The SSD Thread V3, The Speed You Need

soultaker
post Oct 19 2012, 11:22 AM

1,323 posts

QUOTE(pacatU13 @ Oct 19 2012, 10:20 AM)
thanks bro.. so i'll just format the other partition & install windows normally..    icon_rolleyes.gif
during the windows installation, please read the on screen instruction carefully. it will state that windows will create additional partition for system reserved partition. as been told earlier, this is normal and do not delete the system reserved partition, else you might get in trouble in the future.

QUOTE(ErgoProxi @ Oct 19 2012, 11:09 AM)
just wondering...

a friend of mine said that SSD will die faster if we copy & paste files from SSD to removable HD/FD or delete & restore files too much.
basically, he said the more we write on the SSD, the faster it dies(compared to HDD).

it is true ?

p/s: 'm just another noob
of course SSD will die faster the more you write on it. same goes to traditional hard disk. estimate if you write everyday around 35-50gb, your SSD still could last 10 years. is it not enough for you? probably in 5 years time you already change your SSD to new bigger capacity or buy new computer already.
soultaker
post Oct 23 2012, 10:28 AM

1,323 posts

QUOTE(volume_power @ Oct 23 2012, 01:37 AM)
Vertex 4 128gb here in the house.. wazzup2.. hehe
QUOTE(rc2x @ Aug 16 2012, 09:34 PM)
Owner List
I have noticed some user post here just for the sake of to be added into owner list, yet contribute nothing in this thread. I won't entertain any such request and will report the user to the moderating team for spamming. Strictly PM me to be added into owner list. 
soultaker
post Oct 23 2012, 10:46 AM

1,323 posts

QUOTE(volume_power @ Oct 23 2012, 10:34 AM)
sry was my first time started to following the thread n yet didnt meant for spamming.. will pm him my models..

chill mate.. cheers.. =)
no issue. anyway welcome to the club. how's your SSD performance? any feedback?
soultaker
post Oct 27 2012, 10:27 PM

1,323 posts

QUOTE(skycrawler @ Oct 27 2012, 02:22 PM)
I upgraded it to the latest firmware on the day the latest firmware was release .
QUOTE(kszg @ Oct 27 2012, 04:11 PM)
daam u upgrade 010G right sigh a lot BUG can't detect BIOS SSD  sad.gif
this firmware 000f prefect
010G u need motherboard uefi bios
There is bug on the latest firmware. try google around. last time i read about it and he managed to revive back the Crucial SSD.
soultaker
post Oct 28 2012, 11:26 AM

1,323 posts

QUOTE(skycrawler @ Oct 28 2012, 03:04 AM)
Thanks bro , managed to revive my SSD and revert back to 000F firmware  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Glad to hear that your SSD is back to life.

QUOTE(mfitri77 @ Oct 28 2012, 08:17 AM)
I thought Crucial was quite stable already? Was considering the m4 for a Macbook, but decided to take a risk with the Vertex 4.
Crucial was stable but the latest firmware had issue with UEFI mobo. just stay with 2nd latest firmware and you are good to go. i think vertex 4 was a good choice either. other brand you can consider is intel, corsair and samsung.
soultaker
post Oct 29 2012, 03:53 PM

1,323 posts

QUOTE(pacatU13 @ Oct 29 2012, 02:44 PM)
hi guys,

need advice from u all,

i've done benchmark on my ssd but the result isn't as i expected..  sweat.gif
i'm using intel 330 120G.. please refer screen shots.. in the screen shots also the ssd detail..

Have you update to the latest Intel AHCI driver? what is your sata speed? seem like sata2. also install Intel RST and the provided Intel SSD Optimization software.
soultaker
post Nov 2 2012, 03:42 PM

1,323 posts

QUOTE(ZaX17 @ Nov 2 2012, 02:09 PM)
Can I know which SSD you guys will choose:

1. Intel 330 180GB
2. OCZ Vertex 4 120GB

Both of them are USD99.99, buying from US.
Personally, i don't recommend buying from US as if i'm not mistaken there is no international warranty for SSD. last time plan to get Samsung SSD 128GB from US for $89.99 around RM279. it's a good deal but scared if anything happen had to send back the item to US for warranty. Unless buying additional SSD, i might buy from US.

if you need more capacity, take the Intel. you don't need to bother about the benchmark so much as you will not utilize your SSD to the max during daily usage. just make sure your mobo support sata3 - 6gbps and you are good to go.
soultaker
post Dec 21 2012, 04:40 PM

1,323 posts

QUOTE(Kerry1136 @ Dec 21 2012, 04:17 PM)
No leh...though my mobo is old but it supports SATA2/3...

Mine is ASUS M4N78...
Your mobo seems to have sata 2. have install sata driver? Which OS did you use? Do that note that smaller SSD size have slower speed. what is your boot time? how many sec? try to check if there is updated bios for your mobo and flash it. if problem still persist, try other sata port since you have 5 sata ports. if still no different, buy sata 3 card. tongue.gif

0.0504sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:12 AM