4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread v18, many people wanking for JB

YouDontKnowMyName
post Sep 8 2012, 02:37 PM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Sep 8 2012, 02:34 PM)
IMO, the red isnt as attractive as expected, love the black though if there were one
the black one looks mighty sleek in pictures and hands-on videos whistling.gif
YouDontKnowMyName
post Sep 8 2012, 11:52 PM

1,189 posts

i'm on unifi and whatsapp doesn't work.

i don't have mobile data so can't test that.
YouDontKnowMyName
post Sep 9 2012, 10:54 PM

1,189 posts

Guys I just noticed something about my phone.

Earlier just now i was swapping the memory card from my phone, while i was taking off the back cover, i heard some cracking sounds.

Upon closer inspection, I saw 2 fine hairline horizontal cracks that appeared on the back cover.

This is the best pic i can get, there are 2 horizontal cracks.

One below the Samsung logo, the other near the bottom. I'm not sure if you can see it.

MORE PIC

Also, there was a tiny crack that appeared on the silver bezel near the menu button of my phone.
This one happened a long time ago, I found out about this one a few weeks ago.

It's small, but it can be felt when touched and it is quite obvious.

My question is :
1. Does anyone have these problems too?
2. Can i go to Samsung service centre to complain and get it solved?
3. Am I able to get a replacement AT LEAST for the back cover?

yes, i do have warranty registered.

Thanks for your replies! smile.gif

This post has been edited by YouDontKnowMyName: Sep 9 2012, 11:01 PM
YouDontKnowMyName
post Sep 9 2012, 11:24 PM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(TamiyaOne @ Sep 9 2012, 11:11 PM)
it is wear and tear.. normally no warranty..no harm done if you try at SME.. good luck
QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Sep 9 2012, 11:15 PM)
look like u hit/knock ur s3 on hard surface edge side.
i'm surprised that the cracks appeared even when i'm just removing the back cover like i normally do.
what a shame.. hope sammy can provide a replacement back cover at least doh.gif

Seems like the silver band cracking is very common.
I did some research on google and lots of people have the same problem doh.gif

http://www.androidauthority.com/galaxy-s3-...d-units-101957/
YouDontKnowMyName
post Sep 10 2012, 12:37 AM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Sep 9 2012, 11:27 PM)
but urs quite rough wor unlike the pic so straight.. u get wat i mean? nvm just tried claimed it from sme.
yeah i get what you mean haha.
mine was a fine line when i just found out about it.

it has become slightly bigger after so many weeks liao rclxub.gif

anyhow gonna try my luck at samsung tomorrow tongue.gif
YouDontKnowMyName
post Sep 13 2012, 04:32 PM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Sep 13 2012, 04:26 PM)
yes, got. wife's unit... put inside purse... now got some micro scratches. regret did not apply SP on her phone earlier... tot the phone can survive 1-2 weeks without SP since it took me just about the same time back with my s2...
i've been using mine without a SP for more than a month now, so far screen still perfect.
i still have 1 piece of steinheil curved crystal SP in the box.
lazy to apply it tongue.gif

anyway, are the micro scratches caused by sand particles? or an object?
YouDontKnowMyName
post Sep 13 2012, 04:51 PM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Sep 13 2012, 04:33 PM)

not really sure... i suspect could be small particles/ sand... wife's reply to me when i asked how come got scratches so fast -- "you said hard to get scratched ma..."

i went...  rclxub.gif
rclxub.gif whistling.gif
YouDontKnowMyName
post Sep 13 2012, 05:02 PM

1,189 posts

I'm personally an android fanboy but the A6 processor in the iphone 5 looks like it's an A15 chip. more powerful that s3 perhaps? ohmy.gif
YouDontKnowMyName
post Sep 13 2012, 07:48 PM

1,189 posts

Guys, remember a few days ago i posted about my back cover that cracked when i was opening the back cover?

I went to a samsung shop and that guy say very likely not be able to claim warranty because the damage is caused by user.

Also, the tiny crack on the silver band of the phone also can't claim due to same reason, but he say there might be a chance samsung might accept it for warranty if i lied and say that it was like that since day 1.

I'm probably not gonna do that though. Don't wanna make a mountain out of a molehill. Just a tiny crack only no big deal doh.gif

Anyway, anyone know where to get back cover? original S3 back cover AND also 3rd party aluminium back cover (i've seen it somewhere before).

Thanks! biggrin.gif

Added on September 13, 2012, 7:49 pm
QUOTE(llk @ Sep 13 2012, 07:47 PM)
Honestly based on my experience which currently i'm using now, this screen protector tend to scratch very easily, mine only about few weeks but already have few scratched lines.
very true. the surface hardness of 2H even makes the SP prone to scratches / dents by fingernails.

(personal experience w/ this SP)

but at the same time, the low hardness rating of the SP also protected my phone very well from a fall that scratched my SP against a flower pot.
the SP was scratched like crazy, but my screen was still perfectly fine smile.gif

This post has been edited by YouDontKnowMyName: Sep 13 2012, 07:51 PM
YouDontKnowMyName
post Sep 13 2012, 08:06 PM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Sep 13 2012, 08:01 PM)
PM info already

Added on September 13, 2012, 8:03 pm
garage got people sell also, ori goes around rm50+ i think
you mean ori flexible back cover? or 3rd party aluminium back cover? ohmy.gif
YouDontKnowMyName
post Sep 13 2012, 08:13 PM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Sep 13 2012, 08:08 PM)
stock back cover, or better you wait for qi compatible cover, use wireless charging
no need so canggih lah. use cable enough for me liao tongue.gif
YouDontKnowMyName
post Sep 13 2012, 09:14 PM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Sep 13 2012, 08:17 PM)
Bro, actually ebay got alot of sellers selling it, price around RM30++, maybe u can try have a look, http://www.ebay.com.my/sch/i.html?_from=R4...-All-Categories
thanks for the link. probably not gonna get it so soon. maybe next time tongue.gif
YouDontKnowMyName
post Sep 13 2012, 11:43 PM

1,189 posts

I wonder if S4 will have nano-SIM just like the iphone 5 hmm.gif
YouDontKnowMyName
post Sep 13 2012, 11:54 PM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 13 2012, 11:47 PM)
Why bother when it is not even sure there is a S4
Probably Samsung will drop S4 n go fully on windows OS !!
impossible. android will live forever! tongue.gif
YouDontKnowMyName
post Sep 14 2012, 12:35 AM

1,189 posts

just go with the flow of whatever is the latest and greatest gadget available tongue.gif
YouDontKnowMyName
post Sep 14 2012, 12:54 AM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(chriscym @ Sep 14 2012, 12:47 AM)
Guys,I'm planning to get the S3 this weekend after iPhone 4 failing. 1 important question is 16gb sufficient? I'm thinking to utilize 16gb for apps, media wise I would push it to SD card does this sounds good?

Another thing, anyone can recommend a good screen protector? It's a last min research though. I read that people here get from overseas with the brand called curved screen, don't we have any goods ones that we can get straight away?
My phone's internal memory is 16GB, and i have a 32GB microSD card.

I put my media (songs, videos, pics) all into my microSD card, and only apps remain in the phone's memory.

Personally, i feel that it's enough. The built-in usable space is only 11GB+.
I have lots and lots of big file apps like Asphalt 7, GTA3, dead trigger etc.
Plus loads of apps installed, and i still have about 1gb of memory remaining.

If you can afford it, then go for a 32GB (especially if you plan on installing CRAZY LOTS of apps/games).
Otherwise, 16GB should be more than enough for the average user when combined with a microSD card smile.gif
YouDontKnowMyName
post Sep 14 2012, 12:58 AM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(chriscym @ Sep 14 2012, 12:47 AM)
Another thing, anyone can recommend a good screen protector? It's a last min research though. I read that people here get from overseas with the brand called curved screen, don't we have any goods ones that we can get straight away?
As for screen protector, the steinheil curved crystal is popular simply because it has a full-front coverage of the phone since the S3's glass is curved around the edges.

Regular screen protectors will do the job well, but they will be cut-short around the edges to prevent lifting/bubbling due to the curved screen.

In my experienced, I've gone through more than 6 screen protectors for my S3.
4 cheap type screen protector, 2 expensive type (flexHD, Curved crystal [both from SGP])

All of them do the job sufficiently and protect the screen well.

But in the end as of since a month ago, I've been using my S3 without a screen protector.
Screen is still perfect so far. I had a friend who uses his S2 without a screen protector a year already and it's still perfect.

I personally recommend just leaving the screen as it is without a screen protector, but if you're paranoid, you can always go for a screen protector.

I used to be obsessed about protecting the screen of my phone, but after reading many fellow forumers comments about using the phone without a screen protector, i decided to do so too, and i haven't regret it. So far so good.

Gorilla glass isn't scratch proof, but it's pretty scratch resistant.

Just my two cents smile.gif

This post has been edited by YouDontKnowMyName: Sep 14 2012, 01:01 AM
YouDontKnowMyName
post Sep 14 2012, 11:57 PM

1,189 posts

Hi guys, I remember a few threads ago, someone reported that he used the Baseus Platinum series casing and the GPS signal was significantly weaker compared to without casing or other casings.
There was even a video to prove it.

For those of you wondering, this is the casing i'm talking about.

Anyway, although that topic was over a long time ago, i thought that i should point out that in my experience, the casing DOES significantly decrease your signal. ALL types of signal (WiFi, 3G/GSM, GPS)

Yesterday i used this casing all day and i found that the signal was always weak and my battery was draining faster than usual. I checked the battery graph and this is what it showed.

I was in my room all day, and with other casings, my signal is always strong. So i can confirm that the signal in my room is perfectly strong, but it's the Baseus Platinum series case at fault.

Although nothing to worry about, just thought i would point it out to people who are considering buying the platinum case. Beautiful case, but a little bit of annoyance since weak signal = battery drain smile.gif
YouDontKnowMyName
post Sep 15 2012, 12:02 AM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(FallenOut @ Sep 14 2012, 11:59 PM)
should b silentser
let's wait for him to confirm tongue.gif
YouDontKnowMyName
post Sep 15 2012, 12:04 AM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Sep 15 2012, 12:00 AM)
Guess somebody at the RD didn't do their job properly to know that whatever material their using (surely it can't be platinum... isn't that crazy expensive?) don't mix with mobile phones  rolleyes.gif
It's actually just a piece of transparent plastic that's plated with some kind of shiny material.
Or rather painted-on since it has that 'brushed' effect.

Beautiful case though whistling.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0551sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:18 PM