Superbike V2, Superbike, let discuss

phobian
post Aug 24 2012, 07:30 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(ELM0 @ Aug 24 2012, 05:07 PM)
erm do you mind explaining on the 1st party or 3rd party (cheaper) , never own a superbike before so dont know the procedures
Bike insurance is either single rider or all rider. Single rider insurance is cheaper, but if bike is under finance - you may just give this up. All rider covers anyone riding the bike. Single rider is based on single named rider.

phobian
post Aug 29 2012, 01:49 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Aug 29 2012, 12:47 AM)
I think, I should have no problem upgrading blade 250R to 650R with the same color scheme without my wife knowledge .. hehe .. they are too identical in every aspect except the exzos ..

Added on August 29, 2012, 1:32 amguys,

those who ride 600cc above bike, how much is fuel consumption? put it in this way: x km for y liter ... smile.gif ..
My Z1000 - 1litre of Ron95 for 13.5kms.
phobian
post Sep 1 2012, 04:13 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(twc2020 @ Sep 1 2012, 12:51 PM)
manyak orang kaya sini.keke.....
Here, dont think so. If you happen to "lepak" with the regular weekend bikers then you will notice that the small community here aint nothing at all. Oh wait - you havent met the Harley group yet.

icecolddamncold - my advise, spend your money wisely and returns would be great. Good riding gear would serve a good purpose and may last a while as well. Good things may not be expensive & expensive things may not be good as well.
phobian
post Sep 2 2012, 03:58 PM

172 posts

TD = track day
phobian
post Sep 3 2012, 11:42 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(kapalterbang_737 @ Sep 3 2012, 11:31 AM)
My riding gears so far

Fake Alpinestars cordura jacket - RM240
SOL 48S fullface helmet - RM320
Fake Alpinstars GP Pro Glove - previous owner give free
Fake Alpinestars short glove - RM 28
Fox Knee Pad - RM70
Fake Dainese Riding boot - RM300

The jacket and helmet is almost 2 years with me now and still serves me well
Ayam pororfag  sad.gif
Does not matter, so long as you are properly geared. Dress for the crash, remember?
phobian
post Sep 3 2012, 11:53 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(jep @ Sep 3 2012, 11:43 AM)
The last time I ride kapcai daily was to school..for 1-2 years..then I got P and drove car until today without advancing my L license for bike..what's the procedure for full license? Do I have to endure again the L test? I am now thinking to buy a beginner superbike or slighly higher CC bike..maybe 250CC and above..not as a hobby but daily commute to work in KL..any suggestions? other than er6f/n...my wife was keen on scrambler..
So long as you have a valid driving license, you need to sit in for a road & safety course which is 4 hours. Pen your signature down and you will be entitled for L license. I cannot remember if there is a specific L license for B2 or B full - so you got to ask the driving school. I did not have a valid motorcycle license before, so I had to go through the course to get the L license and started the so-called riding license to obtain my B full. I believe if you have a valid B2 license, you need not to sit in for the course - but I may be wrong.

Apart from ER6, you can opt for Yamaha XJ6. If want a scrambler like bike, go with the KTM Duke 690 - but the price of this is stretched out compared to the ER6.
phobian
post Sep 3 2012, 12:43 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(icecolddamncold @ Sep 3 2012, 11:47 AM)
+1  rclxms.gif

upgrading progressively so u can see the advancement..
I learn through the hard way and observe closely what is happening around me. Ask alkt if he would dare to ride without his gears. We have seen many friends whom got into a crash without proper gears and it is just not worth it. If I am lazy to gear up, I will just use the car then.

I have a mini closet packed with riding gears and lets not get to how much I have spent. Not about bragging rights, but I have different priorities and viewpoint in life that I would want to mitigate as much risk as possible.

My list:

1. Helmets - Arai RX7RR5, Shoei Z6 & KBC Force RR. Clear & smoke/tinted for all 3.
2. Jackets - Fake Dainese Air2Tex, RS Taichi RSJ827 Racer & RS Taichi RSJ825 GMX Motion (crashed tested & still usable). Furygan cordura (unusable due to low speed crash)
3. Gloves - Fake RS Taichi GP WRX (leather), RS Taichi NXT-051 (leather), RS Taichi Velocity (leather & mesh) & Komine mesh glove
4. Boots - Sidi ST & Forma Boulevard
5. Pants - Kushitani mesh, RS Taichi RSY817 leather & riding jeans with hip, knee and kevlar stichings
6. Suit - Spidi Track Wind pro
7. Protectors - RS Taichi TRV033 (chest) & Knox Contour Back protector

Not forgetting inner wears, got mix and variation of here and there. I tend to sweat a lot and this helps a lot to regulate body temperature, feel good and risk of smelling like a stench of a sweaty pig.

If you folks plan to get similar gears as to what I have, drop me a PM and I would be more than happy to share my personal thoughts and opinions.

Taken last year October just couple of KMs away from Sadao border, on our way to Phuket.

Left at 6.00am (if I recall correctly), reached Phuket at 9.30pm (MY time). 1000KMs and time to hit Tora-Tora. Priceless!

This post has been edited by phobian: Sep 3 2012, 12:53 PM
phobian
post Sep 3 2012, 01:15 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Sep 3 2012, 01:03 PM)
wow... 1,000km in a day

just tell me honestly, how do you guys even manage that?

i only ride 150km and my back and shoulder ache for a few days

even in a car, i can only drive 500 - 600 km before i lose concentration, and can't focus anymore

i must learn your secrets...  nod.gif
Thats coz we have got Mr Saniporn motivating us with Tora-Tora!

Just kidding. No secret, I just do what my "sifu" says:

1. Get enough sleep!
2. Stay hydrated
3. Quick rest stops every 180kms. Refuel and go. Do not waste time
4. Gears must be comfy and well suited
5. Keep your minds focus on the road and think of Tora-Tora!

Anyhow, we planned to ride to the Golden Triangle on Sept 16 for 2 weeks. Looking at which, I could not join due to last minute work plans. Sigh...
phobian
post Sep 3 2012, 01:20 PM

172 posts

ckming, we carry tyre plug kit. Not sure if there is a portable compressor, but a plug kit is a must.
phobian
post Sep 3 2012, 01:38 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(monaz @ Sep 3 2012, 01:23 PM)
Phobian, nice gears you have there. I saw this photo before somewhere. Want to ask about Spidi boots. This kind of boots is having "buckle" at the back where you can tightened. Is really comfortable?

Like SMX where only velcro after you zipped, this buckle make me feel uncomfortable. I hv before a Diadora race boot using the same type buckle but ended I donated because I don,t like it when too tight or too loose. Need something "moveable". What about Spidi boots?

Your leather pants is a combinations of 2 piece suits or additional pants?

Spot on, you saw it Stunning Bike Online's page. Someone shared that photo.

Sidi ST boots - for me, super comfy. It has a 3D bubble mesh liner. I had a tough time looking for boots, needless to say touring-like boots cannot fit my calves - I have thin calves. I could fit the soles nice and proper for EU40, but the calves are just too big for boots without calves adjustment. Hence I went with this boots comparing to SMX as the buckle has good adjustments. I can share more pics with you on the boots later on. Drop me your email and I will send it over this evening.

RSY817? Its a combination of 2 piece. Did not want the RSY822 as I wanted a touring leather setup that can go over my boots.
phobian
post Sep 3 2012, 05:09 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ Sep 3 2012, 02:59 PM)
lucifah,

it's our group joke. there this is 1 friend of ours, we called him Sunny...then across border of Thailand....we changed it to Saniporn laugh.gif
LOL!

Our Thailand most eligible bachelor. Seeing he is Malaysian, he must have a Thai name. And most Thai names have either por-n or tip in their names.

Folks, do not laugh at this old man wei. He upgraded from ER6N > Z750R > 2012 Z1000. He owns one of the most menacing looking Kawa Green Z1000 around.

monaz - Forma Boulevard is using velcro - 2 strap points, one at the feet and another above the ankle. It is a medium length boots. My Sidi ST is not the goretex version, hence it is not waterproof externally. But it held up well during rain - just slight moisture despite a heavy downpour.

This post has been edited by phobian: Sep 3 2012, 05:14 PM
phobian
post Sep 3 2012, 05:46 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(twc2020 @ Sep 3 2012, 05:26 PM)
hw abt the 2013 ER6F?
What about?
phobian
post Sep 3 2012, 10:06 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(twc2020 @ Sep 3 2012, 07:40 PM)
Is er6 coming out new model for 2013?
Doubt so though.
phobian
post Sep 4 2012, 04:13 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(Narako @ Sep 3 2012, 10:48 PM)

one of the nicest digital meter i have seen

nice looking bike but why no wind shield  shocking.gif

full blast of air slamming you.. like streetfighter already
Coz it is a streetfighter. Kawasaki Z series have been positioned as urban streetfighter naked bike class.
phobian
post Sep 4 2012, 08:05 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(grey_m45k @ Sep 4 2012, 06:20 PM)

perghhh 1000KMs , ur butt , ur pinggang tak sakit ke bro?
Nope
phobian
post Sep 7 2012, 11:44 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(sheiberlee @ Sep 7 2012, 11:25 AM)
yo sifus. wassup. haha..

im planning to get a used 600cc bike for weekend use and balik kampung(kedah). for daily commute already own a kapcai.

ok. here's the deal
-prefer used bike so if upgrade does not really terasa decrease in value
-and sometimes used bike comes with extra after market parts.
budget would be around 25-30k. lesser is better. LoL.
-my height would be around 170.
-im thinking of a used er6f with side box(looks more complete) or er6n since a lot of pipu using it, the parts is easier to find.

so sifu's, please help my mortal soul!
ER6F or Versys
phobian
post Sep 7 2012, 12:15 PM

172 posts

1. Meets your budget requirement
2. Lots of used ER6F & Versys for u to choose from. Very competitived price
3. Lots of aftermarket price
4. Both 6F & Versys is very pillion & tourer friendly
5. Both also looks nice with panniers
phobian
post Sep 8 2012, 10:40 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Sep 8 2012, 01:59 AM)
with malaysia plate ? if that plate legit, then ori R1 on that number already total lost, they just buy the grant then use it in thai bike, lucky they din't change chasis number, else beli kena buta ....
Seeking further clarification to this, did you mean that the chassis number of the Thai's R1 remains the same and not using the totalled R1's chassis number?

Please note that I am not asking about that specific bike advertised but generally what most people would do on cheap big cc bikes.

Having said the above, this is quite a selfish act. Why do I say so is because if in the event of any accident involving such bikes, they have no insurance and may face serving jail time.

Anyway, such things have been happening all the time. Even if the track bikes and cars intended for track use must possess proper customs and rights from necessary parties.
phobian
post Sep 8 2012, 04:28 PM

172 posts

undine, from your list - my choice base on your limited input would either be the R6 or Z1000.

Another good choice for distance travel you can opt for is the Z1000SX. But having the said 3 bikes, I am not sure if the downpayment is enough.

Litre bike or not, it is up to you how you abuse it. If you are discipline and maintain your own pace, I do not see an issue here. You are the rider, you control your bike - not the other way round.
phobian
post Sep 10 2012, 08:03 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(qqmeng @ Sep 10 2012, 06:24 PM)
Sigh... There are just too many choices of helmet...haha...

The problem is tht I m in ktn. I can't really try it on... All I cld do was checking on the Internet .....

Bell's are very economical with beautiful design while hjc, nolan and x-lite are highly recommended in some of their models...... Decision decision.... Haha... Headache
Be very alert when you deal with helmets online. Many do not deal with size exchange, even if they do - you gotta pay for its logistics. Most of the helmet sizing charts ask you to measure your cap size. My cap size is 57.5cm, but on my Arai - I wear a S which is meant for 55-56cm hat size and it is a very snug fit. My other helmets is on M (57-58cm).

What I am trying to say is that besides your cap size, there is also your head size (position where you view your head from the top - birds eye view). 2nd thing you need to consider is also your facial contour. Just remember that we humans have different ethnicity and we have different head forms. If you want a good helmet with a good fit, try it on off the shelf or get permission from other bikers around to try their helmets.

So far, I have not bought any helmets online as I would want my money well spent unless it is a model of helmet I have owned before.

I believe icecolddamncold can vouch for this.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0538sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:03 AM