The SSD Thread V3, The Speed You Need

jimmylim85
post Apr 4 2013, 01:25 AM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

QUOTE(Holyjolly @ Apr 4 2013, 01:13 AM)
regarding the chips thing.
Kingston v300 120 gb using SandForce® SF-2281 paired with 19nm toshiba.
R/W speed: 450mb/450mb
price: RM300
vs
Plextor m5s 128gb using Marvell paired with 19nm toshiba
R/W speed: 520/200
Price: RM299

Plextor stands out?

Kingston hyperX 3K using SandForce® SF-2281 with MLC NAND (3k P/E cycles)
MLC NAND is 25nm and differ from Toshiba 19nm (means outdated tech compared to V300 or plextor?)
R/W : 555/510
price: RM360-380
vs
Intel 330 120 gb using SandForce® SF-2281 with MLC NAND
R/W: 500/450
Price: RM 360-370

Mostly seller no stock for intel. means intel is better than HyperX? but its price rise up and match with HyperX makes it like not worth only.
Read this and you'll understand why Marvel controller stands out.
jimmylim85
post Apr 4 2013, 01:28 AM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/memory/displa...gwavXI.facebook

bad news for 2013 and 2014
jimmylim85
post Apr 4 2013, 10:55 AM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

My advice, for those looking for 120-128GB SSD. Better grab it now since is still below rm 300. Market speculation of rams price wouldn't go wrong.

Guess I have look for lowest bargain on rams. Since
DDR3 will still be in the PC market for at least 2 years or so. Haven't heard that DDR5 will be in PC hardware ram yet.
jimmylim85
post Apr 4 2013, 11:28 PM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

QUOTE(Holyjolly @ Apr 4 2013, 01:13 AM)
regarding the chips thing.
Kingston v300 120 gb using SandForce® SF-2281 paired with 19nm toshiba.
R/W speed: 450mb/450mb
price: RM300
vs
Plextor m5s 128gb using Marvell paired with 19nm toshiba
R/W speed: 520/200
Price: RM299

Plextor stands out?

Kingston hyperX 3K using SandForce® SF-2281 with MLC NAND (3k P/E cycles)
MLC NAND is 25nm and differ from Toshiba 19nm (means outdated tech compared to V300 or plextor?)
R/W : 555/510
price: RM360-380
vs
Intel 330 120 gb using SandForce® SF-2281 with MLC NAND
R/W: 500/450
Price: RM 360-370

Mostly seller no stock for intel. means intel is better than HyperX? but its price rise up and match with HyperX makes it like not worth only.
http://shop.plextoramericas.com/blog/2012/...ssd-controller/
jimmylim85
post Apr 6 2013, 07:50 PM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

QUOTE(Vorador @ Apr 5 2013, 01:58 PM)
I think I use it wrongly, I only put O/S, and other essential program in SSD, like MS office, Photoshop... etc. Game wise, all installed in my nomal 7200rpm harddisk...
For me, main SSD for OS and essential programs. Secondary SSD use for bitcomet download and games.

Always go for high performance and reliable HDD such as Black or RED for music video photo and backup database. That's what I did. I always backup my two SSD data to WD RED in case SSD fails me.

QUOTE(Holyjolly @ Apr 6 2013, 06:13 PM)
I cloned my windows to SSD and boot from it. However it took me almost 1 minute to get into desktop. what happen? it stuck longer at the welcome screen there... sad.gif
Is your SSD in ACHI mode set in bios. Frankly speaking I rather do a clean OS installation. Save the hassle and maximize SSD performance.
jimmylim85
post Apr 7 2013, 01:33 AM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

10 seconds? impossible bro.

Perhaps its in suspend or sleep mode then 10 seconds should be possible. Fresh boot up takes up anywhere 23 - 30 seconds based on GPU Bios
jimmylim85
post Apr 7 2013, 08:12 AM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

QUOTE(Holyjolly @ Apr 7 2013, 01:40 AM)
Owh. sorry i am new to SSD family. so which BIOS is fastest for your knowledge? I don't feel much difference of the SSD when comparing to HDD....@.@ so how long you took?

How you manage your SSD? pure window on the SSD? how about those application software like adobe reader, intel stuff, graphic card tuner, motherboard tuner those stuffs? if I install frequently played games like dota2 on SSD, it will load faster?

How to optimize SSD and prolong its life?
I have two SSD in my RIG, both are 256GB which should give me 238GB. First SSD as those common programs so as OS. The second SSD is purely meant for games and bitcomet download.

If you're on tight budget then stick to your 128GB SSD for OS, common programs while leaving your PC games on HDD.

Optimize and prolong it's life... well as long there is not much of read/write on SSD it last as long as it can roughly 3-5 years

QUOTE(hmwgbworld @ Apr 7 2013, 03:06 AM)
Yup those sub folders are under OS drive once u done the window installation. I don't bother using them because it is confusing for me. I try make as simple as possible with less folders and differentiate files clearly.
True that internet speed is terrible and and unstable sometimes. Every month saw the streamyx bill is headache to pay it  doh.gif .
Yeah... Unless you're on UniFi... Most of the time, during intensive bandwidth requirement for download, i'll just use my iphone 5 on Maxis and runs on tethering mode as i can enjoy 21mbps speed. thumbup.gif
jimmylim85
post Apr 10 2013, 06:33 PM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

10GB transfer per day can last roughly 5 years. Fair enough.

jimmylim85
post Apr 15 2013, 08:41 PM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

I saw ALL IT intel 330 120gb @ rm 269

Reach ALL IT only to find out is out of stock.

End up going back to ViewNet for Plextor M5S 128GB @ rm 295.

Based on my test. I don't see any different in boot up time using Plextor M5S 128GB and 256GB when spec show read speed almost the same.

For newbies into SSD, don't look at speed. But look at bargain and good controller such as Marvel. The main aim for SSD is boot up speed. Loading PC GAMES, not much different feel. Perhaps a bit of improvement during game load.
jimmylim85
post May 1 2013, 08:55 AM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

QUOTE(Riddhy @ May 1 2013, 03:27 AM)
CHEAPEST  and best values 120g/128gb ssd recommend please....
Best contender..

Plextor M5S 128GB SSD RM 299

The best value and good performance. Don't always judge on benchmark, judge on how good it works on daily usage. icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif
jimmylim85
post May 10 2013, 09:05 AM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

QUOTE(BlueDream2 @ May 9 2013, 03:01 PM)
for me SSD is about performance............
if dont want performance better using HDD.....

but the big problem is price....
too get performance u need to pay....
Honestly speaking, no matter how fast the performance. Waste money as you're not bench-marking daily right??

For daily fast usage, Plextor is more than enough.

If you can afford it, is your money, is your way. icon_rolleyes.gif
jimmylim85
post May 10 2013, 11:58 PM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

QUOTE(Yagami5159 @ May 10 2013, 11:16 AM)
I'm using Plextor M5S 128GB  hmm.gif
Not to worry.

But I'm shifting my torrent to WD 2TB Black... let my plextor runs on programs only. biggrin.gif a
jimmylim85
post May 11 2013, 10:01 PM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

SSD is highly recommended for OS boot up, main programs and games.

Your video, picture, songs and movies. Is best to be stored in HDD. If possible, invest in WD Black or Red series. I don't trust so much on GREEN series unless is AV-GP green series.
jimmylim85
post May 12 2013, 05:02 PM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ May 12 2013, 03:56 PM)
Ok here is the thing WD blacks require active cooling especially the current gen. They run hot.

SSD's now are better than ever and they can handle multi tasking. Hence where on I/O consistency the sandforce beats marvel, samsung. Meaning i would trust my torrent rig with sandforce rather than marvel and samsung controllers. However since the use of nand's sandforce degrades.

The only one top of the line that is very good at this is Neutron GTX which is what corsair is marketing as multi tasking heavy use. Its also good for some light server loads so far. Its enterprise grade on I/O consisntecy and the nand doesnt degrade.
That's why current mid to high end casing comes with modular HDD cage equip with 12cm fans to keep the drives cool.

I do agree that WD Black series runs hot. Average 41 celcius sweat.gif
jimmylim85
post Jun 8 2013, 09:37 PM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

QUOTE(graphidz @ Jun 8 2013, 08:43 PM)
i'm i the market for a 120GB/128GB ssd. i've been eyeing for intel 520, but  a search in lowyat today showed out of stock. seems like i was too late in the ssd game sweat.gif

so i have to find an alternative. the only reason i wanted the 520 was because it has a write speed of 500+ MB/s, which most other ssd lack at that price point. not only that, a lot of positive reviews on its reliability

so any recommendation? the samsung 840 pro is out of rage as i have only a budget of rm400 max

thanks for the help guys
If you're on daily usage basis, having high speed write speed won't able to harness much unless you're merely using it for benchmark.

Recently I got myself the lowest ever price can get for Plextor M5S 128GB SSD for only RM 287 each! The cheapest and best controller chipset from Marvell. I bought it from Jayacom @ LowYat Plaza. Even one of forum member manage to get it RM 285 each, he end up buying two pieces.

jimmylim85
post Jun 8 2013, 10:15 PM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

QUOTE(graphidz @ Jun 8 2013, 10:01 PM)
HOLY F!
but the m5pro is better right? wonder how cheap can you get? if it's less than 400, i'll go lowyat again tomorrow
which jayacom btw?  brows.gif
Go find the young bald chap, malay guy goes by the name KORI. Nice fella. Can bargain too icon_idea.gif

M5PRO of course is better since is direct competitor towards Intel 520
jimmylim85
post Jun 9 2013, 12:18 AM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

QUOTE(graphidz @ Jun 8 2013, 10:27 PM)
noted. thanks man. oh and which jayacom is it? the one beside the escalator is it? because there's also another jayacom somewhere at the same floor. at the back alley (as i usually call the ones not at the front)
Jayacom on third floor, beside escalator and beside VIEWNET and Kopitiam. Behind Jayacom shop is Elevator of 4 units not the 2 units.
jimmylim85
post Jun 9 2013, 01:15 AM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

Check your BIOS setting and your cable connection. Try swapping another SATA cable.

jimmylim85
post Jun 14 2013, 11:43 AM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

QUOTE(tennytyy @ Jun 14 2013, 09:24 AM)
I guess all brand of SSD will show no huge difference in normal daily usage right?
On daily usage, you won't notice the difference.

OS boot up time... all within the 30 seconds.

Loading apps... all almost the same.

Only doing benchmark see the difference. But you're not going to do benchmark daily right? that will burden the SSD as benchmark also stress the SSD to the limit.

jimmylim85
post Jun 14 2013, 11:54 AM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

QUOTE(harryfoo @ Jun 14 2013, 11:47 AM)
So which brand you suggest me to take?
Plextor M5S 128GB SSD RM 287 @ Jayacom

cheap, reliable and stable. And the best part is you get extra 8GB space compared with 120GB SSD

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0569sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:54 AM