Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread V15, ROM, CWM, JB, ODIN
benny888
Jul 24 2012, 05:29 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Jul 24 2012, 05:20 PM) Don't worry.. reminds me the time I bought my SII when it first came out... RM2099 hard cash. Then... suddenly price drops to RM1899 and then a sea of people holding it. Literally everyone had it... Same with the SIII now... bought it like a few weeks ago, then POOF** now 1 fella in school having one also... another teacher ordered it. 2 more teachers looking forward to buy it. Like buying veggie from pasar imagine how rich students n young people are these days using a rm2k phone I never pay more than rm500 for a phone for my children while studying as do not wish to spoil them. I don't mind paying rm5-6k for a macbook air or pro for them .A notebook assist in studies not a phone This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 24 2012, 05:31 PM
benny888
Jul 24 2012, 10:42 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(cloud999 @ Jul 24 2012, 10:40 PM) any idea why it kept declined? Did you have bank activate card for online transaction first
benny888
Jul 25 2012, 10:56 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jul 25 2012, 10:51 AM) since i will be using maxis .... can somebody guide me how to disable the internet from the s3 from accessing via maxis, and instead connect to the internet via my linksys e4200 wireless n router that uses tmnut unifi 10mbps instead ? any tips on how to do this ? so i can avoid that my internet usage just up my 30 ringgit prepaid monthly budget >->; By default your phone will auto use your wireless instead of your maxis 3G OR You can disable the 3G - just hold down power button and select network data deactivate - if you want to play safe
benny888
Jul 25 2012, 02:18 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(jackdon @ Jul 25 2012, 02:12 PM) Question: which is the best apps to backup SMS before I flash. Apps I can download again, contact is on google contact. Email is iMap. jackdon Free app sms backup & restore by rites sahu 100% accurate backup n restore. The backup file works across all android os from froyo to jb. You have choice of backup location in internal sd or ext sdcard
benny888
Jul 25 2012, 04:52 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jul 25 2012, 03:57 PM) whats odin ? and do i need it to install these roms ? http://www.xda-developers.com/android/mobi...xy-s-iii-i9300/sorry i nub  If phone not root you can only flash roms which are in tar format. Use tool odin in pc. just select rom tar file as pda n leave rest as default. select start most custom roms required you to flash using cwm recovery mode. you must root n have cwm installed first before you can use cwm recovery mode. roms will be in zip format n if extract you will see folders such as meta system, system, data etc etc Read Page 1 on steps how to do these
benny888
Jul 25 2012, 05:37 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(RedDevils88 @ Jul 25 2012, 05:33 PM) sygic is no good..  so far I consider the best as it has never fail me past 3 years I bought 3 licence. I have dump papago x5 as licence cannot transfer once I change phone
benny888
Jul 25 2012, 06:21 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jul 25 2012, 06:17 PM) i got the samsung s3 now in my hands .... so far i've 1. download install - Samsung Kies - Odin3_v3.04 - recovery-clockwork-touch-6.0.1.0-i9300 2. download install wananlite (currently in progress) - WanamLite ICS XXBLG1 V1.8 Android 4.0.4 3. configure settings (to do list) You should at least use stock rom first to really appreciate difference with custom roms.
benny888
Jul 25 2012, 07:04 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jul 25 2012, 06:44 PM) can SuperSU be added via the googleplay ? is installing that way different compared to installing it via root if that makes sense ? because i already did the odin + cwm method to root. so to add superuser, i want to do via the webpage via the phone https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...ndroid.su&hl=en Added on July 25, 2012, 6:44 pmcan SuperSU be added via the googleplay ? is installing that way different compared to installing it via root if that makes sense ? because i already did the odin + cwm method to root. so to add superuser, i want to do via the webpage via the phone https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...ndroid.su&hl=enIf you have successfully installed the chainfire cwm file, you would have rooted and supersu is installed. There is NO need to install it separately I strongly suggest you read some more as obviously the basics you are still unaware DO NOT jump into the fire or you will get burn. Learn to walk first before run The stock rom out of the box is already very good. Enjoy , explore it first. read more about root, flash before you start doing it
benny888
Jul 25 2012, 08:36 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(tidus_6oy @ Jul 25 2012, 08:32 PM) do any of you guys lost cwm apps when upgrading firmware.. how do i flash custom rom if it is like this since the guide at the 1st page require cwm.. Manually boot to recovery : volup+home+power If you want just google for the CWM app APK at forum XDA
benny888
Jul 26 2012, 12:07 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(tidus_6oy @ Jul 25 2012, 11:56 PM) can u give me link for directory bind.. Please lah. Just type directory bind in Android in Google search you get the xda link right at top Added on July 26, 2012, 12:08 amQUOTE(Zhao @ Jul 25 2012, 11:56 PM) same here, morning satu epal and some vitamins lunch and dinrar. aiming to get 64gb in september anyone can figure out how to use tasker? stress liao cant brain it  No offense n yet you are a university student.? Added on July 26, 2012, 12:11 amQUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 26 2012, 12:07 AM) Please lah. Just type directory bind in Android in Google search you get the xda link right at top Added on July 26, 2012, 12:08 amNo offense n yet you are a university student.? Plenty of guide at xda eg noob guide http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1110775 This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 26 2012, 12:11 AM
benny888
Jul 26 2012, 12:13 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(tidus_6oy @ Jul 26 2012, 12:11 AM) have u done it? i had searched for it... there is no result.. that's why i ask for the link..      Just type directory bind in Android in Google search n first entry is your answrr Unbelievable need to spoon feed up to this level http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1410262This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 26 2012, 12:18 AM
benny888
Jul 26 2012, 12:19 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(tidus_6oy @ Jul 26 2012, 12:16 AM) wow.. sorry la for being noob here sir.. no need to get mad lar..  Â  I edited my post with xda link No excuse saying noob as just. I a simple search This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 26 2012, 12:20 AM
benny888
Jul 26 2012, 12:41 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Jul 26 2012, 12:33 AM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « [attachmentid=2966403] Quite sure its AP set seeing its from mobile care stop . Hate that shop , good in twisting their words . Best those interested please ask is it SME b4 purchase . Where got a single word saying SME also . It's "ORIGINAL SAMSUNG GALAXY S3" meaning its not fake aka china made copied version . I have few good experience buying from them. They sell only AP sets My first purchase ap set HTC touch pro gps chip failure they replace motherboard foc n I got it back within 10 days After this good experience I purchase 4 other ap sets n all through courier delivery. All I received in good sealed condition the next day
benny888
Jul 26 2012, 03:10 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(QiW @ Jul 26 2012, 02:59 PM) i have my s3 for about a week already .. charged it everyday at nite however the last 2 days i noticed the battery level goes down faster than the initial few days usage style/habit is about the same ... also ... is there any other way of capturing screen besides the palm slide ? i have a hard time getting it to do so ... my palm not flat maybe ?? hahaha does capture work in games/browser ? mine does not seem to do so (or maybe palm problem Hold palm upright like karate style not face down n swipe
benny888
Jul 26 2012, 03:31 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jul 26 2012, 03:29 PM) I try already, wanna try wanam btw now Im on stock XXBLG1 stock rom, the mobile odin don't know why when choose either internal or external sdcard, doesn't show anything Your rom must be extracted in tar format. Mobile odin will not see zip file Wanna rom is in full zip flash thro cwm only This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 26 2012, 03:33 PM
benny888
Jul 26 2012, 03:55 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jul 26 2012, 03:45 PM) confirmed extracted in .tar file I try click open file, system all is same =_= even try click recovery, kernel all also same *both my internal and external sdcard got recovery, kernel and stock rom in .tar format You must use paid pro version to flash rom. Lite version can only flash kernel If you are using pro version n cannot see file means your tar file is corrupted or you are not using original version of mobile odin pro.
benny888
Jul 27 2012, 05:54 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jul 27 2012, 05:46 PM) Support. This is base on kernel, so if you use custom kernel that not support, then it won't support. all kernels support fat32 formatted 64gb external sdcard but only some kernels will support default exfat format
benny888
Jul 27 2012, 11:40 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(peachmonkey @ Jul 27 2012, 11:38 PM) But can I use kies to install the UK firmware? Or must I root the device to install it? My phone is currently stock so I was hoping to update using OTA but I can't seem to get it. KIES update only local firmware. To install Uk firmware, download the rom file and flash with Odin in PC. No need root to flash it
benny888
Jul 28 2012, 09:17 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(firstknight @ Jul 28 2012, 09:08 AM) by right it actually does..... there are 2 views about using 2A charging, one it does not help n possibly harm phone while the other say it helps in faster charging my experience : I always use 2A desktop charging in ALL my Android n must say charging time is NOTICEABLY,faster at least 50% n in all my years using I have yet to have damaged batteries. s3 example only 2 hours vs 3 hours on default charger You need to use those good desktop ch argers not those cheapo types which I seriously doubt accuracy of its power output there are sites arguing why theoretically a 2a charging will not help. Though it sounds logical but that never explain why I consistently get faster charging time so I continue using it n happy with it This post has been edited by benny888: Jul 28 2012, 09:28 AM
benny888
Jul 28 2012, 11:27 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(Zombiemonkey @ Jul 28 2012, 11:15 AM) Stock s3 app/ yahoo mail. Seriously how to solve this. Headache These apps will not delete mail from server. Is a standard precautionary measure as many users need download similar emails on their PC/notebook Use alternative mail app such as K9 mail - you can set emails delete from server once downloaded. Do it with care as this means you will not be able to download the mail elsewhere , say in your PC