News Y500FHD i7,GT750@2999/SLI@3899;Y400 GT750@2499 V1, Thread closed & continue to V2 ^^

sss2sssss
post Nov 27 2012, 02:01 PM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

QUOTE(myotgo @ Nov 27 2012, 12:52 PM)
index score with sli  biggrin.gif ..any idea on how to increase the graphic perfomance?
[attachmentid=3176338]

although the cooling syst on top, but i still eager to make it more cooler
so, i put the cooler notepal u2 n tested on idle for about 20 minutes
the temp slightly affect or not at all sad.gif
anyone know why?
Put in external power source for constant power
sss2sssss
post Nov 28 2012, 09:21 PM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

Tdy just saw Jayacom LYP got display Y500, love that laptop so much, but is 15", and ady bought Y480(make me no money sweat.gif)
sss2sssss
post Nov 30 2012, 04:43 PM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

QUOTE(minzisme @ Nov 30 2012, 01:45 PM)
is anyone facing this problem when trying to open 3dmark 11?
[attachmentid=3181428][attachmentid=3181429]

Added on November 30, 2012, 1:54 pmand i also cant get to open 鲁大师.exe ...anyone know what is going on=.=

Added on November 30, 2012, 3:05 pmi cant open zip,rar,exe file in win8 ,anyone got any idea about this
I think some windows component ady mess up since wermgr,exe is one of them.....
I advice factory reset or rebuilt ur laptop Win 8 by urself (if u know ur win 8 key)
My Y480 Win8 Pro is installed by myself, It is no problem until now except some Y480 driver still no release when Win 8 release
sss2sssss
post Dec 1 2012, 04:01 PM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

BTW have u all modified the nvidia inf file to make the y500 can install the latest nvidia driver?
sss2sssss
post Dec 2 2012, 10:55 AM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

QUOTE(AmyDazz @ Dec 2 2012, 09:32 AM)
ATTENTION TO LENOVO Y500 OWNERS AND POTENTIAL LENOVO Y500 OWNERS!!

I am glad that I bought the Lenovo Y500. I managed to play around with the laptop. I installed some NFS games (Hot Pursuit, Shift 1, and Shift 2) . I was quite satisfied with the FPS.

Everything was OK, with exception the brightness control is lost through the Fn key when I upgraded to the latest WHQL or Beta Nvidia Driver. But it's okay, I thought it could be fixed later, when Lenovo itself release its own Nvidia Driver.

But......not until last night.

My hard drive is 500GB and the drive C is more than 400GB and there is drive D (Lenovo) 20GB.

So, I thought why not shrink the drive C for the purpose of Windows 8 system and create a new larger partition to store my games, stuff, videos.

Then, I downloaded the EaseUS Partition Master Home Edition.

What I did was, shrink the drive C to 100GB, and create a new partition on the unallocated space (I think more than 300GB) on a new drive letter E: (since letter D is occupied by Lenovo).

So, the software asked the laptop to be restarted in order to complete the changes. I allowed it to restart and it booted with EaseUS partition progress.

In the middle of the process, the laptop suddenly restarted.

only to boot with this error ....

I got panicked, and tried press "Enter". And the screen proceeded to....

Now, I got really panicked. But then I thought, there is this Lenovo "One Key Recovery" . The button which situated next to the power input plug.

So, I pressed the button and I chose "System Recovery"...

But, it wasn't successful! In fact, it just proceed to the same previous 2 screenshots that I showed you.

At this point of time, you would know just how I felt  sad.gif  cry.gif  icon_question.gif  rclxub.gif
So, it was at 1.30 in the morning, I googled to find this solution

Solution
, albeit it may not be suitable for a beginner like me.

Lenovo One-Key Recovery and Partition Problem

And apparently, when I searched the Lenovo forum, look what I found --->>
It has been reported that if the user change the partition, the One-Key Recover feature becomes useless and in effect you won't be able to recover your system.

At this moment, I have no idea what to do. I have no guts to try with the solution above. It seems complicated and I scared more errors could arise.

So, guys, maybe I plan to send back the laptop to the reseller.

But the point is, To those who intends to repartition or make new partition in your Lenovo, please DO NOT DO SO, unless you are really sure what is the outcome will be

Anyhow, I'd appreciate if somebody could help me with this problem. I'm like in this kind of "bricked" situation for my laptop  icon_question.gif  cry.gif
Actually it's not bricked lo....sweat.gif
just it's using GPT partition and it cannot been shrink if using 3rd party software, unless u reinstall fresh copy of Win 8 and install driver urself it will be work back, but one key recovery will be useless.....
sss2sssss
post Dec 2 2012, 03:06 PM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Dec 2 2012, 02:34 PM)
how long can GT650M SLI last, since games requirement are getting hardcore day by day
Well since NVIDIA still no fully optimize Kepler GPU, so let's see abt it....
and also lot of lappy GPU still din catch up...
sss2sssss
post Dec 3 2012, 11:02 AM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

QUOTE(AmyDazz @ Dec 3 2012, 10:50 AM)
As in my case, Y500 does not have Optical Disc Drive (ODD). So, my option would only be to rely on the OKR should my system fails.

So, basically, I'm stucked at the "Winload.efi cannot be found". I, maybe can reinstall Windows 8. But how can I get the installation OEM of Windows 8? I have no idea man.

I sent the laptop already. Hopefully, they can fix it.
Well, I got store some win 7 installation ISO file and win 8 pro installation ISO file, so I no need to scare for windows corruption
sss2sssss
post Dec 3 2012, 11:12 AM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

QUOTE(AmyDazz @ Dec 3 2012, 11:05 AM)
But our Lenovo Y500 is pre-installed with Windows 8 (non-Pro version) right? How can we reinstall the Windows 8 with the Windows 8 Pro installation ISO?

Anyway, you know any legit links for me to download the Windows 8 Pro ISO ?
Search at google.....smile.gif
sss2sssss
post Dec 3 2012, 11:36 AM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

QUOTE(AmyDazz @ Dec 3 2012, 11:29 AM)
I searched already in Google. But there seems no direct download available like last time during Windows 7 era. Where we can rightly download from msdn.

We can download the Windows 8 Pro and burn the ISO. But that is no direct download, and I have to upgrade first.

Here is the link--->> http://superuser.com/questions/460762/how-...-efi-bootloader
U type abt these word:
Windows 8 ISO
U can dl those built 9200 as our win 8 is that build
sss2sssss
post Dec 3 2012, 04:35 PM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Dec 3 2012, 12:29 PM)
Yup, the key come with your Y500 can only legitly activate a Win8 (non-pro).

Added on December 3, 2012, 12:37 pm
sss2sssss, any Y500 owners approach you for the Y500 keyboard protector yet? Can the Y580 keyboard protector fit?
Got one user PM me for wanna buy it, but I'll send the detail to him mid of Dec coz now I'm still not too free
sss2sssss
post Dec 11 2012, 01:25 AM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

For Y500 user and oncoming Y400 user:
Here the new user thread for all Lenovo Y series laptop... biggrin.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2619081
sss2sssss
post Jun 9 2013, 11:32 AM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

QUOTE(ajul @ Jun 9 2013, 11:25 AM)
Local stock comes with standard 1 year warranty....but already bundle with Lenovo warranty pack or LenovoCare extended 1 year so become 2 year warranty...this bundle package already do at distributor side...reseller still need to update their product to entitle to get 2 year warranty instead  1 year warranty...
from oversea set with 1 year warranty..just buy lenovoCare or warranty pack to extend ur warranty to 2 year or 3 year...its same thing...
Lol,.bro I think u din get what's this post mean or u din read properly.....
It's not about the 2 years or 1 year warranty thing, it's the warranty claim compare between Lenovo local set and us set
sss2sssss
post Jun 9 2013, 04:56 PM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

QUOTE(mfitri77 @ Jun 9 2013, 12:30 PM)
Then what is this thread all about? https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2647407/all

You see, I don't care you sell set from US, UK. I don't have any care about your customer. I don't care how many times they buy.

But be honest about the warranty. Be honest about the terms. Be honest about the trouble they may face in claiming the warranty. Boleh?
I think u r right, but just stop this topic la..
But in fact nowadays only Asus provide international warranty which can be use in worldwide (but just ignore about Asus service center located at LYP there)...
Dell seems also depend on different countries.....
sss2sssss
post Jun 9 2013, 09:54 PM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

QUOTE(phantom_zero @ Jun 9 2013, 08:55 PM)
dell international is the best, i read somewhere said he study in international but the dell warranty can be claim without any problem smile.gif, dell is the best warranty
That's sound good...
But I heard some countries need provide the original receipt as well....
But as long as it order directly from online it should be not problem... XD

0.0333sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:35 AM