7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Nokia Lumia WP8

luckyhillkop
post Oct 30 2012, 05:25 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(matthewctj @ Oct 30 2012, 05:22 PM)
This is where I think you may be wrong. Your purchase is for your own consumption. Similarly, in the past where we bought a music CD, you can give it to anyone you like once you are bored of it. Duplicating is what they are trying to avoid. When in soft copy, people can share with anyone they want. When you share with 1 person, that is 1 less royalty payment to the artist and the recording label. Imagine it's like network marketing. You share with 2, then each of them share with 2 and etc. There will be too many people having it without paying for it. It's not so much about you selling it. However, humans being humans, they do it anyway. But technically, it is not your right from a legal point of view as far as I understand it.
What if I have 2 phones and i want the same song in both of MY phone? In the case of a CD, what if I want to listen to it at home or while driving to work but don't want the hassle to bring it everywhere with me?
luckyhillkop
post Oct 30 2012, 10:05 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(matthewctj @ Oct 30 2012, 05:48 PM)
I am pretty sure they have statistics of those who does that and at the same time share with others as well. But they would not know what your intentions are, hence they implement a control feature on it. It doesn't prevent people from doing so still, but they won't make it easy either. It's no different to P2P softwares. Excuses such as file sharing of legal content is accurate. But when you look at torrent sites, we all know what content they are.

I do see your point of view but you would also agree that in current age and times, it is common to share it with others besides one self. Same song? If it's soft copy, you could sync with both your phones via your PC I guess. CD? That could be tricky. But I am imagining the days where we didn't have CD burning software or high tech PC to copy. I did that many moons ago, which is to transfer the CD from house to car. Wow, shows how old I am  laugh.gif  Maybe you are much younger to never did that before and were brought up instantly into the digital age.

But that is what copyright is about.
I get what you mean too, still think it shouldn't be illegal though. But nvm we are getting off topic here.
I'm deprived of 920 hands on!
luckyhillkop
post Oct 31 2012, 09:32 AM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

Ok I have one really noob question here.

What exactly is WP8 Xbox games and how is it different from normal games on mobile? Need to play online or something? unsure.gif blush.gif
luckyhillkop
post Oct 31 2012, 09:51 AM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

sucks! AP 920 here i come!
luckyhillkop
post Oct 31 2012, 11:45 AM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

Looks like still no separate volume control for wp8.
luckyhillkop
post Oct 31 2012, 02:04 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 31 2012, 01:33 PM)
Same difference is you have a profile and some games have your history and achievements
So anyone could play the game on the phone without needing other devices?
luckyhillkop
post Oct 31 2012, 02:12 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Oct 31 2012, 02:08 PM)
think of it as iOS game centre or OpenFeint, if u know those.. a integrated server/platform, that records your highscore, your total playtime, your achievement, your friend, your ranking worldwide, etc etc...
i remember they promise some game save integration where u can continue on xbox on the same game from where u left off from your phone, if it is integrated.

U can find supported games under XBox Live Titles in the game category
Ok if that so I don't see how ppl can say wp lacks good games because from I what see there are plenty good games offered under Xbox games.
luckyhillkop
post Oct 31 2012, 02:40 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(Fazri9900 @ Oct 31 2012, 02:26 PM)
will get the htc 8x this friday first..later on 920 comes out..buy that one also..yeah..windows 8!!!
Wah u have so much money to burn.
Hope HTC will price their phones low so Nokia will have to follow suit.
luckyhillkop
post Oct 31 2012, 03:07 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Oct 31 2012, 02:54 PM)
well, most the games are not free and they area rather pricey... plus, their game title availability is not as broad as iOS or Android, yet.... let's just hope the DirectX 9 turn the tide around this time... Overall, I still hope i can customize more on the homescreen, i mean... black/white only background seem so boring after a while
Alrite thanks.

So far there are a few gripes of wp7 that isn't fixed in wp8.
- No separate volume control.
- no lock screen orientation
- no text reflow on browser
- wifi stops when screen is lock.

This 4 will annoy me a bit.

This post has been edited by luckyhillkop: Oct 31 2012, 03:08 PM
luckyhillkop
post Oct 31 2012, 03:34 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

Extra info on the wifi, that data sense thingy might help solve this but no one is sure yet if this is true or how it can be done. Can't remember where exactly i read this (been doing a lot of reading on wp8, pening already), I will try to look for it. I'll put the source here if I managed to find it.

luckyhillkop
post Oct 31 2012, 03:44 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(jonchai @ Oct 31 2012, 03:25 PM)
3. Notification center. For the millionth time, Microsoft, toast is not enough. I want a summary of all notifications.

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Oct 31 2012, 03:30 PM)
there are still a lot of factors that stops me

--doesn't have a centralized place for notification( i know live tile will have notification count on the tile, but what about    apps that u didnt pin, plus, it's better to see what's up in a centralized place)
I'm not a current Wp user but this notification thing doesn't seem like a big problem in wp8 especially. We can pretty much pin all the apps that we need the notification for, right? I mean we can resize the tiles now so we could use the smallest size for this apps, therefore we could pin quite a lot of apps. For me, I'll probably only need fb, whatsapp, sms, calls (misscalls), email, and maybe twitter. Those are it and the homescreen should be able to fit all this.

Am I talking sense here or am I talking out of my ass?

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Oct 31 2012, 03:30 PM)
some might say it's all the small/unimportant things, but i do feel these should be taken care of, if an OS is trully polished, every OS has it's downside, I'm just stating WP's, I do not mean that other platforms are perfect, in case anyone here is offended

These "small little things" are the ones who make the OS. They are important and as a user u have the right to voice your concern.
luckyhillkop
post Oct 31 2012, 04:05 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(jonchai @ Oct 31 2012, 03:25 PM)

4. To be confirmed. I was hoping they'd include the option. Any source to back this up?

Here's the Source - Pocketnow
The reviewer added the wifi part in the comment section. Can see the screencap i attached.

luckyhillkop
post Oct 31 2012, 04:44 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Oct 31 2012, 04:40 PM)
The way how they market the WP8 is "cater for each of us and not all of us", I think this direction has already been done by Android and they pretty much follow the trend til now.

Well yeah, you get the icons grid on both iOS and Android but on Android, they allow users to customise their homescreens with widgets and all that, hows that for "cater each of us"?

The things that mentioned above like the issues for WP7 is pretty much a deal breaker for me on WP8, the apps on the marketplace are bloated by a great deal amount of "basic" apps.

Xbox Live games on the other hand are quite fun to play with but these titles are pretty old in my opinion and pricey. sweat.gif
How pricey is pricey? Can get under rm10?
luckyhillkop
post Oct 31 2012, 05:16 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Oct 31 2012, 04:57 PM)
depends on the titles lah, some decent one cost you around $4-$6 on the marketplace, say I want to buy Plants vs Zombies on Marketplace, it cost me $SGD6.99 while in GooglePlay it cost $US2.99 and on iTunes Store, it cost only $US0.99. Pricey? Perhaps, and for those who are familiar with the Xbox LIVE, the avatar can be equip with really nice looking gears for your own but the avatars doesn't come cheap, you have to buy gold points to do exchange which is really expensive too.
Wow that's pricey, price difference is just too big.

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Oct 31 2012, 04:57 PM)

4. WiFi doesn't bother me much since whatsapp takes care of it by playing a dummy radio to keep the wifi alive and jumping back to app quicker.

So u mean as long as we have whatsapp the wifi will stay connected?
luckyhillkop
post Oct 31 2012, 05:53 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Oct 31 2012, 05:32 PM)
Yeah tested and works fine for me but the result could be different on some devices since jonchai mentioned apps being suspended when not in use but the Whatsapp trick should work wonders or you can launch a radio app that keeps the wifi alive.

Also, to keep your wifi alive, you can plug your phone into the charger too. biggrin.gif
Shouldn't be a problem then.
luckyhillkop
post Oct 31 2012, 08:48 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

Wah Lumia 920 price in UAE is $639 ~ RM1950
Lumia 820 is $490 ~ RM1500.
Quite encouraging this rclxms.gif
luckyhillkop
post Nov 2 2012, 09:14 AM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(prash @ Nov 2 2012, 09:05 AM)
http://www.theverge.com/2012/11/1/3587864/...fication-center

Looks like notification center will be on the next update.
This is great! Swipe to the left pls.
Best case scenario is they give the update at the same time 920 is available in Malaysia.

Added on November 2, 2012, 9:32 amSo the verge is saying the only downsides of 920 is the size/weight and lack of apps.

And their sample photos are better than most samples I've seen so far.

This post has been edited by luckyhillkop: Nov 2 2012, 09:32 AM
luckyhillkop
post Nov 2 2012, 10:26 AM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(jonchai @ Nov 2 2012, 10:17 AM)

This is the worst joke ever. Just because it is slightly heavier, it gets a 3 star.

Edit: Sorry, quoted wrong guy. Referring to PCMag review ... I think? LOL doesn't matter.
It's the Pocketlin. The Verge review is fair IMO.
luckyhillkop
post Nov 2 2012, 11:54 AM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Nov 2 2012, 11:50 AM)
the only option available for me to get this beauty now is either through Expansys or Clove...why they never prioritise Malaysia for the first batch release, even India & Thailand are included...
I'm scared to buy online from overseas. Is it reliable? Problem is there won't be a local warranty.
luckyhillkop
post Nov 2 2012, 02:14 PM

Bored at work
1,543 posts

QUOTE(murv90 @ Nov 2 2012, 12:20 PM)
Nah, its pretty much free like Malaysia. Prepaid rules here. Unlimited internet with 3G speeds for like RM 15 per month. biggrin.gif
How's the price there? Cheaper than here?

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0508sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:40 AM