6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

LYN Official Toyota Vios Owners Thread V3, Thread for all LYN's Toyota Vios owners!

RoxyMunky
post Dec 29 2013, 01:13 AM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(xakarix84 @ Dec 28 2013, 05:24 PM)
the test drive unit here is trd spec, i feels not much different, lppl only
the main noise is from lower of the car, second from side window, acoustic wind screen doesn't really help much
Seriously, i never test druve the car upon booking. Just book and buy it after i totaled my Ford Focus.

Tmrw morning im goong to soundproof either the wheel arch or floor... Will confirm after i get advise from the expert.

QUOTE(richygirl88 @ Dec 28 2013, 05:46 PM)
i doubt you know Toyota cars. Go and see camry 2.5V  mad.gif
U mean the current latest model or the previous gen?

QUOTE(Ulysses @ Dec 28 2013, 05:55 PM)
thumbup.gif
Just sharing my thoughts. smile.gif

QUOTE(xakarix84 @ Dec 28 2013, 10:15 PM)
well we gone too far, let's peace and continue discuss the car itself.
Hell yeah, bro!!
RoxyMunky
post Dec 29 2013, 01:23 AM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

Did new Vios owner realized that there is this bumping thing sound from driver side, behind the dash upon crossing humps or uneven road at slightly speedy pace?

It sounds like a loose compartment knocking. Heard from a user here saying that its the absorbers mounting screwped too tight? Or this is a different case??

Any light on this?
RoxyMunky
post Dec 29 2013, 06:19 PM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(richygirl88 @ Dec 29 2013, 09:16 AM)
I don't encounter this issue. Mine is quiet all the way  smile.gif

Maybe you need soundproof all the way haha...
Perhaps G really have better sound insulation hence u dont feel it, or im being too sensitive with these cabin NVh.

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Dec 29 2013, 09:26 AM)
why fighting geh? sweat.gif
Itsnot fighting, just we stand at different ground upon certain topics only. We are cool, no worries. smile.gif

QUOTE(lovesick_joe @ Dec 29 2013, 10:37 AM)
Wooo... Chill Guy...

I'm not siding anyone.

Everyone got their own opinion. After a question been made, answer will be giving just that you accept it anot only.

There is always no right or wrong.

Dun take it so serious guys.

Have Fun & ride the way u want.
Your damn right bro.
RoxyMunky
post Dec 29 2013, 11:33 PM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(darkdevilrey @ Dec 29 2013, 08:59 PM)
guys

how come vios service package so expensive?

normal service already rm220

maxcheck @ 30k total nearly rm400

what you guy think???
I believe the rm220 normal service is due to the semiSyn engine oil.

As for 30k service, rm400 is considered decent since they should change quite some fluids and parts. Do check the details on what changes needed.
RoxyMunky
post Dec 30 2013, 08:13 AM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(xakarix84 @ Dec 30 2013, 12:11 AM)
yes, sounds like something loose and bounce back around engine bay, saw a few people mention b4,
and i did complain to SC at first service, they checked and say might be sound from absorber,
everything normal, and reconfirm tighten everything, but that didn't solve the problem.
so i decide to drive slow over hump and avoid pot holes until somebody know what actually happened  biggrin.gif
yeap, its really annoying.

also, i realized another 2 "issues" here.
1. The brake pedal is really loose, and we could hear the hissing sound upon step on/off. This is really annoying.
2. The EPS steering "string" movement noise is getting louder while turn your steering wheel.

Did you notice this??
RoxyMunky
post Dec 30 2013, 05:14 PM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(denzel88 @ Dec 30 2013, 04:11 PM)
My SA told me the only step left to get my new car is the Registration of car at JPJ.
I  heard some some ppl said I need to go to JPJ due to new mySikap system that requires my thumbprint, some said I don't need to.

Did anyone of you who recently bough the vios need to go to jpj to register and how long did it take to get your car?
nope, i never go JPJ for the registration process.

JPJ side takes like 1-2 days only. Do check with your SA.

QUOTE(xakarix84 @ Dec 30 2013, 04:58 PM)
TOTALLY YESSSSSSSSSSSSSS LOLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL

dat kok kok kok sound every time we release brake pedal
i think the brake pedal angle abit over too, my flipper almost stuck in between few time at first few days driving
scared my shit out

izzit the eeeee eeeeee sound?
mine still ok, sound still small and rarely occur
eeeee eeeeee sound upon pressing.. and tok sound upon release... really annoying...

need to raise this to SC again.
RoxyMunky
post Dec 31 2013, 08:58 AM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(denzel88 @ Dec 30 2013, 06:19 PM)
@rockymunky

What about transfer ownership? Do I need to go to jpj?
My SA said I need to go there to verify my car ownership.
i never go to any JPJ office to do all this.

what transfer ownership your referring to? Are you trading your old car?

QUOTE(darkdevilrey @ Dec 30 2013, 09:10 PM)
Semi engine oil = rm100
oil filter = rm30
labor = rm90

shocking.gif

wat a rip off

for me

engine oil = rm100 = ok
oil filter = rm30 = outside spare parts max rm10
labor = rm90 = r u kidding me? with RM90 i can pay labor for changing timing belt / change clutch plate already

doh.gif

seriously suprise with the price  doh.gif

not mentioned the 30k service @ rm400 sumore

aircon service @rm90

what did they do actually with RM90, if service outside also cost more than rm90 already.

so i find out they actually only add "some" gas ( i duno, maybe 2% to 5% ) because new vios where got so fast aircon gas leak? if leak under waranty why need to pay rm90 doh.gif

then another ridiculous charge ( MAXCHECK ) @ rm75

the receipt got mini report stating = brake pad 50% OK, battery water level OK,

that kind of checking you charge for RM75 R U SERIOUS ????!!!!!

i can do it for RM30 for all you guys ok

come find me, cheap cheap for you doh.gif
from your explaination, the labour cost is really overkill. That is how authorized SC survive. sweat.gif

QUOTE(darkdevilrey @ Dec 30 2013, 09:12 PM)
yes indeed.

i was wondering wtf ???

cannot brain the labor cost almost cost you another new bottle of semi engine oil 4L

shakehead.gif
correct... sweat.gif

QUOTE(xakarix84 @ Dec 31 2013, 01:06 AM)
eh, i mean the slightly eeeee sound is when turning steering, happen less than 5 times in 2 months drive
when pressing brake no sound at all, only tok when release @@
oic... sorry for the confusion. my eee sound on steering turn is always there... sweat.gif

as for brake pedal... there is this hissing/eee sound upon pressing. As for the tok upon release... guess i'll try to DIY by applying some soundproof material and see if it absorbs the knocking sound.
RoxyMunky
post Dec 31 2013, 03:06 PM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(denzel88 @ Dec 31 2013, 10:38 AM)
@roxymunky

Yup, trading in my old car.
Anyways I went to jpj this morning to register for sale. Got it done smoothly. Hope any other thing goes well smile.gif
no wonder.

But normally all this tradeIn process should have a letter of undertaking whereby it authorized the SA to help get through the dealing.

This was how its done with used car dealer. the car owner never visit JPJ office at all.
RoxyMunky
post Dec 31 2013, 05:10 PM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

any idea on the stock Vios door speaker size?

planning to get a 6.5' component to bump up the sound quality.
RoxyMunky
post Dec 31 2013, 05:27 PM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(Camkei @ Dec 31 2013, 05:16 PM)
Hi all,
Am new here. I own the latest Toyota Vios J Spec (Reg 2013).  I’ve been driving  it for a couple of weeks now and i can firmly say that I glad to own a VIOS.  Previously I have never own or drive a VIOS before.
This is my  experience  that I would like to share
i) Although only J spec I find NVH is acceptable if not good. Especially when the engine is idling, you barely here the sound of the engine during idling. Remind me to NisSan X-Trail.
ii) Driving it around town is very pleasant, I think this is mainly due to the soft suspension, comfortable seat , very light electric steering and acceptable NVH.
iii) Sometime I do step on the gas paddle hard, and I notice that the sound of the screeming engine getting inside the cabin and the car feel like floating  when  it reach 100km/Hr. But I only do this twice, just to test. Otherwise my ride would be between 60-70km/hr  (Town area)
iv) Stereo / CD Player is nice too. Power full bass kick but lack twitter sound

Ok now I would like to ask if anybody can help me with the problem I have recently spotted with my new ride :-
1. My fuel consumption is bad. RM 50 petrol can only take me up to 200km before the yellow warning light start blinking. Maybe after blinking I can go further up 230KM. Is this normal? Because I don’t think so? What should I do? My driving pattern is I drive my car to work / no highway/ stop and go at traffic light.
2. The low fuel warning light appears blinking as the needle approach “Empty”. Ok this is normal but I notice that when I stop and park my car overnight (with fuel empty), the next day (am) when I start the car, the needle move a tad higher (1/2 a bar) and it makes the low fuel warning light stop blinking. Is my fuel gauge faulty or this is normal?
3. I notice a loud bang (tin kosong sound - remind me of shutting a VIVA door)  coming from the driver side door whenever I shut this door a little bit hard. It make me wondering if theres any parts inside the door got loosen.  Does anybody have this kind of experience too?
for your queries, based on my experience with my J Vios.

1. RM50 runs 200km. That is equivalent to 8.4KM per liter; which is quite high. Mine is around 12.6km per liter, as i pump around RM70 for every 420km run. what is you average RPM upon pickup and cruising? For me, i'm at around 2k rpm only.

The other, i never experience it; hence no comment.

Hope this info helps.
RoxyMunky
post Jan 1 2014, 11:29 AM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(xakarix84 @ Jan 1 2014, 01:25 AM)
is there anyway to disable the eco light? it's annoying and meaningless
Heard from people that G and above have this option to disable it. But no for our cheapo J.
RoxyMunky
post Jan 1 2014, 01:43 PM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(aromachong @ Jan 1 2014, 12:53 PM)
For the Vios 2013 - Anyone facing "rattling" sound from the dashboard above the headunit radio slow speed at uneven road?

How can i solve this issue? must dismantle dashboard? i dislike dismantle as its still a new car after all? 200km++ only then this stupid annoying sounds come out? haih....

regret..  think buying city better no such sound?
Ur driving which spec? Both J and the rest differs.

Im a J, so far ok. The only rattling sound coming from driver side engine bay whereby u can hear loose part jumping upon crossing sudden hump.

City does have better cabin comfort.
RoxyMunky
post Jan 1 2014, 05:37 PM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(aromachong @ Jan 1 2014, 05:05 PM)
yea same here.. my fuel consumption quite high .. u use petronas or shell? what brand? i use petronas ron95 only can achieve somewhere around 9.6-9.7km/l ?

one important thing is my car almost one month liao... but my mileage still 600km+ ... if i wait till 1000km then service, will it void my warranty?

i see.. how u know city has a better cabin comfort?
Ya, using Petronas Ron95 as well.

Im currently at 2k+ mileage. The service booklet does indicated 1k for 1st service. Void what warranty? I dont get u.

Sit ine before, cabin noise is much lower. Over the last 1 week, i've visited soundproof expert twice to get the cabin noise sorted out, especially the rear hollow resonance and tyre traction noise. Now its much pleaseant driving exp.
RoxyMunky
post Jan 1 2014, 05:44 PM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(aromachong @ Jan 1 2014, 05:40 PM)
how much u done for ur soundproof?

ur manual or auto?

coz the booklet state 1000km or 1 month whichever comes first... but mine 1 month still not 1000km... ...
meaning now after 1 month liao... so this will void warranty? becoz SA said must service in time like 1 month even though havent reach 1000km ?
I did rear boot, 3 layers... And today wheel arches 5 layers. Cost me rm1.8k.

Im a lazy guy, sure Auto.

Oic.. 1-2 months period gap wont bring any harm. Just drive till 1k only send for first service. Mine hit 1k in 1 week coz i travelled outstation twice.
RoxyMunky
post Jan 1 2014, 06:06 PM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(aromachong @ Jan 1 2014, 05:48 PM)
alright will do thanks for your advice.

ur fc quite good... mine fc no good haih.maybe becoz still new not hit 1k yet?
Alot members here mentioned to let the engine runIn, and it shall gets better over time. Also, it depends on ur driving behaviour, and traffic condition. Mine is like 40% city, 60% highway.

Perhaps, u would like to highlight this bad FC to SC during the 1k service.
RoxyMunky
post Jan 2 2014, 08:42 AM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(aromachong @ Jan 1 2014, 06:18 PM)
oh no wonder... mine 100% city driving =.=
oic... then it make sense.

QUOTE(xakarix84 @ Jan 1 2014, 07:51 PM)
wtf? like this also can? lolxxxxx
feels like these paid to remove advertisement apps >.<
it only will disappear when u stop or rawr hard, that light on nearly 99% the rest of time
i really don't need a light sting my eyes to tell me that i'm driving good  sweat.gif
agree with your point.

QUOTE(xakarix84 @ Jan 1 2014, 07:55 PM)
woah!! any photo?
maybe i rarely drive over 70kmh so the road noise haven bother me dat much @@
empty boot:

becomes like this after dampened:

wheel arch:

i was driving Ford Focus before this Vios. Thats why the cabin NVH annoyed me.

QUOTE(aromachong @ Jan 1 2014, 10:40 PM)
I think my back plate number no screw tight de.. u know how to dismantle it?

its cover with UMW toyota plate and i think they use double side tape again to sick the number plate... if double side tape thats mean i cannot take it out and re-screw it tight?  sad.gif
sorry, never really study that. sweat.gif

QUOTE(lianpang @ Jan 2 2014, 04:46 AM)
[attachmentid=3796187]

Currently now my average is 10.5
My current ODO is 1.8k mileage

When I first got my car it was 9.6-9.8
As I drive more it gets higher.

Lower or higher better ? Thanks.
its KM/L... hence higher is better.
RoxyMunky
post Jan 2 2014, 09:48 AM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(aromachong @ Jan 2 2014, 09:31 AM)
no idea.. im trying shell and petronas see which give more mileage i also dunno =.=

mm u modify ur odometer? why diff light and background?
he's driving a TRD i guess.
RoxyMunky
post Jan 2 2014, 10:06 AM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(lianpang @ Jan 2 2014, 10:03 AM)
It's fully stock , TRD Vios .
After first service my avg. is 9.6-9.8
But after I drove my car to melacca, it's just keep on increasing , currently now 10.5
OMG, this is a good thing or bad thing ?
RON95 and 97 have difference?
Thanks all , appreciate
average FC is based fully arithmetically calculated.

The more road trip you go, the higher average KM/L you will get. If you always stuck in traffic, your avg will drop to even 7km/L.

Its just an indication of avg FC you can get; purely based on the driving pattern, average speed, and fuel balance.
RoxyMunky
post Jan 2 2014, 10:20 AM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(lovesick_joe @ Jan 2 2014, 10:11 AM)
I'm driving J spec...

Does not show the avg FC.

But base on my calculation from "0" ODO till current 6k plus.

I pump RM70 goes around 380-390km (Till the warning light start blinking)

RM70 = 33L

I'm doing 11.6km/L or 0.18cent/per km

80% city drive. Morning & evening jam all the way.
mine is a J too.

Average is around 12+/L based on RM70 per pump. Getting around 400-420km range.
RoxyMunky
post Jan 2 2014, 02:08 PM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(flex3x @ Jan 2 2014, 01:56 PM)
Can try CALTEX..more efficiency smile.gif
i wonder how much difference would that be from a fuel to another.

For me, i chose Petronas purely due to convenience sake only. I never really tried other at the moment.

mind to share your experience with Caltex?

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.7441sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:04 AM