Perodua Kenari User Club V2, A Different Point Of View

TSjaesern
post Dec 7 2014, 05:57 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(tommi88 @ Dec 5 2014, 10:41 AM)
btw jaesern, where did you buy the stainless steel wiper nut cover? can share ah? haha!
bolt and nut shop. Sunway have one, but honestly speaking, it's not the highest grade of stainless steel, one of it starting to get rusty already, will replace one to continue the test.

QUOTE(babisotong @ Dec 5 2014, 11:31 AM)
thank you for all the info, i will try to go to brothers accessories in kajang. btw, it there anyone here us half bucket seat ? i rarely see kenari using half bucket seat. it's not good for kenari?
using Bride Low Max on driver side. my personal point of view, Low Max series is already full bucket, just the matter of it's with recliner or not, the one without recliner is truly full bucket; the recliner one which i'm using currently i called it full bucket with semi bucket function. if you're interested to see, meet you at the TT brows.gif
TSjaesern
post Dec 7 2014, 11:47 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(Move2u @ Dec 7 2014, 10:08 PM)
Great  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif ... let other know we have TT session.

hei jaesern bro, long time no see ya.
see you if there is TT rclxm9.gif
TSjaesern
post Dec 16 2014, 12:24 AM

257 posts

i'm all in! my contact number, O126699365 (call/sms/Whatsapp).

please clean, wash and detailing (if you feel like doing it) the birdie, i'll be bringing camera for group shooting! rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by jaesern: Dec 16 2014, 12:25 AM
TSjaesern
post Dec 16 2014, 08:11 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(v1n0d @ Dec 16 2014, 07:26 AM)
You know, I totally forgot. Luckily I came to this thread to check for updates. sweat.gif

By the way, I PM-ed you my number last week.
Now I feel bad. My car paintwork is in horrible condition. sad.gif
good morning!

don't worry, just get it wash will do smile.gif
TSjaesern
post Dec 26 2014, 01:26 AM

257 posts

doh.gif

QUOTE(Zack Styler @ Dec 17 2014, 10:40 AM)
just wanna ask now my car is like driving lorry everytime it goes thru uneven roads, very noisy and can feel the surfaces of the roads..

is it that we must change all the bush?
is the sound from front or rear?

the sound from front may come from the front absorber top mount or front anti roll bar bush, total four for it.

i didn't experience anything wrong from the rear suspension yet. so can't say anything about it.

QUOTE(Move2u @ Dec 19 2014, 12:44 AM)
Sharing is caring tommi88 bro. im very happy meet you all.
A lot people said "if you want fast, K3 is answers". but, you all different.
Stock engine, standard exterior but, performance part inside! I surprise Jaesern car.
some mods engine had done. semi slick tyre, 4 disc barke,bucketseat....
no budget to make the car looks nice, and with bodykit need to jaga more, cannot jump speed bump sweat.gif

QUOTE(v1n0d @ Dec 19 2014, 11:20 AM)
Superficial scars. That color is nice though, I didn't know it's stock. Also, jasearn has finally convinced me that full bucket seats are not for the weak!
you may try to feel other semi bucket seat as mine is counted as full bucket. driver side of mine Bride Low Max reclineable + SSCUS rail, new one from Kakimotor should be near to rm1k fyi.
TSjaesern
post Dec 26 2014, 01:34 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(jimmychoo75 @ Dec 25 2014, 06:41 PM)
I google m7 oil and found some good reviews. Selling price at RM125 but one seller in lelong.com selling RM100 promo price + free shipping.

I'm still skeptical to try out bhp syngard 6000 10w40 selling at RM125 at bhp stations or Pennzoil platinum semi 5w30 at around RM86. Any more opinions from other fellow members?
i would advise Kenari to run on 0w30, 5w30 or 10w30. w40 don't really advantage to the car.

for additional information, i'm running on 10w30 semi syn Liqui Moly. done few observation before, i run at around 140km/h during night time no rain, oil temp is less then 80c; during raining night time 110km/h, oil temp is less then 70c. day time hot weather says 34c the oil temp is 80~90c, which it's just nice working temp; traffic jam around 100c. i don't have oil press gauge so i don't have full detail on it.
TSjaesern
post Jan 3 2015, 11:34 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(tonberry_ax @ Jan 3 2015, 09:52 PM)
Damn, looks like i missed the TT on december... lol
there will always be another one smile.gif

QUOTE(lonewolf @ Jan 3 2015, 11:32 PM)
hi guys

anybody knows the spring rate for front and rear.

1. Stock
2. Gab
3. HWL Adjustables
4. TEIN
i thought you're free to choose whatever you want/need? i've heard Kelisa running on 14k spring rate, so yea, you get to choose whatever you prefer...
TSjaesern
post Jan 18 2015, 05:49 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(Damian @ Jan 13 2015, 05:24 PM)
Guys,

Need advise & assistance.
Recommendation for absorber?
Travel most of the time within selangor area and once or twice to Sendayan or Nilai.
what kind of setup you're looking forward to? standard? total sport? or somewhere in the middle?

QUOTE(tommi88 @ Jan 14 2015, 12:02 AM)
Guys,

is time again for our next round of TT as previous TT participants are making noise as we need to meet more often. Kindly list down your attendance if your time permit. We are looking forward for more members to join the TT this time.

Suggest TT session:

Date: 31st January 2015 (tentative only, subject to change if most of the members cant make it)
Location: yet to be determined but preferably somewhere in the middle of PJ and Cheras. Maybe setapak area perhaps?
Time: 930pm onwards

no problem rclxm9.gif everyone please wash car ya, if possible we make a photo shooting on all cars icon_idea.gif
TSjaesern
post Jan 24 2015, 11:19 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(unkle31 @ Jan 23 2015, 12:50 AM)
Blue 2000 Kenari EZI logging in. biggrin.gif
will post some pixs later.

tt @ TTDI area sounds good.

++++++++
do join us on up coming TT smile.gif

QUOTE(lonewolf @ Jan 23 2015, 08:09 PM)
halo guys

anybody interested with used Hotbits Strutbar. I am giving away for FREE. me kelisa can join ya kenari TT or not?..
why not? can can rclxm9.gif

QUOTE(unkle31 @ Jan 24 2015, 08:45 PM)
Changed from original 13" to MYVI 14" rims. Think came from the SE 1.5 model.
Rim Data :
Kenari rims :
Make          - JRD 13X4.5J
Weight        -  5.5 kg.
Total Weight - 11.7 kg with Falken ZE-326 (165/60 R13).
Weight of tyre - 6.2 kg.
MYVI rims :
Make          - Emkei 14X5J
Weight        - 6.5 kg.
Total Weight - 12.1 kg with Goodyear Duraplus (165/55 R14).
Weight of tyre - 5.6 kg.
Bought for RM400 for set of 4.
note Falken tyre heavier than Goodyear tyre (in my case).
overall, weight of MYVI rim with Goodyear tyre is only 0.4 kg heavier per wheel.
+++++++++++++++
comparison :
Make  - VOIR Racing (Rays Engineering). 14X5.5J. claim Japan made.
Weight - 5 kg.
costs    - about RM700 per set of 4.
bigger rim, yet lighter.
you get what you pay.  smile.gif
++++++++
it won't be from Japan with this price, if it's from Japan, it won't be so cheap. and Japan seldom and rarely make 2 sets of pcd in one rims. sweat.gif
TSjaesern
post Jan 30 2015, 08:26 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(siewstl @ Jan 30 2015, 07:52 AM)
Dear Sifu
Anyway to check whether the alternator giving problem ? Previously my battery always feel not very "strong" and if the car is very hot, when start the car, like weak battery. After changed to new battery, same as old battery ,cool start very good, hot start like not enough battery . Any problem or other parts problem like starter or...TQ
A multimeter or voltmeter will get to job done. Test when the engine is off, test again when the engine is on, then test with engine on and all load on (aircond fan full blast, headlight on and radio on).

Join us on tt tomorrow night and I'll help you to test smile.gif

This post has been edited by jaesern: Jan 30 2015, 08:27 AM
TSjaesern
post Feb 1 2015, 01:26 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(tonberry_ax @ Feb 1 2015, 01:11 AM)
omg, i missed the TT again... I at lowyat whole day building new gaming pc T_T
aiya... sigh! we all just reached home anyway... rclxms.gif
TSjaesern
post Feb 24 2015, 07:11 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(tommi88 @ Feb 17 2015, 02:12 PM)
what is your budget for the speakers? are you looking to install amplifier and upgrade your headunit?

front the front door, confirm need to cut the door card to fit the speakers. alternatively, you may straight bolt the speaker to the door like how our sifu, jaesern did it.

tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
no la, better not reveal my setup online, if really interested, come see during TT smile.gif
TSjaesern
post Apr 27 2015, 12:14 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(-maple- @ Apr 24 2015, 09:24 PM)
Thanks all for the info.  I will consider more on sending for overhaul now

How much paint job cost for kenari nowaday?
My original front grill(peanut) also kaput d.  Need to find replacement.
paintwork can cost you as cheap as thousand plus to rm6k+ as far as i heard. what you pay is what you get.
TSjaesern
post Apr 27 2015, 12:28 AM

257 posts

more correct way to check engine oil level, park the car on relatively flat surface, start the car and wait for engine oil check to light off. wait for two to three minutes, pull out dip stick and check the level, top up engine oil if necessary, normally i won't bother if it's above 50%. if necessary to top up engine oil, after top up you can straight proceed to check engine oil level without starting the engine again. temperature of engine oil and temperature of ambient when checking engine oil level won't take in consideration of engine oil level.

enjoy and have fun! smile.gif
TSjaesern
post Jun 25 2015, 06:46 PM

257 posts

What you pay is what you get, this won't be wrong...
TSjaesern
post Jul 4 2015, 03:38 AM

257 posts

hi!

my Kenari had auto gearbox problem previously, around early of May. was considering to get k3ve in or just change the gearbox. my rough calculation show me it gonna cost around rm10k.

halfcut + installation, ~rm5k
brakes + installation, ~rm1k
adjustable suspension, ~rm1k

not to mention if anything went wrong with the halfcut engine or brakes that incur more cost; there is a lot of hidden cost that kills! you won't know when you spend bit by bit.

plus also like Vinod mentioned, car handling will change. i personally drove a Kenari once, fitted with k3ve auto + semi slick, no doubt i enjoy straight road very much, but when comes to taking corners the feeling is just not correct.

that's why i got ended up with just the gearbox replacement.

i'll suggest you to get the overhaul done. some tips here, if you have time to lepak in workshop and your mechanic willing to follow what's below:
1. clean the engine from top to bottom; inside to outside;
2. clean and measure clearance for piston ring and main bearing; if it's within the spec, please don't change; if it's out of spec, change when only you/your mechanic able to get to correct spec, if can't, change = no change, vice versa (most of the workshop don't perform this job, wasting time);
3. additional info for statement above, if there is worn or burn mark on main bearing then so sorry you'll have no choice to replace it;
4. grind valve (no worries for most of the workshop);
5. get all the oil seal thingy replaced;
6. new engine head gasket (skim engine head if required);
7. install everything from top to bottom of the engine with correct torque spec;
8. measure the valve shim to get to correct clearance (most of the workshop don't perform this job, wasting time).

yea, so as Vinod mentioned, that's what a ~rm5k job looks like. a cheap one, forget about 2. & 3. & 7. & 8., 5. & 6. most likely not an original parts.

theoretically, it's not require to replace crankshaft, piston, con-rod, valve, camshaft and valve bucket unless it's damaged.

engine mounting cost you rm200++ to rm600++. from genuine Perodua, so called original Daihatsu to third party, you just name it, any shop can get for you.

i'm so sorry if the reply is too long sweat.gif

QUOTE(EarthDreams @ Jul 3 2015, 06:14 AM)
hi all, my kenari when stop in traffic light got vibration issue. want to check if change the mounting can solve the issue? how many pieces mounting to change and how much it cost.
hi!

auto or manual? if auto, during Neutral or Drive?

3 piece to be replaced. engine mounting cost you rm200++ to rm600++. from genuine Perodua, so called original Daihatsu to third party, you just name it, any shop can get for you.
TSjaesern
post Jul 16 2015, 03:11 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(EarthDreams @ Jul 9 2015, 05:12 AM)
Auto and I tested when in neutral and off aircond also can feel vibration. During driving no issue.
from my experience, i dare to say it's engine mounting, most likely one of the mounting completely broken/about to break. please get it check asap for your own and wallet safety.
TSjaesern
post Dec 31 2015, 04:14 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(neuroticmind @ Dec 30 2015, 04:03 PM)
Hi all,

Would like some advise and also recommendation regarding my Kenari. Mine is a 2006 Kenari GX (Manual).

History of my car.
Aside from few time long distance drive from KL-MLC, mostly is just in the city.
Basic service is always on time. Changed all the belts 2 yrs back.
Driver's side window the rubber is gone case so when drive can hear whistling sound.
I think because of this also the alignment a bit lari so power window sometime jam... sweat.gif

2015 is not a good year, in June kena kiss butt, claim 3rd party insurance to repair.
Ever since then, when car is idle, there's this knocking sound from my exhaust due to the vibration.
Then in November, odometer pulak rosak.. RM500+ to change new so freaking expensive???

My current working place is 15-20km from home but in few months time factory will move to batang kali and I will be using the ulu yam route. Kinda outback with nothing along the way the drive using that route, so I'm looking into doing a major fix on my car before then.
I don't see the need as to why I should get a new car when this car is still in a good condition.

Currently, I just send my car to the workshop outside my house for basic repair. Whether they are good or not I do not know.  sweat.gif

So if you guys have any recommendation of a good workshop where I can send my car to will be very much appreciated. Within klang valley & kl is fine with me.
I would like to fix all the above issues.

Also, RM500+ to replace odometer.. REALLY???

driver's side window run channel won't be expensive to replace, anyway get a good diagnose before replace to confirm it's the run channel.

knocking sound from exhaust may due to broken exhaust mounting or rusty exhaust.

a second hand instrument cluster only cost around rm100, only down side if you are don't mind, since it's not new, odometer is not in all zero. a few of the member is using Japan instrument cluster. a bit different from what is from Kenari, instead of 160km/h, it's 140km/h; instead of 6,500rpm red line, it has a 8,500rpm red line. but everything is plug n play fyi.

hmm, Ulu Yam route, that sounds good to me rclxm9.gif
TSjaesern
post Dec 31 2015, 04:17 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(IazHes @ Dec 24 2015, 12:15 PM)
Haiz today found out another problem.
battery just changed 1 month ago, but today car cannot start ad, there is battery logo indicated at dash board, yesterday still can drive. today totally cannot start.
Damn.
Dunno is the electric leak/short circuit cause the battery to dry out , OR any other problem.
Anyone got any suggestion or experience in this ?
normally should be alternator problem. get the car jump started, tap in a voltmeter or multimeter, reading should be around 14V when all electric component is in off. any number then 12V is alternator defected.
TSjaesern
post Jan 1 2016, 08:09 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(siewstl @ Dec 31 2015, 07:55 AM)
Dear Sifu
MuY Kenari 2004 recently having this problem , With air cond on during heavy traffic jam , the car seems vibrate and engine want to die, but if turn off the airecon, everything is fine . I have changed all the 3 original mounting half year ago . The vibration only happen with aircond on ?
Is it due to aircond compressor problem or not enough battary (power ) supplied to the air cond ? I ahve service the aircond half year ago .
Some time when start engine (the engine is still hot) , the starter seems lack of power , ie can start the car but the start sound like no batter. For you info , I have changed the new batter 6 months ago.

The car when running on highway, is very smooth every with air cond on. On at idle having thsi problem.
Any reccommended area to check for faulty ?  ? Thank you  .
check for voltage reading when air cond is on. if voltage is low and revving engine helps, possible problem may be alternator not enough charging or a/c blower fan motor not in good condition or a/c compressor clutch not in good condition.

i'll also suggest to check throttle idling valve.

hope my suggestion helps a bit.

QUOTE(IazHes @ Dec 31 2015, 10:46 AM)
yeah, i bring to alternator repair shop, they help me check it,
and found one of the resistor burn off (there are total 6 or 5) , hence they replace the whole set of resistors, and help me replace the 2 carbon pieces that will friction with center rod.

total charges = RM160(the resistor set inside alternator)+RM20(carbon rods)
wow sweet! if their workmanship and replacement parts is good , it's better then buying a brand new or recond unit.

12 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0228sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:23 AM