4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

News Y500FHD i7,GT750@2999/SLI@3899;Y400 GT750@2499 V1, Thread closed & continue to V2 ^^

nexus2238
post Jan 23 2013, 06:01 PM

4,193 posts

http://www.notebookcheck.net/Review-Lenovo...ok.87585.0.html
Review of Y500.
Lots of benchmark for lots of games.
nexus2238
post Feb 6 2013, 03:37 AM

4,193 posts

QUOTE(Mr_47 @ Feb 6 2013, 12:22 AM)
if single 650 alone oso wont be better than y580?
KittyKat was asking about battery performance.
Y580, Nvidia Optimus enable GTX660M when required. Under normal usage, Intel HD 4000 will be used, which is a lot more battery friendly.
Y500, on board GT650M is on all the time, which drain battery a lot faster compared to Intel HD 4000 (Nvidia Optimus is not enabled).
nexus2238
post Feb 6 2013, 10:12 AM

4,193 posts

QUOTE(KittyKat @ Feb 6 2013, 10:08 AM)
Hahaha... I see i see. He pandai pandai dont want remove the ultrabay despite i told him to do so. Lucky did not giveway. Just the PRRRAKK!!! sound very loud, something like when you opening plastic container for chicken rice those type...
Ask your friend to follow the instruction in the manual lah sweat.gif
nexus2238
post Feb 6 2013, 10:16 AM

4,193 posts

QUOTE(KittyKat @ Feb 6 2013, 08:44 AM)
May i ask, how does the second GT650M kick-in???

Just curious, possible to choose which GPU is primary??? So we dont load only one of it too often???
*** Sorry, typo earlier!!!
Sorry, don't really understand you smile.gif
Suppose you insert the ultrabay GT650M into laptop.
The Y500 will have 3 GPU, Intel HD 4000 (which is disabled by Lenovo), the onboard GT650M, and the ultrabay GT650M.
The onboard GT650M is always on, so you may say that is the primary GPU. The ultrabay GT650M will kick in when you play games that can utilise Nvidia SLI.
nexus2238
post Feb 10 2013, 03:36 PM

4,193 posts

QUOTE(HolyAngel927 @ Feb 10 2013, 12:27 PM)
last time check with the dealer at lowyat,  mentioned that if add the mSata will void the warranty?? is it true??
That re-seller most likely BS you tongue.gif . Normally there is no "warranty void" sticker around mSATA port smile.gif
nexus2238
post Feb 28 2013, 09:49 AM

4,193 posts

QUOTE(meemoo @ Feb 28 2013, 08:05 AM)
hi sifus..i want to ask about the y400..
is it come in 2years warrNty or 1year warranty?
also is it come with gpu ultrabay or only with the optical drive?

thanks in advance..  icon_rolleyes.gif
Please just read the 1st post of this thread lah smile.gif
nexus2238
post Mar 1 2013, 03:06 PM

4,193 posts

QUOTE(aneo hann @ Mar 1 2013, 02:56 PM)
anybody know is that y500 motherboard can support higher gpu model in ultrabay slot e.g gtx680m
1. Lenovo don't release GTX680M in ultrabay. (and no one else is laugh.gif )
2. To run SLI, you need 2 of the same GPU model.
nexus2238
post Mar 5 2013, 09:43 AM

4,193 posts

QUOTE(aneo hann @ Mar 5 2013, 01:18 AM)
. Yup y500 JBL is among the best speaker in laptop..has dolby theater v4
QUOTE(Arjun Raj @ Mar 5 2013, 01:34 AM)
i've tried the laptop and the hype around the speaker is overrated la, nothing special about it also
no bass still the usual annoying laptop speaker sound but it has more mids and thats about it tongue.gif
QUOTE(aneo hann @ Mar 5 2013, 01:38 AM)
That the best for laptop and its kind. Value for the money paid..
QUOTE(tennytyy @ Mar 5 2013, 02:36 AM)
Lol, for the price you paid for your laptop, the speaker performance has go beyond the range
Laptop speakers generally sucks for anyone who are used to decent speakers (nothing fancy or expensive, just normal decent). All we deal with is the level of "suckiness" laugh.gif
Generally, the bigger the laptop (17" and above), the likelier the chance that the speakers will be slightly better (and may even come with small tiny build-in subwoofer).
To enjoy the soundcard in the Y500 (Realtek ALC269), connect it to cheap pair of desktop speakers with sub-woofer smile.gif For best sound, use the HDMI port to connect to any fancy audio setup you have thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Mar 5 2013, 09:52 AM
nexus2238
post Mar 12 2013, 10:39 PM

4,193 posts

The cable you guys mentioned is for SPDIF / TOSlink.
TOSlink is Optical, SPDIF is either coaxial or Optical.
Basically it is to tranmit sound data via digital format (the normal speaker out port is analog). Guarantee no loss of quality thumbup.gif
If you have a Home Theather or nice sound system, you could connect your laptop to them using this type of cable if your laptop has this type of port.
For example, the Asus N56VZ has this port, and the sound card in it support 5.1 native. Connect to HT for surround sound baby laugh.gif
The sound card in Y400/500 only support 2.1, iinm.
nexus2238
post Apr 2 2013, 04:49 PM

4,193 posts

http://forum.techinferno.com/lenovo-ibm/28...telist-mod.html

In case anyone is pissed with the Wireless Card and brave enough to flash BIOS laugh.gif
nexus2238
post Apr 3 2013, 10:44 PM

4,193 posts

^ Come on lah. GT650M and GT750M is based off the same GK107, clock differently. You are not likely to see something like 20% outperformance smile.gif
nexus2238
post Apr 4 2013, 11:53 AM

4,193 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 4 2013, 09:40 AM)
Anybody agrees that the new Z400 lineups are pretty bad@ss? brows.gif
I'm very impressed with what Lenovo has got to offer for that price, especially the non-touch screen one...

I guess my biggest complaints is the chocolate color LOL, bad taste!
Battery performance sweat.gif 4 cells, i5 M CPU tongue.gif Don't have a option to equip with larger capacity battery.
nexus2238
post Apr 8 2013, 01:44 PM

4,193 posts

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JojX_vwR7K0

Z400 / 500 is not easy to maintain tongue.gif
nexus2238
post Apr 8 2013, 06:19 PM

4,193 posts

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dmVYvJhlhL8

Compare to Y400 / 500, the Z400 / 500 is "high maintenance" laugh.gif

nexus2238
post Apr 10 2013, 06:36 PM

4,193 posts

QUOTE(PowerGadget @ Apr 10 2013, 02:48 PM)
Is that a right choice to move into RE-15/RE-17 instead of Y500?
my usage is programming,web surfing,multimedia,listen to music and general usage.budget about <4k
You don't need beast like Y series or Illegear (Clevo).
i5 or i7 ULV CPU in ultrabook is powerful enough for you smile.gif
nexus2238
post Apr 10 2013, 10:41 PM

4,193 posts

QUOTE(PowerGadget @ Apr 10 2013, 10:10 PM)
But the screen of Acer V3 full HD ips is still better right?

Then which laptop would be enough for me?
I think I no need ultrabook as ultrabook is priority given to the weight and thickness right? I do not mind the weight and thickness as well.
No, the 95% NTSC gamut screen, once calibrated (illegear sometime do this for free), is practically one of the best screen money can buy right now. Only the Retina (again need to calibrate as well) of Apple, Dell PremierColor, HP DreamColor can match it.
The IPS in Acer V3 is no slouch though smile.gif
Ultrabook aim for portability - battery performance and weight.

You are in a strange position laugh.gif You have good budget. But you don't need powerful GPU. You also don't want ultrabook laugh.gif
Spend your money on warranty extension (depend on brands you go for), SSD (go for 256G ~ RM600), RAM (8G stick ~ RM200, get 2)

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Apr 10 2013, 10:44 PM
nexus2238
post Apr 11 2013, 12:06 AM

4,193 posts

QUOTE(PowerGadget @ Apr 10 2013, 11:22 PM)
Sounds awesome.I never know about it.I thought of IPS is the best as I saw forumer always say acer ips if prefer screen quality.Currently Illegear offered me free calibrated,WD scorpio black and IC Diamond Thermal Compound.

smile.gif That's why I also don't know go for which laptop would suits me the best and best bang for the buck haha
Which laptop do you mean?Take the Illegear and extend the warranty and upgrade SSD/RAM? I think it would exceed 4k after those upgrade if I'm not mistaken.
What I meant was depends on which brand you go for, spend your remaining budget on those things smile.gif
i5 is powerful enough for your usage. Same goes with whatever GPU since you don't game at all.
Order of priority:
SSD (without a doubt). Then either go for the screen or the warranty.
nexus2238
post Apr 27 2013, 07:28 AM

4,193 posts

QUOTE(seanlee89 @ Apr 27 2013, 03:28 AM)
Hi guys, want to know if it will void the warranty if I plan to replace the mSata to be the main hardisk for Y400? and rougly how much it will cost for a 60GB and 120GB? Thanks!
putting in a mSATA SSD will not void hardware warranty.
mSATA SSD is slightly more expensive than SATA SSD for the same capacity.
Don't go for 60G mSATA, price/capacity is not ideal.
120/128G mSATA SSD is ~ RM350+ now.
nexus2238
post Apr 28 2013, 07:33 AM

4,193 posts

^
All consumer laptop model should at least has 1 matte screen spec laugh.gif
If Lenovo intend to keep Asus G series in the warehouse, having a matte screen is a good step biggrin.gif
nexus2238
post Apr 28 2013, 04:50 PM

4,193 posts

QUOTE(jh95 @ Apr 28 2013, 01:55 PM)
the lenovo laptop in malaysia product of china?
Practically all laptops in the world are manufactured in factories in China laugh.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0474sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:32 AM