4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread v16

Eiraku
post Aug 13 2012, 09:53 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(RedDevils88 @ Aug 13 2012, 09:41 AM)
Siyah Kernel v1.5 beta 6 is out smile.gif
It actually has been out for a while lol... brows.gif
Eiraku
post Aug 13 2012, 09:58 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(weretiger @ Aug 13 2012, 09:56 AM)
dont think so smile.gif

i normally delete it off from the Zip files, including those ringtones, ttc language, wallpapers, unwanted .apk, etc.... then flash.
Same here + putting in my own stuff into the ROM.

@RedDevil: Personally I'd rather tweak myself in Stweak (based on somebody's setting of course) rather than flash somebody else's settings outright. Must remember that no two CPU/GPU is created equal and what works for another guy might fry your own silicon chips.

But that's just me.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Aug 13 2012, 10:02 AM
Eiraku
post Aug 13 2012, 11:22 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(TamiyaOne @ Aug 13 2012, 11:12 AM)
wanamlite 2.2 drain battery.. or may be me install wrongly.

1 hr 30 min discharging 7% with normal usage. (a few call and no game but wifi, bluetooth on and gps on).

Or is this normal ? me on CF-root + wanamlite 2.2 only  sweat.gif
I'm getting slightly better batt life over here compared to 1.9, 2.0 and 2.1 here actually. Even though I have overclocked + OVERvolted GPU settings.

BTW, under heavy, constant screen on use, battery drop average is 15-20% per hour (thus the 5 hour+- celling). 7% per hour is VERY GOOD if it's constant SCREEN ON battery drop.

If not constant screen on, 3-5% is typical considering what you said you were doing.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Aug 13 2012, 11:26 AM
Eiraku
post Aug 13 2012, 11:28 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Aug 13 2012, 11:24 AM)
For?
Stability lol. I undervolt my GPU also get artifacts what use, because I've overclocked them to begin with.

I'm running 266, 350, 440, 533, 600 for GPU. Just thought I better not skimp on the volts if I'm running the GPU up to 200MHz above normal lol (S3 normal max is 440). Not major Overvolting too, just slight 25mv bumps.

Maybe it's just me, but with OCed GPU steps, everything is so much more buttery.

My CPU runs -100mv though.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Aug 13 2012, 11:37 AM
Eiraku
post Aug 13 2012, 12:23 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Aug 13 2012, 11:44 AM)
buttery? truly? Probably I'll test run it AFTER I run wanam2.2 for a bit.

100Mhz -volt? Wow. I'm going just -50Mhz and I'm already tempted to revert it back. No real change in battery life.
Maybe it's Wanam's new optimizations in 2.2 + the OCed GPU lol.

Anyhows, I'm UCing the CPU more for decreased heat anyway, and as such it's working well (+ the new modem, which helps).

Battery savings? Not so much, though idle drain does lessen a bit.

I have a spare battery at the ready anyhow so 5 hours full time screen on is good enough for me.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Aug 13 2012, 12:27 PM
Eiraku
post Aug 14 2012, 01:15 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(jjsia @ Aug 13 2012, 11:52 PM)
Can anyone recommend any good battery in the market? hyperion 2200mah looks good. My battery cant even last 4 hours of web surfing with power saving on. =(
That's bad jor. Mine does 4+ hours surfing straight with stock battery easy, GPU overclocked and overvolted summore. Power saving confirm off lar.

What are you running? Stock standard, the S3 runs a lot of bloat in the background sucking up your battery IMHO.

Another thing, I honestly think that all the "same size, extended capacity" batteries in the market are complete bullshiat. Really.

If every china company can truly make "same size, extended capacity" batteries, then why is the Sammy 2000mah for the S2 considerably THICKER? You'd think that it would be easier for ORIGINAL MANUFACTURER to make something like that already.

Even IF (somehow) they COULD stuff extra cap in, it would be at the expense of durability - so the batteries confirm will die (as in, stop working) faster compared to stock. Plus, an extra 100-200 mah is worth like what, 20-40 minutes?

That is, if they EVEN contain extra capacity to begin with. False advertising is WELL KNOWN amongst 3rd party battery makers (Google "batteryboss" and see). Some "2200mah" batteries even contain less power then OEM.

If they are cheaper then OEM, then oklah. Bullshiat or not at least they are good value. If not, you're far better off with a second ori Sammy battery. Or one of the fat 4000mah batteries.

The fat high cap ones I have no doubt about their extra cap, whether or not the "advertised" capacity is correct is another story altogether.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Aug 14 2012, 01:23 AM
Eiraku
post Aug 14 2012, 03:26 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(riziger @ Aug 14 2012, 03:22 AM)
I think Whatsapp cause so many others are using it.

I was talking more about SMS instead though tongue.gif
Bingo. The best chat app is useless if all your friends are using something else. In this sense WA is effin successful in my book as 80% of the people I know are on WA now. I rarely use SMS anymore lol.

There's also Whatsapp Plus in XDA too, which I'm using. Themeable and packing extra features, it's great alternative to the boring official WA client. It's free too.

As for SMS, Go SMS Pro. It's the ONLY Go product I use, and considering I don't like Go stuff very much (resource hogs, weird permissions), that's saying a lot.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Aug 14 2012, 04:03 AM
Eiraku
post Aug 14 2012, 04:06 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Aug 14 2012, 04:03 AM)
what poblem your facing?

if you didnt use the stock messaging, you cant use the smart call  cry.gif
Personally not using smart call lol. Or smart stay for that matter, or even S-voice. I'm like running a Sammy ROM with most of the fluff removed haha.

Funny enough I can whip up a Tasker task to replicate Smart Call for ANY SMS/Chat app, though it's easier to just tap to call so I don't bother.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Aug 14 2012, 04:07 AM
Eiraku
post Aug 14 2012, 02:08 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(jjsia @ Aug 14 2012, 01:43 PM)
Hi, I am using stock battery with stock standard. mind to tell me what to uninstall for s3? my is an ap set from Europe.
Root and run a lightened ROM (like wanam). Then open tibu and uninstall even more stuff (like software update, fw update, ALL the sammy stuff except Samsung Account).

Disclaimer: I'm not responsible if this KILLS your phone.
Eiraku
post Aug 14 2012, 07:04 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Aug 14 2012, 06:02 PM)
can u measure phone temperature? i dono how they do it, but there isn't any termometer sensor in the phone. not that i know of. so if there is then its probably not precise. it probably derived from some funny conditions.
Alo? There's a battery temp sensor AND a CPU temp sensor on this thing - and both are generally accurate. Ambient temp sensor of course la don't have.

Anyways, install a system monitor app or a widget (I'm using System Info Widget) to access the battery temp sensor. The CPU sensor needs a bit more digging to access IINM.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Aug 14 2012, 07:19 PM
Eiraku
post Aug 15 2012, 03:24 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Aug 15 2012, 01:44 AM)
Please understand that swap is not the end all solution to RAM problems. I'm swapping and while it helps, SWAP IS SLOW.

Watching the Note 2 with great interest. Size is an issue, but if it runs the same spec as the S3 WITH MORE RAM, it's a very interesting device indeed.

Or better still, Sammy, give the 64GB S3 more RAM. Thee he he.

BTW, after months of midnight instability, Celcom is now showing me H+. In bloody Kuala Lipis.

Either we now really have HSPA+, or I broke something again.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Aug 15 2012, 04:59 AM
Eiraku
post Aug 15 2012, 06:40 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Gsmarena's anonymous tip.

Which might not even be true but, here's hoping.
Eiraku
post Aug 15 2012, 07:01 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Aug 15 2012, 06:45 AM)
oh... and they have enough common sense to release a black Note 2 straight from the first release...

... and only recently announce a black SIII...
Give me a few more days and I'll give you a black S3. Or yellow. Or pink. Or blue. Or purple. For about RM50... brows.gif

Seriously, Sammy. More RAM!

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Aug 15 2012, 07:04 AM
Eiraku
post Aug 15 2012, 10:38 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

First official JB update leak is out on SamFirmware.

http://bit.ly/Po1BJ9

Very sad update I might add... brows.gif

DISCLAIMER: Don't blame me eh. This is XDA's fault.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Aug 15 2012, 10:40 AM
Eiraku
post Aug 16 2012, 03:05 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

UPLINK IS FINALLY OUT FOR ANDROID!

Screenies from my S3.

Only god knows how long I've waited for this to happen. Just got it as part of the latest Humble Bundle 3 for Android (it's not even out in the market yet). Controls are TINY (it's supposed to be exclusive for tablets after all), but it's playable.

FYI, Uplink is a hacking game, or rather, THE hacking game. The first one ever made, and still the best so far.

Jagged Alliance 2 for android, check. Baldur's Gate, check. Uplink, check.

Next up, Alpha Centauri for Android. Go EA!

QUOTE(db07mufan @ Aug 15 2012, 11:57 PM)
Tried this just now at his home no avail! Really pissing him off LOL. His mum said "Buy so exp phone but cannot internet whats the use  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif " HAHAHA

Anymore suggestions? It seems that it connects for the first few seconds, like whatsapp messages are loaded but after that websites won't load even though it says its connected.

My S3, his S3, his bro's S2 would not work on that wifi.
I'm curious, what router IS he using? I used to have issues with the black Unifi/TMRnD router, which I promply ditched and used as gateway ONLY with my old Belkin G.

After that it worked oooook (with hangs and other issues), and today I finally threw the TMRnD + Belkin G combo away for a new TPLink 1043ND.

Works like a charm, fast and perfect connection with Android, iOS, OSX or Windows devices. Channel set to 11 of course, I trauma the last time I set old router to auto (my S2 hell cannot connect no matter what I do lol).

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Aug 16 2012, 06:13 AM
Eiraku
post Aug 16 2012, 06:11 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Kyno @ Aug 16 2012, 05:45 AM)
Why my s3 always lag ? And apps always crash
No lagging here. Update firmware or go back to Sammy SC for repair?
Eiraku
post Aug 16 2012, 09:30 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Move aside, curved SGP Crystal... The Mercury Color Screen is curved too!

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Aug 16 2012, 10:17 AM
Eiraku
post Aug 16 2012, 10:23 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Long88 @ Aug 16 2012, 09:36 AM)
how much u buyin?
With shipping and everything, about RM45. Only small shipment so couldn't save much on shipping. But also got 1 spare clear SP inside so it's not bad value wise.

Got two spares I'm selling off for around RM50 each if anybody's interested. 5 bucks duit kopi oni for me.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Aug 16 2012, 10:24 AM
Eiraku
post Aug 16 2012, 12:24 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(T09 @ Aug 16 2012, 12:20 PM)
guys, nfc, s beam, n android beam function was ON by default, did u guys turn it off or jz leave it liddat?
Just leave. Not much drain anyway.
Eiraku
post Aug 16 2012, 01:47 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(TamiyaOne @ Aug 16 2012, 01:06 PM)
thanks for your info planning to buy  biggrin.gif or must buy product  brows.gif
If you can take the time to learn it, it'a a must buy. It's horribly complicated though.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0436sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:26 PM