Mass gainer or whey?

Newbieeeeee
post Aug 26 2012, 12:16 AM

:)
1,286 posts

Oh I see. Cause I see fat people gaining quicker than skinny ones. And yew I've just started about a month or 2 ago. Still very new to this. And yes I've noticed myself getting a lil more muscular. Maybe it's because I didn't have any last time. Haha. Is a personal trainer necessary for me? Maybe just for a few months..
alien9
post Aug 26 2012, 01:22 AM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Aug 26 2012, 12:16 AM)
Oh I see. Cause I see fat people gaining quicker than skinny ones. And yew I've just started about a month or 2 ago. Still very new to this. And yes I've noticed myself getting a lil more muscular. Maybe it's because I didn't have any last time. Haha. Is a personal trainer necessary for me? Maybe just for a few months..
It is because fat people can eat a lot and most of them are accustom to handle heavy weight. As long as you eat more than your calorie maintenance and having a proper macro nutrition, then you are good to go (provided you are working out too).

Personal trainer is a matter of preference. I am currently self-training yet I got a lot of sifu especially forumers in here, Victor Costa, TMW, Dr. Layne Norton etc. thumbup.gif
xGKx Phoenix
post Aug 26 2012, 07:40 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Aug 26 2012, 12:16 AM)
Hiring a PT is really dependent on you. How hard are you willing to work? In and also outside the gym. How long have you been training?

I'd recommend seeing how you go at it yourself for 3 - 4 weeks, then make a decision. I'm a certified PT, and have plenty of clients that have been with me for over a year. Why? Mainly because they seek someone to drive them and continually assist them to get the results they want. It's a whole different ballgame training alone, with a partner, or actually having someone monitor you every second whilst you train, ensuring you are doing everything properly and time efficiently etc.

Also, the reason I asked "how hard are you willing to work?" is because with/without a PT, if you don't put in the effort outside the gym as well, you are going to be no better off. I've actually dropped some clients, who after weeks just refuse to even try a good nutrition plan.

This post has been edited by xGKx Phoenix: Aug 26 2012, 07:42 AM
Newbieeeeee
post Aug 26 2012, 10:40 PM

1,286 posts

Umm no, it's because I just want to learn the right technique to lift weights. Don't want to end up injuring myself. Maybe just for a few months and then once I get the hang of it I can o alone. How much do you charge per session and how often a week?
John91
post Aug 26 2012, 11:18 PM

1,193 posts

Right technique can be self taught... mind muscle connection is vital when training in the case of bodybuilding. Also everything can be found on google and youtube... To most exercises, chest out, core tight, pull your shoulder blades back.
FitnessKaki
post Aug 27 2012, 02:34 AM

QUOTE(xGKx Phoenix @ Aug 25 2012, 07:12 PM)
Nope, that's just a myth. And your 2nd statement, "fat converting to muscle", also not possible. Fat does not convert into muscle lol. They are completely different things. Your body can use fat (stored or taken in) as an energy source to aid with protein synthesis to build/repair muscle tissue, but it does not convert directly into muscle.

EDIT: Also, you should only worry about "not making muscle gains" etc, way later into your training history. For the most part, if your nutrition is in order, you should be making good progress. Later on, eg 5 - 10 years down the road, things like muscle fascia lining restricting futher growth etc becomes an issue (which is also easily solve-able).
Phoenix great info, very well said!
xGKx Phoenix
post Aug 27 2012, 02:48 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Aug 26 2012, 10:40 PM)
Umm no, it's because I just want to learn the right technique to lift weights. Don't want to end up injuring myself. Maybe just for a few months and then once I get the hang of it I can o alone. How much do you charge per session and how often a week?
Where abouts do you train? I'd be happy to help you out with advice/technique etc if you happen to train nearby Fitness First @ The Curve.

Wouldn't be able to give you ongoing sessions though, as I'm only coming to KL on holidays for a month. I run a Personal Training service at Fitness First Norwest (Sydney, AU) smile.gif

Added on August 27, 2012, 2:49 pm
QUOTE(FitnessKaki @ Aug 27 2012, 02:34 AM)
Phoenix great info, very well said!
cheers bud thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by xGKx Phoenix: Aug 27 2012, 02:49 PM
Newbieeeeee
post Aug 27 2012, 07:15 PM

1,286 posts

QUOTE(xGKx Phoenix @ Aug 27 2012, 02:48 PM)
Where abouts do you train? I'd be happy to help you out with advice/technique etc if you happen to train nearby Fitness First @ The Curve.

Wouldn't be able to give you ongoing sessions though, as I'm only coming to KL on holidays for a month. I run a Personal Training service at Fitness First Norwest (Sydney, AU) smile.gif

Added on August 27, 2012, 2:49 pm

cheers bud  thumbup.gif
Ahh thats quite far. I live just off old klang road. I usually go to my friend's condo for the gym. Thinking of getting membership for the gym at Southgate becuase its cheap. Only RM91 / mth.
xGKx Phoenix
post Aug 27 2012, 07:22 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Aug 27 2012, 07:15 PM)
Ahh thats quite far. I live just off old klang road. I usually go to my friend's condo for the gym. Thinking of getting membership for the gym at Southgate becuase its cheap. Only RM91 / mth.
oh well. good luck with your training then. feel free to shoot me a PM if you get stuck thumbup.gif
TSLittleSmarty
post Aug 27 2012, 07:25 PM

188 posts

May I ask a question? How do I know am I a fast twitch or slow twitch person?
xGKx Phoenix
post Aug 27 2012, 07:40 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(LittleSmarty @ Aug 27 2012, 07:25 PM)
Most people are a combination of both, however in varying ratios. No one is 100% of either.

Slow twitch is basically muscles that are more for endurance based activities. Fast twitch, more strength and speed, however the duration is not as long.

An easy comparison:

Marathon runner: Primarily slow twitch

Sprinter: Fast twitch
-Dan
post Aug 27 2012, 07:44 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(LittleSmarty @ Aug 27 2012, 07:25 PM)
Nobody is 100% 'fast twitch' or 'slow twitch'. All muscles consist of their own ratios of fast and slow twitch muscles. These ratios differ between muscles, and differ further between people as it's a genetically determined factor, to an extent. IINM, the only way to find out the composition of type I and II fibres in your muscles is through a biopsy. It's not really something to worry about, to be honest.

Added on August 27, 2012, 7:45 pm
QUOTE(xGKx Phoenix @ Aug 27 2012, 07:40 PM)
Most people are a combination of both, however in varying ratios. No one is 100% of either.

Slow twitch is basically muscles that are more for endurance based activities. Fast twitch, more strength and speed, however the duration is not as long.

An easy comparison:

Marathon runner: Primarily slow twitch

Sprinter: Fast twitch
Ah, beat me to it!

This post has been edited by -Dan: Aug 27 2012, 07:45 PM
xGKx Phoenix
post Aug 27 2012, 07:46 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(-Dan @ Aug 27 2012, 07:44 PM)

Added on August 27, 2012, 7:45 pm
Ah, beat me to it!
lol whistling.gif
Newbieeeeee
post Aug 28 2012, 02:15 PM

1,286 posts

QUOTE(xGKx Phoenix @ Aug 27 2012, 07:22 PM)
oh well. good luck with your training then. feel free to shoot me a PM if you get stuck thumbup.gif
Alright, thanks for offering! smile.gif
MugenK20A
post Aug 30 2012, 11:33 AM

1,244 posts

As bro alien9 said forget bout all supplements which promise to make u bigger & bulkier. Main food intake is the only thing that can increase ur body size. Whey or mass protein is still supplements.
mradult
post Sep 14 2012, 01:41 PM

114 posts

i found what i want from the link in the signature of alien9, thanks hehe tongue.gif

This post has been edited by mradult: Sep 14 2012, 08:01 PM
facelol
post Sep 14 2012, 03:40 PM

333 posts

always remember,,gain first before cut..
means that u need to take mass gainer first before protein
alien9
post Sep 14 2012, 07:41 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(facelol @ Sep 14 2012, 03:40 PM)
always remember,,gain first before cut..
means that u need to take mass gainer first before protein
doh.gif
DansuGoGo
post Sep 15 2012, 08:01 AM

13 posts

If ur goal is to gain mass the u should take mass gainer(thats why the supplement name mass gainer)...
But if u want to stay fit n try to gain lean muscle u should try whey protein....
People usually take whey protein for their cutting phase... Dedication,discipline and hardwork is needed to ! rclxms.gif
alien9
post Sep 15 2012, 03:32 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(DansuGoGo @ Sep 15 2012, 08:01 AM)
If ur goal is to gain mass the u should take mass gainer(thats why the supplement name mass gainer)...
But if u want to stay fit n try to gain lean muscle u should try whey protein....
People usually take whey protein for their cutting phase... Dedication,discipline and hardwork is needed to !  rclxms.gif
I don't take either one so am I doing something wrong here? rclxub.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0263sec    1.07    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 06:57 PM