Public Mutual v4, Public/PB series funds

Kaka23
post Dec 11 2012, 11:16 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(azilazwa @ Dec 11 2012, 09:24 AM)
hi guys,

last year i started one fund, PIEF. and i've been doing ddi since then. let say i put RM200 for ddi. should i open another fund and split the RM200, and put RM100 on PIEF and another RM100 on the new fund? this shud be better right? as it can lower the risk of my investment? any opinion?  hmm.gif
What fund you consider to buy in to do DDI?

Basically, you can split to do DDI RM100 each fund. No issues with it as part of diversification.
Kaka23
post Dec 11 2012, 01:09 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(azilazwa @ Dec 11 2012, 12:32 PM)
dont know what fund yet. i'm thinking to go for moderate risk, as pief is already aggressive fund. i just want to play safe, as i plan to do this for along period.

i'm gonna start a third fund using epf next year. so, i will have 3 fund, 2 using ddi and 1 epf.

any suggestion for my 2nd and 3rd fund?  blush.gif
That is good doing longer term investing. I a,m sorry, nowadays I don't really follow PM funds. 2 years ago I was la. So I am not sure which fund is worth considering.

I got public ittikal
Small cap
Islamic ahoy a 40
Sector select
Focus fund

Guess all are MY exposure and equities for me in PM investment. Not really topping up for sometime already.. Just letting it grow..hopefully
Kaka23
post Dec 14 2012, 07:32 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(chwlim @ Dec 14 2012, 04:17 PM)
Recently PM funds are not performing well... heart-broken cry.gif

Even clear that this is a mid to long term investment, but somehow the bad progress is like banging my confidence level and creates a feel of worry and doubt sad.gif
Which funds you are referring to bro?
Kaka23
post Dec 15 2012, 07:48 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Dec 14 2012, 10:43 PM)
China link fund
I would say all china funds from every fund management company not doing too good..
Kaka23
post Dec 19 2012, 08:39 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(azilazwa @ Dec 19 2012, 09:15 AM)
Mind telling me how its work? PM sale charge is 5.5%. In that 5.5%, there's a portion for our agent right? So, if we use FSM, the sale charge is 2% (max), there will be no commission for our agent?
FSM doesnt use agent force. they use online platform.
Kaka23
post Dec 19 2012, 09:01 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(azilazwa @ Dec 19 2012, 09:46 AM)
yea i know FSM doesnt use agent. What i did not understand is, by using FSM, can we "overwrite" the PM sale charge of 5.5%?  hmm.gif
What do you mean by overwrite?

FSM doesnt hv PM funds in their platform, if you really like PM funds you still need to get direct from PM. If you want to get 2%SC, you can look on the similiar invested profile of other funds offered in FSM to your PM. Or easy way, get FSM CIS help.
Kaka23
post Dec 20 2012, 09:51 AM

8,259 posts

I think if those agents that can advice on investing based on diversification and rebalancing is consider good agent.

As most agents only ask you to buy when new funds coming out, buy to take advantage of lower SC, buy BRIC, buy China, etc..

If they can come out and explain on portfolio diversification and re-balancing, well buy China or BRIC or Indonesia or Asia ex-Jap also no problem. As we are confident what he/she is advising.

But of course, customer need to give him/her chance to explain explain explain.
Kaka23
post Jan 1 2013, 06:12 PM

8,259 posts

Yah.. I got Public Focus from EPF investment. Last yr dividend was 2 sens per unit, this year down to 1.5 sens/unit...
Kaka23
post Jan 4 2013, 03:18 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(galaxynotes2 @ Jan 4 2013, 03:25 PM)
Hi all sifu
Can I invest pix and PSF today ?
How the market today ?
For UT, doesnt mater you invest today or tomorrow. As it is long term... if you feel the market or country or industry, etc you going to invest has potential upside (based on valuation), can go ahead..
Kaka23
post Jan 4 2013, 05:35 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(galaxynotes2 @ Jan 4 2013, 04:54 PM)
Thanks bro smile.gif
Which fund better for invest ?
Both seems to be almost the same. MY focus fund.

PIX focus 60% on MY index stock, while PSF focus 40% in index stock. Remaining on other potential growth blue chips stock..
Kaka23
post Jan 5 2013, 04:56 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(johnnywzm @ Jan 5 2013, 05:14 PM)
anyone here invest without going through agent?
I think for PM, you need to go through agent. Unless you buy PB funds.. still the sales charge the same I guess
Kaka23
post Jan 5 2013, 10:01 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 5 2013, 10:08 PM)
If you want to DIY and enjoy lower SC, go to FSM.

5/5.25% SC is a whopping rate over 2% top at FSM.

Disclaimer: This provided that you know what you're doing without professional advices and consultation.
Agree with you... PB/PM discount sc 5% is not attractive anymore ever since FSM online platform is here. We are seeing FSM progressing day by day to bring in new funds, even lower sc 0.5 - 1% for equities every few months to do promotion, friendly staff, inviding fundhouse to give talk, etc.. I am impressed!

Added on January 5, 2013, 10:05 pm
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 5 2013, 10:42 PM)
er.. FSM is max 2% VS PM's 5.5% (normal) = PM's service charges 3.5% MORE than FSM

FSM
if one is silver ($50K-$149,999 held investment or cost paid, whichever higher, INCLUDING BONDS & MONEY MARKET), then FSM charges 1.75% only
if one is gold (>=$150K held investment or cost paid, whichever  higher, INCLUDING BONDS & MONEY MARKET), then FSM charges 1.75% only
VS
PM's Mutual Gold and Mutual Super Duper Gold.... insurance & stuff.

In addition, during "sales" in FSM at 1%, those silver/gold additional discounts are deducted from the 1% too.
This coming 26th Jan 2013 KLCCentre do, 0.5% only but the silver/gold additional discounts doesn't kick in (if i'm not mistaken) 
drool.gif
VS
PM's "sales" 5%  doh.gif

As an investor, i'd rather lower my costs - extra insurance coverage (which PM gives) on top of what i'm holding is just blah.
In addition, as an investor, my HELD INVESTMENTS are supposed to grow, thus FSM's "counting" of the higher of "held investments" or "cost paid" to qualify is even more oomph.
The final nail in the coffin in terms of cost control is that bond funds & money market funds (the 0% service charges and 0% exit charges too) count towards Silver and Gold in FSM.

IMHO, my only pain with FSM is the SWITCHING between Fund Houses.
Semi-solved by ignoring Inter-Fund house switching, just switch bond-equity funds within Fund Houses for now  sweat.gif

Just sharing for investors that are cost picky.
Note - i'm a PM agent and i STILL get into FSM for cash investments  doh.gif. Pls note that agents get 2.75% or more (depending on level) + "career benefits" (ie. 0.2% of all equity funds held by customers). Yet, FSM is still cost effective & more options to me. Imagine that  laugh.gif

Note 2 - not PM bashing yar, just that IMHO it's not the most cost effective and flexible for cash investments now.
haha... if your PM upline read this, he/she will be furious to you bro..

Added on January 5, 2013, 10:11 pm
QUOTE(mois @ Jan 5 2013, 10:54 PM)
Fundsupermart is indeed very attractive due to its cost. But, they seriously need to open more branches in Malaysia. There is no FSM branch in Kuching and make it hard to attract more customers though. That is the reason why public mutual dominate the UT market due to its presence. Although the sales charges is high.
Yea... other parts of the states will miss out the roadshows, investing talks, etc. I think FSM will gain more market and take some of PM market shares as well. End of the day, this is online Ut investment and is godo for those who are investment savvy ppl. Those who are not so, FSM provides Live Chat which I would say every effective. Also their Client Investment Specialist are every ready to serve you and I can tell you that they will surely response to your email within 1 working day. If they can't get back to you, they will call you and tell you that they are workign on it...

PM will still have market shares on the more matured population, retirees , etc.. just my thought.

This post has been edited by Kaka23: Jan 5 2013, 10:11 PM
Kaka23
post Jan 5 2013, 11:31 PM

8,259 posts

hehe.. PM treat become FSM already...
Kaka23
post Jan 6 2013, 01:25 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Jan 6 2013, 02:13 PM)
Don't u feel wasted for those funds that u have already paid 5.5% in PM and transfered to FSM and pay another 2% there?
My strategy is all new funds will put in FSM. Perhaps will transfer low loaded funds from PM to FSM.
I agree with you, no point maintain the PM UTC agency, u still pay 2.5% - 3% up front charges even after u take out the commission.
PM no longer a top achievers in terms of the fund performance. 1 more excuse to quit PM.
Transfer in will be 0% sc, need to show proof you sell all pm funds la. Then buy in FSM funds for free. All need to execute within 30 days from selling fund from pm.
Kaka23
post Jan 6 2013, 02:08 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Jan 6 2013, 02:58 PM)
Xuzen, Kaka23, WMK,
thanks for sharings...seems like PM "taikor tai" position in private mutual fund business is challeged by FSM, and other online DIY investment portal.
Ya.. Bit threaten now, mostly by Internet savvy who is interested in investment people.

If you notice, earlier thread like Fund investment corner was full of public mutual discussions since 2006, not become less..
Kaka23
post Jan 7 2013, 01:13 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(azilazwa @ Jan 7 2013, 02:09 PM)
Switch all --> u mean switch all my profit so far right? like in my example, the 500.

OK, will read previous pages about this switching.

Right now i only have 1 fund. Seems like i have to open a new one asap. Should choose a bond fund after this.
Ya, you should get a bond fund just to diversify. Basic will be equity + bond. When you have more $$, try to diversify based geographical, big cap, small/mid cap.

Percentage of Bond exposure will based on your risk tolerance and also you feel about the market in near to mid term.
Kaka23
post Jan 7 2013, 07:30 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(azilazwa @ Jan 7 2013, 02:50 PM)
Thanks for the input. Any suggestion what bond fund (shariah compliance) is good to start now?  notworthy.gif

And, if i'm gonna open 1 epf fund, can u suggest what type it shud be? i mean, bond or equity or etc.
I have nto been folowing PM funds for sometime already, I may not be the right person to advise on this bro..
Kaka23
post Jan 7 2013, 08:56 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(birdman13200 @ Jan 7 2013, 09:15 PM)
Based on my recently analysis on PM bond fund, the best non-close bond fund will be PBSKF and PBBOND, or u hv 100k, can choose PEBF and PIEBF.
PEBF and PIEBF minimum investment 100K?
Kaka23
post Jan 7 2013, 09:07 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(birdman13200 @ Jan 7 2013, 10:01 PM)
Yes, both initial and additional investment is set to 100k. As I understand, it is change sometime ago and not from the begining. My friend have this fund but he can't add on anymore due to 100k constraint.
wow... why they want to increase the limit until so high? This will get them less sales...
Kaka23
post Jan 9 2013, 02:28 PM

8,259 posts

I plan to do 60% bond, 40% equity (current 70% bond, 30% equity)..

Or should go 40-60, since everywhere predict this year equity will outperform bond...

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0451sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:46 PM