Jack Russell club, Pics updated!!

1dollar
post Feb 7 2012, 05:51 PM

Hello all,

I am new here and also new to LYN.
Good to see a good number of JRT community in Malaysia.
I still find it rare even when I walk around Desa Park on weekends.

I owned a 1.5 years smooth coat male named Bullet.
Its a real Bull and fast like bullet.

Looking to get a second JRT, prefarably wired/long coat, female and tri-colored. Will make do with just white and black if cant get Tricolor.
Anyone got contacts ?
1dollar
post Feb 7 2012, 06:05 PM

some pics of my mutt Bullet.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
1dollar
post Feb 7 2012, 06:12 PM

full white on one side. brown patches on the other.

1dollar
post Feb 23 2012, 03:09 PM

where all the JRT kaki went ?? Helloo ?
Any dog shows or social event coming up beside the Pet Exhibition in Mid Valley and UPM Dogathon ?
1dollar
post Feb 28 2012, 06:58 PM

QUOTE(chrislyv @ Feb 25 2012, 12:54 PM)
hmm mayb all too bzy with their JRT..
so far any gatherings for JRT's?
mine will be graduating this sun (26/02).. puppy training @ jayaone..
What you all doing in a chinese cemetry ?
1dollar
post May 18 2012, 04:15 PM

QUOTE(chrislyv @ Mar 1 2012, 08:53 AM)
hahaha.. good ques..

sad to say, they arent many dog friendly out door area where dogs can roam around..
so the trainer use this cemetery area for our dogs training.. all allowed to roam freely.
this is part of training to expose our dogs in an open environment..
train them to go in packs.. many wild dogs there dare not come close to the pack..
Hahahah thats interesting... never thought of it that way. I usually bring mine to the park near by late night and let him run all he wants without leash.

Added on May 18, 2012, 4:29 pm
QUOTE(purplecrystal2 @ Mar 4 2012, 03:30 PM)
Hi...help my jrt sheds a lot...suggestion and why brand do u usually feed your jrt?

Mine very picky with food...tried natural balance, nutram, oven baked, and, holistic also got, science diet, sportsmix, and a few more brand...she dun like..haiz...

She is two years and three mths old
Allow me to share my experience,.. I am not hyping or marketing any products but I;ve gone thru the same thing.
My JRT Bullet has sensitive intestines and very prone to rashes from the food he takes. Chicken products give him rashes so i switched to fish based kibbles. Started of with Nutrisource Pure Vita Salmon & Potato (cheap), then I switched to Lamb & rice. The lamb formula produced bad and soft stools so I switched back to fish based again. I always change brands whenever I finish up a 10-13kg bag. Some brands comes in 3-5kg only.

List of kibbles I;ve tried over the 2 years. Note that its all Fish based.

Nutrisource Pure Vita
Taste of the Wild (my fav, tastes good) yeah i eat what my dog eats.
BritCare - (cheap and good)
Acana
California Natural
Evo - darn expensive

Occasionally I add on some canned food by Natural balance / Evo / Britcare / Addiction.
I always top up BUllet's food with additional Salmon or fish oil, the omega acid helps with the shinny fur and less shedding. I would recon you to use My Beau supplements.
On this fish based diet,.. Bullet shed bout 40-50% less when he was on the lamb formula.

Recently after the last pack of kibbles gone, we switched to Raw food diet or BARF diet to some people. I avoid giving daily, once a week with bones. To my surprise,... Bullet shedding only about 5-10% now. Awesome! Salmon is expensive so we use frozen Dory fillets. results are great, he is now more lean and muscular.

Added on May 18, 2012, 4:31 pm
QUOTE(The Analyst @ Mar 4 2012, 11:28 PM)
Cute! Love the plain marking on this.
THanks,... Anyone heading for the Setia Alam Echo park treasure hunt?
its on Sunday 27th May

Added on May 18, 2012, 4:39 pm
QUOTE(chrislyv @ Mar 26 2012, 07:16 PM)
hi, i think its common for JRT to shed alot.. mine also same..
according to vet, its common for JRT..
i've tried euka, alpo, sc.diet & etc.. all same..
Maybe i am just too particular and because of my JRT being so sensitive, I avoid those brands above for some reasons :

1) by products
2) not grain free

SC Diet will turn my Bullet red all over upon feeding.
Smooth coat JRT do shed a lot, but their diet can help and make a difference. Every dog is different.
So change your kibbles and find the best one that suits you and your dog.
Mine is on Raw food diet now, lost weight (fats) in one week. In that same week I saw my dog poop less, shed less, more active.
Preparing the food weekly is one hectic work, but its really worth it.

Added on May 18, 2012, 10:35 pm
QUOTE(ericoye @ May 4 2012, 12:25 PM)
Hi guys,

I'm a huge fans of Jack Russell, I never had a dog before, would like to know if this dog is easy to train? At least toilet training an easy task for them and that will be my main concern to have JR...=)
Mate,

Please study up on the breed that suits you. JRT is not meant for beginers, it will out smart you in every ways.
You need to be stern and like Cesar Milan said "calm and assertive". I share with you my experience, Bullet is my first dog and been 2 years now, he still goes his own ways. But good to know that he listens and obidient in public.
Just overly excited with other dogs, if you have an active lifestyle then yeah JRT suits you, if you can dominate and be a strong pack leader yeah go a head.

JRT is not a spoil pooch, terriers are ferocious..... they bite and nip a lot. If you count, terrier actually bite more than any other banned breeds. If you watch dog whisperer enough, you will notice that all the biting and nipping problematic dogs are terrier breeds. Commiting to a dog is like having a child on your own mate. Think carefully, if you are a couch potato and always have someone at home, get a French Bulldog, or any other companion breeds like poodles, schnauzers.

JRT will hunt, seek and kill anything that moves, roaches, lizards, rats, they are bred for ratting and burrow hunting. They instincts amazes me till today, it will not let anything it hunt walk away alive.

Another sad case in Subang last week, MPSJ now banning Bull terriers, they are just the most adorable bred. Clown terrier!

This post has been edited by 1dollar: May 18 2012, 10:35 PM
1dollar
post May 19 2012, 06:20 PM

QUOTE(chrislyv @ May 19 2012, 02:18 PM)
truecolor, wat happened to ur JRT?

1dollar, sounds like fish diet works on ur jrt.. mayb i shld try it too..
raw food? heard of it too.. recommended by my uncle from AUST.. what raw food u recommend?

as for 27/5.. mine will be in for the dog show.. if u r goin, see u there!!
I'll be there on the 27th just to sibuk. not participating anything. just bring bullet to social n mingle. as for raw food, here some pics from just now. just made and freeze 10 packs.

this week blended smoothie portion contains
2 banana
spinach
brocoli
2 apples
while egg with shells.

1kg beef with about half kg mutton heart and liver.
mashed sweet potatoes.
standard yoghourt, cider and olive oil sauce.
upon feeding will add fish oil and supplements.

1dollar
post May 24 2012, 07:46 PM

QUOTE(chrislyv @ May 19 2012, 09:35 PM)
hmm where u get the recipe from? very very healthy!!
not sure my TOM will eat or not...

as for 27/5, hope 2 see u there! if possible give some support for Group 3 event..
See you guys this Sunday.

Chris,
THere is a BARF diet topic going on in this forum too. You can look up BARF Diethere, thank god Bullet aint particular with his food, he eats everything and anything.
Do read up and research, maybe u can give it a trial for a week and see if yours likes it or not. Good thing about preparing your own dog food is the versatility! You can put anything you want or like like cooking up for your own family. One week beef, next week fish, sometimes lamb, sometimes mutton, some times mix....just google up on BARF or RAW food recipes. You can choose to cook or feed it raw. Dont have to follow em like a religion or a cult, its up to you.

If you do plan to switch,.. pls blend and puree your veggies. Dogs dont have bacteria to break down veg and fruits like cows. My first trail was rather amusing, I didnt mash the peas and carrots and it comes back out theu his rear pieces of peas and carrot. Puree and blending it easier for the intestines to absorb the nutrient needed.

I dont give any grain to mine.

Calsium - Milk, yoghurt, cheese, raw bones, yakult/vitagen (active live basilius prebotics bacteria for digestion)
Vitamins and fibres from fruits - banana, brocoli, carrots, spinach, alfafa, apples, pears, (with skins!), tomatoes, garlic...etc
Carbo - Yam, sweet potatoes, potatoes, cooked rice, peas, beans like chickpeas (farting food)

Liver is rich with Iron and its cheap. you can get free chicken livers from market sometimes.
Ideally 1/3 to half part must be meat, dog gets most energy from processing protein.
Add other supplements may it be in powder or liquid.

Restricted food for dogs - Onions, chocolate, some say grapes. (http://dogs.about.com/od/dogandpuppyhealth/tp/toxicfood.htm)

This post has been edited by 1dollar: May 24 2012, 07:48 PM
1dollar
post May 27 2012, 07:39 PM

CONGRATZ to chris and tom wining MKA ribbon today. any more ribbons after I left with the second show?
1dollar
post Jun 4 2012, 08:21 PM

Sad story, RIP Coffee
1dollar
post Jun 18 2012, 12:49 PM

Chris

ANy luck at the MV pet expo? Heard there was a MKA show on Saturday
1dollar
post Nov 21 2012, 06:54 PM

back from Hiatus,.... long time no see Chris. How many ribbon have you picked up this far?
A gathering would be good, havent brought Bullet to go socialise for a while ady.

Added on November 21, 2012, 6:57 pmHmm me also looking for a female JRT, preferably a long or a wired coat. Wanna make some puppies and join Chris in collecting some blue ribbons.

This post has been edited by 1dollar: Nov 21 2012, 06:57 PM
1dollar
post Nov 25 2012, 12:51 PM

hiatu is just a ter
m for going missing and quiet. Lol. So difficult to look up dog events that arent MKA COMPETITIONS. Years ago plenty, almost 1 event every quater.
1dollar
post Nov 26 2012, 07:03 PM

QUOTE(nig3l @ Oct 24 2012, 04:27 PM)
My best friend! biggrin.gif Indoor JRT and a serious bug hunter  :/

fly,lizard, dragonfly , beetle ,snail.. etc etc..
apparently, he does not consume the bug.
He paw / bite them to death and leave it at the carpet.
i assume he just wants to play lol

[attachmentid=3118458][attachmentid=3118459]
Nice markings! exactly what i am looking for, wired coat with nice markings.
Anyone seen tri colour JRT in klang valley?
1dollar
post Dec 13 2012, 05:14 PM

Yeah,.. good poise and pose.... hmm how come my Bullet's fur so much shorter compare to all other pics posted here hahahah.
1dollar
post Dec 24 2012, 01:52 PM

Nairud,

Any pups coming soon?
1dollar
post Jan 25 2013, 05:44 PM

The full white face looks like a very potential ribbon winner.
Curious looks, nice structure, muscular and pose is good.
1dollar
post Feb 5 2013, 06:32 PM

QUOTE(Seager @ Jan 26 2013, 12:02 AM)
I wish I had the space in my house sad.gif
as long you dont live in a high rised condo or appartment i think you can own a JRT.
Just need to let them lose in a park once a day and always come up with creative ideas to depleted their energy.
I dont live in a bungalow,.. just normal terrace house, go to know that i can still keep mine under control.

1dollar
post Feb 28 2013, 05:12 AM

Congratz again. Adorable pups!
1dollar
post Feb 28 2013, 05:14 AM

QUOTE(nairud @ Feb 22 2013, 11:05 AM)
No pet sales is allowed in Pets Wonderland. If you want to do it, do it in PetStore section
Noted. Wasn't selling any just sharing info.

0.0458sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:26 PM