PC Audio HiVi / SWAN - Active Speakers (Version 2015), Back and Active

wim1983
post Jun 14 2013, 10:51 AM

Whiz
1,531 posts

My M50W not yet done repair, almost 1 week sad.gif

Cyntrix, wanna ask you one question, the active speakers M200MKII got built in amplifier I know, but no built in DAC right? rolleyes.gif
wim1983
post Jun 14 2013, 11:13 AM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(CyntrixTech @ Jun 14 2013, 12:12 PM)
None of the HiVi speakers have built in Dac.
OK, then I understand.
wim1983
post Jun 17 2013, 03:49 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(Gt777 @ Jun 16 2013, 01:09 AM)
Hope this is the right thread for my question blush.gif
Hi guys
This is my first post and I thank you all in advance for your assistance.
I have a pair of T200B which I enjoy a lot.
The thing is. Have the opportunity to upgrade to a pair of X6 but I cannot audition.
The extra cost is not a huge amount, long story, but I don't know if I should do it.

I listen to all kinds of music and watch movies.
My system is IMac with lossless files to Audio GD Dac 19.

My room is about 4m x 3.5m and the speakers are on a desk on either side of the computer.

I like the sound signature of the T200 but as always the prospect of "more" is enticing.

Advice please?
How's your T200B compare to M50W/M200MKII/M200MKIII? What's the main characteristic?
wim1983
post Jun 18 2013, 12:04 AM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(CyntrixTech @ Jun 18 2013, 01:02 AM)
Pair D1010 with H6/H10 brows.gif

Actually that's not true. Those typical multimedia speakers have very poor midrange and mid bass reproduction, therefore they sound rather dry and "clear" by itself. No offence to our own products, it's like comparing the S3W with M50W. The M50W requires the sub to complete the package.
hmm, dont's you all think the sub a bit overkill? When turn just 1/4 ady vibrate unconrolled and violently and produce quite an amount of bouncing bass hum hmm.gif
wim1983
post Jun 18 2013, 10:20 AM

Whiz
1,531 posts

MyM50W still in repairing, it's been 8 days sad.gif , Cyntrix I would like to know is it sent back to China for service blink.gif
wim1983
post Jun 18 2013, 10:49 AM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(CyntrixTech @ Jun 18 2013, 11:28 AM)
They are repaired in house, we don't send anything back to China
In house also so long eh, if just a fuse 5 min also done hmm.gif
wim1983
post Jun 21 2013, 09:55 AM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(CyntrixTech @ Jun 21 2013, 12:06 AM)
All M50W RMA Done biggrin.gif

A lot of M50W seen here:

RTA? My one inside? haha biggrin.gif
wim1983
post Jun 21 2013, 11:02 AM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(CyntrixTech @ Jun 21 2013, 11:30 AM)
Not with these. Will be returned to heavy arm tomorrow
Cyntrix, do you have a list of passive speakers with the prices together tongue.gif
wim1983
post Jun 21 2013, 06:32 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(CephaXz @ Jun 21 2013, 07:10 PM)
8 days you already complain long ah? Mine RMA more than 5 months and not yet receive.
Fixing such thing is not that long, so I consider the service is slow blush.gif
wim1983
post Jun 22 2013, 09:56 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

M200MKII rclxms.gif

QUOTE(mizumi @ Jun 25 2013, 10:53 AM)
Upgrading?  rclxms.gif
Yay, have to sell off some Swans Hivi speakers, then only got money to buy new HiFi stuff brows.gif

This post has been edited by wim1983: Jun 25 2013, 08:10 AM
wim1983
post Jun 25 2013, 04:03 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(mizumi @ Jun 25 2013, 04:55 PM)
What's next?  drool.gif
Ady aim for Lepai 2020A Amp + JDS Labs ODAC + 1K bookshelf speakers < MYR 2000

OK? What do you suggest?
wim1983
post Jun 25 2013, 04:39 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(mizumi @ Jun 25 2013, 05:23 PM)
Hmm...going passive huh? Suggestions wise, don't know where to start.  hmm.gif

I prefer less clutter so actives are the way to go for me. No more upgrades for me in the near future. H5/H10/ZxR combo working well enough for me now. If I were to upgrade in the future will probably be going for higher tier actives like Genelec 8040/8030a or Adam A7x. If possible would definitely want to ABX test X6 and these speakers.
I see rolleyes.gif

so happy got back my repaired M50W biggrin.gif

but I am so upset and tired after plug in everything and switch on, I see burning smoke come out, freak me out shocking.gif

Cyntrix, what happen here? Sienz, I have to travel back to Subang Jaya for repair again, so tired and sick of this sad.gif
wim1983
post Jun 28 2013, 01:59 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(CephaXz @ Jun 28 2013, 02:33 PM)
Hope I won't see smoke coming out from my sub when I receive it. Almost one month, don't know where Pos Malaysia bring my speaker to.
Just close the power everytime no use it, suspect the power is not stable sad.gif
wim1983
post Jul 13 2013, 12:34 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

lol, while waiting for my M50W sub repair, yesterday I just tested M50W tweeters with Lepai 2020A amp, I am surprisingly they sound good with treble max and 2 o'clock bass, soundstage/bass not big but enough for a small room, kinda mini HiFi set.
wim1983
post Jul 13 2013, 01:34 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(CyntrixTech @ Jul 13 2013, 01:42 PM)
Careful when you run it separate from the subwoofer.

With regards to your subwoofer, it would appear that a few units which we repaired failed because the amplifier has completely failed for some reasons. We have to replace the whole amplifier. Please bear with us, the new shipment has not arrived.
You mean have to careful about blowing the 2 tweeters way too over and spoil it? Yes, I sense I cannot open too loud either if not distort a bit.
Hmm nothing I can do except waiting for the repair whistling.gif
wim1983
post Jul 16 2013, 11:41 AM

Whiz
1,531 posts

Just found that to solve my sweet M200MKII bass port resonance problem, I have to take out soft foam (cotton like material) from withint the main tweeter and plug into the bass port, this will indeed take away hurting bass, instead generating more pleasant bass, do mind that dun plug fully with no gap for the bass ports, leave some gap rolleyes.gif
wim1983
post Jul 16 2013, 04:58 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Jul 16 2013, 04:57 PM)
Hahaha... such quality control...

I was wondering what kind of problem you were having. For my Edifier S2000, it was filled with these too. Tried to take them out one day and the bass was loosen.

I put them back in the next day. However, I was considering using something else less dense if I find across them someday. Should help with the bass.
I can tell you frankly, they put in wrong place, or the product not being tested thoroughly sweat.gif

Initially when listen to the speakers, I did not feel any bass port resonance problem that quite hurt to ears, then I found this resonance problem, very pain to ears rclxub.gif , then I try different method to solve this resonance problem include adjust equalizer by reducing bass band frequency, but eventually it's the soft foam most effective while suffer least SQ degrade especially in bass. Your situation seem different? You feel less bass when take out? lol blink.gif
wim1983
post Jul 23 2013, 02:44 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(CyntrixTech @ Jul 19 2013, 08:59 PM)
We will request to change the whole speaker for you.

Hivi is also replacing the whole x4 for another customer. We have some hiccups with order volume and RMA so we need time to figure out an equilibrium. For Hivi this is quite tough but for other brands that we have they are easy to manage. Mostly we just replace the whole thing. The reason is as follow:

There are a ton of models and different models may have different problems that we are not aware of. Hivi only comes with repair warranty and exchange is only when repair cannot be made.

If anybody has any problems with their product, and we don't care what it is, just bring it back to us as long as you bought it from an authorized retailer. Don't even bother bringing it back to the dealer. They can't fix your problem, and sometimes they don't even tell us there is Rma waiting until a week later.
Cyntrix, in this case, Heavy Arm game store is dealer or authorised retailer? hmm.gif
wim1983
post Aug 26 2013, 04:55 PM

Whiz
1,531 posts

sad.gif How about my repair M50W? Is it done, I have been waiting for months... sweat.gif
wim1983
post Mar 5 2014, 12:22 AM

Whiz
1,531 posts

QUOTE(bccheong77 @ Mar 3 2014, 02:18 PM)
I am planning to replace my 'lousy' speaker... and found M50W look good... but yours situation.... let me feel....  shocking.gif

my idea is either M50W or M200KIII.... seems better go for.... hmm.gif
Go for M200KII, but you need to take out foam from the main tweeter (the one with volume control), and plug into bass ports of both tweeters at the back, to solve the resonance problem (too heavy of reflecting bass that hurt), so far pretty satisfied with MKII just some types of bass not that good, if listen to vocal and instrumental music, drums, very poison sweet and pleasant tongue.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0464sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 05:39 PM