ Mar 22 2013, 06:31 PM)
If you want to add a H sub without pairing it with a H series speaker, you should split the source out from line level. One thing you give up by doing this is that you dont have master volume control for the sub and the main speakers so you will always have non-standard sub volume with your mains.
Get a DAC with a variable pre-out should fix that. smile.gif
mizumi
post Mar 26 2013, 02:24 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(keyoke @ Mar 25 2013, 07:12 AM)
took a plunge and get a H10 plus 2 x H4s

the H4s doesnt sound as good as my swans m50w satellites. sounds harsh. tink cos it hasnt burn in...

but the sub is quite scaringly hot. wanna ask if thats normal? cos my area is quite warm.

The h4s are quite warm too...

i was so afraid so i bought an AC fan and cool it down

It does seem to warrant enough cause for concern if it's hot. Cyntrix, is this common throughout all the offerings from Swans? I did noticed in the manual there is a mentioning of not putting these speakers in places of high temps.
mizumi
post Apr 22 2013, 04:22 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(arslow @ Apr 22 2013, 02:38 PM)
but if you wanna get a sub, the H4 cost more than the X3 sweat.gif

yup, SP2500 is one really good speaker flex.gif

I am hoping keyoke can tell a lil bit about his experience since Im kinda skeptical that heavyarm will have a H4 connected to a H6 sub lol.
Got a set of H5 + H10 sub coming sometime this week. Will post my impressions of them once they have been burnt in.

From what I heard from Keyoke, his H4 is sounding much better now. Seems like he's happy with the setup. Only gripe is with the temp of the units.

As for the sub connection, any sub with RCA passthrough should work fine. Although cyntrix has mentioned the sound like imaging may be compromised when pairing H subs with non H series like the T200. Personally haven't got the chance to test this so can't rly comment much.

This post has been edited by mizumi: Apr 22 2013, 04:24 PM
mizumi
post Apr 23 2013, 12:16 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(CyntrixTech @ Apr 22 2013, 10:15 PM)
Thought someone was taking care of your case. We swapped the amp the same week we said we will be fixing it but we found out it was the transformer that died. We are moving and everything has been transferred to the new stockroom so we can only replace it once we settled. We will extend the warranty for the amount of time you did not have the speaker.
Thumbs up for the extension of warranty due to extended RMA duration. Keep up the good service. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by mizumi: Apr 23 2013, 12:17 AM
mizumi
post Apr 23 2013, 08:54 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Lonely @ Apr 23 2013, 12:42 AM)
hi ts, I had been poi by your thread since long time ago, and finally I am coming back Malaysia to visit you show room coming June/July but in the mean times have some preparation work to be done =]

currently I am eyeing m200mkii/iii and in the future might as well get a sub like h10 but I read in your previous posts you discussed that this is not a good option. so I am asking is it really so ? h5 is preferred ? but if I get the h5 first will it sound as nice as the m200( of coz I'll attend the show room and audit it on my own meant time need to have a fought planning)? can give me some opinions ? coz I am rather new in these audio stuffs. i used to own an Aego M for years.

moreover, can I know MacBook Pro Retina on board sound card good enough to power these beasts ? do I need external DAC and amp for it to sound significant better? coz I am now in UK getting DAC and Amp here is way easier then in Malaysia so if a DAC can make it sound significant better I might as well consider =].

most importantly budget is around RM3k for the speakers but still prefer to cut down the cost as much as possible.
Since u r going to audition them yourselves, no need to ask for opinion as everyone has different tastes. I have seen people who read reviews and liked what they saw, but after auditioning, it turned out that the speakers they read in the review was not what they pictured it to be like. Best is to listen to it with your own ears and judge for yourself. smile.gif

As for separate amping, there is no need for that as M200 and H5 are both active/powered speakers meaning they have internal amps built in.

This post has been edited by mizumi: Apr 23 2013, 08:57 AM
mizumi
post Apr 23 2013, 11:24 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Lonely @ Apr 23 2013, 09:47 AM)
how about DAC? rclxub.gif  is my macbook sc good enough ? is it any after market DAC work better the my mbp's?
do I need a Y splitter in order to make m200 + h10 to work ?
Don't own a MBP so can't comment on the quality of the DAC.

As for the splitter, connection from M200 to H10 is via RCA cables. But from your soundcard/DAC (source) to H10, it depends. If you're connecting source to H10 using a 3.5mm, yes you will need to get a splitter; if you're connecting source to H10 using RCA then no.

You can always refer to the H10 sub manual for the sub inputs.
http://www.swanspeaker.com/support/downloa...a/H10%20SUB.pdf

This post has been edited by mizumi: Apr 23 2013, 11:26 AM
mizumi
post Apr 24 2013, 10:36 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Apr 24 2013, 10:28 AM)
Hmm, not quite understand.. mean H6 have connection for h4 speaker?
Means the H4 speakers are connected using RCA connectors to the H6 subwoofer. Then your H6 is connected to your source (i.e. PC, laptop, etc) with RCA connectors or RCA-to-3.5mm splitter depending on whether your source have L/R RCA connections or just a 3.5mm connection.

Simply put: Source <== RCA or RCA + Y-splitter ==> H6 <== RCA ==> H4
mizumi
post Apr 24 2013, 10:51 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(keyoke @ Apr 24 2013, 10:36 AM)
hmmm meaning? mine is in a corner, back of sub is a wall, sides are cupboards and side of my computer table
Vented/ported subs have holes in them to let air escape so you can make use of positioning to so call "boost" your bass.
mizumi
post May 2 2013, 11:00 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(arslow @ May 1 2013, 01:08 PM)
couldnt wait any longer already laugh.gif
[attachmentid=3419415]                     [attachmentid=3419417]
For now, it sounds great, but not awesome yet, have been running for 4 hours only. But Cyntrixtech what about those settings behind the H4s? For HF anf MF I know adding a sub shouldnt affect those, but what about LF and the HP?

Since Im using a H10 now, does the LF part doesnt matter anymore since the low frequency is being handled by the sub?

the HP is at 72Hz now, meaning that the satellite  will handle until 72Hz only right before passing on to the sub? the sub is at 80Hz now since "direct" will sort of turn off the sub. So wouldnt there be a conflict between the sub and H4 when playing sound between 72 and 80 Hz? hmm.gif

Im really blur now lol, so maybe all the sifus here can give some enlightenment notworthy.gif

maybe keyoke can also share his experience? smile.gif
Gratz on the hoot! smile.gif

Here my H5.

This post has been edited by mizumi: May 2 2013, 02:01 PM
mizumi
post May 2 2013, 02:28 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(arslow @ May 2 2013, 02:10 PM)
Pictures can be deceiving lol. I thought the H4 wont be that huge since its the smaller brother of H5, but man did it surprise me at first contact shocking.gif
I thought Heavyarm brought the wrong satellites lol sweat.gif

cant wait to go back and play with it again!! rclxm9.gif

have been moving the sub around, found a nice spot. System volume 50%, H4 volume both 50%, master volume behing the sub also 50%, sub volume is about 45%.
Even just after playing it for 8 hours yesterday, it sounds soooooo good now. Nice smooth bass on musics, crazy killer bass while playing battlefield 3 or watching movies drool.gif

super satisfied with this purchase thumbup.gif  dont regret not auditioning it first tongue.gif
Glad that you're happy with your purchase. Luckily you din get H5 like me. Else you will need to change your table. smile.gif
mizumi
post May 6 2013, 05:11 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ May 6 2013, 04:54 PM)
like a bit static crackling at certain movies and anime, and sometimes music. No distortion just a split second crackling. My source files are usually FLAC files.
Is it always at the same location? Meaning for songs only at a specific spot in the song i.e. at the 1:30 minute mark? Else probably dirty AC?
mizumi
post May 6 2013, 06:09 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ May 6 2013, 05:56 PM)
yes repeated the same part over and over and only for a split second its there at that point. I sometimes get annoyed by it because i dont like crackling sounds.
If it's at the same part then most likely it's a source issue.
mizumi
post May 6 2013, 06:52 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ May 6 2013, 06:12 PM)
means the m50w cant handle that certain part.....damn...
No that's different. That's clipping. But I doubt so. Like arslow said, upload the source to somewhere so other people can help you test if it's a source issue.

This post has been edited by mizumi: May 6 2013, 06:52 PM
mizumi
post May 7 2013, 03:16 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ May 7 2013, 02:14 PM)
go find any 720p video from animetake.com and try la
Will try when I get back today.
mizumi
post May 13 2013, 01:46 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ May 13 2013, 12:47 AM)
Let say i get m200mk3.
And ill be connecring it to my pc sound card.

But let say future i would like to add sub. How the connection should be?
Sound card -> Sub -> Speakers

QUOTE(munak991 @ May 13 2013, 12:28 PM)
H4 versus M200Mk3 Who win?
Hard to compare honestly as both of these units have their own unique characteristics, it all depends on personal preference. Best is to audition it yourself. smile.gif
mizumi
post May 13 2013, 06:09 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ May 13 2013, 02:20 PM)
Thats why u need sub
Actually I do agree that M200Mkiii more suited towards music. Once u have auditioned it you will know what I mean. The H series are more of an all rounder IMO.
mizumi
post May 14 2013, 12:31 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(genpaku @ May 13 2013, 11:51 PM)
active speaker no need amp bro. it alr have built-in amp inside the speaker. DAC also no need unless u want to upgrade ur soundcard. BTW how much for H4 + H6?
Refer to first page? smile.gif Everything is there.

0.0426sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:56 AM