Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread v17, JB Invasion is IMMINENT!!

Dark_Angel85
post Aug 16 2012, 06:55 PM

Government Agent
956 posts

interesting. might be getting one... compared to the nano optics, which one is better against finger printing?
Dark_Angel85
post Aug 16 2012, 07:19 PM

Government Agent
956 posts

QUOTE(barjoyai @ Aug 16 2012, 07:12 PM)
nice review of the SGP curve crystal SP. i"m still considering btw curve crystal or nano optics. currently i'm using a matte SP. it's good, no prob with fingerprint/smudges but clarity is really2 sucks to the max. Seem like the resolution isn't HD at all.
just wondering how about the clarity of nano optics. never seen the real one applied.
I would say the matte on the screen is not as blur as most other cheap matte SPs. Clarity is pretty good. 8/10 probably
Dark_Angel85
post Aug 16 2012, 07:31 PM

Government Agent
956 posts

QUOTE(lee28 @ Aug 16 2012, 07:23 PM)
hi.. new s3 (marble white) user here.. this is my 1st android smartphone...

i have found few good apps at the google store which need purchase (mostly recommended from this forum)  biggrin.gif

how do i make the purchase and is it safe?  i am using a visa debit card.... and is it the same as itunes where your card details is permanently save into the server/etc.... i hope my card details is not permanently saved into the server/etc... i do not wish to lose my hard earned cash..  tongue.gif

thank you..
Erm... there is no other way. You could manually delete your visa from wallet each and every time you purchase.

wow... couldn't imagine doing that all the time....

QUOTE(hairi.ariff_11 @ Aug 16 2012, 07:25 PM)
what is the best gps app? syrgic or waze?
Google navit.

QUOTE(barjoyai @ Aug 16 2012, 07:28 PM)
thanx but seeing in youtube is not as real as seeing it yourself. i've watched gazilion times still can't decide.  rclxms.gif
well, i hope you find a guy with an siii which so happens to have an sgpcc to be compared to with. thumbup.gif
Dark_Angel85
post Aug 16 2012, 08:05 PM

Government Agent
956 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Aug 16 2012, 07:52 PM)
Leaked version of Jelly Bean SGS III ROM coming out today via CheckROM.

Anyone knows if there's any black themed facebook for android?
Many complaining about memory leaks and general 'unstableness'... even GC also saying it's in no way a final product. I'll be waiting for the official release as usual... (and also wanam/CR)

QUOTE(calvin_kenni @ Aug 16 2012, 07:54 PM)
msia got meh?  blink.gif
technically~ no rolleyes.gif
Dark_Angel85
post Aug 16 2012, 09:05 PM

Government Agent
956 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Aug 16 2012, 08:09 PM)
It's good test ROM to see what Android 4.1 will looks like in SGS 3.
As long as it doesn't cause hard brick like leaked ICS ROM for SGS 2 it should be ok.
That itself is enough to deter me from trying.

SGSIII with ics seems well smooth enough.

I'm sure when the official one will be rolling out in time
Dark_Angel85
post Aug 17 2012, 01:31 AM

Government Agent
956 posts

Erm. Home/power button anyone?
Dark_Angel85
post Aug 18 2012, 12:36 PM

Government Agent
956 posts

ah... wanam working on porting JB already

great news
Dark_Angel85
post Aug 18 2012, 05:24 PM

Government Agent
956 posts

QUOTE(sfwong1 @ Aug 18 2012, 05:00 PM)
i see. later read up on how to root 1st
To be brutally honest, this device needs no rooting actually. My gf running this device pure stock. Enjoying every minute of its fluidity.

She's quite a heavy Internet user as well.. Default browser open almost all the time, always on some photo editing software...
Dark_Angel85
post Aug 19 2012, 11:27 PM

Government Agent
956 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Aug 19 2012, 10:48 PM)
Stock ROM? If so yes I agree memory management is quite bad for something that has 1GB RAM.

S2 is better, but you must understand, for thr S2 to reach that level of optimization, it took a couple of (ok, more than just a couple of) updates.

Give it a few more versions, it should shape up. Hopefully JB makes it better too.

OR, you can go the Custom ROM way, though this is not for everyone. With some Sammy bloatware kicked out + swap, I could very well run more than 10 stuff at once - concurrently - with little issue.
Hnmm I agree. SII management was way better.. Though it's not as bad as what some people claim, open 3 apps and then things start crashing and shutting down.

About JB... unfortunately those flashing the current available JB roms are all seeing the same memory leak/usage issues as how ics has now
Dark_Angel85
post Aug 19 2012, 11:41 PM

Government Agent
956 posts

QUOTE(YouDontKnowMyName @ Aug 19 2012, 11:09 PM)
I don't use any task managers or RAM freeing apps ever since i bought my phone.
Running on everything stock.
Sometimes just long-press home button and clear the list of apps in multitask.
Still lightning fast and never encounter any hiccups before biggrin.gif
Clearing the list doesn't do anything unless the apps are open. It's not going to clear cached processes or stuff like that.

QUOTE(ChipZ @ Aug 19 2012, 11:09 PM)
I noticed that at NO APPLICATIONS running scenario, the RAM usage is already 608MB/779MB. Is this normal? Should I clear the RAM?
QUOTE(YouDontKnowMyName @ Aug 19 2012, 11:15 PM)
Mine too. It's normal. The way samsung manages their RAM allocation is weird, but at the same time efficient.
My RAM usually hovers around the 600MB mark with no apps on, but i can still play dead trigger or asphalt 7 without any lags.
I've read a quote from somewhere saying that 'extra RAM is wasted RAM' or something, which i believe is quite true smile.gif
QUOTE(waveweaver @ Aug 19 2012, 11:16 PM)
Just leave the RAM alone. Your phone will auto close un-wanted app if the need arise.

Added on August 19, 2012, 11:21 pm

That's a stock built-in task managers. :-)
Long press home button and you got task managers at the bottom of the screen.
Erm... True and maybe not exactly accurate either.

Free ram is advantageous of course.. Cause if you have NO RAM available, how will you run apps? Sensibly, you need free RAM to open up new apps(without killing applications you want left open).

True in the sense that android really does manage open applications and RAM well enough for daily basic usage. Most cases, people don't even know about this 'clearing RAM' and they use the phone without any problems. They don't close apps properly and the phone still functions without a problem. That's the average user. In fact, if you're running regular apps like messaging or Internet, you shouldn't be facing any FCs due to RAM issues.

How they govern priority to open apps in default is good enough for most users. We know we can change this, but leaving it as it is should be very reliable in most cases.

However, if no apps are open, and you are 100% confident that you have NO running apps in the background, then RAM usage should be low. If you are seeing around 680-700++ RAM usage with absolutely nothing open, then something really spooky is going on. SII used to hover at about 400 with nothing open. SIII hovers 550+ with nothing open.

Remember, I see quite a few people rebooting their phone and checking their RAM and showing a high amount of RAM usage and saying that it's so high even without apps open. Dudes, remember, on a fresh reboot... Myriads of apps are running. Wait for a while.. Maybe like 15 minutes or more and then check your RAM. things like media scanner, download manager, and many others are running on a fresh boot.

Cheers
Dark_Angel85
post Aug 20 2012, 12:13 AM

Government Agent
956 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Aug 19 2012, 11:49 PM)
i'm not using any special tools to kill task but after i use the stock task manager to kill tasks the memory still hovering around 630MB...
QUOTE(waveweaver @ Aug 19 2012, 11:56 PM)
It's always around 600+ if you're on stock rom. All used for core apps cache. If you want to reduce it..root and freeze or un-install un-wanted pre-installed (bloatwarez) apps from your phone.
What waveweaver advised is true. I can't advise much if you're on stock cause.... I think I was on stock for like... 2 days? So I can't remember how the RAM management was like for stock. If I clear RAM in my setup, it goes to 400++ and then. Creeps back up to about 500++.

I know many things are hovering in the background.
Line
Whatsapp
Allshare
Facebook
Swiftkey
Nova launcher

I think those are the ones that I can remember that do take up a lot of RAM that I 'could' uninstall but of course I wouldn't.

Well, still, ics does use more ram compared to gb
Dark_Angel85
post Aug 20 2012, 12:15 AM

Government Agent
956 posts

QUOTE(peachmonkey @ Aug 20 2012, 12:07 AM)
Hi.

I'm having trouble connecting my S3 with my laptop. I've already installed the USB Driver and it should be installed correctly coz I managed to flash my firmware using ODIN.

However when I try connecting my S3 to my laptop using USB cable I can't seem to see the phone or SD card in My Computer. Also when I open up the device manager the driver for Samsung has a yellow exclamation mark on it.

Any idea what's wrong? Appreciate all sifu's help smile.gif
Don't you connect via USB cable to flash with Odin?
Dark_Angel85
post Aug 20 2012, 11:28 AM

Government Agent
956 posts

QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Aug 20 2012, 12:40 AM)
Do note as well that kiesexe found in /system/bin is causing zombie processes ....... meaning it slowly eating up your ram , dropping it by up to 100mb a day for certain users if u didnt restart your hp . Disabling it is a good option but by disabling it , u can use KIES anymore . Choice is yours .

Here is a link to know more about it
Interesting... But I see no such memory leak. Woke up this morning and checked to see if there was such memory load built up... And obviously not.

Dark_Angel85
post Aug 20 2012, 02:23 PM

Government Agent
956 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Aug 20 2012, 12:55 PM)
hmmm, are you running on stock... mind to share your settings...

thanks...
you might on hold a while 1st... from my point of view it does have a good specs but the GUI (user experience) not really that smooth lo... the lagging comparable to my 1st Gen iPad running IOS 5.0, and it does not expect the most high end gadget in the current date to be like that... the main culprit is the firmware of Samsung, around 779 RAM available but more than 80% of it will be occupied most of the time...

Iphone 4S during launching definitely smoother than this, because i got my hands on it for 4 days on the launching of maxis... i sold it of later because prefer the android interface and my gf does not want to use it...

many ppl might be disagree to me on this...
just my single cents... is your choice... cheers...
QUOTE(noobandroid @ Aug 20 2012, 01:21 PM)
there is always root and with that we can clean up the ram hoggers, i cleaned it up and now is at 50% ram usage under normal circumstances
Definitely not stock. Removed all bloatwares... I don't have anything sammy related. Not even weather(really? I don't need a weather app... Even when I'm such a tennis junky) and software updates. I would think that all the social networking apps are hogging lots of RAM as well, but those I'd keep for sure.

Dark_Angel85
post Aug 27 2012, 02:27 PM

Government Agent
956 posts

QUOTE(TunYau @ Aug 27 2012, 02:22 PM)
Any sifu here can guide here?

How long it takes to flash stock firmware.
It seems i t stuck at NAND Write Start!!
ooo... shouldn't take too long.. flashing firmware probably 5 mins?

sakit sakit sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
Dark_Angel85
post Aug 29 2012, 02:28 PM

Government Agent
956 posts

QUOTE(Sky04 @ Aug 29 2012, 12:54 PM)
Hmm.. I find it more easy to command it with a laptop. I can send all the command by clicks, without even need to memorize the command use in sms commands. maybe you can try it on your laptop someday and let me know =)

anyway, do you have a list of command that can be used, if you send by sms? nonetheless, this is really a good apps.

EDIT: did you guys use "barcode scanner" apps to scan for barcodes?
QUOTE(FallenOut @ Aug 29 2012, 02:02 PM)
n someone mentioned b4 in xda
use swap n the memory leak is not noticeable
bt it may degrade ur sd card life
memory leak is common. Since GB but due to firmware updates and improvements after a long time, it was rectified in Froyo and GB. ICS is barely 1 year i think... it'll be awhile before it gets as rock solid as GB. erm... JB... even more so la.

Dark_Angel85
post Aug 29 2012, 02:45 PM

Government Agent
956 posts

QUOTE(jacxk @ Aug 29 2012, 02:30 PM)
hye all...i've downloaded games like mib3 gt free and RF2012 then i found GL TO SD APPS which i understand the apps can transfer gameloft games or gameloft games data to external sd card...then i run the apps to move gameloft games to ext card..and its been moved....so after moving it....when i want to play RF or MIB, it ask me to downlaod additional data 300mb ++....im kinda confused....plzz help
it means that it didn't work

Dark_Angel85
post Aug 29 2012, 08:51 PM

Government Agent
956 posts

me want black one. why they no black one first time release
Dark_Angel85
post Sep 1 2012, 10:35 AM

Government Agent
956 posts

QUOTE(weretiger @ Sep 1 2012, 08:24 AM)
Ini orang.....

Gangster rio, nova3, modern combat3
Somehow I just can't seem to get mc3 to be compatible with the device... Even with cf3d set to nvidia
Dark_Angel85
post Sep 1 2012, 01:32 PM

Government Agent
956 posts

Care to share how you got modern combat 3 to work on siii?

0.0505sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:53 AM