tommi88
post Mar 31 2015, 10:51 AM

275 posts

QUOTE(Zkino @ Mar 26 2015, 12:50 PM)
being told it is vane seal problem...
it is my luck, or something else...
one of the common problems for kenari engine is the rocker cover seal will tend to leak every 70,000 - 80,000 km. it needs to be replaced by then, else it will be leaking into the coil plugs. change them as you change your timing belt as well.

QUOTE(kllam @ Mar 30 2015, 09:23 AM)
so have u upgraded ur brakes?

sudah upgrade liao. its a good upgrade! worth every penny!
tommi88
post Apr 17 2015, 11:21 AM

275 posts

QUOTE(-maple- @ Apr 16 2015, 11:36 AM)
Hi All,

Did anyone here change their kenari engine either kenari-kenari ori engine or to k3ve/k3vet?  I would like to check on the price/issue/how for each options. 

My old kenari engine not so good already (makan air/minyak hitam) due to overheat (water pump leaking)+low engine oil before.  Thinking either change/ continue repair my car.  My kenari only can sell ~7k to 2nd hand car shop.

Hope can get advice from you guys.
Most of us here are still using the stock EJ-DE engine and still running very well. There are alot of options for engine transplant from 660cc 3 cylinder turbo charged or 4 cylinder turbo charged all the way up to plonking in K3-VET. it really depends on how deep is your pocket and what you would like to achieve at the end of the day. if you just want a reliable daily driven car, i would advise you to send your engine to do a full overhaul and replace with all original replacement parts. it will serve you well for the next 7-10 years with proper maintenance without any major breakdown.

Come join us for TT and we will poison you with madness. HAHA!

QUOTE(radi0head @ Apr 17 2015, 11:14 AM)
Anyone of you here got 'refurbish' or 'rewrap' the original steering ? Mine is peeling already...  wacko.gif

[attachmentid=4414715]
better change to daihatsu move steering rather than re-wrapping
tommi88
post Apr 17 2015, 05:28 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(radi0head @ Apr 17 2015, 05:21 PM)
roller ? Wonder how much would 'rewrap' cost. As do not want to have another steering lying around. Anyone interested in lowering down their rides ? I got coil springs to let go... original Sparco, comes with the original box too... bought it new previously...  cool2.gif
The cost of rewrapping the steering will cost as much as buying a halfcut move original momo steering wheel. you can replace the steering and dump the old one away since the skin has already torn off.

you can ask other members though, they may be interested.
tommi88
post Apr 17 2015, 05:38 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(radi0head @ Apr 17 2015, 05:35 PM)
O... so expensive har ? Hmm... had quit on modding. Ride it original now. Still da' best...  rclxms.gif
yes, re-wrapping is not cheap. unless you are willing to fork out the amount then should be ok. Welcome to the club, we have some members who remain their car stock. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
tommi88
post Apr 17 2015, 05:47 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(radi0head @ Apr 17 2015, 05:41 PM)
It is good to remain stock. Reliability and durability are there for our rides. Only a/c sometimes in de afternoon, not enough power... lately is damn hot during a hot sunny day...  sweat.gif
It really depends on what mods you perform on the car. I have modded my car for quite sometime and so far no reliability issues and durability issues. You can add additional fan on the radiator to further enhance the cooling system.

tommi88
post Apr 20 2015, 12:05 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(-maple- @ Apr 18 2015, 09:01 AM)
Thanks for advises.  So normally full overhaul engine cost around 2k only? I tot it will up to 4k.

Lets say if i want more power on the engine, which engine will you recommend?  those turbo engines seems like hard to take care right? How about other non turbo 1.3cc engine?

I stay in penang currently.  Hard to join TT.
Normal full engine overhaul will cost about less than 2k. Some shop charge full overhaul about 5k like one of the workshop in KL called maddriver garage where they charge 5k for full engine overhaul. their job includes engine balancing and replacement all tear and wear parts with original parts. Hence, the price.

The cost of repair really depends on how deep is your pocket. If you have the cash, you can send your engine to professional workshop to do overhaul which cost more, or you can send in for full overhaul at those normal workshop where they will charge cheaper.

Doing engine transplant is the easiest way to gain more power, but be reminded that this will change the overall balance and the characteristics on the car handling as well. a heavier engine (turbo charged, k3-ve, k3-vet, k3-ve2 and etc) will affect the car balance to lean towards the front more. this will cause the front part of the engine to have nose dive under braking which is not good. even you compensate with height adjustable suspension and higher spring rate, you still cant deny that nose dip though.

unless you are willing to scarifice road comfort for performance, then it is a different story all together.

if you insist on going for 1.3cc non turbo engine, you can source for k3-ve2 halfcut from daihatsu storia/toyota duet halfcuts.

This post has been edited by tommi88: Apr 20 2015, 12:06 PM
tommi88
post Apr 22 2015, 05:00 PM

275 posts

Dear Kenari Owners,

We will be having our next TT this Saturday night (25th of April 2015 @ 10 PM).

TT Location: Damansara Perdana, PJ (Click here for Google Maps location)
Time: 10:00 PM (Please be punctual)
Date: 25th of April 2015

Thank you.
tommi88
post Apr 28 2015, 09:26 AM

275 posts

QUOTE(siewstl @ Apr 28 2015, 07:40 AM)
Do you have the aircond panel (those with knobs ) to sell ? Mine one the knob broken, unable to turn the air out flows .
Or any sifu where to find ?? TQ
you can opt to purchase the aircond panel from halfcut shop as it is relatively cheaper than buying brand new aircond panel. move parts are mostly plug n play onto our kenari.
tommi88
post May 5 2015, 04:15 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(tany @ May 2 2015, 10:48 AM)
Hi my kenari rear bonet door when went thru pot hole got sound the door shaking. And when close. The door slant down. Any way to fix it thanks?
you can send your car to those bodyshop and get them to check on the rear door hinge. Have you involved any accident before for the rear hatch area?

QUOTE(cpk @ May 2 2015, 09:02 PM)
Hello, Any sifoo here can guide me how to remove rear wiper? The U type easy for front wiper.

(Kenari)

Can alrdy. it as simple as U type front wiper.
Rear wipers very easy to remove. just open the cover and unbolt the nut to take out the rear wiper arm. as for the blades, can replace the rubbers only. if your arm looks old or broken, you can get them replaced for less than RM 40.
tommi88
post May 7 2015, 05:35 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(tany @ May 5 2015, 05:49 PM)
Accident free. Take to workshop. The say top and bottom hinge already makan have to change. Both of the hinge cost about rm800. So looking for alternative.
source the hinge from halfcut shops. definitely much cheaper than the price that was quoted to you.

tommi88
post May 15 2015, 11:24 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(-maple- @ May 15 2015, 04:41 PM)
Just get my car from workshop.  Serious engine oil & water leaking. 

No overhaul done as the mechanic said fix outside first before aim for internal one as he feel the problem not come from the internal. 

Changed radiator(not in good condition anymore), thermostat, belts, lots of seals, valve casket, spark plugs, flushed engine, power steering oil/hose, gearbox oil and many more

Total lost : RM1.1k including workmanship charge. 

Right now the car run very smooth.  Tak biasa jor.

Next plan: Looking for front grill, bumpers and headlights as my old 1 cracked here n there.  Including paint jobs perhaps. 

Gonna use this birdy for another few years!!
Good to know that you have done so much to your car. Your mechanic is right, fix the parts outside first before touching internals. If leakage still occurs, better send it to your mechanic quick.

You can look for move aerodown or peanut bodykit to replace your current one as move parts are very cheap now.
tommi88
post May 16 2015, 02:12 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(-maple- @ May 16 2015, 12:54 PM)
Do I need to change the sideskirt to MOVE if I change the bumper to MOVE (peanut grill + bumper).  Original Aerosport ngam with MOVE?
up to you whether you wanna change the side skirt to MOVE or maintain as original aerosport. all the parts are interchangeable with move.
tommi88
post May 22 2015, 03:20 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(ck_boon @ May 21 2015, 12:08 PM)
how bout total brand? i agree use  5w30w is ok but when go highway cannt tahan
how come i have been using 5w-30 oil grade for over 10 years of ownership and running here and there, nothing is wrong with my car? hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif
tommi88
post Feb 5 2016, 07:58 AM

275 posts

QUOTE(Bazinga! @ Jan 11 2016, 12:28 AM)
thank you very much for the advice bro. surrounding area very little, only that oil is leaking into the spark plug chamber, unintentionally flooding it slightly. even ran on 2 cylinders for awhile.
thank you for the advice as well bro.

So if thats the case, roughly how much does that valve cover cost? mech quote me about 500 siap pasang. which i know is exorbitantly expensive.
i checked online, its between 160-180 for the valve cover. i havent check at normal spare part shop yet. its that the market price roughly?
i dont mind diy myself to remove the plug seal, but afraid that it is impossible to do; thats why come forum and ask for advise.
the normal valve cover gasket is roughly 20-30rm iinm.
appreciate the help, thanks in advance yet again.  thumbup.gif
Hey bro, i replaced my rocker cover 2 months back which cost me RM 250 using original part and labour included. So far it has solved my problem of engine oil leaking to spark plug area.

QUOTE(radi0head @ Feb 4 2016, 07:56 PM)
you try looking around lor... budget it about RM 400 all in should be OK. Well, try to stick with just one mech rather than keep on changing and looking for new mechs... well, most important is a trustable mechs... 
I think it should be the meter needle goes haywire d. I had the same problem too on not the temperature but the fuel meter... So long that it are 'up' on that level before, I know that there's still fuel in my tank. Moreover, I also uses my odometer to judge on my fuel=distance...

Today, my brake starts to have hissing sound already... checked and guess it is time to change the rotor disc... mine is too thin to skim d... Any recommendation on wat rotor is best to get ? Else, I will just go for new original ones...
Mine is due to replace as well. Im going to go for brembo disc as it is relatively affordable. By the way, i am using Myvi brake disc and calipers.
tommi88
post Oct 15 2016, 11:46 AM

275 posts

I'm on too

8 Pages « < 6 7 8Top

0.0470sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:23 AM