Nvidia Fan Club V10, Vision, innovation and market leadership

TSrc2x
post Aug 15 2012, 02:53 PM, updated 13y ago

Ask me about my vore fettish
1,838 posts

Nvidia (NASDAQ: NVDA; /ɪnˈvɪdiə/ in-vid-ee-ə) is an American global technology company based in Santa Clara, California. The company invented the graphics processing unit (GPU) in 1999. GPUs drive the computer graphics in games and in applications used by professional designers. Their parallel processing capabilities provide researchers and scientists with the ability to efficiently run high-performance applications, and they are deployed in supercomputing sites around the world. More recently, Nvidia has moved into the mobile computing market, where its processors power phones and tablets, as well as auto infotainment systems. Its competitors include Intel, AMD and Qualcomm.

The following are the most notable product families produced by Nvidia:
[.] GeForce - the gaming graphics processing products for which Nvidia is best known.
[.] Quadro - computer-aided design and digital content creation workstation graphics processing products.
[.] Tegra - a system on a chip series for mobile devices.
[.] Tesla - dedicated general purpose GPU for high-end image generation applications in professional and scientific fields.
[.] nForce - a motherboard chipset created by nVidia for AMD Athlon and Duron microprocessors.

FAST FACTS
> Founded in 1993
> Jen-Hsun Huang is co-founder, president and CEO
> Headquartered in Santa Clara, Calif.
> Listed with NASDAQ under the symbol NVDA in 1999
> Invented the GPU in 1999 and has shipped more than 1 billion to date
> 7,000 employees worldwide
> $4 billion in revenue in FY12
> 2,300+ patents worldwide

Drivers page: http://www.geforce.com/drivers
Blog: http://blogs.nvidia.com

This post has been edited by rc2x: Sep 23 2012, 10:19 PM
TSrc2x
post Aug 16 2012, 03:31 PM

1,838 posts

There is a review on the MSI GTX660 TI power edition, but in spanish, and the result kinda really.... hmm.gif
http://elchapuzasinformatico.com/2012/08/r...-power-edition/
TSrc2x
post Aug 16 2012, 10:02 PM

1,838 posts

Here's some different vendor GTX 660 TI review.

ZOTAC GeForce GTX 660 Ti AMP! Edition 2 GB
http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Zotac/G...Ti_Amp_Edition/

MSI GeForce GTX 660 Ti Power Edition 2 GB
http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/MSI/GTX..._Power_Edition/

ASUS GeForce GTX 660 Ti Direct CU II 2 GB
http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/ASUS/Ge...i_Direct_Cu_II/

Palit GeForce GTX 660 Ti JetStream 2 GB
http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Palit/G..._Ti_Jet_Stream/

EVGA GeForce GTX 660 Ti SuperClocked
http://hexus.net/tech/reviews/graphics/436...i-superclocked/

This post has been edited by rc2x: Aug 16 2012, 10:06 PM
TSrc2x
post Aug 17 2012, 11:16 AM

1,838 posts

How about the quality of it? Leadtek don't usually boost about their caps/cooling etc eh. hmm.gif
TSrc2x
post Aug 18 2012, 03:51 PM

1,838 posts

QUOTE(rave963 @ Aug 18 2012, 03:44 PM)
I know Im asking a noob question but, GTX660TI is a 2-way or 3-way SLI ??
Can be up 4 card for quad SLI. thumbup.gif
TSrc2x
post Aug 18 2012, 04:10 PM

1,838 posts

Just watched this yesterday and know about the tearing and Vsync stuff. Wanna share it here with you folks.

TSrc2x
post Aug 18 2012, 04:31 PM

1,838 posts

Read this. GTX680 can 4 way also, driver limitation on GTX670 and GTX6660 TI only.
GeForce GTX 670 Doesn't Support 4-way SLI, Possible with Future Driver Update
http://www.techpowerup.com/165980/GeForce-...ver-Update.html
TSrc2x
post Aug 18 2012, 04:39 PM

1,838 posts

Does the PCB used on the card really matter? For performance? I believe quality of the PCB are important.
TSrc2x
post Aug 18 2012, 05:02 PM

1,838 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Aug 18 2012, 04:48 PM)
I'm not sure but that's what written sometime. Something like "high quality PCB for better performance bla bla bla" in some spec.
Later the vendor came up with marketing stuff, thick board, 3oz copper board etc. Just like what usually mobo vendor always boost about.
TSrc2x
post Aug 18 2012, 05:37 PM

1,838 posts

Was it micro stuttering? I thought this only happens in multi GPU set up.
TSrc2x
post Aug 18 2012, 08:44 PM

1,838 posts

If can't tolerate the noise, just WC or use passive cooling.

QUOTE(louislw @ Aug 18 2012, 08:37 PM)
Wooo new thread gtx680 lightning reporting in
Welcome dude. smile.gif
TSrc2x
post Aug 18 2012, 09:52 PM

1,838 posts

QUOTE(hackcremo @ Aug 18 2012, 09:39 PM)
Hello guys..do u prefer lock the fps at 60@120 fps or just let the vsync off..??
Turn off the vsync, cause when there is huge explosion or more action packed scenes, the fps just dip down below. BTW i got post a video about vsync, at previous page.
TSrc2x
post Aug 20 2012, 07:15 PM

1,838 posts

QUOTE(ukimaro @ Aug 20 2012, 07:14 PM)
yo guys ive manage to oc my card to 1060 gpu clock without any voltage tweak , does it still apply the same concept as in , if i wanna push further need to increase voltage for stability ?
You doing benchmark?
TSrc2x
post Aug 21 2012, 09:42 PM

1,838 posts

GeForce GTX 660 OEM Specifications Surface, Blueprint to the Retail Version?
NVIDIA posted the product page of its GeForce GTX 660 (non-Ti) graphics processor. The chip is currently marked as OEM-only, meaning only NVIDIA's OEM partners have access to it. Its specifications make us believe that the "real thing" (retail version) could be very similar to it.

To begin with, the GTX 660 OEM appears to be based on the same GK104 silicon as the GTX 660 Ti retail. It appears to have been carved out by disabling two SMX units, resulting in a CUDA core count of 1,152. It doesn't appear to feature GPU Boost, as only one GPU domain clock is mentioned: 823 MHz base. The memory is clocked at 6008 MHz, in combination with the 192-bit memory bus width, it churns out 134 GB/s memory bandwidth. Unlike the GTX 660 Ti with its standard memory amounts of 2 GB or 3 GB, the GTX 660 OEM has standard memory options of 1.5 GB and 3 GB. The rest of its feature-set is consistent with that of every other GeForce Kepler family GPU. The GeForce GTX 660 retail could be launched some time in September. It's not necessary that its specifications could match with the OEM version.

http://www.techpowerup.com/170835/GeForce-...l-Version-.html
http://www.geforce.com/hardware/desktop-gp...rce-gtx-660-oem
TSrc2x
post Aug 21 2012, 09:49 PM

1,838 posts

I believe there will be a retail version for GTX 660. Just wait for the announcement. smile.gif
TSrc2x
post Aug 22 2012, 06:08 PM

1,838 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Aug 22 2012, 05:39 PM)
So been doing a little bit of a search... "What is the most demanding game for PC?" at this point in time and this is what I found:

- ARMA2 (max settings = military grade machine)
- Witcher 2 with Uber-sampling
- Flight Simulator X (max settings, with DX update patch)

That's it. Even "Metro 2033" is not as bad as the above three. The above first two, a single GTX 680 struggles. GTX 680 SLi does it but still lags here and there. Any others?
Wanted to see how it goes for GTA V this year.
TSrc2x
post Aug 22 2012, 07:04 PM

1,838 posts

I would rather use a can of compressed air. Do it outside the case, stop the fan from spinning and see those dust fly out.
TSrc2x
post Aug 22 2012, 07:53 PM

1,838 posts

QUOTE(barbar554 @ Aug 22 2012, 07:49 PM)
They spin backwards every time upon start-up, not every month so it shouldn't be a problem I guess.

But then again... where does all the dust go? The bottom of your case ._.
Doesn't really solve the problem eh?
Oh well... at least it gets rid of the dust on the video card.
Definitely still inside the case. If open on bench rack should be ok.
Every MSI card got this feature? hmm.gif
TSrc2x
post Aug 22 2012, 09:32 PM

1,838 posts

QUOTE(yinchet @ Aug 22 2012, 08:44 PM)
wah you guys so rajin go to clean the dust.
me long time did not clean it.
Use pc everyday, need to give some love for it. blush.gif

QUOTE(barbar554 @ Aug 22 2012, 08:50 PM)
I even clean my laptop's heat-sinks every 1 or 2 months.
And then a quick vacuuming from the battery socket area. (wonders if this damages the hardware inside)

P.S I have it on really low power.
Notebook heatsink every 1-2 months really not needed lar. Unless really dusty inside.
TSrc2x
post Aug 23 2012, 04:59 PM

1,838 posts

I think you are the early bird that got MSI 670 PE. zero your siggy so big! Not scare kena nuke? whistling.gif

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0442sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:27 PM