Credit Cards Alliance Bank Credit Card, Cash Back Platinum and VI

LostAndFound
post Oct 28 2024, 08:36 AM

6,264 posts

For Alliance Visa Signature, the 5% cashback rate between 2001-3000 ringgit spend, is it that all of the 3k ringgit must be spent within the listed categories? Or can have 'filler spend' of 2k ringgit not in categories, and then 1k ringgit in-category and get RM50 cashback?
LostAndFound
post Oct 29 2024, 11:29 AM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(mamamia @ Oct 28 2024, 07:20 PM)
VS is any retail spending also entitle for cashback...
Oh! Their website seems to list some categories (petrol, groceries etc). So its' just.... spend 3k and get slightly more than RM50 cashback?
LostAndFound
post Mar 11 2025, 08:19 AM

6,264 posts

Hi, new to Alliance (just got the virtual card due to the RM700 promo).

Seems like the card doesn't actually have a fixed number? I only see can generate one-time use or generate regular debit payment button.

Also, the TBP earned - what's the redemption method? From searching this thread it seems most efficient is exchange for voucher (roughly 480 points to RM1)?
LostAndFound
post Mar 11 2025, 11:27 AM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(rko0504 @ Mar 11 2025, 08:39 AM)
Fixed number have to check on statement if want to pay outstanding.

Google search TBP redeem, points is 600 points to RM1 for TNG Pin

Huh, at 5x points earning then the worth is less than 1%. Okay la, just get the cashback for applying then can cancel di.
LostAndFound
post Mar 24 2025, 06:01 PM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Mar 24 2025, 09:42 AM)
those who applied through ringgitplus, how long do they take to approve the card?

i applied on last saturday but no news since
Almost a week for me and wife.
LostAndFound
post Apr 1 2025, 10:47 PM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(jdachum @ Mar 11 2025, 03:58 PM)
You should aim for 8x for the best value.
Some will aim to redeem miles using this for higher ROI.
So correct me if I'm wrong....

Every statement max earn RM3k spend (24k TBP).

Redemption rate is 60k TBP for RM100 (let's say TNG reload pin, or Jusco voucher, all have same rate).

For ease of calculation (round number) let's say 5 months earn the max (spend RM15k, earn 120,000 TBP) - this can be exchanged for 2x RM100 pin.

So effective 'cashback' rate is RM200/RM15,000 which is 1.33%?
LostAndFound
post Apr 2 2025, 02:58 PM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ Apr 2 2025, 11:19 AM)
unless u change for airmiles.
Airmiles calculation a bit more complex but without any promo redemption I calculate as about 2.xx% worth (assuming enrich 4 sen per mile)?
LostAndFound
post May 10 2025, 07:40 PM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(xkaizoku @ May 10 2025, 09:45 AM)
does anyone know how to close alliancebank savings account with debit card? i cannot find any option in the website and visiting branch is not possible (they open and close during my working hours, like bro wth...)
All banks follow standard working hours (in fact close earlier than most office worker's hours). Take a lunch break or try phone call to CS.
LostAndFound
post May 14 2025, 07:52 AM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(Axel @ May 14 2025, 12:35 AM)
Hi everyone, for the Alliance Bank Visa Signature card, I understand that the cashback rate is dependent on your expenditure, with the best rate between RM2,001 to RM3,000 for the month.

Would topping up TnG ewallet count as part of the expenditure? Like say you go shopping, refuel car, pay bills, and then you're like short a few hundred for the next tier, so purposely top up ewallet to enjoy better cashback rate.
Actually the best rate is exactly 3000 for the month. Because if you spend (let's say) 2,200, you get 5% on the amount above 2000 (rm200) but only RM5.50 on the first 2000.

Your actual cashback in that case is a measly 0.7%.

If you spend exactly 3000, your actual cashback rate is 1.85%

Yes, topping up TnG wallet counts (and is worth it if you have no other option). But if your spending is consistently roughly 2k, then the additional 1k 'feels like' its worth it (spend 1% to get 5%) but you'd be much better off with another card which gives cashback for your actual amount of spend (e.g. UOB One, Affin Duo) without forcing additional spend.
LostAndFound
post May 14 2025, 08:19 PM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(JAIDK23 @ May 14 2025, 09:39 AM)
Thanks for clearing up.

I thought if you spend between RM2000-3000 in that range straight away x 5%  sweat.gif

TBP seems not so bad now for subscription payment icon_idea.gif
Yes, 5%.... for that spend.

But the RM2000 before that doesn't get 5%. All of this is in the product disclosure sheet.
LostAndFound
post Oct 28 2025, 08:59 PM

6,264 posts

Probably just different design....

0.0795sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:43 PM