1) 2X2 tiles arround $3600,
2) Ipoh Pink broken marble $5200,
3) Ipoh Pink 2X2 marble $7500.
all include instalation and polish job for the marble.
marble or tiles
Jul 15 2012, 12:22 AM, updated 13y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
331 posts Joined: May 2009 |
which one will you choose for a living and dining area of 500sft:
1) 2X2 tiles arround $3600, 2) Ipoh Pink broken marble $5200, 3) Ipoh Pink 2X2 marble $7500. all include instalation and polish job for the marble. |
Jul 15 2012, 12:26 AM
60 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
For longer term maintenance, tiles will be easier, as marble will be relatively porous and tend to absorb spillage and colours easily, unless your contractor do another impregnator coating on top of the marble.
Just my 2 cents |
Jul 15 2012, 02:28 AM
1,406 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Everywhere |
At almost 50% more expensive, I think I rather choose tiles. Marble seems outdated anyway
Jul 15 2012, 08:05 AM
268 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
The marble is cheap as already with installed and polishing. Where u get it ? Can pm me contact.
Jul 15 2012, 08:23 AM
12,019 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Marble, it won't go out date.
Added on July 15, 2012, 8:25 amWhat tiles you get, for that price include installation don't look like good brand like Niro or grocera. This post has been edited by weikee: Jul 15 2012, 08:25 AM |
Jul 15 2012, 09:10 AM
1,573 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
Tile usually more costly than marble.
Bear in mind, tiles do not need any maintenance and marble need to be polish after years. |
Jul 15 2012, 09:19 AM
Jul 15 2012, 11:20 AM
1,450 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
QUOTE(Titan_Gunners @ Jul 15 2012, 09:10 AM) Tile usually more costly than marble. Bear in mind, tiles do not need any maintenance and marble need to be polish after years. QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 15 2012, 09:19 AM) Also depend on wat marble, marble cost range from few ringgit to hundred ringgit per sqft. Example: commercial grade creamma mafill cost rm 25/sqft, not include installationThis post has been edited by skng03: Jul 15 2012, 11:21 AM |
Jul 15 2012, 02:30 PM
311 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
Jul 15 2012, 04:58 PM
124 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
I bought a second hand unit and am actually spending money to remove the pink broken marble which I felt looked kinda 70's. One man's meat is another man's poison I guess
Jul 15 2012, 06:11 PM
Marble can have very big piece, can be very very costly. And need specialized skill people to install. you see some of the 5 stats hotel floor are so nice, and hardly need any repolish with the kind of traffic.
Jul 15 2012, 09:08 PM
40 posts Joined: Dec 2011 |
Stone marble ! Cooling and any Scratches nextime can repolished .
Jul 15 2012, 11:24 PM
QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 15 2012, 08:23 AM) Added on July 15, 2012, 8:25 amWhat tiles you get, for that price include installation don't look like good brand like Niro or grocera. Added on July 15, 2012, 11:26 pm QUOTE(justheone_2 @ Jul 15 2012, 08:05 AM) i get the quote from a marble factory at Simpang Pulai, Ipoh.Added on July 15, 2012, 11:34 pm QUOTE(pasquinel @ Jul 15 2012, 04:58 PM) I bought a second hand unit and am actually spending money to remove the pink broken marble which I felt looked kinda 70's. One man's meat is another man's poison I guess i don't share the view that broken marble is outdated. however i agreed that 1 man's meat is another man's poison.2X2 marble is always my favorite, but after much searching and went back to the factory to place deposit, they told me cannot get the price anymore... This post has been edited by orientaliew: Jul 15 2012, 11:34 PM |
Jul 16 2012, 08:42 AM
QUOTE(orientaliew @ Jul 15 2012, 11:24 PM) you r right, its a house brand tiles from Super Ceramic, made in China, $16 per piece. If budget allow maybe stretch and install marbles. Is nicer.Added on July 15, 2012, 11:26 pm i get the quote from a marble factory at Simpang Pulai, Ipoh. Added on July 15, 2012, 11:34 pm i don't share the view that broken marble is outdated. however i agreed that 1 man's meat is another man's poison. 2X2 marble is always my favorite, but after much searching and went back to the factory to place deposit, they told me cannot get the price anymore... |
Jul 16 2012, 08:56 AM
1,836 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
After install marble or tiles you can not avoid scratches totally, so be prepared. Its a floor after all. But marble has "coolong" effect.
Jul 16 2012, 11:36 AM
276 posts Joined: Jun 2012 From: Orient |
QUOTE(orientaliew @ Jul 15 2012, 12:22 AM) which one will you choose for a living and dining area of 500sft: i'd go for marbles if you tend to stay in that property for a long time. good thing about marbles is you can polish it after, lets say 5-10 years and it will look ass good as new.1) 2X2 tiles arround $3600, 2) Ipoh Pink broken marble $5200, 3) Ipoh Pink 2X2 marble $7500. all include instalation and polish job for the marble. |
Jul 16 2012, 02:53 PM
24 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
Bro,
Is the marbles company name = ES Marble. If not kindly PM me the contact. FYI i m looking for the pink marble as well but the latest pink marble is not as good as last time. It has more grains than previous one. |
Jul 16 2012, 03:11 PM
327 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
I put in tiles for my living, dining area and store room.
Total area 587.5 sq ft. I bought Feruni Garnet YE04NN 60x60cm tiles at RM11.99 each from Feruni directly at one of the HomeDec or some other show at PWTC. 184 tiles = RM2,286.16 (RM80 is for delivery). Inclusive of side skirting. Still have a few tiles left over for spare. Experienced installer is really a must. They laid it all out with very narrow gaps and looks really nice. At the end of the day, no more money for marble flooring. haha. My feet can feel the difference though; as phoenix69 said, marble has the cooling effect. Tiles are not so cooling. This post has been edited by kamion: Jul 16 2012, 03:12 PM |
Jul 16 2012, 03:48 PM
11 posts Joined: May 2012 |
I personally prefer marble. Tiles tend to be sticky very fast.
Jul 16 2012, 04:37 PM
QUOTE(kamion @ Jul 16 2012, 03:11 PM) I put in tiles for my living, dining area and store room. your Feruni tiles very cheap, cause i remember one of the tiles with the grain of travertine priced at more than $40 a piece and its looks exactly like Iranian beige marble.Total area 587.5 sq ft. I bought Feruni Garnet YE04NN 60x60cm tiles at RM11.99 each from Feruni directly at one of the HomeDec or some other show at PWTC. 184 tiles = RM2,286.16 (RM80 is for delivery). Inclusive of side skirting. Still have a few tiles left over for spare. Experienced installer is really a must. They laid it all out with very narrow gaps and looks really nice. At the end of the day, no more money for marble flooring. haha. My feet can feel the difference though; as phoenix69 said, marble has the cooling effect. Tiles are not so cooling. how much the installation cost you? |
Jul 16 2012, 05:22 PM
Validating
1,333 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
The most expensive houses and condos use marble flooring, not tiles, which is considered lower in class.
Tiles are the average finishing material - practical, durable, affordable, and maintenance free. Nowadays, 2'x2' polished porcelain tiles with marble grain is common - to imitate the marble effect. Then, there are tiles with wood grain finish, to imitate timber. Marble needs care since it is easily scratched and stained. Being natural, no two pieces are the same. It feels good to step on marble surface especially in our tropical climate. Tiles does have the 'sticky' feel, being non-porous. Marble breathes and absorbs moisture. Comparing marble and tile is like comparing natural timber floor finish and engineered wood planks eg. Inovar. The feel is very different. Ipoh Pink marble (some call it 'pig lung marble' in cantonese) tend to have a lot of fissures/fine cracks. Matching marble slabs is one big hassle as the colour and grain can be very incosistent. This post has been edited by tehtmc: Jul 16 2012, 05:42 PM |
Jul 16 2012, 06:04 PM
327 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
QUOTE(orientaliew @ Jul 16 2012, 04:37 PM) your Feruni tiles very cheap, cause i remember one of the tiles with the grain of travertine priced at more than $40 a piece and its looks exactly like Iranian beige marble. It was all lumped in by my wet works contractor. He charged me RM6000 for all tiling works downstairs including one small bathroom, dry and wet kitchen floors and full height walls, and all living room, dining area and small store room floor. 890 sq ft floor area and 828 sq ft of wall area. I also have no idea if that's expensive or cheap. how much the installation cost you? Overall, my contractor's price was 24% cheaper than the other quotation I got, plus my other family members have used him before and he's always the reliable guy. Indeed, he was very reliable and still comes around to help me drill holes in the wall and help clear a bird's nest in my roof when I called him. I've already paid him in full in April, yet he still comes around to help. |
Jul 17 2012, 02:15 PM
1,573 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
Jul 17 2012, 02:22 PM
QUOTE(tehtmc @ Jul 16 2012, 05:22 PM) Comparing marble and tile is like comparing natural timber floor finish and engineered wood planks eg. Inovar. The feel is very different. QUOTE(tehtmc @ Jul 16 2012, 05:22 PM) Ipoh Pink marble (some call it 'pig lung marble' in cantonese) tend to have a lot of fissures/fine cracks. Matching marble slabs is one big hassle as the colour and grain can be very incosistent. shall make the final decision this week. |
Jul 17 2012, 03:40 PM
Validating
1,333 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
QUOTE(orientaliew @ Jul 17 2012, 02:22 PM) Comparing marble and tile is like comparing natural timber floor finish and laminated flooring. engineered boards = laminated flooring precisely. i can understand why the installer quoted me $2 more psf for broken marble and keep on persuading me to lay the 1x2 marble. at the end, the labour is much much more than material, almost 4 times. shall make the final decision this week. Between 1'x2' marble and 2'x2' polished tiles, I would prefer the latter for looks la. Of course, the 'feel' is another matter. 1'x2' marble is great for rooms though(I use 1'x2' Ipoh Pink for a bedroom), but bit small for living area. Ipoh White is easier colour to match with than Pink. This post has been edited by tehtmc: Jul 17 2012, 03:51 PM |
Jul 18 2012, 10:55 AM
Dear Bro,
If you dont mind can you post the photo of your living room and the other room. TQ |
Jul 18 2012, 03:04 PM
QUOTE(justheone_2 @ Jul 15 2012, 08:05 AM) it looks cheaper because i sourced marble, tiler and polisher seperately. will certainly give u the contact nomber after the work finish and only if i m satisfied. Added on July 18, 2012, 3:05 pm QUOTE(chuansze @ Jul 18 2012, 10:55 AM) will post it later.This post has been edited by orientaliew: Jul 18 2012, 03:05 PM |
Jul 24 2012, 04:43 PM
this is the living and dining area to be laid marble (2X2 or broken).
Added on July 24, 2012, 4:55 pm QUOTE(skng03 @ Jul 15 2012, 11:20 AM) Also depend on wat marble, marble cost range from few ringgit to hundred ringgit per sqft. Example: commercial grade creamma mafill cost rm 25/sqft, not include installation i think can get creama mafil granite at arround $16/sft, not including transportation and installation of course. Ipoh Pink can get $9 for the lower grade, but for those which is "cleaner", without "water line" or less patchy, price can be tripled! Added on July 24, 2012, 5:01 pm QUOTE(chuansze @ Jul 16 2012, 02:53 PM) Bro, i went to ES Marble too, they dont have much stone of Ipoh Pink, the remaining stock is really not good, alot of grains and pricy too. try go further down the main road towards Cameron, there is a factory on your right which specialised in Ipoh marble, you may choose from so many different local marble. Is the marbles company name = ES Marble. If not kindly PM me the contact. FYI i m looking for the pink marble as well but the latest pink marble is not as good as last time. It has more grains than previous one. This post has been edited by orientaliew: Jul 24 2012, 05:01 PM Attached thumbnail(s) |
Jul 24 2012, 08:49 PM
898 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
Go for marble... price and perception aside; one main thing you'll notice is that when you walk into a home with a marble floor, the house definitely feels more cooling.
Added benefit is that valuators take into account marble flooring when deriving value for a residential home. |
Jul 24 2012, 11:40 PM
816 posts Joined: Nov 2008 From: Halfway Between the Gutter and the Stars |
QUOTE(tehtmc @ Jul 17 2012, 03:40 PM) Engineering boards are REAL timber verneers on a backing. Laminated boards are timber PRINTS on backing. They are NOT the same. Engineering boards are actually better than solid wood due to less movement. Some are even more expensive than solid timber |
Jul 25 2012, 12:24 AM
QUOTE(Bishop @ Jul 24 2012, 11:40 PM) Engineering boards are actually better than solid wood due to less movement. Some are even more expensive than solid timber |
Jul 25 2012, 11:12 AM
QUOTE(skng03 @ Jul 25 2012, 12:24 AM) Added on July 25, 2012, 11:15 am QUOTE(Bishop @ Jul 24 2012, 11:40 PM) Engineering boards are REAL timber verneers on a backing. Laminated boards are timber PRINTS on backing. They are NOT the same. This post has been edited by orientaliew: Jul 25 2012, 11:15 AM |
Jul 25 2012, 11:50 AM
QUOTE(orientaliew @ Jul 24 2012, 04:43 PM) this is the living and dining area to be laid marble (2X2 or broken). Bro,Added on July 24, 2012, 4:55 pm i think can get creama mafil granite at arround $16/sft, not including transportation and installation of course. Ipoh Pink can get $9 for the lower grade, but for those which is "cleaner", without "water line" or less patchy, price can be tripled! Added on July 24, 2012, 5:01 pm i went to ES Marble too, they dont have much stone of Ipoh Pink, the remaining stock is really not good, alot of grains and pricy too. try go further down the main road towards Cameron, there is a factory on your right which specialised in Ipoh marble, you may choose from so many different local marble. I m going to ipoh this weekend. Can i have the marble factory name that you mention from the main road towards cameron. Is the price reasonable ? How much per square feet for good ipoh pink marble ? TQ |
Jul 25 2012, 04:07 PM
QUOTE(chuansze @ Jul 25 2012, 11:50 AM) Bro, the company is SMT Stone World sdn bhd. its manufacturing and trading of all kinds of marble product and furniture. difficult to tell cheap all not because there are wide choices. for 2x2, the price range from $6 to $18 sft i think.I m going to ipoh this weekend. Can i have the marble factory name that you mention from the main road towards cameron. Is the price reasonable ? How much per square feet for good ipoh pink marble ? TQ may be we can combine our order to get better price, any other forummers interested? |
Jul 26 2012, 12:53 PM
4,105 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: eE-pOh | KL |
need some advice on what color can i match with greenish marble flooring (those old fashion type) - having a headache thinkin of what paint and furniture color to match with.
Jul 26 2012, 04:32 PM
QUOTE(babymiki @ Jul 26 2012, 12:53 PM) need some advice on what color can i match with greenish marble flooring (those old fashion type) - having a headache thinkin of what paint and furniture color to match with. greenish marble is quite expensive, but difficult to match colour. paint wise i would say light yellow or light green. better use furniture with nice wood grain. |
Jul 26 2012, 04:56 PM
thank you for your suggestion!
Jul 26 2012, 05:00 PM
Jul 27 2012, 11:00 AM
within 3-6 months time. but it's time to start researching now. what paint and furniture color, no? i can't wait till the house is ready to be moved in only i plan right?
Jul 27 2012, 01:31 PM
QUOTE(babymiki @ Jul 26 2012, 12:53 PM) need some advice on what color can i match with greenish marble flooring (those old fashion type) - having a headache thinkin of what paint and furniture color to match with. Depends on the shade of green of your floor. ICI has a colour if i'm not mistaken which is cream with a touch of green. It looks more white than green but the green hue would not make it stand out too much from your floor.You can then use white, black or walnut wood type colour for furniture. But honestly, colour is a very personal thing so go with your gut feel as what i suggest is more inline with my taste. |
Jul 27 2012, 10:51 PM
QUOTE(babymiki @ Jul 26 2012, 12:53 PM) need some advice on what color can i match with greenish marble flooring (those old fashion type) - having a headache thinkin of what paint and furniture color to match with. green marble?like THIS? green onyx marble very expensive wor |
Jul 28 2012, 12:19 PM
QUOTE(orientaliew @ Jul 25 2012, 04:07 PM) the company is SMT Stone World sdn bhd. its manufacturing and trading of all kinds of marble product and furniture. difficult to tell cheap all not because there are wide choices. for 2x2, the price range from $6 to $18 sft i think. There is many other similar companies there, since they are nearby, just drop by to take a look. may be we can combine our order to get better price, any other forummers interested? |
Jul 30 2012, 12:27 PM
QUOTE(skng03 @ Jul 27 2012, 10:51 PM) do not know the specific name for this green marble. i believe the price of the marble have nothing to do with what paint color i am looking for.btw, thanks adrian for your suggestion. i have always prefer brighter color |
Aug 23 2012, 04:58 PM
Aug 23 2012, 05:10 PM
48 posts Joined: Jul 2012 |
Aug 23 2012, 05:17 PM
1,601 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: WMKP |
whats the price ?
Aug 23 2012, 09:35 PM
Aug 23 2012, 09:37 PM
Aug 24 2012, 09:06 AM
Aug 24 2012, 09:53 AM
QUOTE(orientaliew @ Aug 23 2012, 09:35 PM) depends on colour, price will be lower for common colour like grey white, ranging from 150 to 280 per pallet (excluding transportation) if you buy direct from Ipoh factories. mine pink mix (picture below) cost arroung 230. Need to go that far meh? One pallet is about one ton right. Got mine at salak south, but is blueris, is defiantly more expensive, about 100 more, but I only use 1/3 pallet for my 120sqft, for entire double stories ground floor maybe only need 3 pallets. |
Aug 24 2012, 10:18 AM
Aug 24 2012, 10:33 AM
The marble cutting tools is very old school right. No need electric no motor. Just big heavy scissor.
Aug 24 2012, 05:09 PM
They put cement at the bottom just like tiles?
What about the grooves between the slabs? |
Aug 24 2012, 05:50 PM
Aug 24 2012, 09:11 PM
Aug 24 2012, 09:20 PM
QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 24 2012, 09:53 AM) Need to go that far meh? One pallet is about one ton right. Got mine at salak south, but is blueris, is defiantly more expensive, about 100 more, but I only use 1/3 pallet for my 120sqft, for entire double stories ground floor maybe only need 3 pallets. i go back to my home town almost every week, so not far for me. you are right, the factory make wrong culculation for me (may be purposely did so), said 1 pallet good for 150 to 180sqft, so i bought 3 pallet for 500 sqft. just now went to the site, looks like i have at least 1 pallet extra, damn. sales!!!!! more pictures: |
Aug 24 2012, 09:21 PM
QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 24 2012, 09:53 AM) Need to go that far meh? One pallet is about one ton right. Got mine at salak south, but is blueris, is defiantly more expensive, about 100 more, but I only use 1/3 pallet for my 120sqft, for entire double stories ground floor maybe only need 3 pallets. i go back to my home town almost every week, so not far for me. you are right, the factory make wrong culculation for me (may be purposely did so), said 1 pallet good for 150 to 180sqft, so i bought 3 pallet for 500 sqft. just now went to the site, looks like i have at least 1 pallet extra, damn. sales!!!!! more pictures: Attached thumbnail(s) |
Aug 25 2012, 07:54 AM
Aug 25 2012, 02:37 PM
Aug 25 2012, 03:13 PM
11,308 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 24 2012, 05:50 PM) When I watch those angmoh renovation and ID shows on TV, I see the way they lay tiles not like us.Ours have to hack the whole floor up and pour new cement for the tiles. The ones on TV I don't see any hacking and they use this white something. All done very neatly and clean unlike our ways of laying tiles. Is this the same white cement you'd mentioned above? I asked some contractors and they say it's some kind of special glue. Expensive but it's good. Ok I just read the post again and you probably talking about white cement for the grout. This also brings up another question. My floor tiles grouting all turn dirty looking after less than a year but my shower area, the white grouting remains as white as day one. This is on both wall and floor. Since this area gets wet everyday, I'm surprised that it didn't turn black and I see no mold. While other tiled areas all dirty looking. Could it be different quality grouting been used? This post has been edited by idoblu: Aug 25 2012, 03:20 PM |
Aug 27 2012, 11:16 AM
Dear Liew,
Kindly PM me the marble installer contact and the price quoted as my installer is very BZ at the moment. How is your pink marble quality after Polishing ? I m waiting mine to be delivered after Merdeka day. Hopefully this marble will be good one. From all of your comment, one pallet broken marble is good for at least 250/ sq ft. Hopefully my order based on my drawing for 2' X 2' will be accurate, otherwise it will be wasted. Broken marble is really cheap huh, if based on 250 sq ft / pallet the material cost is only around RM 1/sq ft, it is much more cheapet than tiles. If inclusive of installation, it should be around RM 4 - 5 / Sq ft if my information is correct. Waiting more picture from your broken marble. TQ |
Aug 27 2012, 11:20 AM
QUOTE(chuansze @ Aug 27 2012, 11:16 AM) Dear Liew, Did you calculate wastage? And installation is not that cheap.Kindly PM me the marble installer contact and the price quoted as my installer is very BZ at the moment. How is your pink marble quality after Polishing ? I m waiting mine to be delivered after Merdeka day. Hopefully this marble will be good one. From all of your comment, one pallet broken marble is good for at least 250/ sq ft. Hopefully my order based on my drawing for 2' X 2' will be accurate, otherwise it will be wasted. Broken marble is really cheap huh, if based on 250 sq ft / pallet the material cost is only around RM 1/sq ft, it is much more cheapet than tiles. If inclusive of installation, it should be around RM 4 - 5 / Sq ft if my information is correct. Waiting more picture from your broken marble. TQ |
Aug 27 2012, 11:50 AM
QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 27 2012, 11:20 AM) If not mistaken. For labour only the installation cost will be around RM 3.5 to 5 / sq ft (U might get cheaper than this)For Cement and sand it is not that expensive if u buy yourself. For those cut marble, that is really expensive. 2' X 2' white grey normally cost aroun RM 7-8 / ft2, 2' x ' pink white cost around RM 12-14 / ft2, 2' x ' crystal white cost around RM 25 / ft2, therefore if you like the broken marble design, you should go for marbles as it is more cooling and less dirt sticking problems due to it non porous surface comparing to tiles. TQ |
Aug 27 2012, 01:52 PM
Aug 27 2012, 02:00 PM
QUOTE(chuansze @ Aug 27 2012, 11:16 AM) Dear Liew, my installer will install tiles for 2 rooms and 2 bathroom after finish installing broken marble.Kindly PM me the marble installer contact and the price quoted as my installer is very BZ at the moment. How is your pink marble quality after Polishing ? I m waiting mine to be delivered after Merdeka day. Hopefully this marble will be good one. From all of your comment, one pallet broken marble is good for at least 250/ sq ft. Hopefully my order based on my drawing for 2' X 2' will be accurate, otherwise it will be wasted. Broken marble is really cheap huh, if based on 250 sq ft / pallet the material cost is only around RM 1/sq ft, it is much more cheapet than tiles. If inclusive of installation, it should be around RM 4 - 5 / Sq ft if my information is correct. Waiting more picture from your broken marble. TQ i will not be able to know the quality after polishing in the coming 2 weeks because i still have rooms and bathrooms and painting to be done. sure will post after polish job. yes, material wise, broken marble is very cheap, however, the installation will be at least 2 dollars more than 1' tiles, so end up almost the same but still much cheaper than 2'X2' marble lah. more pictures: Attached thumbnail(s) |
Aug 27 2012, 09:17 PM
Aug 27 2012, 11:24 PM
Aug 28 2012, 11:21 AM
Aug 28 2012, 07:19 PM
nice progress report
Aug 29 2012, 12:16 PM
Aug 29 2012, 12:18 PM
Aug 29 2012, 12:42 PM
Aug 29 2012, 01:15 PM
Aug 29 2012, 03:46 PM
Aug 29 2012, 03:54 PM
Sep 14 2012, 09:29 AM
Sep 14 2012, 12:50 PM
754 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
QUOTE(orientaliew @ Aug 29 2012, 03:54 PM) because i wrongly bought more than i need, i ask the installer to choose the marble, end up more wastage. but still have more than half a pallet, enough for a room. see the mountain of broken marble: so..what happened to the broken marbles now?...blh sy ambik? |
Sep 14 2012, 05:23 PM
Sep 15 2012, 09:14 AM
QUOTE(orientaliew @ Sep 14 2012, 05:23 PM) you kat mana? bukit ketulan marble tu memang not buang, u mau u datang ambik. hehe..i also have 3 pallets of nice marbles/granites to sell off...if there is an industrial area nearby, they would want the potholes to be filled up..try to ask. me in shah alam..below shows the leftover broken marble, almost 1 pallet. if you want i sell to you cheap cheap. |
Sep 15 2012, 11:09 AM
QUOTE(chinyen @ Sep 15 2012, 09:14 AM) hehe..i also have 3 pallets of nice marbles/granites to sell off...if there is an industrial area nearby, they would want the potholes to be filled up..try to ask. me in shah alam.. hahahaha!!! me in Tanjong Malim, hahaha looks like your wastage is far more larger than mine. your surplus marbles and granite are in good shape? i mean not broken pieces? |
Sep 15 2012, 12:51 PM
QUOTE(orientaliew @ Sep 15 2012, 11:09 AM) hahahaha!!! me in Tanjong Malim, hahaha yeap..maybe some is crippled at the corner or somewhere because they were transported here and there for back up stock..looks like your wastage is far more larger than mine. your surplus marbles and granite are in good shape? i mean not broken pieces? if you are interested, i will try to document all the photos, categorise them by type and quantity and upload for sale...as i am not convenient to invite ppl to come and see to buy..if buy a lot, i will send by transporter/lorry...wrapped nicely of course might take some time though... |
Sep 16 2012, 03:47 PM
QUOTE(chinyen @ Sep 15 2012, 12:51 PM) yeap..maybe some is crippled at the corner or somewhere because they were transported here and there for back up stock.. i am thinking of doing some outdoor decoration, may get from you if colour and size suitable.if you are interested, i will try to document all the photos, categorise them by type and quantity and upload for sale...as i am not convenient to invite ppl to come and see to buy..if buy a lot, i will send by transporter/lorry...wrapped nicely of course might take some time though... try to show me some sample picture, size and prize too. thanks. below shows the "marble skin" which i m planning to stick it on the piller: This post has been edited by orientaliew: Sep 16 2012, 03:53 PM Attached thumbnail(s) |
Sep 18 2012, 12:50 PM
Sep 23 2012, 10:59 AM
Sep 24 2012, 01:48 PM
QUOTE(orientaliew @ Sep 23 2012, 10:59 AM) coming lerr....just managed to capture a bit...dont have time to arrange them nicely myself and wash the dust off..will do that very soon...k...patience..k these are the ceiling stuff leftovers after construction of my company's factory..anybody who wants to buy them please contact me. Thank you. more pics coming after i return to the warehouse..k... |
Sep 24 2012, 03:23 PM
QUOTE(chinyen @ Sep 24 2012, 01:48 PM) coming lerr....just managed to capture a bit...dont have time to arrange them nicely myself and wash the dust off..will do that very soon...k...patience..k aiya, picture not clear lah, having difficulty in recognise the colour and pattern. i notice all are tiles not granite? these are the ceiling stuff leftovers after construction of my company's factory..anybody who wants to buy them please contact me. Thank you. more pics coming after i return to the warehouse..k... |
Sep 24 2012, 03:49 PM
QUOTE(orientaliew @ Sep 24 2012, 03:23 PM) aiya, picture not clear lah, having difficulty in recognise the colour and pattern. i notice all are tiles not granite? the only pic on the right column, the bottom left, is granite strips , cut to fit the stairs , black colour with no pattern, the sub-con bought wrong colour will provide clearer pic with quantity and measurement..so sorry, the tiles are in the warehouse with limited lighting, would be able to lay them out with better lighting place after the forklift is transported back to that warehouse as the lot is in the end of the warehouse blocked by other stuffs. and i found another 2 pallets...dunno whether it's good or bad news....aih... |
Sep 25 2012, 12:07 AM
QUOTE(chinyen @ Sep 24 2012, 03:49 PM) the only pic on the right column, the bottom left, is granite strips , cut to fit the stairs , black colour with no pattern, the sub-con bought wrong colour looks like your sub-con wastes a lot of meterial. will keep an eye on the updates.will provide clearer pic with quantity and measurement..so sorry, the tiles are in the warehouse with limited lighting, would be able to lay them out with better lighting place after the forklift is transported back to that warehouse as the lot is in the end of the warehouse blocked by other stuffs. and i found another 2 pallets...dunno whether it's good or bad news....aih... |
Sep 25 2012, 09:22 AM
QUOTE(orientaliew @ Sep 25 2012, 12:07 AM) yeah. that's what happened when there's no operation exec to monitor the progress and stuff. those ceiling materials are for our office's third floor, which is now abandoned until other stuff is completed. according to another contractor, we dont need that much so i uploaded the pics for sale. |
Sep 25 2012, 11:37 AM
58 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
QUOTE(chinyen @ Sep 15 2012, 09:14 AM) hehe..i also have 3 pallets of nice marbles/granites to sell off...if there is an industrial area nearby, they would want the potholes to be filled up..try to ask. me in shah alam.. I am looking into buying few pieces of broken marbles for my floor cuz the contractor broke some of them while doing plumbing works.mine is broken marbles type.How do you measure one pallet ? Im Also interested in Ceilings. Can you please pm me your price, or pass me address so i can come see? |
Sep 25 2012, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(Ltash @ Sep 25 2012, 11:37 AM) I am looking into buying few pieces of broken marbles for my floor cuz the contractor broke some of them while doing plumbing works.mine is broken marbles type. broken marbles you have to ask orientalliew ..ceiling stuff please advise your quantity and location. Thank youHow do you measure one pallet ? Im Also interested in Ceilings. Can you please pm me your price, or pass me address so i can come see? |
Sep 25 2012, 04:29 PM
QUOTE(chinyen @ Sep 25 2012, 12:14 PM) broken marbles you have to ask orientalliew ..ceiling stuff please advise your quantity and location. Thank you to Ltash,my broken marbles are pink, can sell you a few pieces if you want, where is your location? This post has been edited by orientaliew: Sep 25 2012, 04:29 PM |
Sep 25 2012, 09:38 PM
QUOTE(orientaliew @ Sep 25 2012, 04:29 PM) Im in kepong... Do u send over? Or I have to pick it up? Added on September 25, 2012, 9:45 pm QUOTE(chinyen @ Sep 25 2012, 12:14 PM) broken marbles you have to ask orientalliew ..ceiling stuff please advise your quantity and location. Thank you Urm. .. I will have to get back on u on that..need to check with contractor first . I noticed u mentioned u have some tiles left for stair case etc.. Looking for tiles too. This post has been edited by Ltash: Sep 25 2012, 09:45 PM |
Sep 26 2012, 10:11 AM
QUOTE(Ltash @ Sep 25 2012, 09:38 PM) Im in kepong... Do u send over? Or I have to pick it up? |
Sep 26 2012, 10:55 AM
Sep 28 2012, 09:49 AM
Sep 30 2012, 11:58 PM
Oct 1 2012, 02:09 PM
Jan 3 2013, 04:24 PM
Jan 3 2013, 05:45 PM
Jan 3 2013, 05:54 PM
207 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
QUOTE(orientaliew @ Aug 29 2012, 12:16 PM) did the installer apply 1-2 coat of water impregnator to your marble (top, bottom and all sides) prior to installing them?from the price i don't think they did. good water impregnator for natural stone like marble is very expensive ... around RM1500 for 20 litres. the least you should do after polishing, you should get your marble surface sealed with good quality sealer. This post has been edited by lionfish77: Jan 3 2013, 05:54 PM |
Jan 3 2013, 06:03 PM
QUOTE(lionfish77 @ Jan 3 2013, 05:54 PM) did the installer apply 1-2 coat of water impregnator to your marble (top, bottom and all sides) prior to installing them? i did put plastic sheet before pouring concrete on top of the floor, and then a layer of cement like waterproof material before install the marble. from the price i don't think they did. good water impregnator for natural stone like marble is very expensive ... around RM1500 for 20 litres. the least you should do after polishing, you should get your marble surface sealed with good quality sealer. no water impregnator or sealer, is it really necessary? This post has been edited by orientaliew: Jan 3 2013, 06:05 PM |
Jan 3 2013, 07:43 PM
381 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: KUALA LUMPUR |
QUOTE(lionfish77 @ Jan 3 2013, 05:54 PM) did the installer apply 1-2 coat of water impregnator to your marble (top, bottom and all sides) prior to installing them? What's the purpose of using water impregnator? Please enlighten us. from the price i don't think they did. good water impregnator for natural stone like marble is very expensive ... around RM1500 for 20 litres. the least you should do after polishing, you should get your marble surface sealed with good quality sealer. |
Jan 3 2013, 08:47 PM
i don't satisfy with the chinese tilers job, they always want to work fast only. they don't even bother to choose the marble for you. if they pick up the pure white piece and replace with a more uniform colour piece of broken marble, it will certainly look nicer. see the picture below:
Attached thumbnail(s) |
Jan 4 2013, 08:20 AM
QUOTE(maguro @ Jan 3 2013, 07:43 PM) when you apply water impregnator, it seeps into the marble. next time when you have water or oil spill it will not penetrate into the marble. it will remain on the surface only which you can then wipe away. otherwise, you will get stain which penetrate deep into the marble and impossible to remove. |
Jan 4 2013, 09:11 AM
QUOTE(orientaliew @ Jan 3 2013, 08:47 PM) i don't satisfy with the chinese tilers job, they always want to work fast only. they don't even bother to choose the marble for you. if they pick up the pure white piece and replace with a more uniform colour piece of broken marble, it will certainly look nicer. see the picture below: The guy i used was good, he placed all the odd pieces in places not really seen.But he's anal as hell so he takes a longer time to complete his work. But the guy old already and retiring soon. |
Jan 4 2013, 09:55 AM
QUOTE(adrianjc @ Jan 4 2013, 09:11 AM) The guy i used was good, he placed all the odd pieces in places not really seen. You are lucky to have him. initially i want to employ an installer which i think is more patient but my contractor introduced his man for better co-ordination so i have to accept.But he's anal as hell so he takes a longer time to complete his work. But the guy old already and retiring soon. now i end up 1 ballet of extra broken marble, enough for 2 rooms!! to throw away is a waste, but keep it also no use, haiiiiiiiiii |
Jan 4 2013, 12:01 PM
381 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: KUALA LUMPUR |
QUOTE(lionfish77 @ Jan 4 2013, 08:20 AM) when you apply water impregnator, it seeps into the marble. next time when you have water or oil spill it will not penetrate into the marble. it will remain on the surface only which you can then wipe away. otherwise, you will get stain which penetrate deep into the marble and impossible to remove. Ah.. Thats called water impregnator eh?I always thought sealant or something.. |
Jan 4 2013, 12:07 PM
5 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
QUOTE(orientaliew @ Jan 4 2013, 09:55 AM) You are lucky to have him. initially i want to employ an installer which i think is more patient but my contractor introduced his man for better co-ordination so i have to accept. Hi,now i end up 1 ballet of extra broken marble, enough for 2 rooms!! to throw away is a waste, but keep it also no use, haiiiiiiiiii Would you be able to sell me your broken marbles? I am in need to cover 100 -120 sq ft at the living hall. |
Jan 4 2013, 01:06 PM
Jan 4 2013, 02:37 PM
QUOTE(maguro @ Jan 3 2013, 07:43 PM) QUOTE(lionfish77 @ Jan 4 2013, 08:20 AM) when you apply water impregnator, it seeps into the marble. next time when you have water or oil spill it will not penetrate into the marble. it will remain on the surface only which you can then wipe away. otherwise, you will get stain which penetrate deep into the marble and impossible to remove. when i rush to finish off my reno last year, i missed out the under side sealer for my bath room marble, here the result :the dirt in cement/sand plaster penetrate into marble and now the marble surface got at least 20 small black spots QUOTE(maguro @ Jan 4 2013, 12:01 PM) water based impregnator expensive lor, normally for bottom, 4 side use solvent base sealer will do, surface only use water based impregnator |
Jan 4 2013, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(skng03 @ Jan 4 2013, 02:37 PM) when i rush to finish off my reno last year, i missed out the under side sealer for my bath room marble, here the result : the RM1500++ impregnator I was talking about is solvent-based. And yes it is the most expensive that the company sells. They have cheaper ones.the dirt in cement/sand plaster penetrate into marble and now the marble surface got at least 20 small black spots water based impregnator expensive lor, normally for bottom, 4 side use solvent base sealer will do, surface only use water based impregnator Did your installer apply two times or just one time. Was told to apply 2 times. |
Jan 4 2013, 06:56 PM
QUOTE(lionfish77 @ Jan 4 2013, 06:05 PM) the RM1500++ impregnator I was talking about is solvent-based. And yes it is the most expensive that the company sells. They have cheaper ones. RM1500 for how many square feet? mine is less than 500 feet?Did your installer apply two times or just one time. Was told to apply 2 times. and where to get this product? i did ask whether need some sort of sealant or not and both installer and "polisher" said no. |
Jan 4 2013, 08:04 PM
QUOTE(lionfish77 @ Jan 4 2013, 06:05 PM) the RM1500++ impregnator I was talking about is solvent-based. And yes it is the most expensive that the company sells. They have cheaper ones. Not apply any at all, thats y the black stain come outDid your installer apply two times or just one time. Was told to apply 2 times. Added on January 4, 2013, 8:21 pm QUOTE(orientaliew @ Jan 4 2013, 06:56 PM) RM1500 for how many square feet? mine is less than 500 feet? Surface sealer normally apply to external stone finish which is rough/ honed/ framed finishing .and where to get this product? i did ask whether need some sort of sealant or not and both installer and "polisher" said no. The sealer to under side of marble/stone before installation is to prevent moisture /stain penetrate into marble This post has been edited by skng03: Jan 4 2013, 08:21 PM |
Jan 5 2013, 02:46 PM
5 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
QUOTE(skng03 @ Jan 4 2013, 08:04 PM) Not apply any at all, thats y the black stain come out Any experienced marble installer that anyone can recommend?Added on January 4, 2013, 8:21 pm Surface sealer normally apply to external stone finish which is rough/ honed/ framed finishing . The sealer to under side of marble/stone before installation is to prevent moisture /stain penetrate into marble |
Jan 7 2013, 05:02 PM
QUOTE(djulea @ Jan 5 2013, 02:46 PM) try to compare at least 2 quotation. all the experience tilers were working with marble last time. just that they prefer easier job, that is to lay tiles. i think 100 to 120 square feet is too small a job, tiler will certainly charge you higher. |
Mar 13 2013, 04:02 PM
6 posts Joined: Mar 2013 |
QUOTE(chuansze @ Jul 16 2012, 02:53 PM) Bro, HiIs the marbles company name = ES Marble. If not kindly PM me the contact. FYI i m looking for the pink marble as well but the latest pink marble is not as good as last time. It has more grains than previous one. Need to ask where you get your marble installer and marble? What is th! Price? Can give me the contact? Thanks |
Mar 13 2013, 04:11 PM
QUOTE(adrianjc @ Jan 4 2013, 09:11 AM) The guy i used was good, he placed all the odd pieces in places not really seen. HiBut he's anal as hell so he takes a longer time to complete his work. But the guy old already and retiring soon. Can you give me the contact of your marble installer contact? I am from cheras kl Many thanks Got one crazy ppl quote me rm 11per sf excluding tiles |
Mar 13 2013, 04:17 PM
QUOTE(adrianjc @ Jan 4 2013, 09:11 AM) The guy i used was good, he placed all the odd pieces in places not really seen. HiBut he's anal as hell so he takes a longer time to complete his work. But the guy old already and retiring soon. Can you give me the contact of your marble installer contact? I am from cheras kl Many thanks Got one crazy ppl quote me rm 11per sf excluding tiles |
Mar 13 2013, 04:34 PM
Mar 15 2013, 12:49 PM
Jun 4 2013, 11:40 PM
6 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
Jun 18 2013, 03:22 PM
47 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
Jun 22 2013, 09:51 PM
15,182 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Damansara Heights |
I wish to share my this client's marble floor. Sub-con appointed by owner.
These workers never clean the floor properly before doing polishing work. Can see some dirt stucked inside. Looked awful. If its minor tiny dust cannot be seen but this is so obvious (10mm). |
Jul 8 2014, 08:25 PM
17 posts Joined: May 2014 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE(orientaliew @ Jul 16 2012, 12:24 AM) you r right, its a house brand tiles from Super Ceramic, made in China, $16 per piece. It depends how big your house or the size of area you are going to place that 2X2 marble. If it is small house less 300-500 square feet living room. 2X2 marble make it looks like very small and tight place. but if it is broken marble and/or 1X1 or 1X2, the area feel more spacious. Added on July 15, 2012, 11:26 pm i get the quote from a marble factory at Simpang Pulai, Ipoh. Added on July 15, 2012, 11:34 pm i don't share the view that broken marble is outdated. however i agreed that 1 man's meat is another man's poison. 2X2 marble is always my favorite, but after much searching and went back to the factory to place deposit, they told me cannot get the price anymore... Ipoh marble is not as porous as imported natural stone. The discoloration can be grinded and polish. If you are worry about food and drinks leaving stain on the floor, that is the question whether you treat you house like a home or some local food stores. I always prefer ipoh marble over imported stones because I use less chemical to maintain ipoh marble then I need for import marble/stone. On how some shopping malls have good looking marbles even after being walked over by a lot of people. 1 of the reason is shopping malls marble use wax to protect their marbles. Another one is such as KLCC where the marble are grind and polish on schedule basis after their patrons are gone, the stone polisher start working. People who advise you to use tiles would say tiles need less maintenance and you can choose tiles that looks and shine like marble but be advised that these shine can be faded after a while and to re-polish them back to shine is quite costly in malaysia. (Anyone can give quotation on price of polishing Tiles per sq ft???) Floor tilings is a personal choice. After the kids are gone to college and marriage. You would want to look onto the floor and marble have a timeless feel onto it. it was natural stone after all. |
Jul 8 2014, 08:33 PM
17 posts Joined: May 2014 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE(zeist @ Jun 22 2013, 10:51 PM) I wish to share my this client's marble floor. Sub-con appointed by owner. I you just polish, the stain will not be removed. If the marble have stain and dirty, need to grind first then vaccuum and grind to finer grade diamond disc before polishing. and then mr muscle marble and terrazzo 3 in 1 will be use for final touch and vaccuum. These workers never clean the floor properly before doing polishing work. Can see some dirt stucked inside. Looked awful. If its minor tiny dust cannot be seen but this is so obvious (10mm). If you have any holes or those black grouting you want to remove, you need to say beforehand with the sub-con polishing your floor. fixing grouting and filling holes takes time even with marble glue. not many marble polisher especially foreign worker are willing to do it. if you need anything about marble polishing next time, you can call 012-2182266 (Ah Pan). Remember got holes need to fill, need to inform before hand. time is money, if delay even 1 hour to fill holes and moves furniture, it will push the schedule forward. why do 2 days work when a person can finish in 1 day? |
Jul 11 2014, 12:13 AM
8 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
Hi all, we are a small team of people providing professional marble polishing in kl and klang valley. Please feel free to contact us at 0126187828 for free consultation...
Aug 6 2014, 08:19 PM
200 posts Joined: Jul 2013 |
Anyone has loose marble to sell? Looking for pink marble. Perhaps I want I buy a few pieces only. Pls pm me and let me know your price. My location is Damansara uptown or kepong. Thanks
Sep 5 2014, 10:40 AM
3 posts Joined: Sep 2014 |
can share the marble installer contact? thanks
Sep 7 2014, 01:36 PM
882 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
Not sure this is the right thread to ask.
I wonder if there is something call "quartz stone tile" which has the look & feel as "quartz" and diff is just that the tile will have joints. |
Jan 8 2015, 09:42 PM
35 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
QUOTE(kokmengng @ Sep 7 2014, 01:36 PM) Not sure this is the right thread to ask. There are many names for materials, i.e. generic names, as well as brand names. It gets complicated when the same design of stone, may have more than one name. To keep the story short - basically, it's either NATURAL STONE, or MANMADE (aka PORCELAIN TILE). The former is literally stone, as in, you find the stone on the mountain, then use a big saw to cut it into a slab and put in your home, while the latter, is processed in factory using clay as a base, mixed around with other stone or resin material, baked like a cake in a huge ass oven, then labelled a brand name. It may, or may not be full-bodied.I wonder if there is something call "quartz stone tile" which has the look & feel as "quartz" and diff is just that the tile will have joints. If you refer to the word 'Quartz', this on its own, is a type of Natural Stone, like diamond, marble, granite, slate, limestone, etc. As for your 'Quartz Stone Tile', hmmm..... sounds like some fancy name for some kind of quartz-looking manmade tile. As for 'joints', generally, most everything (in this context) has joints, including natural stones, depending on the size of the area it is applied onto and the design of the area, eg, counter top, floor, wall, etc. Joints just mean that each piece is not in its full single piece after application. Unless your pocket got no bottom, or that you are just using for a small table top, most applications of stones or tiles will have 'joints' at some point. |
Oct 12 2015, 03:24 PM
136 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
Hi I am looking for marble for about 800-1000 sqft. Is there any leftover marble to let go? Any good marble sifu to recommend?
My location is USJ. |
Oct 13 2015, 08:11 AM
1,407 posts Joined: May 2010 |
QUOTE(efy6kvl @ Oct 12 2015, 03:24 PM) Hi I am looking for marble for about 800-1000 sqft. Is there any leftover marble to let go? Any good marble sifu to recommend? U need around 5 to 6 ton of broken marble, don't think anyone got that much leftover. If u want, me got I think a quarter ton leftover. Type is Pink 2.My location is USJ. This post has been edited by Iceman74: Oct 13 2015, 09:26 AM |
Oct 13 2015, 10:32 PM
QUOTE(Iceman74 @ Oct 13 2015, 08:11 AM) U need around 5 to 6 ton of broken marble, don't think anyone got that much leftover. If u want, me got I think a quarter ton leftover. Type is Pink 2. Sorry its about 600 scf and not 800-1000 scf. Havent decide on the marble colour yet. Will go Salak and have a look this week. Any tips on the hacking, installation, polishing cost? Any good sifu-s to recommend? |
Oct 16 2015, 11:48 AM
Mind to pm me the marble installer?
Oct 21 2015, 04:49 PM
307 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
QUOTE(efy6kvl @ Oct 13 2015, 10:32 PM) Sorry its about 600 scf and not 800-1000 scf. There a shop at Jln Kuari called Sino China selling marble. You might want to check it out.Havent decide on the marble colour yet. Will go Salak and have a look this week. Any tips on the hacking, installation, polishing cost? Any good sifu-s to recommend? |
Oct 22 2015, 03:22 AM
79 posts Joined: May 2015 |
QUOTE(efy6kvl @ Oct 12 2015, 03:24 PM) Hi I am looking for marble for about 800-1000 sqft. Is there any leftover marble to let go? Any good marble sifu to recommend? hi, may try to previous contractor. He from Rawang granite and marble factory. He also did few LYN member house. U may ask for idea from him. 0163386962 or 0173886962. LIEW.My location is USJ. |
Nov 30 2015, 12:46 AM
1 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Good day all, I need about 100 sqft of broken marbles, is anyone have extras who willing to sell please?
If not, can anyone recommend where can I get in Klang valley? Much appreciated. Ken |
Apr 20 2022, 05:21 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
Probation
2 posts Joined: Apr 2022 |
Anyone have good recommendation on marble & granite installer ? Cheap and good quality! Thanks. |
Apr 21 2022, 04:57 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
54 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
Jun 23 2023, 05:58 PM
96 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
Anyone know what's the current supply & install rate for 2' x 2' Ipoh marble?
| Change to: | 0.0774sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:20 PM |