21 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

DESIGNERS SALARY TALK, What's the market rate?

liquidvamp
post Mar 20 2013, 10:12 AM

★★★★
774 posts

Job Title : Graphic Designer (mainly 3D visuals. but i need to do all those ATL/BTLs too using AI & Photosop. so it's kinda an all-rounder)
Years spent in company : Almost 2 years
Company : Shopping mall
Industry : Retailing
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : Executive
Experience before joining : 2 Years
Salary : RM 2.6k after increment last year.

whatcha think? based on my experience n all.. my friends said it's quite low.. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by liquidvamp: Mar 20 2013, 10:17 AM
zwevyn
post Mar 21 2013, 01:11 AM

19 posts

Job Title: Web & Graphic Designer
Job Description: All design work, website design and social media event page
Years spent in company: 1 year
Company: KCH
Industry: Event management, Advertising, Publications, Web Publishing
Tenure: Permanent
Employment Level: The only one designer
Experience before joining: 2 years
Salary: RM1900, no increment after probation period or 1 year.

I am super underpaid... Damn suck.
Whatever boss gave me, just do. I'm even do the admin task such as data entry company client's info.
Then, even have to do the programming part for the website.
silveraden
post Apr 7 2013, 12:16 PM

42 posts

Job Title : Graphic Designer, FA Artist
Years spent in company : 1 year +
Company : Media House
Industry : Media
Experience before joining : 6month
Salary : RM 2.2k (and i heard there's no increment for this year. Office no money. And i am rage.)

Juz to share my experience. I got 2 interview with the creative agency last week. I got a lot of advise from the interview. They said, If you're young(20++), you better get ur ass in the creative agency. Yes, the pay is not high as you expected, but you will learn a lot from agency. You will improve your skill, your detail in design and everything. And trust me, only from the agency you can achieve higher level either as AD, CD and so on. They told me they interview one graphic designer which already have 5 years experience working at Printing House/Production before. They pity him because at that age (30++), no improvement on his portfolio. Because as a designer, your exposure is very limited if you're stuck in Medai House/Printing House.

I know this is true because I'm working at Media House currently. And yes, I do see that my design is not improve a lot. Media/Printing House is a very comfort zone for designer. No stress, so urgent deadline, no staying up late and so on. But, when you already spent lets say 2-3years there,then you started to find a new job. Trust me, it's hard to get the job title as 'Senior Graphic Designer' with your current portfolio. So, now i'm thinking to make a move since im still young, 25 yo. Haha. wink.gif
TSNeoMnemonic
post Apr 10 2013, 10:43 AM

760 posts

I think it's time to upgrade yourself and salary.
TSNeoMnemonic
post Apr 10 2013, 10:48 AM

760 posts

thumbup.gif Get as much exposure in the design field, end of the day it's the knowledge and experience which gets you to a better post and salary.
limfreelance
post Apr 10 2013, 02:56 PM

343 posts

QUOTE(silveraden @ Apr 7 2013, 12:16 PM)

i know a frez who work at printing fields for 8 years, + 2 years at decorative & souvenir design shop, basic salary below 2.4K + OT.
Now, he knew a frez who recomen him to work at visual merchandiser at Ampang point for 3.5K. He said his is the lower salary person in that department...... what i wanna express is..."IF U KNOW PINTU BELAKANG", u can get a decent job.
Sub4Crew
post Apr 10 2013, 07:55 PM

244 posts

Those who get a good paid are usually from big company or firm. However, for you all information a fresh graduate maximum can get RM 1800 -2000 in Penang. Seen nowadays living cost is getting higher. So I dont think is enough for the fresh grad now.
liquidvamp
post Apr 10 2013, 08:12 PM

★★★★
774 posts

QUOTE(Sub4Crew @ Apr 10 2013, 07:55 PM)
Those who get a good paid are usually from big company or firm. However, for you all information a fresh graduate maximum can get RM 1800 -2000 in Penang. Seen nowadays living cost is getting higher. So I dont think is enough for the fresh grad now.
sometimes, salary for ppl that have experience also not enough lor.. esp who are living in KL. (like me) cry.gif
liquidvamp
post Apr 10 2013, 08:14 PM

★★★★
774 posts

QUOTE(liquidvamp @ Mar 20 2013, 10:12 AM)
Job Title : Graphic Designer (mainly 3D visuals. but i need to do all those ATL/BTLs too using AI & Photosop. so it's kinda an all-rounder)
Years spent in company : Almost 2 years
Company : Shopping mall
Industry : Retailing
Experience before joining : 2 Years
Salary : RM 2.6k after increment last year.

whatcha think? based on my experience n all.. my friends said it's quite low.. sweat.gif
UPDATE: got a salary increase this year. plus 4 months bonus. getting RM2800 after this. icon_rolleyes.gif
Gmruleme
post Apr 10 2013, 08:54 PM

Art Enthusiast
1,468 posts

how about animators in Malaysia I wonder? No feedback from them here? smile.gif Anyone?
Sub4Crew
post Apr 10 2013, 09:22 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(liquidvamp @ Apr 10 2013, 08:12 PM)
sometimes, salary for ppl that have experience also not enough lor.. esp who are living in KL. (like me) cry.gif
nowadays below 3K will be really very suffer for living cost.
Gmruleme
post Apr 11 2013, 09:05 PM

Art Enthusiast
1,468 posts

QUOTE(Sub4Crew @ Apr 10 2013, 10:22 PM)
nowadays below 3K will be really very suffer for living cost.
Below 3k for a guy to live in KL.. should be enough what blink.gif erm, is it?
liquidvamp
post Apr 12 2013, 04:01 AM

★★★★
774 posts

QUOTE(Gmruleme @ Apr 11 2013, 09:05 PM)
Below 3k for a guy to live in KL.. should be enough what  blink.gif erm, is it?
for me, im not originally from KL. getting below 3k isn't enuff. well, ngam² la maybe without any savings. so basically, working just to survive. cannot buy stuffs also.
house rent + bills + car payment + ASB + cellphone bill + petrol + toll + etc. not enuff lor.. makan also need to catu a bit sweat.gif
or maybe im just a guy who got lots of payment to be made every month sweat.gif
SUSWintersuN
post Apr 12 2013, 11:15 AM

3,173 posts

fuu.. i see your guys salary i feel so lucky for myself.

Seriously with that salary its better to jump to banking or sales. If wanna b in the bizness better go freelance. Can get much more if do freelance than work wif little salary bully by employer.
meetxj9
post Apr 13 2013, 03:50 PM

187 posts

Just incase there are some people who might be interested, our company is in the middle of mass hiring. We are currently looking for these individuals to fill out the required positions.

Job Title : Motion Graphic Designer (Must posses Video Comp skills)
Company : Working Block
Industry : Sales and Marketing and Cartoons
Tenure : Fulltime
Employment Level : Senior/Veteran
Experience Level: 2 year minimum
Salary : Rm 3000-3500 Negotiable

Job Title : Web Designer (Must know PHP and the basic graphic design)
Company : Working Block
Industry : Sales and Marketing and Cartoons
Tenure : Fulltime
Employment Level : Senior/Veteran
Experience Level: 2 year minimum
Salary : Rm 3000-3500 Negotiable

Our company is growing rather quickly so its urgent we filled these spots. We practice a no politic environment for our staffs to make sure there is no disputes. We prefer to trust out staffs to manage things on their own as most of the time the bosses are out. In some cases if your really good, we can buy you out of your company to save you time.

If you are interested in this do contact:

012-3091360/ Brian

or send your portfolio to:

meetxj9@gmail.com

Interviews will be scheduled in the same week.

Thanks, wink.gif

This post has been edited by meetxj9: Apr 13 2013, 03:51 PM
jonjie
post Apr 16 2013, 06:18 PM

147 posts

Want higher salary? Perhaps the tertiary education line would help: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2609246
TSNeoMnemonic
post Apr 19 2013, 11:39 AM

760 posts

Cartoon of the Day

Ken211
post Apr 22 2013, 05:14 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(dor dor @ Jan 11 2013, 01:07 PM)
Hi, our company, a Japanese-based company is looking for full time web designers.

Job Title : Web Designer
Industry : Communication Design Company (mainly creating and operating Website)
Salary : RM3,000 - RM5,000
Experience : minimum 1 year

Knowing Japanese language could be an advantage working with us.
Those interested, kindly email your resume to dor_wse@yahoo.com. We will shortlist and call you soon for an interview. Thank you  smile.gif
The position still available?
etsuko
post May 3 2013, 06:50 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Apr 12 2013, 11:15 AM)
If wanna b in the bizness better go freelance. Can get much more if do freelance than work wif little salary bully by employer.
Being a business owner has it's own responsibilities. Not everyone can freelance. Not everyone can manage multiple projects at once.

Anyway, if you were a business owner, would you find it fair to pay X amount for someone who's portfolio strength isn't the equivalent of your own expectation. And thinking "that's the industry standard" is not a healthy mindset either because you're only shifting blame and not looking how to improve yourself.

Well, I really find this thread useful and I hope others will continue openly sharing this information to help improve the design industry.
TSNeoMnemonic
post May 29 2013, 09:31 AM

760 posts

QUOTE(etsuko @ May 3 2013, 07:50 PM)
Being a business owner has it's own responsibilities. Not everyone can freelance. Not everyone can manage multiple projects at once.

Anyway, if you were a business owner, would you find it fair to pay X amount for someone who's portfolio strength isn't the equivalent of your own expectation. And thinking "that's the industry standard" is not a healthy mindset either because you're only shifting blame and not looking how to improve yourself.

Well, I really find this thread useful and I hope others will continue openly sharing this information to help improve the design industry.
Sadly there is no such thing as a Designers Union.

21 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0294sec    0.71    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:06 PM