Nvidia Fan Club V10, Vision, innovation and market leadership

defaultname365
post Aug 15 2012, 11:49 PM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

TS take over from Jean Reno? laugh.gif Congrats for V10.

Reporting in as a proud owner of a giant 2.5 slot Palit Jetstream GTX 680. rclxms.gif

List of games I'm really looking forward to pushing with my new GPU this year:

- Assassin's Creed 3
- Borderlands 2
- Black Ops 2 (??)
- F1 2012
- Medal of Honor Warfighter
- Mechwarrior Online
- War of the Roses

All titles support DX11.

defaultname365
post Aug 18 2012, 11:35 AM

1,098 posts

Didn't I say months ago (early this year I guess) "GTX 660 Ti = GTX 580?" biggrin.gif Some folks didn't believe it...

No, it's actually GTX 660 Ti > GTX 580! rclxms.gif

Nice one Nvidia.
defaultname365
post Aug 21 2012, 07:33 PM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Aug 21 2012, 01:00 PM)
It's a feature in Twin Frozr IV by default smile.gif

Ha ha... 'dust removal'? Where does the dust go if it's inside the casing and not exposed like this? biggrin.gif I thought some kind of awesome new tech that can collect the dust and then you can pull open a tray and then and then.... nevermine.

defaultname365
post Aug 22 2012, 04:01 PM

1,098 posts

Huh? 660Ti still not below RM1k? sweat.gif Oh mai... I really thought finally Kepler arrives in less than RM1k.

I still think the 670 is best performance/price ratio Kepler GPU. Well, at least to some (but not me... ha ha).

This post has been edited by defaultname365: Aug 22 2012, 04:02 PM
defaultname365
post Aug 22 2012, 05:39 PM

1,098 posts

So been doing a little bit of a search... "What is the most demanding game for PC?" at this point in time and this is what I found:

- ARMA2 (max settings = military grade machine)
- Witcher 2 with Uber-sampling
- Flight Simulator X (max settings, with DX update patch)

That's it. Even "Metro 2033" is not as bad as the above three. The above first two, a single GTX 680 struggles. GTX 680 SLi does it but still lags here and there. Any others?

defaultname365
post Aug 23 2012, 12:29 PM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Aug 22 2012, 10:11 PM)
time 2 get AMD 7800 if u want less than 1k GPU laugh.gif
Not me, I have a 680... brows.gif I just thought 660 finally breaks the less than RM1k barrier, so a little surprised.

defaultname365
post Aug 27 2012, 10:06 AM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(pcminc @ Aug 26 2012, 07:12 PM)
can't imagine that nowadays i need to spend 1 k above for the gpu ++
Don't have to. Whenever you're buying anything, ask yourself two questions :

1. Do I really want it?
2. Am I willing to pay that much for it?

If it's a yes to both, get it. Hesitate on either one, no go. If you're dead set on something, nothing can stop you, regardless whether affordable or not, a waste or otherwise. nod.gif I would never have imagined paying anything above RM1k for a GPU, but since end of last year I had it in my mind and finally did it...

defaultname365
post Aug 27 2012, 05:26 PM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(Terence573 @ Aug 27 2012, 05:17 PM)
460 to 670... is it worth it?
If you're happy with your 460, then stick with it. I was using a 460, was able to play the latest games no problems except when everything is maxed out. I went from a 460 to a 680 (originally wanted to go to 580 but decided to wait for Kepler) - - the performance difference is definitely noticeable (duh!). Throw anything at it, max the settings out, no problem. It runs BF3 Ultra with such ease when my 460 struggled. It also opens up the possibility of multi-display gaming. Besides, it will definitely make your machine last at least 1 1/2 to 2 years longer. A 670 is pretty much an underclocked 680. Get a factory OC 670 and you're there.

Planning to sell my 460... watch out for it. It's a Leadtek GTX 460 OC 1Gb version. brows.gif

defaultname365
post Aug 27 2012, 05:46 PM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(Terence573 @ Aug 27 2012, 05:40 PM)
yeah own a 580 b4...but feeling its kinda no improvement from 460...I've sold it.

but later found out it actually the cpu bottleneck...i5 650  doh.gif

eyeing for 670.Leadtek was the best priced so far.
I had similar issues with my i7 870! In fact, I got 'worse' performance on my 680 than on my 460. Something to do with CPU scaling with the GPU in certain games. All I did was ditch my stock coolers and OC my CPU from 2.93GHz to 4GHz. That's it. Did the usual benchmarks to see if my system was up to scratch for a 680 and it was there. smile.gif

defaultname365
post Sep 1 2012, 12:49 PM

1,098 posts

GTX 780 - the GTR card? biggrin.gif I'm thinking early 2013.
defaultname365
post Sep 5 2012, 05:02 PM

1,098 posts

A really good full length review of the 660 Overclocked:

NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 660 2GB Video Card Overclocked Performance

http://www.tweaktown.com/articles/4931/nvi...lzKQHkzYixRh.99

Conclusion:

Overclocking potential at the moment on the upcoming GTX 660 is a little hit and miss. It's going to really come down to if we have the ability to adjust the core voltage which will help boost the overall numbers a bit more as we know that an increase in core speed is going to give us a stronger boost, compared to an increase in memory clocks.

Like we said in our reference card review the GTX 660 is looking to be a good model, but it isn't quite giving us the "WOW" factor that we experienced from other GEFORCE 600 series models. The pricing and performance of the model is exactly what you'd expect and while that's not a bad thing, considering we've been left a bit shell shocked over the last few months with other NVIDIA cards, it's probably a little disappointing as the GTX 660 doesn't hit us as hard as we may have expected.

It's pretty impressive that the GTX 660, a model that will launch at a mid-$200 price bracket, manages to offer similar performance to the GTX 580, the king of the single GPU video cards just last year. At the same time, though, it's worth remembering that AMD have been able to do it with the HD 7870 for a while now.
defaultname365
post Sep 13 2012, 09:44 PM

1,098 posts

It doesn't matter if the performance is close or not, if one can afford to pay $x.xx per fps cost then by all means go ahead. And yes, 660 Ti's performance close to 670 close to 680. 660 Ti pretty much beats the 580.

In other words..

660 Ti = 580.

Oh and latest WHQL drivers are in! biggrin.gif

http://www.geforce.com/whats-new/articles/...ivers-released/

defaultname365
post Sep 13 2012, 09:57 PM

1,098 posts

Have you guys seen this 660/650 launch video... funny. biggrin.gif

0:31 onwards...

Oh and I can't wait for "Borderlands 2" ! Nvidia going to pwn some serious **** !
defaultname365
post Sep 14 2012, 02:18 PM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(zerohunter @ Sep 14 2012, 02:11 AM)
this is what i got for both 301.42 and 306.23

301.42 stock clock and oc

306.23 stock and oc

i didn't use driver sweeper, i just install the 306.23 and reboot. perhaps i should sweep the 301.42 then only install the new driver??  rclxub.gif
It's comparably the same. Usually newer drivers = better performance, but this is not always the case. I have also heard some people are having issues with "Battlefield 3" performance after updating to this driver and Quad-Sli GTX 690 users report that their games would start smoothly, stutter and finally stop working. As for me, I only have played "Prototype 2"... haven't tried on other titles yet. As long as "smooth" I'm good.

defaultname365
post Sep 15 2012, 03:28 PM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(shreaker @ Sep 15 2012, 12:42 PM)
I just bought a 66ti. There's no free borderlands 2 coupon inside the box . Where do I get the coupon?

[EDIT] Oh this sucks SO much. There are no Asian countries on the list. Rascists!!!!

[attachmentid=3050280]
Yeah, Nvidia's contests/giveaways/etc. usually for US/Canada region, sometimes includes Europe and occasionally Asia.

defaultname365
post Sep 20 2012, 10:23 AM

1,098 posts

Arrghh.... can't wait to play "Borderlands 2" on my 680! Come on Nvidia... show us the awesome PhysX that the 'other side' can't quite experience.
defaultname365
post Sep 23 2012, 05:28 PM

1,098 posts

"Borderlands 2" looks and plays superbly well thanks to the 680! The number of particles that kicks up, the gooey fluids, cloth effects. "F1 2012" is another stunner, with max settings and at 32X CSAA, benchmark average is 85 fps! biggrin.gif Need a more resource hungry game !
defaultname365
post Sep 28 2012, 11:59 PM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(Mr_47 @ Sep 28 2012, 12:07 AM)
680 non-reference pwn all
nod.gif

As for PCB colours... Really? OK maybe some do care but I don't give a crap! laugh.gif

Even if pink.

....OK, maybe not pink.

defaultname365
post Oct 9 2012, 05:22 PM

1,098 posts

This is a little old, but boy AMD really seem to be clamoring for '680 just can't do it' comment.

http://blogs.amd.com/play/2012/06/20/dirt-showdown-on-gcn/

It is true that with 'Global Illumination' turned on, "Dirt Showdown" slows down noticeably even on a 680, but it seems the AMD cards are doing better. I turn GI on (ini tweak) and still can play the game on a 680, though not buttery smooth if without GI.

GI on/off barely makes any difference, but if you change the camera view to bonnet, when another car is nearby, the reflection that is on the other car's bonnet is visible on your car... it is really minor graphical improvement at a huge performance cost. I just turn it on since.... what the heck, I just can...

Hopefully this feature returns in say "Dirt 3" or "GRID 2".

defaultname365
post Nov 6 2012, 10:38 AM

1,098 posts

"NFS: Most Wanted" plays great on my 680... 1920x1080 max settings. How many fps, doesn't matter, it is smooth as butter. I noticed AA was lacking (just like Hot Pursuit). I just went to NVCPL, turned on FXAA and voila, much better.

Can't wait for the PC version of AC3 (didn't get the 360 version) = Nvidia TXAA + DX11 in da house!

Right now can't stop playing "Deadlight" = love the visual style, love the gameplay, and best of all.. zombies.

0.0454sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:12 AM