OUYA, Android Based Gaming Console

TSsasaug
post Aug 11 2012, 10:54 AM, updated 14y ago

Small Fud
1,936 posts

According to those guys anyways. If you haven’t heard, your a bit of a cave dweller. It’s an Android based gaming console aimed at bringing the best of your gaming experiences back to the living room. The creator’s hated the monopoly AAA companies, big publishers, and dudes with a lot of cash on the Console market. Even with the advent of XBLA and PSN, it takes an absolute buttload to get your stuff on there! OUYA on the other hand? Completely free. The console ships with a developers kit – at no extra cost – what’s the catch? Something about the game you make has to be free. A demo, an F2P+Microtransaction model, limited levels, anything! So long as something about your game is free.

Yup, you heard it. This is the push independents have been waiting for, with the kickstarter fund smashing the $950,000 goal (nearly 9x over!!!), the wait is dead and gone. Every single person who has an idea, an innovation, or even a creative side, can pick up their controller and say “Today, I’m going to make the game I want to play.” in their living room. Oh yeah! Hacking and modding doesn’t void the warranty either! Freedom? It’s yours for the taking!

“He Goliath? David’s on the phone. He’s got a sling. Do you know what it’s all about?”

At a measly ninety nine dollars. Yes; $99. This console will suck all of you away from your keyboards, and bring the world of artists to our living rooms.
Source: http://www.airbornegamer.com/2012/08/10/ouya-or-oh-no/

Official site : http://www.ouya.tv/

This post has been edited by sasaug: Aug 11 2012, 10:55 AM
newuserex
post Aug 11 2012, 11:06 AM

キャッハハ…キャハハッキャッ……キャハハ…
546 posts

Yeah, heard about this few weeks ago, anyone interested?
greyshadow
post Aug 11 2012, 11:30 AM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

awaiting mine to arrive in march 2013.... long long way to go
gundamalpha
post Aug 11 2012, 11:38 AM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

Potential is there but interest is not blush.gif
SUSMatrix
post Aug 12 2012, 10:35 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

I am already sicked of Android games on my SGS2 and Galaxy tab. No thanks. Wanna buy PSP now. Where the real games is™.
Deric79kk
post Aug 12 2012, 11:19 AM

18 posts

psp better
ravemaster
post Aug 12 2012, 01:17 PM

139 posts

Is this a console to play android games/apps instead of playing it on hp? If so i prefer to play on hp n be mobile
DesmondMiles
post Aug 12 2012, 04:27 PM

377 posts

Hehe.. Any backers?

I pledged $119, $20 for International Shipping.

Now they are just charging $10 extra for international shipping for pre-orders. sweat.gif
SSJBen
post Aug 13 2012, 08:10 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

Try not to look at it just as an Android gaming console.
Really, for $100 you're actually paying for a dev kit that you're free to do anything with.

If you want to make additional peripherals to it, go ahead and do so. Want to make it more powerful to support more visually intense games? Go ahead.

OUYA is quite a piece of a kit. Initially, I think for indie developers the OUYA is a very cheap investment into making games. For gamers, perhaps you'll have to wait for a couple of years to see if anything good comes out of it.

Once again understand that the system is just on an Android platform. What you do with the kernel is up to you.
afeeq
post Aug 14 2012, 05:30 AM

237 posts

Xperia S can do what ouya can do already. Plug in your hdmi cable, connect your phone with dualshock via bluetooth.

But again,it's only usd99 where xps is much more expensive.
sol_badguy
post Aug 14 2012, 05:37 AM

192 posts

I am very much interested in this piece of gaming console, sice it welcomed independent developers. I think square enix had alreay stated that they will back ouya up. It's jst a matter of time before many more developers(indpendent or otherwise) jump into the bandwagon
greyshadow
post Aug 14 2012, 11:51 AM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(DesmondMiles @ Aug 12 2012, 04:27 PM)
Hehe.. Any backers?

I pledged $119, $20 for International Shipping.

Now they are just charging $10 extra for international shipping for pre-orders. sweat.gif
+1 here tongue.gif

I'm backing it bcos it's a fresh new idea for future of gaming, and not seeing as another gaming console, or as most said, an android connected to TV doh.gif

it's something out of the box, and with more n more big name studio supporting it, hopefully there's a bright future for it wink.gif

oh yeah, one of the best news about it is the support of XBMC! woot! rclxm9.gif
DesmondMiles
post Aug 14 2012, 12:56 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(afeeq @ Aug 14 2012, 05:30 AM)
Xperia S can do what ouya can do already. Plug in your hdmi cable, connect your phone with dualshock via bluetooth.

But again,it's only usd99 where xps is much more expensive.

And it has better specs than Xperia S rclxm9.gif

greyshadow
post Aug 14 2012, 02:14 PM

1,844 posts

you root your handphone, you void the warranty

OUYA actually welcome you to root it icon_rolleyes.gif
and doesn't void the warranty

well... when it's out, there'll be another confusion for me when swapping controllers
already confused when swapping xbox360 and PS3 controller, with this OUYA controller.... albeit very similar to xbox controller, but the button layout and the characters will be a big time confusion for me. rclxub.gif

blue6228
post Aug 15 2012, 09:09 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 12 2012, 10:35 AM)
I am already sicked of Android games on my SGS2 and Galaxy tab. No thanks. Wanna buy PSP now. Where the real games is™.
Totally agree, just got a vita recently & somehow I dun like the experience at all. It's like playing a game that looks like a console game on a smart phone. In the end? I still play with my psp more often....
SUSMatrix
post Aug 15 2012, 09:18 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(blue6228 @ Aug 15 2012, 09:09 AM)
Totally agree, just got a vita recently & somehow I dun like the experience at all. It's like playing a game that looks like a console game on a smart phone. In the end? I still play with my psp more often....
Bought the PSP oready...brings tears to my eyes finally can play some REAL games...especially the JRPGs...haven't play one for a very long time since PS2 and a few XBOX360 RPGs....Now with PSP i can level up in the toilet when i am free doing business....haha...

PS VITA has potential, but the games is not here yet. Maybe in 2 years time. The combo of touchscreen/rear touch pad/gyroscope/tilting and traditional controls buttons makes it a formidable experience and the graphics really good mah...why you don't like good graphics?? I think it has almost similar specs to the SGS3, maybe a slightly better GPU.
blue6228
post Aug 15 2012, 11:56 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 15 2012, 09:18 AM)
Bought the PSP oready...brings tears to my eyes finally can play some REAL games...especially the JRPGs...haven't play one for a very long time since PS2 and a few XBOX360 RPGs....Now with PSP i can level up in the toilet when i am free doing business....haha...

PS VITA has potential, but the games is not here yet. Maybe in 2 years time. The combo of touchscreen/rear touch pad/gyroscope/tilting and traditional controls buttons makes it a formidable experience and the graphics really good mah...why you don't like good graphics?? I think it has almost similar specs to the SGS3, maybe a slightly better GPU.
Not to say I don't like good graphics but when it comes to jrpg lets just say the gameplay is more important. Like u compare ps2 & ps3 jrpg, in terms of visual no doubt that ps3 owns but when it comes to gameplay experience ps2 jrpg still owns but its a very subjective issue here.
SUSMatrix
post Aug 15 2012, 02:47 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(blue6228 @ Aug 15 2012, 11:56 AM)
Not to say I don't like good graphics but when it comes to jrpg lets just say the gameplay is more important. Like u compare ps2 & ps3 jrpg, in terms of visual no doubt that ps3 owns but when it comes to gameplay experience ps2 jrpg still owns but its a very subjective issue here.
This i agree...actually, PS1 has the best RPGs....PS1>PS2>PS3....PS3 RPGs not so hot...which is why i never buy one.
blue6228
post Aug 17 2012, 07:44 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 15 2012, 02:47 PM)
This i agree...actually, PS1 has the best RPGs....PS1>PS2>PS3....PS3 RPGs not so hot...which is why i never buy one.
+1 ya, PS1 brings us the best gaming experience.
WhatMan
post Jan 2 2013, 03:47 PM

1,623 posts

Any seller plan to bring this unit to Malaysia? Supposedly the release date is set for April 2013.

Don't expect it do be PS4/Xbox720/WiiU competitor but I see it as a great Android gaming device as well as Android TV unit.
greyshadow
post Jan 2 2013, 04:21 PM

1,844 posts

I believe few of us here are the kickstarters backers as well

we'll be getting ours first before it hits the stores rclxm9.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

but I think most of the store owner might not be interested to bring it in in bulk, as they can only sell the console for one time profit, and there's no physical games to sell

So think rather than waiting for local resellers to bring it in, you might as well just order it from them, since it's already open for pre-order.

WhatMan
post Jan 2 2013, 04:54 PM

1,623 posts

I guess so but see if got any willing to bring this unit to Malaysia.

USD 120 for the whole thing. As an android tv unit it seems like worth the price especially when it comes with gaming controller.

This post has been edited by WhatMan: Jan 2 2013, 04:57 PM
zororo
post Jan 4 2013, 09:09 AM

366 posts

it does look interesting...will the games and the channels be free ?
got usb slots for keyboard and mouse ?

a console, web browser, and video viewer for around 300 would be a damn good bargain.

This post has been edited by zororo: Jan 4 2013, 09:12 AM
aminpro
post Jan 7 2013, 03:42 PM

191 posts

All somebody need to do now is to build a stable NDS emulator for android. Perhaps some other emulator for retro consoles.

The great part is that we can root and hack it without voiding the warranty and LEGALLY.
cha.968
post Mar 28 2013, 03:43 AM

117 posts

Ouya will start to ship today, 28th March 2013! Really can't wait for it...
Godevil
post Mar 28 2013, 01:07 PM

Engineer
1,226 posts

this device will ends up being home to emulators and piracy...
koolzuru
post Mar 31 2013, 12:27 AM

113 posts

I will wait and monitor for few month before getting one. This device have great potential to revolutionize current console scene.
DanielPodolski
post Mar 31 2013, 10:08 AM

Those fake PSPs will no longer available! Ouya! Ouya!

Sure, I started with those old school games but just to think of it, what are the developers thinking? Could they ever come on top against strong competitiors like Sony and Microsoft? (I'll add Nintendo in).

But that is my opinion to the Android-based console.
mydragoon
post Apr 1 2013, 08:22 AM

7,044 posts

unboxing by the Phandroid team...

also, will redirect all the traffic from a thread i started at Android section to this page... smile.gif

i'm patiently waiting waiting for the email confirming my unit has been shipped! biggrin.gif

anyone got the email already?

i guess to the rest of the world... welcome to the age of affordable and disposable consoles... biggrin.gif

mydragoon
post Apr 1 2013, 08:27 AM

7,044 posts

so far, my only concern is:
* hardware support... in case the hardware dies... overseas users are going to have to go through a lot of hassle. probably end up cheaper getting a new set.

speaking of new sets... those who did not back via kickstarter... you can pre-order on the ouya website. but shipping starts only in June, i believe.

the chipset will follow the mobile phone trend... so can expect a hardware refresh about once a year.

btw... the size of the console really took me by surprise! din can could not believe that the controller is actually bigger than the console! biggrin.gif
greyshadow
post Apr 1 2013, 08:38 AM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(DanielPodolski @ Mar 31 2013, 10:08 AM)
Those fake PSPs will no longer available! Ouya! Ouya!

Sure, I started with those old school games but just to think of it, what are the  developers thinking? Could they ever come on top against strong competitiors like Sony and Microsoft? (I'll add Nintendo in).

But that is my opinion to the Android-based console.
IMO, they aren't directly competing with the 3 main console giants head to head
but rather they are trying to make a niche out of it hmm.gif
more like a LCC style (Low Cost Console) tongue.gif
for a dev, in order for you to publish your game on any of those 3 main consoles, it will cost a bomb due to their hefty licensing price, plus very strict QC
but in the end, the game quality are almost assured.

but for OUYA, they are using the current Apps scene on mobile platform, almost anyone can publish something or anything
There will be tonnes of indie dev too...
but judging from the lack of a very strict QC from OUYA, you can expect the OUYA to hang & crashed a lot due to the lack of QC of the games/apps doh.gif

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Apr 1 2013, 08:22 AM)
unboxing by the Phandroid team...

also, will redirect all the traffic from a thread i started at Android section to this page... smile.gif

i'm patiently waiting waiting for the email confirming my unit has been shipped! biggrin.gif

anyone got the email already?

i guess to the rest of the world... welcome to the age of affordable and disposable consoles... biggrin.gif
Mine also no news yet, hope they will send out soon smile.gif
can't wait to test out their XBMC, see if it can replace my aging media player. wink.gif

mydragoon
post Apr 1 2013, 08:51 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Apr 1 2013, 08:38 AM)
for a dev, in order for you to publish your game on any of those 3 main consoles, it will cost a bomb due to their hefty licensing price, plus very strict QC
actually, it will be interesting to see how things will go with the console industry over the next few years... mobile chips are getting faster and powerful every few months. and with more people spending time on mobile phone games (since phones are usually with us all the time -- work, school, bus, train, etc)... many are finding phones to be their gaming companion.

not really sure if OUYA can have access to Google Play or not... or I guess eventually, people may find a hack for it -- just like how people can add follow some steps published on the internet to install Google Play into Kindle (at least that was the case 1 year back). then any games purchased on Play should already work (but probably with bugs). remember... OUYA runs on Android and uses the Tegra chips... biggrin.gif

but so far, i'm not really impressed by the games other than those from the BIG studios like FF3.

but see how it goes... maybe i'll just use this as a media player. i do hope it can do that... biggrin.gif

i actually backed this project just for the heck of it... just thought this is a cool idea... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Apr 1 2013, 08:52 AM
DanielPodolski
post Apr 1 2013, 02:37 PM

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Apr 1 2013, 08:38 AM)

but for OUYA, they are using the current Apps scene on mobile platform, almost anyone can publish something or anything
There will be tonnes of indie dev too...
but judging from the lack of a very strict QC from OUYA, you can expect the OUYA to hang & crashed a lot due to the lack of QC of the games/apps doh.gif
Mine also no news yet, hope they will send out soon smile.gif
can't wait to test out their XBMC, see if it can replace my aging media player. wink.gif
TRYING. But its nice to see some old games back to this generation. Unfortunately,they can't bring back Super Mario 64 from Nintendo 64 nor the old Zelda game. cry.gif

We will see how the market goes. If this console can go a long way probably to the future,then PlayStation have to stop producing Vita. I heard Vita aren't selling that good in the market so if Ouya can
kick it up a notch, THROW PS VITA OUT OF THE WINDOW.

It cost RM400+ right? That's pretty cheap IMO.
greyshadow
post Apr 1 2013, 03:15 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(DanielPodolski @ Apr 1 2013, 02:37 PM)
TRYING. But its nice to see some old games back to this generation. Unfortunately,they can't bring back Super Mario 64 from Nintendo 64 nor the old Zelda game.  cry.gif

We will see how the market goes. If this console can go a long way probably to the future,then PlayStation have to stop producing Vita. I heard Vita aren't selling that good in the market so if Ouya can
kick it up a notch, THROW PS VITA OUT OF THE WINDOW.

It cost RM400+ right? That's pretty cheap IMO.
PSV indeed wasn't selling well, hence the price cuts recently
btw, PSV are targeting mobile gaming, whereas OUYA are home gaming, 2 totally diff market there tongue.gif

DanielPodolski
post Apr 1 2013, 04:45 PM

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Apr 1 2013, 03:15 PM)
PSV indeed wasn't selling well, hence the price cuts recently
btw, PSV are targeting mobile gaming, whereas OUYA are home gaming, 2 totally diff market there tongue.gif
WHAT IF OUYA DECIDES TO MAKE MOBILE..wait a Ouya minute...well, you win.

fizyboy
post Apr 1 2013, 06:21 PM

280 posts

didnt back cuz i thought eh, why would u wanna play mobile quality game at home? but will still wait and see how it all pan out.
mydragoon
post Apr 4 2013, 01:43 PM

7,044 posts

one bummer that i found out recently... need credit card to access and even download games... something like that. *sigh*

darosha
post Apr 6 2013, 08:19 PM

470 posts

interested? yes
hyped? no
buy? no
got it free, as a gift? YES PLEASE... and let it dust on the shelve, so maybe no

Ouya... home gaming? open system? dev kit? getting new version of hardware every year to catch up to ever fast technology growth?
I have it already. It's called PC! Ouh Yeah!!!

unless it have a must have must play exclusive (and especially jrpg for me) then this is just another dead console
SSJBen
post Apr 6 2013, 08:25 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

Reviews are out and it doesn't seem to be to bright for Ouya at the moment.
Reading complaints from backers, plenty of them are reporting inconsistent build quality on the controller... which is pretty much a deal breaker at this point.

Issues like:

- The front face plate on the controller not being flushed on both sides, some users have them perfect some have them bad.
- Very bad latency which resutls in horrible input lag, something which pretty much defeats the whole point of having a wireless controller in the first place.
- Touchpad not being responsive or over sensitive.

Ouya on its own... well, I'm not saying it is flop but from what I've seen... it is unfinished and unpolished. Yes, $99.. it's cheap, you don't compare it to a $400 console. But a PS2 or a even a Wii Mini has better build quality, so go figure.
cha.968
post Apr 9 2013, 03:53 PM

117 posts

Another positive review from TechCrunch:
http://techcrunch.com/2013/04/06/what-games-are-the-reviewers-are-wrong-about-ouya/
Just waiting for the arrival of OUYA in Malaysia...
sunnyboy
post May 9 2013, 02:39 AM

1,446 posts

anyone here received their unit?

me Kickstarter backer number 12511, nothing......sien oredi
Rei7
post May 9 2013, 08:25 AM

Game, anime and headphones ❤️
1,669 posts

Ouya is all hyped up.. In the end it doesn't live up to my expectation.
It has potential but nothing that could revolutionized anything.
People got all interest because it's going to be 100% hackable.
A friend of mine has one already and it's sitting there with the dust..
sunnyboy
post May 9 2013, 10:33 AM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ May 9 2013, 08:25 AM)
Ouya is all hyped up.. In the end it doesn't live up to my expectation.
It has potential but nothing that could revolutionized anything.
People got all interest because it's going to be 100% hackable.
A friend of mine has one already and it's sitting there with the dust..
why left in dust? nothing to play?
Rei7
post May 9 2013, 10:39 AM

1,669 posts

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ May 9 2013, 10:33 AM)
why left in dust? nothing to play?
He say la not I one... he says most games are mobile games.
So mobile games on TV isn't really the thing he is looking forward to.
At least playing emulator is nice. I just tested one, not that impressed.
Lets just hope some awesome hack is developed for the OUYA. It will be great if there is any.
eone
post May 9 2013, 10:41 AM

Prime
2,678 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ May 9 2013, 10:39 AM)
He say la not I one... he says most games are mobile games.
So mobile games on TV isn't really the thing he is looking forward to.
At least playing emulator is nice. I just tested one, not that impressed.
Lets just hope some awesome hack is developed for the OUYA. It will be great if there is any.
try the emulators, thousands of games.
zororo
post May 9 2013, 11:38 AM

366 posts

Any of u guys wanna sell an idle unit ? brows.gif
greyshadow
post May 9 2013, 04:06 PM

1,844 posts

i don't care much about the games they got, nor the controller...

I'm more interest with it's hackabilities, running some other homebrews
and also use it as media player, replacing my existing aging machine wink.gif
prazole
post May 9 2013, 06:08 PM

Sleepyhead..
1,513 posts

do they have CPS2 emulator that works well?
then there's plenty games to be played!
eone
post May 14 2013, 02:13 PM

Prime
2,678 posts

QUOTE(prazole @ May 9 2013, 06:08 PM)
do they have CPS2 emulator that works well?
then there's plenty games to be played!
yup, xmen cota runs flawlessly
Rei7
post May 14 2013, 02:16 PM

1,669 posts

QUOTE(eone @ May 14 2013, 02:13 PM)
yup, xmen cota runs flawlessly
So i'm guessing you like your OUYA.
What do you do with it normally?
I might get it for emulation purpose.
What's the highest graphic emulator it supports?
sunnyboy
post May 17 2013, 02:10 AM

1,446 posts

another week comes to an end, but still no news abt my ouya shipment......
greyshadow
post May 17 2013, 07:39 PM

1,844 posts

Just got an email notification that my unit is on the way rclxm9.gif
Should get it in about 2 weeks time icon_rolleyes.gif
sunnyboy
post May 18 2013, 12:17 AM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ May 17 2013, 07:39 PM)
Just got an email notification that my unit is on the way rclxm9.gif
Should get it in about 2 weeks time icon_rolleyes.gif
basic unit?

mine is basic+ 1 extra controller....
greyshadow
post May 18 2013, 01:37 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ May 18 2013, 12:17 AM)
basic unit?

mine is basic+ 1 extra controller....
yup, basic unit only, without extra controller
dun need extra controller, as me wifey aren't into gaming, my xbox 2nd controller are just collecting dust doh.gif
post May 18 2013, 08:39 PM

912 posts

how many ppl in Malaysia has got it (Ouya) already?
I funded the kickstarter on last minute. But recent email from Ouya said they have shipped 80% of kickstarter units. So mine might coming soon.

Anyway, I didn't know Ouya cannot download games from Google Playstore.
Can anyone confirm it?
greyshadow
post May 21 2013, 12:17 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(881118 @ May 18 2013, 08:39 PM)
I funded the kickstarter on last minute. But recent email from Ouya said they have shipped 80% of kickstarter units. So mine might coming soon.

Anyway, I didn't know Ouya cannot download games from Google Playstore.
Can anyone confirm it?
You'll get OUYA Store only, NO Google Playstore natively

to get Google Playstore on OUYA? You'll have to hack it wink.gif
cha.968
post May 21 2013, 01:27 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(881118 @ May 18 2013, 08:39 PM)
Just found this site: http://www.isouyashipping.com/
This is not the authorized official website from OUYA.
From the data chart collected there, they are not sending the OUYA set according to the sequences of backer number.
greyshadow
post May 22 2013, 11:24 AM

1,844 posts

Mine should be shipping out today by DHL from Hong Kong smile.gif
just got a shipping notice from them

btw, where to find your backers #? Not sure what number I am
cha.968
post May 22 2013, 11:31 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ May 22 2013, 11:24 AM)
btw, where to find your backers #?  Not sure what number I am
You should have received an email from Team OUYA <no-reply@ouya.tv> around December 13-16, 2012.
That email was titled: "Reserve your OUYA Username"
At the bottom of this email you will see something that reads:
"P.S. In case you were curious, you were Kickstarter backer number XXXXX for OUYA. Thank you for believing"
greyshadow
post May 22 2013, 11:48 AM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(cha.968 @ May 22 2013, 11:31 AM)
You should have received an email from Team OUYA <no-reply@ouya.tv> around December 13-16, 2012.
That email was titled: "Reserve your OUYA Username"
At the bottom of this email you will see something that reads:
"P.S. In case you were curious, you were Kickstarter backer number XXXXX for OUYA. Thank you for believing"
can't find that email, think I might have accidentally deleted it doh.gif

but my shipping notice got this number there, so I suspect it's my backer number 41979
sunnyboy
post May 22 2013, 02:21 PM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ May 22 2013, 11:48 AM)
can't find that email, think I might have accidentally deleted it doh.gif

but my shipping notice got this number there, so I suspect it's my backer number 41979
cis...me 12511, nothing till today...
Gilthoniel
post May 27 2013, 12:21 AM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

Mine's coming tomorrow!

Was backer number 13331

Will upload some pics once I get it smile.gif
Gilthoniel
post May 27 2013, 11:53 AM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

Unboxing in MALAYSIA!

The Box looks very classy... just a very simple design

Dreamt by Gamers. Designed in California... AWESOME

Thank you for believing.

Controller and the Ouya itself packed nicely

Controller feels very solid. Trigger buttons also feels good to the touch

Ouya itself is weighty, feels good in the hands

Will post some screen shots once I power it up!

Stay tuned!
sunnyboy
post May 27 2013, 08:29 PM

1,446 posts

envy!!! me still nothing, no email, nothing...sienzzzzzzzzzz
Gilthoniel
post May 27 2013, 09:05 PM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ May 27 2013, 08:29 PM)
envy!!! me still nothing, no email, nothing...sienzzzzzzzzzz
Email them and screw them!
sunnyboy
post May 27 2013, 09:47 PM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(Gilthoniel @ May 27 2013, 09:05 PM)
Email them and screw them!
no reply....

giv your feedback after u try it......pros n cons of it
Gilthoniel
post May 27 2013, 11:22 PM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ May 27 2013, 09:47 PM)
no reply....

giv your feedback after u try it......pros n cons of it
The games are certainly not free to play. They are free to try. Then you need to pay to unlock the full game.

Games are limited. Slight lags in the system.

Haven't tried the emulators.

Otherwise so far so good.

Their support is poor... Very very slow response.
greyshadow
post May 28 2013, 11:01 AM

1,844 posts

picking up mine from the courier center in a short while icon_rolleyes.gif
sunnyboy
post May 29 2013, 03:43 AM

1,446 posts

did u guys get any email abt the shipping b4 arrival?

i didnt get anything
greyshadow
post May 29 2013, 08:23 AM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ May 29 2013, 03:43 AM)
did u guys get any email abt the shipping b4 arrival?

i didnt get anything
yup, there's an email from OUYA telling you your OUYA is ready for pick-up by courier company
then another email with tracking number when it's send out by DHL

anyhoo.... tried mine yesterday
first I was skeptical about the quality of the controller, but once I hold it, no more skeptical tongue.gif
the controller feels solid enough, very ergonomic, just like the xbox controller
analog stick feels good, but the buttons & triggers feels cheap, well.... it doesn't have the solid feel or pressure sensitivity of the xbox/ps controller tongue.gif
well.... what can I expect from a USD49 console? tongue.gif

dashboard are very simplistic, not much setting you can change beside your login, wifi & bluetooth settings.
Seriously they need to add more customizable settings in there like the screen res, audio, storage & etc

game wise, there's a handful there, surprised to see FF3 there on the list as well
haven't tried it as I let it download when I went to bed
some games are free to play, with limitation
tried a beautiful addictive game call Canabalt, which is free but with limited game credit set to 5 each days
if you want unlimited credits then you'll have to buy it at $2.99

there's a few emulators there as well, haven't tried them as I don't have any ROM lying around

somehow the firmware still a bit unstable & buggy, hanged for a few secs to a minutes from time to time, and the home button sometimes doesn't work as it meant to be
can't wait for the final official firmware release wink.gif

sunnyboy
post May 29 2013, 09:10 AM

1,446 posts

thanks for the feedback...nothing still for me..no email....their support service not rplying as well...
Gilthoniel
post May 29 2013, 01:21 PM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ May 29 2013, 09:10 AM)
thanks for the feedback...nothing still for me..no email....their support service not rplying as well...
hammer their facebook page
Zyker
post May 29 2013, 09:40 PM

42 posts

Backer no. 61770. Received mine today.
Without a doubt I paid $2.99 for the Canabalt tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Zyker: May 29 2013, 09:45 PM
Gilthoniel
post May 29 2013, 09:42 PM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

Haven't tried canabalt. Gonna try it now
greyshadow
post May 30 2013, 08:09 AM

1,844 posts

Surprise to see FF3 there, looks awesome on big screen too!
still trying out the free version, still dunno what's the limitation hmm.gif
it's selling at USD15.99

last night tried another additive game, Vector, which is totally free too
slightly similar to Cannabalt, but a lot more addictive and challenging

So far.... I'm lovin' it, OUYA! thumbup.gif
i906
post May 30 2013, 11:11 AM

Backer number 50970. Yet to receive shipping emails.
sunnyboy
post Jun 1 2013, 05:06 PM

1,446 posts

for those received the unit......1 ouya n 1 controller?
Gilthoniel
post Jun 1 2013, 05:36 PM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

Yes 1 unit 1 controller
sunnyboy
post Jun 4 2013, 12:28 PM

1,446 posts

fed up of waiting, decided to get a refund from them. and this is their reply on the matter:

"Happy to provide a refund but super sorry to see you go. OUYA is getting better every day and the games we are seeing are really exciting. You are only a few weeks away from receiving your OUYA but we understand if your interest has changed.

We cannot issue a refund through Amazon Payments as it is not allowed after 60 days but we can send you a payment via PayPal for the amount you paid and cancel your order. If this is what you'd like, please provide us with your PayPal ID and we will take care of the rest. If you do not have a PayPal ID, please visit www.paypal.com and create an account."
Gilthoniel
post Jun 4 2013, 03:29 PM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

would suggest you just wait it out coz u will definitely be getting it soon!
greyshadow
post Jun 5 2013, 11:09 AM

1,844 posts

yeah, or least "sell" it to someone else who is interested
let that person wait for it wink.gif
mydragoon
post Jun 18 2013, 11:09 AM

7,044 posts

kns... backer 5xxxx and yet to get my OUYA... :S

mine is with extra controller (total of 2)...

actually... just wondering if anyone is keen... and how much? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 18 2013, 11:12 AM
sunnyboy
post Jun 19 2013, 12:40 AM

1,446 posts

me giv up edi....received their refund via paypal today.
mydragoon
post Jun 20 2013, 11:48 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jun 18 2013, 11:09 AM)
kns... backer 5xxxx and yet to get my OUYA... :S

mine is with extra controller (total of 2)...

actually... just wondering if anyone is keen... and how much? biggrin.gif
just thought of sharing... got my DHL shipping number email today. so... it's coming, it's coming!!!

Gilthoniel
post Jun 22 2013, 01:13 AM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jun 20 2013, 11:48 AM)
just thought of sharing... got my DHL shipping number email today. so... it's coming, it's coming!!!
Congrats bro!
sunnyboy
post Jun 24 2013, 04:45 PM

1,446 posts

guys, there's a situation here

what should i do?
TheUndead
post Jun 24 2013, 08:17 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ Jun 24 2013, 04:45 PM)

what should i do?
sell to me cheap2? brows.gif
ahtiven
post Jun 26 2013, 12:09 AM

1,185 posts

where to buy now? i want
cha.968
post Jun 26 2013, 04:18 PM

117 posts

Finally got mine just now, but lack of one more controller. Will try it tonight later.
darosha
post Jun 27 2013, 09:04 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ Jun 24 2013, 04:45 PM)

what should i do?
diam diam la you dapat free rclxms.gif
zororo
post Jun 28 2013, 12:11 PM

366 posts

i also wanna buy wei....but where ?
darosha
post Jun 29 2013, 12:15 PM

470 posts

ouya gonna be fail, dead and history
its confirmed if true
http://stream.wsj.com/story/latest-headlin...99/SS-2-264424/
http://www.forbes.com/sites/insertcoin/201...dnt-see-coming/

QUOTE(zororo @ Jun 28 2013, 12:11 PM)
i also wanna buy wei....but where ?
if you want this so much, better wait for google android console la
or apple console too
greyshadow
post Jun 29 2013, 10:13 PM

1,844 posts

Easiest for Google is, just buy OUYA over
rename it Google OUYA

got it's own game console without needing much R&D, and at the same time eliminating one competitor from the market
kill 2 bird with one stone

with Google owning OUYA, I'll bet tonnes of developers gonna participate in releasing their game on OUYA compared to current situation.

darosha
post Jun 30 2013, 11:54 AM

470 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Jun 29 2013, 10:13 PM)
Easiest for Google is, just buy OUYA over
rename it Google OUYA

got it's own game console without needing much R&D, and at the same time eliminating one competitor from the market
kill 2 bird with one stone

with Google owning OUYA, I'll bet tonnes of developers gonna participate in releasing their game on OUYA compared to current situation.
that if google go for low tier console
then console war will be divided into high tier and low tier
like cars

low tier: google vs apple
high tier: sony vs microsoft

lol
greyshadow
post Jun 30 2013, 09:09 PM

1,844 posts

heck... why not?
it will be suicidal for Google to compete head on with Microsoft, Sony & Nintendo

My bet their console is gonna be something similar to OUYA, or Steam's Steambox, and Apple's IOS console
which will primary run on their own OS, which already has tonnes of games on it

refnulf
post Jun 30 2013, 10:52 PM

I love Hulu
7,937 posts

I don't think that Google or Apple are going to get involved in the gaming console sector.
There's too many android start ups already doing everything android related. And Apple? They don't have the experience, nor the numbers for a console. Better to just stick with their devices. Apple TV is pretty much a failure at this point as well. I would have initially thought they'd try to hook whatever gaming initiative to Apply Tv.

This post has been edited by refnulf: Jun 30 2013, 10:52 PM
zororo
post Jul 1 2013, 10:00 AM

366 posts

QUOTE(darosha @ Jun 29 2013, 12:15 PM)
ouya gonna be fail, dead and history
its confirmed if true
http://stream.wsj.com/story/latest-headlin...99/SS-2-264424/
http://www.forbes.com/sites/insertcoin/201...dnt-see-coming/
if you want this so much, better wait for google android console la
or apple console too
ouya would be a decent media player + casual games (provided lotsa free games la)

its cheap rite ? google console wont come so fast kut...
darosha
post Jul 1 2013, 06:18 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(zororo @ Jul 1 2013, 10:00 AM)
ouya would be a decent media player + casual games (provided lotsa free games la)

its cheap rite ? google console wont come so fast kut...
well
one thing for sure it top the others
its hacker friendly console
provided with emulator to begin with
meant to play free pirated games/roms
munchoong
post Jul 9 2013, 10:49 AM

414 posts

I received my OUYA last Wednesday (3 July).

The hardware is gorgeous, although first impressions weren't that great due to the long time involved with setting it up for my home network, and then the need to update the firmware.

Plus, I had to learn how to use Android a bit, since I had never used any Android devices prior to this.

I checked out the demos for Chronoblade and You Don't Know Jack. Graphics are easily on par with the iPad, or even early PS3 games. However, the biggest strength of the OUYA is emulator support.

There are emulators for NES, Super NES, Atari 2600, Nintendo 64, Commodore 64, NeoGeo, and PlayStation in the app store. Plus, sideloads for CPSemu and Retroarch are supported.

While the OUYA controller is rubbish, connecting my DUALSHOCK3 to the OUYA was relatively painless smile.gif
zororo
post Jul 11 2013, 08:59 AM

366 posts

QUOTE(munchoong @ Jul 9 2013, 10:49 AM)
I received my OUYA last Wednesday (3 July).

The hardware is gorgeous, although first impressions weren't that great due to the long time involved with setting it up for my home network, and then the need to update the firmware.

Plus, I had to learn how to use Android a bit, since I had never used any Android devices prior to this.

I checked out the demos for Chronoblade and You Don't Know Jack. Graphics are easily on par with the iPad, or even early PS3 games. However, the biggest strength of the OUYA is emulator support.

There are emulators for NES, Super NES, Atari 2600, Nintendo 64, Commodore 64, NeoGeo, and PlayStation in the app store. Plus, sideloads for CPSemu and Retroarch are supported.

While the OUYA controller is rubbish, connecting my DUALSHOCK3 to the OUYA was relatively painless smile.gif
Can connect ds3 so many emulators...
drool.gif now u make me wanna get 1 even more....
munchoong
post Jul 11 2013, 10:32 AM

414 posts

Most of the emulators I listed are readily available in the OUYA app store.

I only had to sideload CPSemu, Retroarch, MAME4All, and ePSXemu (I still haven't figured out how to use MAME4All though... nothing loads sad.gif)

Just make sure you spend some time mapping the controls to a DUALSHOCK3 controller. Gonna need some trial and error (especially for CPSemu) before everything works as you like, but it's worth the time and effort.

I'm just happy to be able to play X-Men vs Street Fighter and Marvel Super-Heroes vs Street Fighter at home biggrin.gif
cha.968
post Jul 18 2013, 02:16 PM

117 posts

- msg deleted -

This post has been edited by cha.968: Aug 4 2013, 11:13 PM
RAMChYLD
post Jul 22 2013, 03:21 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(refnulf @ Jun 30 2013, 10:52 PM)
And Apple? They don't have the experience, nor the numbers for a console. Better to just stick with their devices. Apple TV is pretty much a failure at this point as well. I would have initially thought they'd try to hook whatever gaming initiative to Apply Tv.
The Pippin. That is all.

Although should not that it failed with an errorlevel of epic. Unless Apple is feeling lucky, think they dare to put their feet back in to the pool of piranhas?

Anyways, I read that the Ouya is powered by Nvidia Tegra3. Yet it's performance is said to be bad?

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jul 22 2013, 03:32 PM
refnulf
post Jul 22 2013, 10:31 PM

I love Hulu
7,937 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Jul 22 2013, 03:21 PM)
The Pippin. That is all.

Although should not that it failed with an errorlevel of epic. Unless Apple is feeling lucky, think they dare to put their feet back in to the pool of piranhas?

Anyways, I read that the Ouya is powered by Nvidia Tegra3. Yet it's performance is said to be bad?
It's the optimisation, that's all. Plus they plan to upgrade the hardware yearly so we'll see major improvements each year.
Gilthoniel
post Jul 28 2013, 01:14 AM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

Hey guys, I've been super busy and my ouya was put back in its box... No time at all.

Anyone interested in getting an ouya, PM me yea?

Cheers
Rei7
post Aug 13 2013, 02:07 AM

1,669 posts

Just got my Ouya from the above guy.

Ouya failed miserably when updating.
Have to on my wifi extender for the update to work.
I'm guessing the wifi antenna sucks in this one, same as the Wii U.

Well let the emulation begin!

This post has been edited by Rei7: Aug 13 2013, 02:17 AM
Gilthoniel
post Aug 13 2013, 10:43 AM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Aug 13 2013, 02:07 AM)
Just got my Ouya from the above guy.

Ouya failed miserably when updating.
Have to on my wifi extender for the update to work.
I'm guessing the wifi antenna sucks in this one, same as the Wii U.

Well let the emulation begin!
Hey bro, update again? I updated it before wiping it back to factory settings. No issues updating though.

Hope everything's ok. And enjoy ur ouya!
Rei7
post Aug 13 2013, 11:01 AM

1,669 posts

QUOTE(Gilthoniel @ Aug 13 2013, 10:43 AM)
Hey bro, update again? I updated it before wiping it back to factory settings. No issues updating though.

Hope everything's ok. And enjoy ur ouya!
Everything is good. The issue was only the Wifi antenna which doesn't work well with low wifi signal.
Issue is quite common with some devices.

Quite surprised that I have to enter a debit card to proceed and no way of skipping it.
Very anti-consumer of them lol!

Everything is good btw, all 1k roms downloaded and ready to play.
Gilthoniel
post Aug 13 2013, 11:05 AM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

Wah sounds good!

Debit card? Really? Last time when I first registered, no card needed!
mydragoon
post Aug 19 2013, 10:52 AM

7,044 posts

regarding entering CC... ya, i find that to be a pain. but luckily, can use those test card numbers, which is what i did. biggrin.gif

btw, if you are a KickStarter backer, you should have gotten a link where u can get a code and redeem something like USD13.37 (almost 'leet' backwords for geek-speak).

i'm trying to download (sideload) MX Player into OUYA and turn it into a media player. from the developer's website, should i download the one with NEON support or non-NEON. but it list examples that say non-NEON = tegra. i know OUYA uses tegra, so, I should download non-NEON for OUYA?

then next... i'd also download the custom codec to get passthru for DTS... nice... biggrin.gif
david888
post Aug 20 2013, 01:21 PM

1,069 posts

hi all,

how is the neogeo, cps2 and N64 emulator on OUYA compare to PSP and PS Vita? i don't use Android for emulator for quite sometimes, becoz i tested last time, the emulator for android will lag or pause once a while, which is quite annoying.

but psp & ps vita can give almost no lag or pause to quite to perfect emulation except N64 (closed to perfect if without sound for certain games, with sound no good, expected).
SSJBen
post Aug 30 2013, 05:02 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

Renewing my interest in Ouya again, not for gaming purposes but to use it with XBMC.

So far, so good.
sunnyboy
post Aug 30 2013, 09:18 PM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Aug 30 2013, 05:02 AM)
Renewing my interest in Ouya again, not for gaming purposes but to use it with XBMC.

So far, so good.
what can we watch in xbmc?
SSJBen
post Aug 30 2013, 10:26 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ Aug 30 2013, 09:18 PM)
what can we watch in xbmc?
Uhm everything...? I mean, as long as you have the movie that you wanna watch.
sunnyboy
post Aug 31 2013, 09:46 PM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Aug 30 2013, 10:26 PM)
Uhm everything...? I mean, as long as you have the movie that you wanna watch.
mean as a player? put the movie in pendrive, plug in n play?

or can stream movie online?
SSJBen
post Aug 31 2013, 10:08 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ Aug 31 2013, 09:46 PM)
mean as a player? put the movie in pendrive, plug in n play?

or can stream movie online?
Yes, precisely. You can stream from a NAS or over your own network if you want as well.
Streaming online is possible too, just install Netflix.

It's Android, so you can install whatever you want like it is a tablet. Of course there may be compatibility issues here and there so not everything is perfect, but for the most part... it'll be fine.
Furthermore Ouya's development has been pretty rapid, so expect more improvements over the next few months.
liquid_ooze
post Sep 4 2013, 04:04 PM

My name is Iman, and I'm Malaysian
1,385 posts

This little machine rawks as an emulator!

Owh and playing Dead Trigger on a big screen is friggin' awesome too, not to mention movies in 1080p smile.gif
mydragoon
post Sep 5 2013, 10:31 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(liquid_ooze @ Sep 4 2013, 04:04 PM)
This little machine rawks as an emulator!

Owh and playing Dead Trigger on a big screen is friggin' awesome too, not to mention movies in 1080p smile.gif
i tried MX Player on OUYA. jerky when playing 1080p movies. how are you getting your 1080p movies?
liquid_ooze
post Sep 5 2013, 12:40 PM

My name is Iman, and I'm Malaysian
1,385 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Sep 5 2013, 10:31 AM)
i tried MX Player on OUYA. jerky when playing 1080p movies. how are you getting your 1080p movies?
You mean the movie source? The usual place bro, try TPB

I'm using BSplayer. For MX Player, try changing the decoding to HW, HW+, or software, see which one works best for you
mydragoon
post Sep 5 2013, 04:31 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(liquid_ooze @ Sep 5 2013, 12:40 PM)
You mean the movie source? The usual place bro, try TPB

I'm using BSplayer. For MX Player, try changing the decoding to HW, HW+, or software, see which one works best for you
oh, sorry.. i mean what apps you tried.

coz i tested with MX and the 1080p movies were kinda jerky... but ya, i guess i'll go mess around some more with the settings fitt -- HW, HW+, etc...

SUSsniperz
post Sep 5 2013, 08:03 PM

2,464 posts

When is this coming to Malaysia? Sure buy.
SSJBen
post Sep 6 2013, 12:40 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Sep 5 2013, 04:31 PM)
oh, sorry.. i mean what apps you tried.

coz i tested with MX and the 1080p movies were kinda jerky... but ya, i guess i'll go mess around some more with the settings fitt -- HW, HW+, etc...
Yeah enable HW mode.
You can give VLC a try too, though I generally don't like it.

libstagefright with XBMC is getting better and better, probably need a few more months of refinement. After that, XBMC should be all OUYA owners need for watching movies.
mydragoon
post Sep 6 2013, 08:28 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 6 2013, 12:40 AM)
Yeah enable HW mode.
You can give VLC a try too, though I generally don't like it.

libstagefright with XBMC is getting better and better, probably need a few more months of refinement. After that, XBMC should be all OUYA owners need for watching movies.
read somewhere that the XBMC in OUYA store is not the official port, but a forked one... anyway, ya, what i read seems to say its still kinda buggy. so yup, i might just wait a few more weeks before i try it out.
SSJBen
post Sep 6 2013, 02:56 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Sep 6 2013, 08:28 AM)
read somewhere that the XBMC in OUYA store  is not the official port, but a forked one... anyway, ya, what i read seems to say its still kinda buggy. so yup, i might just wait a few more weeks before i try it out.
It's basically the XBMC frodo on the OUYA store. It works perfectly fine as long as you watch 720p movies.
I find that any 1080p rips with more than 10mbps on XBMC frodo will cause it to stutter, no matter the encoding techniques used.

But yeah give it a try, no harm done anyways. You can delete it if you want after, it's Android after all.
figure8
post Sep 21 2013, 05:35 PM

...dear future, come get me
3,174 posts

i'm having fun playing with ouya. biggrin.gif
sunnyboy
post Sep 30 2013, 08:45 AM

1,446 posts

damn...my ouya no sound output.

sent an email to ouya support, they said can sent RMA for me. but need to sent the unit back 1st.
ldragon
post Oct 9 2013, 03:13 PM

1,030 posts

sunnyboy, actually the latest XBMC update killed the DD & DTS software decoding. You have to sideload the previous version to fix this issue.
sunnyboy
post Oct 9 2013, 04:44 PM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(ldragon @ Oct 9 2013, 03:13 PM)
sunnyboy, actually the latest XBMC update killed the DD & DTS software decoding. You have to sideload the previous version to fix this issue.
mine is not only xbmc...but all no sound, totally nothing
ldragon
post Oct 9 2013, 04:53 PM

1,030 posts

Can try this:
You can perform a factory reset by starting at the OUYA Main Menu and navigating to: MANAGE > SYSTEM > ADVANCED > BACKUP AND RESET.
sunnyboy
post Oct 9 2013, 07:08 PM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(ldragon @ Oct 9 2013, 04:53 PM)
Can try this:
You can perform a factory reset by starting at the OUYA Main Menu and navigating to: MANAGE > SYSTEM > ADVANCED > BACKUP AND RESET.
tried also
greyshadow
post Oct 10 2013, 10:14 AM

1,844 posts

there's a small chance could be your HDMI cable
try switching the HDMI cable
sunnyboy
post Oct 10 2013, 03:07 PM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Oct 10 2013, 10:14 AM)
there's a small chance could be your HDMI cable
try switching the HDMI cable
haha...change also.....
sunnyboy
post Oct 11 2013, 12:23 PM

1,446 posts

So weird.....they ask me to sent the faulty unit back for RMA, but i havent sent it back...but i receive a notification that they sending me a replacement unit via fedex.
sunnyboy
post Oct 18 2013, 04:46 PM

1,446 posts

As i mentioned last week ouya is sending me a replacement.....

I didnt expect them to sent me a full kit...with 2 controller.....now i got 4 xontroller with me...

powerangah
post Oct 20 2013, 12:06 AM

387 posts

Question, where did you guys get your Ouyas?
TheUndead
post Oct 20 2013, 09:53 AM

177 posts

QUOTE(powerangah @ Oct 20 2013, 12:06 AM)
Question, where did you guys get your Ouyas?
Well, most of them r Kickstarter backers
sunnyboy
post Oct 21 2013, 01:05 PM

1,446 posts

update:

it seems that ouya cant recognise my LG TV.....

the new unit that they sent me, also no sound....so i took my old n the new ouya to my fren house and plug into other TV...both works!!!!

so there's must be something in ouya firmware that disable my LG tv sound output.....

so they forcing me to buy a new TV?
powerangah
post Oct 21 2013, 10:19 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(TheUndead @ Oct 20 2013, 09:53 AM)
Well, most of them r Kickstarter backers
Aww damn, you got yours from kickstarter too?
SSJBen
post Oct 21 2013, 10:25 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ Oct 21 2013, 01:05 PM)
update:

it seems that ouya cant recognise my LG TV.....

the new unit that they sent me, also no sound....so i took my old n the new ouya to my fren house and plug into other TV...both works!!!!

so there's must be something in ouya firmware that disable my LG tv sound output.....

so they forcing me to buy a new TV?
Which LG TV are you using?
Gilthoniel
post Oct 21 2013, 11:44 PM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

Cool la. Now u have 2 units
sunnyboy
post Oct 21 2013, 11:51 PM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Oct 21 2013, 10:25 PM)
this 1....
sunnyboy
post Oct 21 2013, 11:52 PM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Oct 21 2013, 10:25 PM)
this 1....

sunnyboy
post Oct 21 2013, 11:56 PM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(Gilthoniel @ Oct 21 2013, 11:44 PM)
Cool la. Now u have 2 units
2 units, 4 controller....but no use....TV not supported...stupid ouya...
SSJBen
post Oct 21 2013, 11:56 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

Ah~ the same plasma TV I still have. I'll check and get back to you later.
sunnyboy
post Oct 22 2013, 12:20 AM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Oct 21 2013, 11:56 PM)
great u go test it....weird mine cannot use.......after i can, but after a few system updates automatically by ouya, cannot oredi...
Gilthoniel
post Oct 22 2013, 01:35 AM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ Oct 21 2013, 11:56 PM)
2 units, 4 controller....but no use....TV not supported...stupid ouya...
How come they sent u a complete kit when u only Complained about the console? And they didn't bug u to send back ur unit?
TheUndead
post Oct 22 2013, 07:20 AM

177 posts

QUOTE(powerangah @ Oct 21 2013, 10:19 PM)
Aww damn, you got yours from kickstarter too?
I don't own an Ouya tongue.gif
sunnyboy
post Oct 22 2013, 10:55 AM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(Gilthoniel @ Oct 22 2013, 01:35 AM)
How come they sent u a complete kit when u only Complained about the console? And they didn't bug u to send back ur unit?
Dun know...they sot sot 1.....

My 1st kickstarter unit lagi geng.....they refund me but then later they sent me my unit...
Gilthoniel
post Oct 22 2013, 01:57 PM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ Oct 22 2013, 10:55 AM)
Dun know...they sot sot 1.....

My 1st kickstarter unit lagi geng.....they refund me but then later they sent me my unit...
wahlau... so u got 2 free units la
sunnyboy
post Oct 22 2013, 02:15 PM

1,446 posts

Ya, i got 2 units....but no tv to play....wat a shame

Gilthoniel
post Oct 22 2013, 02:42 PM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

2 units is something. 2 FREE units is another.

That's an excuse to upgrade TV bro hahaha
powerangah
post Oct 24 2013, 06:05 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ Oct 22 2013, 02:15 PM)
Ya, i got 2 units....but no tv to play....wat a shame
Sell one la, to me. tongue.gif
sunnyboy
post Nov 4 2013, 09:45 AM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Oct 21 2013, 11:56 PM)
fren...hav you check your LG tv? got sound?
yoongsin
post Jan 11 2014, 11:41 AM

Hello guys,

I have a OUYA in original box to sell.

Bought it because thought it was a great gaming device (also felt great to be a kickstarted backer) but I am not a gamer though or a tinkerer.

So hardly play with it.

PM me if you are interested.

This post has been edited by yoongsin: Jan 11 2014, 11:41 AM
qudeenz360
post Mar 7 2014, 08:01 AM

5,761 posts

user posted image blink.gif shocking.gif shakehead.gif doh.gif
greyshadow
post Mar 10 2014, 10:25 AM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(qudeenz360 @ Mar 7 2014, 08:01 AM)
user posted image  blink.gif  shocking.gif  shakehead.gif  doh.gif
your point is?? hmm.gif
akmalrosli
post May 12 2014, 02:39 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(yoongsin @ Jan 11 2014, 11:41 AM)
Hello guys,
I have a OUYA in original box to sell.

Bought it because thought it was a great gaming device (also felt great to be a kickstarted backer) but I am not a gamer though or a tinkerer.

So hardly play with it.

PM me if you are interested.

I'm interested. Pm me

0.1111sec    1.06    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:24 PM