Nokia Lumia 920, ITS OFFICIAL PRICE IS RM1,999

azraeil
post Dec 17 2012, 06:14 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(Emery @ Dec 17 2012, 11:47 AM)
Really appreciate the detailed feedback based on your personal experience. Was really looking forward into getting feedback from real actual users of the phone. Haha. Thanks a bunch man! I've read a couple of reviews too
and most of them also stated issues regarding the battery life, day-light photo taking, and the lack of apps from the W8 market.

I'm also a heavy user of Whatssapp so it's a must for me, and since it was recently back up for grabs in the market I guess it's good news. Will definitely look into Nokia Creative Studio to solve the day-light issue, thanks for the tip. In terms of weight I've no complains, I've held the actual phone & it seems decent & solid, not as fragile as other phones. Btw, I'm still contemplating if I should get the wireless charging plate once its out here in msia. Any advise on that? It seems really convenient tough.
I have tons of apps in the iPhone but at the end of the day, I don't even use 80% of the apps. Most of the stuff I have in the iPhone are games for the kids and there are a couple of games (Like Temple Run, Jetpack) that is not out yet (but for Temple Run, there is a similar free game called Ragdoll Run or something like that) and since I've been using the Lumia, my kids don't want to play with it (because it doesn't have any games ..... yet). I know that some of the games I mentioned will be released soon so I'm enjoying the time I have with the phone without the kids saying "Can I Play with your phone ....". Once the games are released, then I will use the kids corner so that they don't mess around with the phone.

The new Whatsapp I think is just a bug fix and I'm hoping that they release a completely re-written app for the WP8, here's hoping they do it soon. Instagram I hear is not coming anytime soon to WP8 BUT WMPoweruser is reporting that one of the tweet from Nokia mentions that Instagram is working on an exclusive for the Lumia so let's hope that is soon also though I have not been using Instagram that much anymore (Whatsapp has replaced it as I can just share photos I took immediately with Familes etc).

As for wireless charging. I don't think it's a gimmick. I really really like it. In fact, I'm planning to get the Wireless Stand as well for the Office so that I can skype while charging the phone which would be so cool. I come home, put the phone on the wireless charger and after 20-30 minutes, I'm off. No need to tinker around with the cables etc. Really neat. I do sometimes use the cable though just in case I wanted to use the phone while it's charging but the instances are rare (usually when the battery is really really low). Most of the time, I will pick it up from the plate, play with it (to the consternation of the neglected wife) and then put it back ... I know some people complain that it's pricey but I personally think its worth it for the convenience it gives me and for really changing the way I use the phone in the bedroom. Let's hope it's not so expensive in Malaysia. I wouldn;t buy it if it's more than RM250 .... anything below 200 is reasonable (for me .... I have to put this caveat everytime now to avoid another flame war).

This post has been edited by azraeil: Dec 17 2012, 06:16 PM
azraeil
post Dec 18 2012, 12:37 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(kuroneko0509 @ Dec 17 2012, 07:36 PM)
you should get the update notification in the store & its live tile, but the notification usually delayed for a bit.... no need to manually go to apps page 1 by 1 and update it... just wait for a bit la laugh.gif

Added on December 18, 2012, 1:58 amhttp://www.engadget.com/2012/12/17/lumia-920-camera-fix/
the camera fix should be this month....
This happens to me only ONCE (12 apps updates for the Nokia apps) and after that the updates notification is now broken. The store does not inform you that you have new updates available for the apps in your phone and as mentioned by tsk83, I have had to go in MANUALLY, click on the apps and see if there is an update button. It's not very efficient to say the least.

I have the WPCentral app and I check it religiously to see if any of my apps have been updated. Happy to note that Nokia is coming up with PR1.1 which should fix the the camera a little bit (Engadget is reporting that the white balance and exposure still needs some work even with the new firmware).
azraeil
post Dec 18 2012, 02:11 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(kuroneko0509 @ Dec 18 2012, 08:42 AM)
wierd.... wonder why that's happened.. my update notification still working atm (latest one was whatsapp update)
any similiar case reported over the wpcentral forums? haven't been there for a while
Yes, a lot of people are complaining that the apps update notification is broken. Some has mentioned that they get it late (at least they get it) but some like me, has not received any notification at all.
azraeil
post Dec 19 2012, 12:31 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Portico & Nokia PR1.1 for the Camera fix to be released to AT&T today. Damn, I checked mine and still not out. I do not wish to do it the Navifirm way which is going to be a hassle. Maps, Cinemagraph & Music is also being updated. If you're not getting the notification (like me), just go to the store and click on the apps and you will see the update option.
azraeil
post Dec 19 2012, 07:04 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Went to the local electronic store yesterday and they have live demo units for 820/920 and the wireless plate. Since it was 9:30PM, my L920 was on 14 % battery level left, so took the opportunity to juice up the phone on the wireless plate. Everyone who was there was like "is that your phone?" ... funny ... again, I became an unofficial salesperson for Lumia lines.
azraeil
post Dec 19 2012, 07:22 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Dec 19 2012, 02:20 PM)
careful, later they accuses you stole the phone !!!  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Naaah, all the live demo phones are secured with the security cable just like the one in Nokia store which of course makes it very difficult for people to try and test the camera.
azraeil
post Dec 21 2012, 04:36 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(chaukeng @ Dec 21 2012, 11:07 AM)
Hi guys, i accept pre- order for Lumia 920 in Melaka.Price is RM1800,original set.Anyone interested can pm me for further details. rclxms.gif

p/s: Delete this if its not allowed.

Added on December 21, 2012, 4:08 pmHi guys, i accept pre- order for Lumia 920 in Melaka.Price is RM1800,original set.Anyone interested can pm me for further details. rclxms.gif

p/s: Delete this if its not allowed.
If you paid 200 for the pre-order, cancelling it will cost you the non-refundable 200 right? Buying it will cost you 1999 but since you're selling it at 1800, that's shaving 200 off ..... so why not just cancel the order and take the 200 hit since you're planning to take a 200 hit? I hope my sentence make sense.
azraeil
post Dec 21 2012, 11:36 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(LightningZERO @ Dec 21 2012, 05:56 PM)
Hello beautiful

Niceeee!!! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
azraeil
post Dec 22 2012, 12:21 AM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(LightningZERO @ Dec 21 2012, 07:13 PM)
Anyone knows how to configurate mms in 920? I use digi prepaid and seem there's no setting for it yet?

Also..I read from reviews that the bing app can search music etc...but i seems to lack the option for it?

And how to scan QR code?
For QR Code, press the search button (the one next to the windows button) and there's an icon like an eye, that's the scanner.

As for MMS, check your access points in the settings. I think you can setup an APN for Digi's MMS there.

Added on December 22, 2012, 12:23 am
QUOTE(arthur_91 @ Dec 21 2012, 07:20 PM)
Hey folks, i dont know if anybody posted about this yet, but there is currently stock for the lumia 920 (Black and white, no yellow, yellow only as display model) and 820 in Paradigm Mall.

The weight is REALLY a non issue. =.=
The display unit was not functioning well thou. Stuttery and doesnt seem to respond to my touch. Turning off sensitive touch instantly made it more responsive. The salesman there were helpful but he was still learning the ropes about the phone.
The demo unit must have been screwed up. Trust us when we say that the response is way faster and very very sensitive. I'm not experiencing any lags whatsoever.

Battery seems to be doing okay but I'm still having issues when surfing with 3G, the units heats up and battery drains really really fast when the unit heats up. Still contemplating if I should do a hard reset. It's been close to 4 weeks and I have a lot of data in the phone.

This post has been edited by azraeil: Dec 22 2012, 12:23 AM
azraeil
post Dec 22 2012, 02:02 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(GothFebrio @ Dec 22 2012, 08:00 AM)
collected my yellow yesterday morning. loving it. using US windows phone store, bought few apps and xbox live games.
How did you managed to buy the apps? I know we can install the free apps, but I have not been able to buy any apps. I've tried using my Malaysian credit card with a US billing address but it does not work.
azraeil
post Dec 22 2012, 03:49 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(omisa @ Dec 22 2012, 10:45 AM)
yeah, guess so since Im on wifi.

currently using US market. so the option to buy apps is thru paypal is it?

since cannot register local card? or is there ny turn around for this matter?

kindly share  notworthy.gif
If your Paypal is linked to a Malaysian credit card, I doubt it will work.
azraeil
post Dec 22 2012, 04:25 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Dec 22 2012, 11:10 AM)
paypal doesn't work,

try this

1. login to your live account.
2. Go to Account Settings.
3. Click Billing, it will bring you to microsoft payment hubs.
4. once you are in, add your payment option.
5. enter your Credit Card numbers, names , your Credit Card local Billing Address, except the postal & phone. 
6. if you are using US Region ID, try put US states postal code & US contact numbers.

I tried doing that. I was able to add a payment channel using my Malaysian Credit Card BUT using a US Address (my brother's place in the US). So I thought, hey this is good.

When I tried to buy AB Star Wars, an error message came up to say that the payment channel as I have in my US account cannot be used (which I figured means that MS is able to detect the CC number vs the Billing address and it does not match). So ended up buying AB Star Wars in the Malaysian Store.
azraeil
post Dec 22 2012, 04:58 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Dec 22 2012, 11:42 AM)
I was testing this phone just now in Bangsar Village 2. Not bad but I am worried about WhatsApp - is it available if I select Malaysia region instead of USA region?

Is the support for Malaysia Store that bad?
Whatsapp is available in the Malaysian Store. The latest version 2.8.10 seems to be working fine. Messages are getting to the phone instantly (I know previously of cases where the messages were coming in late). The notification bugs seems to be fixed as well (Toast notification comes in and when you click on them, it's not in the conversation list etc). The UI itself is not as good as iOS (I can't say for Android as I have no experience with Android).
azraeil
post Dec 22 2012, 05:13 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(LightningZERO @ Dec 22 2012, 12:07 PM)
First day with the phone and I'm pretty satisfied. However, the battery life is less than stellar. The recharge was slow as well. Then again, I have been surfing web nonstop and fb-Ing with it
It's called New Toy syndrome heh heh heh .... First day I got it, the battery dies after 8 hours (6AM to 2PM), now, the battery lasts me 14-15 hours. With light usage it will last be 26 hours. There is however an issue with the heat. There will be time when I'm surfing using 3G and the phones heats up and I mean not warm but really panas one. The battery will go down by 25% within a 15 minute stretch. Usually when this happens, I will have to shutdown the phone and let it cool and then the battery is back to normal ... I'm still investigating the heat issue and right now following this advice in one of MS forums

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/winphon...7fc7d119?page=2

I'll let you guys know if this works or not. Otherwise, I will send it to the Nokia Care.

As for the charging, I do notice that it takes longer, around 2.5 hours for a full charge but that is probably because it's a bigger battery 2000 mAh as compared to the iPhone 4s. I remember the 4s being able to go from 0-80% within an hour and then it will probably take another hour for the full charge, I don't see that happening in the Lumia 920.

This post has been edited by azraeil: Dec 22 2012, 05:16 PM
azraeil
post Dec 22 2012, 05:38 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Charging via USB to a computer is damn slow. In fact if you are using 3G while charging to a computer, the net charge is 0, it's using the same amount as what is coming in .....
azraeil
post Dec 22 2012, 06:55 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(GothFebrio @ Dec 22 2012, 01:13 PM)
i just put a fake us address, and my maybank visa credit card. it just work.
Hmm, it doesn't work for me. I'll try another US address and try again.
azraeil
post Dec 22 2012, 07:30 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Dec 22 2012, 02:26 PM)
how much for the wireless charging kit ?
and wonder can use on note 2 and s3 or not since they also got wireless charging feature due to samsung so long haven't release it doh.gif
Huh? i didn't know that the Note 2 has wireless charging? I read that you can mod the Note 2 to have wireless charging but it does not have it built in. Then again, I maybe wrong so don't take my word for it. The S3 also can do wireless charging but it's based on using a wireless charging cover (which is similar to a wireless charging cover for the iPhones).
azraeil
post Dec 22 2012, 07:40 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Dec 22 2012, 02:32 PM)
I no idea for note 2 got wireless charging or not, but since s3 got normally note 2 also got right tongue.gif ??
and I no idea need the wireless charging cover LOL
if really need then forget about it

on lumia 920, no need any wireless charging cover right ? just buy the wireless charging kit (what the price) and charge that all ?
Yes, for both S3 and Note 2 probably, the wireless charger is not built-in, you need to buy a wireless charging covere. As for the Lumia 920, it's built-in thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

I don't know the price for Malaysia but I bought mine in Saudi for SAR245 (or about RM200) so I suspect it will be in that range for the wireless plate, it's going for 40 pounds in the UK which is also around the 190-200 ringgit range.
azraeil
post Dec 22 2012, 08:16 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(prash @ Dec 22 2012, 03:09 PM)
I can't send pictures from my album in whatsapp. Have you tried this? When I choose picture from album it actually exits the app and after I am done picking the photo it resumes whatsapp and nothing happens. Sharing locations works fine.
I have no issues sending photos from my camera roll. From what I know, you cannot send screenshots in the latest version of whatsapp.
azraeil
post Dec 22 2012, 09:07 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(prash @ Dec 22 2012, 04:02 PM)
which is exactly what I was trying to do. Why laaa
So you were trying to send a screenshot is it? I also don't know why they disable this feature.

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0502sec    0.96    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:44 PM