6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Lets talk salary v5

jitshiong
post Jul 16 2013, 03:29 PM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Jul 16 2013, 03:19 PM)
who wouldnt want to earn more man. Just wondering at my age, am i earning an average wage against the big population out there aje.

i might be jumping soon too... wanna negotiate for a 20% increase!!!! wish me luck!!!
Probably above average...
jitshiong
post Jul 18 2013, 10:58 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(Blues89 @ Jul 18 2013, 10:53 AM)
i think AL normally around 14 days only- -"
When i was working in Malaysia, AL was 18 days...
Come to SG, reduced to 14 days only
cry.gif
jitshiong
post Jul 18 2013, 05:09 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(phat_mcjack @ Jul 18 2013, 03:25 PM)
1.2k--> 12.7k  shakehead.gif  shocking.gif
L.A.M.E. has a huge responsibility on their shoulder
i believe that 1.2k is prior to him getting the license.
12.7k is reasonable for a L.A.M.E.
jitshiong
post Jul 18 2013, 05:45 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(mike_grades @ Jul 18 2013, 05:13 PM)
are we in a same boat?  biggrin.gif
Unfortunately...not
i went the wrong path...
didn't know about this career till i'm too deep into what i'm doing now
jitshiong
post Jul 19 2013, 08:50 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jul 19 2013, 05:20 AM)
What? All these smart kids are pushing themselves so hard to get into medic courses can only get RM 5K meh? 

If it including all the allowances already, perhaps not enough given the important work they're doing.

Something wrong with this picture if aircraft tech can get RM12.7K and doctors less than RM 5k.  hmm.gif
i hope u don't go onto an aircraft with L.A.M.E. which earns like 2k...
then never do work properly, let the plane fly...
in the end crash
jitshiong
post Jul 19 2013, 08:53 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jul 19 2013, 05:20 AM)
What? All these smart kids are pushing themselves so hard to get into medic courses can only get RM 5K meh? 

If it including all the allowances already, perhaps not enough given the important work they're doing.

Something wrong with this picture if aircraft tech can get RM12.7K and doctors less than RM 5k.  hmm.gif
Sometimes, i feel technicians are undervalued
and ppl think their job is not important...
to me, it is damn important and they are the key people
the engineers only do the design and resolve the issue, but it's down to the technicians to actually do the work
so technician, although the name is not as glamorous as an engineer, is as important as an engineer
sometimes even more important than the engineer
jitshiong
post Jul 26 2013, 11:55 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(unequalteck @ Jul 26 2013, 11:51 AM)
The seniors here are quite good, willing to teach. And all their projects not housing or shop lot, all mega projects in water supply. Good place to learn but I don't really like office life haha
SMHB is a big name in Water Supply project.
Good place to learn. Maybe the salary not so good, but definitely a good learning ground.
they are also doing KVMRT
jitshiong
post Jul 26 2013, 01:11 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(unequalteck @ Jul 26 2013, 12:09 PM)
Haha seems like u are in the same field? Ya my 2 colleagues beside me handling kvmrt project. But not so fast my turn, have to start with all the basic first.
I was doing KVMRT and worked with SMHB before
jitshiong
post Jul 28 2013, 10:35 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(unequalteck @ Jul 26 2013, 01:44 PM)
Lol seriously? Kvmrt is a quite new project eh, so u just left few years ago?
Work one year can get 3.7?!
No, i left this year. lol!
jitshiong
post Jul 29 2013, 09:07 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(unequalteck @ Jul 29 2013, 08:40 AM)
Lol! Which department?? Structure too?
M&E department.
jitshiong
post Jul 29 2013, 06:47 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jul 29 2013, 06:44 PM)
Well, to me, I'm happy with the salary then to me that's considered well. tongue.gif
27 - Junior HR Specialist moving to Senior ranking soon.
Earning slightly more than RM 5k.
rclxms.gif
I think u r the top 5%
Keep it up!
jitshiong
post Jul 29 2013, 06:51 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jul 29 2013, 06:49 PM)
Top 5% in which sense? laugh.gif
Yeah, been absorbing a lot of things over the years to equip myself for another leap. Maybe in another company in the future. biggrin.gif
top 5% of the normal distribution
jitshiong
post Aug 2 2013, 04:55 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(doogiedog @ Aug 2 2013, 03:41 PM)
Job Title : Resident Engineer
Job Desciption : Construction/Engineering
Years spent in company : 2 yrs
Company : Consultant in SG
Industry : Building/Construction
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : Mid Level
Experience before joining : 9 yrs in construction projects
salary : S$5k
Seems like Engineering in SG is not that far off from Malaysia...i was expecting more cry.gif
jitshiong
post Aug 5 2013, 09:37 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(FortNil @ Aug 5 2013, 08:49 PM)
Anyone know how much is the pay for commissioning engineer at Alstom ??
No idea but should be fairly well.
how many years experience?
Location?
jitshiong
post Aug 5 2013, 10:45 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(FortNil @ Aug 5 2013, 10:39 PM)
0 experience (fresh graduate), let say within Malaysia..
Does it differ so much in the pay for commissioning engineer in Alstom, between working domestically and internationally?
duh??!!
jitshiong
post Aug 5 2013, 11:30 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(FortNil @ Aug 5 2013, 11:08 PM)
got an interview with them next friday, and I'm a fresh grad..

I dont put so much hope in getting the job tho.. just want to ask around how much they pay smile.gif
Get urself ready for the interview, do ur best in presenting urself
show ur eagerness to learn, have confidence in urself
if u urself is not confident of urself, how do u expect the hiring company/manger to have faith in u?

jitshiong
post Aug 6 2013, 09:18 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(FortNil @ Aug 5 2013, 11:39 PM)
The last time I put so much hope in an interview, I was left so frustrated cuz I wasnt accepted.. Really a setback.. sigh..
Any idea how they might conduct the interview? Thanks for the advice tho.. smile.gif
i'm not telling u to put hopes, i'm saying do ur best, expect the worst
but don't go into a battle with a losing mindset
if u think u already lose without giving ur best, might as well don't go for the interview?
jitshiong
post Aug 6 2013, 12:08 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Aug 6 2013, 11:57 AM)
Some example from my other half. But you are correct, construction engineering is not a high pay job here. Work harder, bring the handsome boy over. smile.gif

Job Title : Engineer
Job Desciption : I don't know what he does actually, building things
Years spent in company : 8+
Company : Local medium size company
Industry : Construction
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : Senior by now
Experience before joining : Fresh graduate
Salary : 1.8k to 2+k to 3+k to 4+k for 2-3 years to 9.2k
Holy sheit!!! 9.2k SGD???!!
jitshiong
post Oct 21 2013, 04:59 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(rukaman @ Oct 21 2013, 03:29 PM)
Anyone knows what is the meaning of sign on bonus?received an offer with this kind of condition.
That's nice.
means they pay u a sum on the spot when u sign up with them
rclxms.gif
jitshiong
post Nov 5 2013, 09:40 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(TrustMEiNoe @ Nov 5 2013, 09:23 PM)
8 hours is indeed normal.
But some jobs just cannot be done in 8 hours and/or runs everyday of the year that they need you to work for 12 hours or more.
And usually you get compensated with overtime bonus or something else.
I have to work on 12 hour shift daily. Excluding 1 hour of handover to the next person. No rest time.
I eat while doing the job and toilet breaks has to be quick so as not to miss any parameters on the job.

But of course, I knew all that before I accepted the offer. So, does not count as being abused.
u must be handsomely paid then
such demanding job

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0556sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:36 AM