8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Nokia Lumia 920, ITS OFFICIAL PRICE IS RM1,999

azraeil
post Dec 25 2012, 12:21 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(sang_kanchil @ Dec 25 2012, 05:40 AM)
Better don't . For security reasons.
yeah but I wish there is an option to have a list of trusted senders. It's just a little bit of a hassle to have to touch the Download images everytime I open an email from Facebook to see my notification email.
azraeil
post Dec 25 2012, 12:27 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(rhoyo @ Dec 25 2012, 07:24 AM)
was wondering how to display contacts from SIM card
I don't think you can see it together with your contacts on the phone but you can import the contacts. Settings --> Swipe to the left --> People --> Import Sim Contacts
azraeil
post Dec 25 2012, 12:33 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

I think the battery indicator or the battery reporting by the OS is innacurate at best. The battery was fully charge at 11PM last night and I took it off the plate. By 6AM, the phone reports that I have 99% left (so not too shabby ... off course the 3G was off but Wifi On but Wifi automatically switches off if the phone goes to sleep so basically nothing is on), at 6:30, the battery went down to 95% with me probably just checking the weather on Accuweather and nothing else. Sat down and had coffee and biscotti for my usual morning coffee and input some data in Bank Account Manager (pay day today ...) and read some new posts in LYN, phone became a bit warm (not too warm like usual, probably because I uninstalled Skype last night for the battery testing) and checked the battery at 6:55AM and it's down to 86% ... that's 9% drain in 25 minutes .... I have a suspicion that the battery reading by the OS is not correct. It can't be that the battery has not been calibrated yet as I have had this phone for close to a month already.
azraeil
post Dec 25 2012, 02:30 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Dec 25 2012, 09:11 AM)
so, what is the latest firmware??? getting the protico update yet??
Portico won't come to international set until february at the earliest.
azraeil
post Dec 25 2012, 02:33 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Dec 25 2012, 08:22 AM)
I think you have already uninstall and reinstall skype and facebook app? right. Apparently, there are issues with some apps and the way Windows Phone's servers are syncing data that has caused some phones to enter some kind of infinite loop, which stresses out the battery.

Is battery drainage an issue for eveyone? Or is it just you?
I have uninstalled Skype and it seems the Phone doesn't get as warm as before and the battery drainage as shown by the graph in Battery Status with 3G always on is quite consistent (in Engineering Terms, the decline curve is quite stable). We'll see how it goes today.
azraeil
post Dec 25 2012, 02:36 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Dec 25 2012, 09:33 AM)
but htc 8x already got their protico update rolls out!!! nokia slow....  rclxub.gif
Even Malaysia's HTC 8x? Yes, a lot of people are quite pissed with Nokia for the delay in getting Portico. I think it's Nokia's fault and not MS (as HTC 8x is getting theirs much earlier). Nokia wanted to roll out portico AND the firmware update to fix the camera and that is the reason why it's delayed ... they can talk cock about trying to get compatibility with all operators but that doesn't explain the unbranded 920 not getting it.
azraeil
post Dec 25 2012, 02:51 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(cyborx @ Dec 25 2012, 09:40 AM)
Malaysian 8X did get the Portico.. i've just update it for my brother's phone.
Goddammmit. That just pisses me off with Nokia. It brought back memories of why I was so pissed with the Nokia N8 2 years ago ...

Added on December 25, 2012, 2:53 pm
QUOTE(cyborx @ Dec 25 2012, 09:37 AM)
i need skype for video calling.. need an alternative apps for video call..
Tango maybe?

This post has been edited by azraeil: Dec 25 2012, 02:53 PM
azraeil
post Dec 25 2012, 03:29 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Saw this in All things Digital which is a good read about Social Apps in WP8 and soem of the alternatives

http://www.digitaltrends.com/mobile/the-be...indows-phone-8/

azraeil
post Dec 25 2012, 05:09 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

It's all down to marketing espcially to the mass consumers. That's when Samsung,went on the offensive to differentiate what its phones can do compared to the iPhone, the marketing technique works. HTC and Nokia for that matter should do the same thing.
azraeil
post Dec 25 2012, 07:46 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(-oc-gassa @ Dec 25 2012, 02:33 PM)
Any ideas how to change country for app store?
This is easy.

Settings --> Language + region

Change the country to whatever you want.
azraeil
post Dec 26 2012, 12:14 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(willsonloo @ Dec 26 2012, 07:06 AM)
different between lomogram and instagram??
Instagram have that userbase where you can share your photos and people can comment & like etc. I think Lomogram allows you to just do the filter on your photos. I don't know if Lomogram have a connection with Facebook/Twitter where you can share your photos automatically or not.
azraeil
post Dec 26 2012, 05:28 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

I am on 2G as well because most of the time in the office I just need to whatsapp. If I need to download soemthing big for my email, I will switch it on to 3G and once I'm done, switch it back to 2G. When I'm home with Wifi, I switch off cellular data altogether. My battery now lasts approximately 27 hours with my usage behaviour whic is good enough for me.
azraeil
post Dec 26 2012, 07:02 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(rhoyo @ Dec 26 2012, 02:00 PM)
i wonder where to deactivate the mobile thingy .. cause im using prepaid . and if use my celcom it always makan my credit .. i try to use the dont roam still it makan my credit .. are there any settings i need to put it so i didn go mobile thingy .. i only want to use wifi for internet and don want use mobile data
Settings --> Cellular --> Data Connection --> OFF
azraeil
post Dec 26 2012, 07:39 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Dec 26 2012, 02:12 PM)
Nice. Now I know where the 2G option is
Highest Connection Speed in Mobile Network.
So I guess using 2G will reduce the battery drainage? biggrin.gif
Yes, using 2G I am only losing about 3% per hour.
azraeil
post Dec 27 2012, 12:04 AM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(kuroneko0509 @ Dec 26 2012, 06:45 PM)
well.... mine behave very wierd... sometimes good, sometimes bad... the wierd thing is, the usage is almost the same...
my phone probably got its own mood laugh.gif
I have the same "problem" sometime can last 30 hours, sometime can last 18 hours .... ikut sedap dia je. So when I say I want to hard reset, then the battery behaves .... when I start to feel confident about the battery, then it drains like crazy .....
azraeil
post Dec 27 2012, 01:47 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(moskau12 @ Dec 27 2012, 08:19 AM)
someone tested with usb otg yet?
Lumia 920 does not have USB OTG. In fact, it's a WP8 issue not a Nokia issue.
azraeil
post Dec 27 2012, 04:20 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(GKWong @ Dec 27 2012, 11:02 AM)
Flash to other variant mah Portico lor....  brows.gif
Yeah but that would wipe the device clean.

For those who did do a hard reset, can I ask if you backup your stuff what is restored when you restore your backup?

Anyway knows?

Can you guys confirm if the whatsapp chat messages are restored as well? I know that in iOS, if you restore your backup, the whatsapp chat history is also restored.
azraeil
post Dec 27 2012, 05:01 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Dec 27 2012, 11:47 AM)
Even the US isn't getting the Portico update.
I've heard some European and Canadian got it though.
Some say that their battery life got worse some say the same.
Maybe the reason they didn't push the update is to fix that problem.
New rom, heard that one too. Where can I get this new rom.
Wondering when a jailbreak/root is ever gonna come.
Based on Navifirm, the Portico update is already available for Vietnam and HK units and also Australia and New Zealand ... nothing on APAC MY units

Added on December 27, 2012, 5:03 pm
QUOTE(kuroneko0509 @ Dec 27 2012, 11:22 AM)
whatsapp chat message ain't restored..... you have to do backup on your own
Ahwwwww shit. I don't see the setting to email the chat history either but then again, I hate having to do backup that way. I like the way iOS does it, it saves the chat history as part of the application data that it backs up and when the app is restored, the application data is automatically associated with the app and then you have everything like it was before ....

This post has been edited by azraeil: Dec 27 2012, 05:03 PM
azraeil
post Dec 27 2012, 05:11 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(vickyrao @ Dec 27 2012, 12:09 PM)
press and hold on the contact chat and you will get option to email copy.
Thanks ..... I'll think about it heh heh heh.
azraeil
post Dec 27 2012, 06:16 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Dec 27 2012, 12:21 PM)
Only for Lumia 8X not 920 as far as I know.
I heard only 8X got the Portico update.
Nice. Still having doubts whether to update or not if the update are available.
Guess i'll wait for you guys to update first and later update if it's available soon.
you got it backwards. 820 still no update for the us market. 920 got he portico update on the 19th of Dec for AT&T and Rogers Canada

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0484sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:55 AM