7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Nokia Lumia 920, ITS OFFICIAL PRICE IS RM1,999

EXkurogane
post Dec 18 2012, 03:58 AM

1,715 posts

There's an update coming this month, fixes the camera and most of bugs in WP8. For those who dont know about this website, you guys should really check it out, especially all windows phone users. Any new app updates, everything, is posted there.

WPCentral

I ordered a white one already back on 7th December. I want the wireless charging stand but it seems it's going to be hella expensive. sad.gif Making your table 'charge' your phone is also a pretty neat trick but i think my table is a bit too thick to try this.

http://www.wpcentral.com/wireless-charging...gh-coffee-table

This post has been edited by EXkurogane: Dec 18 2012, 04:05 AM
EXkurogane
post Dec 18 2012, 06:34 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Left4Dead2 @ Dec 18 2012, 04:29 PM)
The latest Google high end phone of LG Nexus 4 is now available to pre-order at RM1799 which is cheaper than the yet to available Lumia 920. Die lah Nokia.....

http://www.lowyat.net/2012/12/18/2557/brea...digi-exclusive/
Nokia's Lumia 920 has high demand and their stocks are actually rising. LG = Lackluster Garbage. If the Nexus was by HTC or Samsung i'd have more peace of mind, but LG? When it comes to smartphones, hell no. Refrigerators, maybe. Nexus also have glass backing and i dont want an iPhone style drop/knock and break. And oh, Nexus 4 is cheap because it only has 8 or 16Gb (depending on your choice) and non-expandable storage, not to mention poor camera.

On dual core VS quad core, numbers are not everything, it's all about efficiency. If you compare HTC One X's Tegra 3 quad core VS HTC One S's Snapdragon duo core, the snapdragon duo core actually has higher benchmarks and speed than the Tegra 3 quad core. And, not to mention windows phone is a lot lighter than android as an OS.

This post has been edited by EXkurogane: Dec 18 2012, 06:36 PM
EXkurogane
post Dec 18 2012, 07:31 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(prash @ Dec 18 2012, 07:25 PM)
cheaper doesnt mean its good. people keep complaining about the UI. How they messed up android making the phone laggy.

glass back is a big drawback for me. even apple as moved away from it as the iphone 5 now has aluminum back cover.

it is a good bang for buck phone but if all i have to do is pay 200 more to get way better phone, i would rather pay.
I do admit the Nexus 4 is beautiful, but i have heard some Nexus 4 cracked just because of sudden temperature change, like, if u leave your phone in the car and maybe take it into an aircond room or place it on a cold table, sudden temperature change can crack the glass, not necessarily drops.

LG's problem is more to software, the Optimus 2X was dreadful... Since nexus is running vannila android, less likely to have software issues but i still doubt them as a brand. It is selling so well in the USA because they buy it from google store for just USD $300, half the price we pay for one here.
EXkurogane
post Dec 18 2012, 09:55 PM

1,715 posts

Im kinda bothered whether nokia stores (or any phone shops) will sell hard cases for the Lumia 920 on launch day. Since it is a new model i doubt any random phone shops do have stuff like hard cases. I want a quality one, not the pasar malam 10 bucks one lol. Havent seen any sold in local online shops yet, I have no credit card for foreign website purchase (and given christmas period, shipping might take rather long).

Would love something like this, carbon fibre texture for good grip (since Lumia 920 is glossy) but since accessories might be limited so i cant be picky i guess.

This post has been edited by EXkurogane: Dec 18 2012, 09:57 PM
EXkurogane
post Dec 19 2012, 12:33 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(gHuLzEr @ Dec 19 2012, 12:13 AM)
Argh! Only few more days to launch and Celcom still have not published their plans for the Lumia 920. Really KNS la...
Maxis not even planning to offer the phone i suspect. I wanna stick to Maxis cuz they will be te first to start offering 4G LTE some time next year. Mos likely i will sign up a text more plan there, combine with 1Gb data and get a free galaxy mini but use the postpaid plan on my Lumia 920.
EXkurogane
post Dec 20 2012, 02:30 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Evirober @ Dec 20 2012, 08:18 AM)
I dislike how Nokia malaysia handling the pre order coz they can't confirm the actual release date and the non refundable preorder. They are not a financial institution thus do not actually have the rights to take deposits. Pls correct me if I am wrong.
WPcentral and star paper (tech) already announced the launching is on 21st Dec. Friday. If newspaper already mentioned it i dont think there will be any changes. Most General retail stores dont know anything. You can go to any shopping mall and see a Nokia outlet there, but they are not actual Nokia Stores. Nokia stores usually have working models of all their phones on display which you try on. In penang, only the Gurney Plaza have a Nokia store, other famous malls dont have any.
EXkurogane
post Dec 20 2012, 04:09 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(mukhrizMrz @ Dec 20 2012, 03:32 PM)
i like to wait and see user's feedback later.
nokia have damaged their reputation through Symbian, but this time it could be their time up for the challenge again, i guess? if positive feedback, i'm considering for new year phone eh. hehe
:-)
Phonearena, famous for kissing Apple's @$$, actually rated the Lumia 920 9 out of 10 in their review, and was included in their best 5 phones of the year (though they still put the iPhone 5 higher rank than Lumia).
EXkurogane
post Dec 20 2012, 06:57 PM

1,715 posts

Really wish to get my phone tomorrow... Windows app marketplace is actually doing an app sale, many apps and games discounted, get them by 31st Dec before they revert back to normal price.
EXkurogane
post Dec 22 2012, 03:47 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(nullistic @ Dec 22 2012, 01:18 PM)
im  using nillkin casing  shakehead.gif since i only got black lumia 920..so, red cover can at least rclxm9.gif  makes me happy
Im also looking for this, Nilkin red one. Where did you buy it? Lelong dun have yet, do you know any sellers here in lowyat selling it?
EXkurogane
post Dec 22 2012, 05:26 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(LightningZERO @ Dec 22 2012, 05:07 PM)
First day with the phone and I'm pretty satisfied. However, the battery life is less than stellar. The recharge was slow as well. Then again, I have been surfing web nonstop and fb-Ing with it
Recharge via USB to a computer is slow, but using AC power it takes roughly 2 - 2.5 hrs for me.
On battery life i didnt do much tests, for my case, full battery this morning, only NFC on, Wifi only used 2 hrs so far today (download apps) but when i dont use i turn it off. Music 4+ hrs, and i still have 75% battery left by 5pm. When on wifi it's only slightly warm. Im not on data plan (prepaid), roaming is off, so i guess that has something to do with battery life. But, i did plug in the phone to my laptop to transfer some stuff so this doesnt reflect the actual battery usage.

This post has been edited by EXkurogane: Dec 22 2012, 05:32 PM
EXkurogane
post Dec 22 2012, 06:28 PM

1,715 posts

Goddamnit Microsoft needs to do something about the app store... ==; i think they should just make all the games, at least, available to all stores in all countries, but different countries will have their own unique utility apps that is unavailable to others (such as My Distress only for Malaysians)...
Even i already have a XBox account I havent bought any Xbox game yet, not a heavy gamer on a phone.

QUOTE(nullistic @ Dec 22 2012, 05:57 PM)
Ah, thanks. Damn, how come i didnt notice it. doh.gif

This post has been edited by EXkurogane: Dec 22 2012, 06:44 PM
EXkurogane
post Dec 23 2012, 02:28 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(ChaoGuGu @ Dec 23 2012, 12:01 PM)
Anyone using screen protector on this phone yet?

btw guys read up this. http://forums.wpcentral.com/nokia-lumia-92...-scratches.html

lol  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
When i got it from Gurney on Friday they say dun have screen protector yet.. =( Only 820 got...
Regarding scratches, if u dun put keys with your phone in 1 pocket should be no problem; the gloss back and the center aluminium piece of the camera are more prone to scratches than the screen itself.

Added on December 23, 2012, 2:30 pm
QUOTE(geniuz @ Dec 22 2012, 10:47 PM)
Anybody care to review the bundle headphone that come together with 920?
Dont bother to use them, i never use any earphones bundled with any phones. Most of them are average at best. Get one from a reputable brand like Audi Technica, Sennheiser, AKG, etc. I have 3 sennheiser headphones myself.

This post has been edited by EXkurogane: Dec 23 2012, 02:31 PM
EXkurogane
post Dec 23 2012, 03:04 PM

1,715 posts

Haiz, later i go jusco see if they have the SP... i want the gloss one
EXkurogane
post Dec 23 2012, 03:24 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Dec 23 2012, 03:19 PM)
Do not be fooled with all those videos showing how "durable" the Lumia 920 is. If you dropped on the a concrete floor or the road and it fell face first, the glass will shatter. If you have sand in your pocket and it grinds agains the body or the glas, it will scratch so just do what needs to be done. A bit dissappointed because the phone is heavy enough but now have to think of protecting it as well .....
For scratches, applies to every phone, not just this Lumia 920. As for the screen 920 is a bit more prone to damage because it is heavy - if it lands at the wrong angle when u drop it it might crack, provided you are unlucky enough. No idea on how frequent the screen cracks are on the 920, but i saw my friend dropping his 900 so many times out of carelessness and it survived - of course there are scratches t the corners.

Does anyone's Lumia here have those fancy zitron/avaxx and SKMM stickers defacing the rear? =.=; I really hate the bling bling stickers but cannot peel off...

Kinda regret getting white after i saw the red one look so nice. Because, initially i wanted the yellow, but it looked 'uglier' (no offense to the owners) than the promo pics. I thought it is rich banana yellow but the yellow isnt that kind of yellow, slightly on the light side, a bit of fluorescent yellow. So i decided to play safe since promo pics may not match real products, going for white instead of colors. But given a white phone will look good with any any good color cases on it, i guess im fine with it. >.<;

This post has been edited by EXkurogane: Dec 23 2012, 03:28 PM
EXkurogane
post Dec 23 2012, 03:33 PM

1,715 posts

Mine senget one, worse, beside the aluminium strip ==;
I would have been fine with it if it is at the bottom section, so much empty space there.
EXkurogane
post Dec 24 2012, 06:46 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(vickyrao @ Dec 24 2012, 12:13 PM)
my Lumia 920 which i bought yesterday, i realised i have random reboots as randomly i see my phone ask me to key in my Sim Pin. This happened a few times already today at least in total of 6-7 times since i got it yesterday.
Have been using mine since Friday, no reboots at all yet; I installed like 15 apps and games, including FB, Whatsapp and skype (just in case, since i dun use WA and Skype so far, so, i didnt set them up yet). Windows 8 Portico update is supposed to rectify this problem but M'sia hasnt got it yet.
EXkurogane
post Dec 24 2012, 08:07 PM

1,715 posts

Spelling check? It works well, at least for english. Im typing a lot faster overall compared to my previous phone.
EXkurogane
post Dec 24 2012, 08:27 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(rhoyo @ Dec 24 2012, 07:46 PM)
another one is where to change the spelling check . kinda hard cause it keeps correcting my language ..
My phone's keyboard has english, BM and chinese in word recommendation, can switch it on spot while typing. There's a ENG button beside the emoticon button, tap on it to change language.

EXkurogane
post Dec 24 2012, 08:44 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(skyline100 @ Dec 24 2012, 08:39 PM)
After so many comment still no sifu can tell how to change/turn off the spelling check setting?   sweat.gif

Some persons love to type in short form so changing the keyboard language won't help.
So far i havent found any way to switch it off; maybe have to check the settings section, but for my case it didnt try to correct my short forms by itself, it only have the red underline for words with 'wrong spelling' and will only load suggestions if i tap on the word underlined.

This post has been edited by EXkurogane: Dec 24 2012, 08:47 PM
EXkurogane
post Dec 24 2012, 09:38 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(cks @ Dec 24 2012, 09:27 PM)
Any loose sound while vibrate?
What loose sound do u mean? Probably mine dont have it because i dunno what are you referring to.

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0534sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:37 PM