QUOTE(seongmeng @ Dec 27 2012, 07:13 PM)
congrat ....Kia Optima K5 Owners/Fans Thread V3, www.myK5club.com
Kia Optima K5 Owners/Fans Thread V3, www.myK5club.com
Dec 27 2012, 09:23 PM
19 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
Jan 9 2013, 02:22 PM
QUOTE(jack88888 @ Jan 9 2013, 02:13 PM) Could you give me the link? Cause I couldn't find the fansclub that you saying, thanks a lot for your help... BTW, you din use pedal lock for your car? https://www.facebook.com/#!/groups/myk5club/ |
Jan 12 2013, 11:23 PM
Just got my K5 Pearl White from Edwin today. Very good service from Edwin, very nice chap, got plenty of nice stories to share. You can sms/call/whatsapp him at +60193305936 for the best deal in town.
Jan 14 2013, 07:38 AM
Jan 15 2013, 02:59 PM
Just some update about my experience with my new K5 last few days.
The auto wiper works with slight rain drop, increase the speed automatically with heavier rain. Overall works well. Plan to put Rain-X on my windscreen. Auto headlight works really well.. turn on automatically at the right time. The HID is fantastic and the auto tilt with steering wheel is obvious. Can really see where you are turning to. Blutooth connection is a breeze. Sound played from my Android phone is great, the bass a bit too strong for my liking. Maybe need to change the equalizer setting on my phone?. Can receive phone calls with ease. Not sure the other side can hear me clearly or not. The "up" and "down" button on the steering whell does not change the track front and back. Will try to figure it out why. Have issue with my 8GB Sony pen drive. I followed the format instruction in the manual but the 8GB still doesn;t work, but it can work for my wife's 4GB pen drive. Size matter? Can't complain about the driving comfort. Can feel the power even during the break in period. Still not stressing the engine yet. Indeed the Nexen tyres a bit noisy. But I am out of budget. Will try use it until it wears off. |
Jan 15 2013, 06:40 PM
QUOTE(marcus.ych @ Jan 15 2013, 03:27 PM) agreed on the auto wiper. but for me, i dun put it in auto mode, coz avtime when I start the car, wiper will wipe once no matter its rain or not. BTW, the right hand side wiper got a lil bit jumping when wiping? y huh? Hmm dont have the jumping issue with the right wiper.... not sure about the static light.. but one thing I found out is if i leave my car in auto mode and press lock, the light will remain lid. I have to press the lock again the second time to turn off the light. Kinda good in making sure the car really is locked i guess.auto headlight is great, but I wonder is the static light can be turned off? keep on n off maybe will shorten its spend life (just my 2cents) Infiniti-the part i like the most... "High 音sweet ,middle 音perfect,strong bass... 1 word ~ TRANSPARENT!!" just it wil be better if there is a 6-7" screen like US version. i played my 4GB mirco SD card with USB adapter. played well... no dare to stress the engine coz haven't go for 1st service... Nexen tyres is damn noisy even at speed of 60km/hr... but once i check the tyre pressure... 43kpi???? shocked me... after reduce to recommended pressure ok a bit... no budget to change as well... overall, K5 is the best for my own opinion... I LOVE MY K5... |
Jan 15 2013, 11:16 PM
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 15 2013, 06:59 PM) Do not use Rain X on your windsceen. Once you use it, you have to keep on using it for life. If u stop later on, your wipers will start juddering. There is no real need for Rain X actually. It wont last long and i think in the long run it isnt worth the money. Rain X does last at least 3 months on my wira and it works great. Not sure about wiper juddering, did not happen on my wira which i used for 7 years.. i may had skip using it for a few times.The auto wipers on the K5 are actually a bit of a disappointment. U will see soon enuf. The sensitivity of the wipers is not uniform. When there is little rain, the wipers will sometimes be fast and when there is heavy rain it takes a few seconds for the speed to increase on its own. Plus, u can never turn off the auto function unlike other cars. You can only slow it down or speed up. What is auto tilt? I think ure refering to the static bending lights rite? I dont really find this useful. If its active bending like the Peugeot 508 (turning according to the steering wheel) then its worth. With static bending, the lights come on when your steering wheel turns a certain degree only. Driving comfort is quite average. The K5 is not built for comfort. If u want comfort, go for the Camry. The K5 suspension set-up is to improve handling (but still far away from VW standards). I would have prefered the K5 to have a more comfort orientated set up. The 18 inch rims and low profile tyres make the ride comfort a bit harsh especially over rough road. But the K5 has very good cornering and road grip thanks to the bigger & wider tyres and also the lower profile of the car. But be very careful when going over speed bumps with passengers at the back. You will hit the undercarriage. As for power, well the K5 is underpowered actually. For its body weight, it needs at least 220Nm of torque. If you wanna save fuel, dont practice heavy acceleration from standstill. The K5's power comes in at mid range not at start-up. Thats why its highway consumption is very good. If u practice 'knee jerk' type acceleration during city driving, you can be assured of a high fuel bill. Nexen tyres are noisy but its got satisfactory wet and dry grip (while its new). But the weakness of the stock Nexen is that its sidewall isnt strong. So chances of you experiencing a blowout (like me) at high speeds are somewhat higher than other brands. So if you do find the budget, please consider changing to Goodyear Assy2 or Michelin PSS. Remember that all the best safety systems in the world wont help u if your tyres fail you. But i must advice you to test out the ABS brakes on the car. Choose a straight and open road (with no vehicles) and slam the brakes hard. This is important as many drives dont know how an ABS functions and thus may not know how to use it. Never pump your brakes in a car equipped with ABS.It will just render the ABS useless. The power is comparable with Passat, or maybe slightly less, but I havent push the engine far. Some report they can feel the Nu is more powerful than Theta II.. not sure about this.. but its definately enough for Malaysia driving. As for tyres, it is true that the stock Nexen was overinflated at 40psi. The recommended is stated at 33/35. Could overinflation cause the break down? |
Jan 15 2013, 11:18 PM
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 15 2013, 07:39 PM) U need to read the owners book more and understand the various functions. The lights ure refering to are the Follow Me Home lights which are designed to stay on for a few secs after the engine is switched off. This is to enable you to provide illumination while u open your front gate/door. The pressing again to switch off the light may be purely coincidence. The lights will go off by itself after about 10 secs or so. I very sure the second lock does turn off the light.. yes it does turn off after several seconds.. but you can also force it to turn it off if you press it the second time. |
Jan 16 2013, 07:37 PM
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 16 2013, 10:58 AM) Bro, i suggest you don't apply any Rain X or any chemical on the windscreen. Many of the K5's are facing a problem with juddering wipers (right side) which Kia is trying to find a solution for. If you go and apply Rain X and then you face a problem, Kia will not entertain you at all. Take my advice and hold off the Rain X for a few months. Its not a huge neccessity. K.. will hold out Rain X for now and see, thanks for advise. I know all about the numbers, probably I didn;t push Passat to its limit when I test drive it.On the power issue. The K5 is no match for the Passat. Please dont ever tell ppl this la bro. Ull get laughed at. The Passat has got 52Nm torque more than the K5 which is why its 0-100kmph acceleration is more than 2 secs faster. All those who bought the K5 last year were well aware of the tyre inflation. It was shared on this thread and all of us ensured that we lowered the tyre pressure according to manufacturer's recommendations. My blowout was not because of that. |
Jan 18 2013, 08:12 PM
Just done Sierra Glow yesterday and today after a rainy drive back from work, the dirt just wash off so easily. Worth the investment. Give Mr Choong +6016-217 0312 a call for appointment. Discount until CNY.
Jan 19 2013, 12:48 PM
Jan 19 2013, 09:40 PM
Jan 20 2013, 10:33 AM
Jan 21 2013, 08:36 PM
Just like to show the beauty of things through photography. And our K5 is absolute beauty which I love to shoot
BTW I do weddings as well. This post has been edited by digitallife: Jan 21 2013, 08:37 PM |
Jan 24 2013, 08:15 PM
QUOTE(hengng @ Jan 24 2013, 07:56 PM) Anybody has done sierra glow at the subang jaya? How effective is it, how much and how many hours for it to be done for optima k5? I done it last week. The car is easy to wash. Just using plain water and a cloth. No need Shampoo. Currently discount RM700 for K5 until CNY. 5+ hours work. Got WIFI thereCheers! |
Jan 24 2013, 08:30 PM
about 6 hours for mine. They are very detail in doing their job. You need to make appointment with them. Do it before CNY
Jan 24 2013, 10:54 PM
QUOTE(frostmourne @ Jan 24 2013, 10:42 PM) Hello i'm from Kuantan.. Tint and Coating My loan just approved yesterday.. Will get my K5 next Tuesday/Wednesday! Yahoooo! What is the first & important things i need to do with my new K5? I thought want to change all the emblem first.. Is that important to add mudguard? Others? |
Jan 25 2013, 08:15 AM
Jan 25 2013, 09:07 AM