4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

News Y500FHD i7,GT750@2999/SLI@3899;Y400 GT750@2499 V1, Thread closed & continue to V2 ^^

nexus2238
post Dec 1 2012, 12:00 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(minzisme @ Nov 30 2012, 11:54 PM)
yeah, mean that i did installed  the 310.54, so i supposed  to reinstall the driver from lenovo again? because i thought  310.54,310.64 is for single gt650m ,but driver from lenovo is only let the system  recognise the gt650m sli  ,they should be work together ==maybe i m wrong
You should only use 1 version of driver.
To avoid any problem, I strongly suggest you wipe clean all GT650M driver. Then install the driver from Lenovo.
Refer to my earlier post, until Nvidia announce their driver support SLI for GT650M (look for the link or Lenovo will definite annouce as well smile.gif ), you should not update your driver with that from Nvidia.
nexus2238
post Dec 1 2012, 12:24 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(minzisme @ Dec 1 2012, 12:11 AM)
how to wipe clean the gt650m?ha, i did a wrong big mistake
Don't worry. It's no big deal smile.gif

Read this: Official from Nvidia
http://www.nvidia.com/object/IO_13955.html

But, better is this. The above is not "clean enough" some times. This method use a software. The example is in Vista, but you get the message.
https://forums.geforce.com/default/topic/46...lled-properly-/

The best is this. This involve manually changing the regedit. DO NOT attempt unless you are absolutely sure what you are doing. The example is in Win7, but you get the message.
http://forum.notebookreview.com/alienware-...an-install.html

Try the 1st method first. If you don't encounter further issue after you re-install the driver from Lenovo, good smile.gif

nexus2238
post Dec 1 2012, 01:02 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(minzisme @ Dec 1 2012, 12:52 AM)
i still be able to see the sli enabled, dual  gt650m in nvdia control  panel,
[attachmentid=3182541]
but dun know it will affect  my gaming or not,so far dun have any game, cant tested  on it ...but if something  bad really  happened, i will follow ur detail, thanks
Sure smile.gif Btw, that screenshot is after you install driver from Nvidia? or after you re-install driver from Lenovo? Did you restart, after installing any of the drivers? Sometime weird things happen after we restart laptop sweat.gif
Good luck smile.gif
nexus2238
post Dec 1 2012, 01:30 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(minzisme @ Dec 1 2012, 01:19 AM)
now i m doing my 3d mark 11 test, for those people having problem  like cant open or install  any  exe  in win8(wermgr, exe)problem , i found the problem  here, this happened  because i open and using 搜狗拼音,since i closed and hide it , everything  is going fine ,google got more detail about this, i spent 2 hour in google to check how to fix this problem, but i still failed to do so, at last , i typed in chinese in 为什么出现wermgr. exe win8,i found that  a lot people which using 搜狗拼音having  the some problem  with  me ,搜狗拼音 is the major  problem  which causing this ~

Added on December 1, 2012, 1:20 am
wait for my 3dmark result, i installed  310.54 and lets see how ,testing now
Ok, finger cross. If the beta driver from Nvidia work, good news smile.gif

Yeah, most of the time the problem is not with Win8, but program we install that crash it sweat.gif
nexus2238
post Dec 2 2012, 08:35 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(cuteyuzikid @ Dec 1 2012, 05:28 PM)
1)What are the caveats of having the SLI??

I'm sorry for seeming ignorant but I've read thru this post and I know there's a problem but I cant seem to pinpoint it somehow..  icon_question.gif

2)Already kinda made up my mind to get this beastly machine next week so I was wondering if I should get it from jayacom or devour? Any kind person mind linking his profile here?  blush.gif
1. Not problem, just issues laugh.gif
a. Micro suttering. Some gamers don't care, for other it's deal breaker.
b. Not all games support SLI.

2. devour main thread in garage sales
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=98&t=1890950
nexus2238
post Dec 2 2012, 10:51 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(AmyDazz @ Dec 2 2012, 09:32 AM)
ATTENTION TO LENOVO Y500 OWNERS AND POTENTIAL LENOVO Y500 OWNERS!!

Then, I downloaded the EaseUS Partition Master Home Edition.

It has been reported that if the user change the partition, the One-Key Recover feature becomes useless and in effect you won't be able to recover your system.

2 things:

1. As always, make sure you prepare a recovery media before you play with partition.

2. Don't need to use any 3rd party partition software in Win8. Do you know Win8 has its own partition management tool?
Just type "Partition" and enter. You will see an Admin tool "Create and Format HDD partition". It's not flashy, but all the functionalities are there. You can resize all you want. Yet another proof that Win8 is better than Win7 smile.gif
nexus2238
post Dec 3 2012, 01:31 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(Mortalo @ Dec 3 2012, 01:05 AM)
Wrong. Win 7 also have this tool  biggrin.gif
Me bad smile.gif I did not even realise that after using Win7 for so many years doh.gif
I came across this feature as I was playing with the Storage Space features in Win8 tongue.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Dec 3 2012, 01:48 AM
nexus2238
post Dec 3 2012, 09:52 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(AmyDazz @ Dec 3 2012, 08:20 AM)
2. I am aware that Windows 8 has its own partition management, and I have tried once. Bu it has its own limitation whereby you can shrink the volume up to certain amount. Beyond that, it is not allowable. In this case, I tried to shrink my C: (400++GB) to 100GB. But Windows 8 does not allow that.

And apparently, when I checked back to the Lenovo forum, there is issues about this "Partition and One-Key". They (forum moderator), said that you can't actually resize the partition at all! Not even a Megabyte!

If you resize the partition, the One-Key Recovery won't be functioning!

They should have made reference in the user guide! And be careful, this seems to apply to other Lenovo laptops as well which have the One-Key Recovery feature.

Anyway, I will send my laptop in just a while to IBM Malaysia. Hopefully, they can repair my laptop.
Yes, I am aware that the OKR won't work if partition is changed.
OKR is basically a (tone down / rip off) of Thinkvantage suite long available in the Thinkpad series. When Lenovo bought Thinkpad from IBM, the wonderful blue botton in Thinkpad get migrated to the OKR in Ideapad (but with a lot of good features remove).
Ok, let me test if the Win8 restore and reset feature get mess up if I change partition in my Y580. If it work, then maybe it will be a better option than the broken OKR.
nexus2238
post Dec 3 2012, 10:32 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(AmyDazz @ Dec 3 2012, 10:24 AM)
Bro? Seriously you wanna test it? I expect that you will encounter the same problem as mine. It's the risk you have to take.

Anyway, if it's working...than please report in here. Thanks.
It's alright. I never care about the OKR anyway laugh.gif (after using T series a long time and see what a proper tool should be sweat.gif At least there is a fair trade off there)

Will work on this after kids going to bed tonight laugh.gif

And you may want to look at this thread if you are keen to get back the OKR.
http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/IdeaPad-Y-U-V-...p/884193/page/2

Hope you get back your Y500 soon icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Dec 3 2012, 10:41 AM
nexus2238
post Dec 3 2012, 11:06 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(AmyDazz @ Dec 3 2012, 10:50 AM)
As in my case, Y500 does not have Optical Disc Drive (ODD). So, my option would only be to rely on the OKR should my system fails.

So, basically, I'm stucked at the "Winload.efi cannot be found". I, maybe can reinstall Windows 8. But how can I get the installation OEM of Windows 8? I have no idea man.

I sent the laptop already. Hopefully, they can fix it.
Sure Lenovo can do a factory reset. Unfortunately you will lose all the personal data / mods you done so far sweat.gif
But you may not need the ODD. Win8 (or Win7), if you manage to get a copy later, could be installed from iso in a external HDD.
Or you might want to think about doing a recovery media to external HDD next time tongue.gif
Ok, I think I will follow this tonight:
http://www.extremetech.com/computing/13461...es-and-programs
It show the steps require to create a custom image for Win8 Refresh tools.
My 1st plan is as follow:
1. change the partition in Win8 of Y580. (btw, just to be clear, mine is a Win8Pro RM50 upgrade from Win7HB)
2. create a custom image for Win8 refresh.
3. Install a few apps.
4. run Win8 refresh and see how it go.
This is to see if Win8 refresh could be a viable alternative to OKR if we decide to resize partition. I don't aim to recover OKR laugh.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Dec 3 2012, 11:09 AM
nexus2238
post Dec 3 2012, 12:29 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(AmyDazz @ Dec 3 2012, 11:05 AM)
But our Lenovo Y500 is pre-installed with Windows 8 (non-Pro version) right? How can we reinstall the Windows 8 with the Windows 8 Pro installation ISO?

Yup, the key come with your Y500 can only legitly activate a Win8 (non-pro).

Added on December 3, 2012, 12:37 pm
QUOTE(sss2sssss @ Dec 3 2012, 11:36 AM)
sss2sssss, any Y500 owners approach you for the Y500 keyboard protector yet? Can the Y580 keyboard protector fit?

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Dec 3 2012, 12:37 PM
nexus2238
post Dec 7 2012, 01:07 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Dec 7 2012, 12:55 PM)
Y400 avail next week
Indicative price? rclxms.gif
Ultrabay GPU standard or optional?
Is Lenovo Malaysia replacing Y480 with Y400?

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Dec 7 2012, 01:10 PM
nexus2238
post Dec 7 2012, 01:18 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Dec 7 2012, 01:14 PM)
SRP RM2799
RM100 more than Y480. If specs stay the same, still worth it looking at the improved design hmm.gif
nexus2238
post Dec 8 2012, 08:43 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(BAlm @ Dec 8 2012, 08:36 PM)
Best best price also 3759. Ask free other stuff also cant, free extend warranty also cant.

In the end bought msi gx60. A better deal i think and dont need to deal with sli caveat
Aiyo, GX60 is A10 + HD 7970M. Totally different class laugh.gif How much, RM6-7k?

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Dec 8 2012, 08:45 PM
nexus2238
post Dec 8 2012, 11:11 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(BAlm @ Dec 8 2012, 08:50 PM)
@@ 4.3k only....

For 600 more i get a better gfx(at least single), 8gb ram, 750gb hdd and DVDRW. Get 2yrs msi warranty n free 1yr insurance warranty.

Cpu is bad i agree, but i got no problem treat it as support AMD business so they dun close shop
Don't worry lah. AMD GPU still very competitive vis-a-vis Nvidia (just wish they could just put more effort into driver support, the price premium that Nvidia charge on the high end is really ridiculous). Only the CPU business totally whacked by Intel.

Good deal. Not all games faced CPU bottleneck. And your GPU blow Y500 away.

Care to share the full spec at this thread so that TJ could update?
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2026498
nexus2238
post Dec 9 2012, 01:20 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(cuteyuzikid @ Dec 9 2012, 01:17 AM)
got a feeling this has gone a little off topic..
Not really lah biggrin.gif Worth checking out the competition smile.gif
nexus2238
post Dec 27 2012, 02:31 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(ajul @ Dec 27 2012, 10:41 AM)
better u carefully with ur info..if this item not cover international...local set also mean not cover international warranty...if u see in that list..Malaysia not in the list...mean no support here for that model...
for sure u dont know how warranty works...even not listed there...u still can send the warranty for claim...but lenovo service will order part or get support from the nearest service center that got part...
Ajul, how is Lenovo Malaysia handling International Warranty from grey import units? Share with us your experience thumbup.gif

Checking on Lenovo site:
http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/research/h...?DocID=HT074528
"Below documentations are required prior to performing IWS service,
– Proof of purchase.
– Proof of Travel e.g. Passport with valid visa to or passport from country where product is purchased, other travel document (Hong Kong/Macau home return Permit) in lieu of passport.
"
Also here:
http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/detail.pag...ocID=MIGR-58926
"Customers requiring International Warranty Service in any of the ASEAN countries may be asked to provide one of the following in order to obtain IWS warranty repair service; proof of company identification (company letter, email, business card, company badge with photo ID), proof of purchase (purchase receipt, official order, delivery note, sales memo, or invoice), and/or proof of travel (passport with valid Visa to or from country where product was purchased, or other travel documents"

Also see here:
http://blog.lenovo.com/products/lenovo-int...-facts-and-tips
"There are certain countries that may require a proof of purchase or proof of proper importation before you can receive an IWS service and there may be fees or restrictions that apply when and if you need IWS.
• Indonesia
• Malaysia
• Phillippines
• Singapore
• Thailand
• Vietnam
• China
• Argentina
"

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Dec 27 2012, 02:34 PM
nexus2238
post Dec 27 2012, 04:42 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(gravidict @ Dec 27 2012, 04:35 PM)
nfs most wanted, or does this game doesnt need SLI?
it crash when i play
Check here to see what game support SLI:
http://www.geforce.com/games-applications/sli

nexus2238
post Jan 4 2013, 10:15 AM

4,194 posts

^I remember looking through the full tear down guide of Y580, the layout of the wifi attenna is not typical (some sort of new layout scheme).
Till this day, I still strongly suspect this new layout may have lead to wifi signal interference (hence the weak wifi is not solely due to adapter) in Y580 (and may have pass the curse to Y500 smile.gif )

But I don't bother to test my theory since my Y580 is also plug into LAN at home laugh.gif
nexus2238
post Jan 15 2013, 10:37 PM

4,194 posts

^very subtle, sifu tongue.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0405sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:44 PM