Gardening

hutazi
post Aug 14 2017, 09:02 AM

496 posts

QUOTE(badigol @ Aug 12 2017, 11:31 AM)
My brown habenero is 5feet tall, healthy leaves and flowers but no fruits.

[attachmentid=9039062]
wow nice. dunno aything about raising habanero, but perhaps not enough sunlight? i think these type like tons of son no?
hutazi
post Aug 21 2017, 01:06 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(zhongyuan @ Aug 21 2017, 12:06 PM)
Anyone facing white bugs/insect issue that likes to hide under the leaves?
Any solutions to this?

Also, anyone successfully grows avocado and lemon?
white bugs probably mealy bugs? if so i think just soapy water can deal with them if not big infestation.
hutazi
post Sep 20 2017, 01:39 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(frequency @ Sep 20 2017, 12:44 PM)
bout avocado

this is mine

right now it is about 5 feet tall

I tried about 5-6 seeds, only managed get 2 success and one dead due to excessive water (rain) when i was away for trip  bangwall.gif

It really took very very long time to sprout (more than 2 months for my case) . Don't use tap water (bcos of the chlorine)
wah. quite tall. but i think will need like 10-15 years before fruiting right?

tap water can use. but just leave it out in the sun first. then the clorine will evaporate. .
hutazi
post Oct 2 2017, 01:25 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(audy @ Oct 2 2017, 01:22 PM)
Anyone has your own veggie patch or pots ? smile.gif  I tried planting sawi in a planters box but they grew so so very slow and such small plants.  I decided to cabut all of them out.
im growing cherry tomatoes in a small pot. the tree is around 5ft tall. pot size is about 20cm x 20cm.

the plant is flowering but not many successful fruits. i think cause living in highrise so not many bugs to help pollinate. the plants can grow as long as fertilise and water properly. this is my second attempt. put more goat manuere and more watering sessions. so its growing much better.
hutazi
post Oct 2 2017, 04:24 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(audy @ Oct 2 2017, 04:20 PM)
If I remember correctly, within 1-2 weeks, I can see the seeds germinate.
wow so nice! jealous! mine had huge growth spurt and now maciam stuck... hope it picks up again.
hutazi
post Oct 3 2017, 08:56 AM

496 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Oct 2 2017, 07:00 PM)
try ajinomoto
just buy ajinomoto and sprinkle a bit and then water? was reading about it. but dunno how much to put... can help advise. thanks.
hutazi
post Oct 6 2017, 02:38 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(craftsnknots @ Oct 6 2017, 02:02 PM)
How often do I need to water mint? I'm planting them because apparently they are good rat deterrent and is necessary for mojito lol

They are currently in a pot on my breakfast table..bought it from the supermarket so didn't want to shock it and put it outside straight..I noticed some leaves have withered black spots while others are large and green.

I also have some cuttings submerged in water for it to root so that I can pot them along my sliding door. But my issue is that I'm not sure how much space to give the cuttings in a planter box. Also because the sliding door facing the garden gets a lot of sunlight and it may do very well or just die and the other sliding door is shaded...

Can you show me your mint plant so that i can see how sparse or tight they are in the pot?
i water my mint everyday cause they are in a small pot. if i dont water in the morning the plant all shrivled up. but within 10 min of water all hidu pand fresh again. but i dont use mint so its starting to get annoying. i really wanna throw hahahah.

mint is kinda a weed level... so they can probably grow in any amount of space as long as got fertilizer and water. they will take over all the space you give them. so dont think its good idea to share the planter with otehr plants.

i can post my mint later tonight if i remember. but they died when i went on a trip so i cut off everything above the soil and started watering. now starting to sprout again.... hard to kill this thing... its pretty packed.
hutazi
post Oct 16 2017, 09:11 AM

496 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Oct 15 2017, 03:01 PM)
It couldn't be that, as I water it only once a day, and didn't flood the soil. Could it be the location, then? to confirm, mint thrives in shaded / unshaded area?
put mint to get half day sun. and if the pot is small maybe drop some fertilizer in.. i use goat manure.
hutazi
post Oct 21 2017, 10:48 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Oct 21 2017, 10:34 PM)
Thanks! by the way, i find that my outdoor plants are affected by ants. not sure what species, but is there a way to handle this?
i just put some poison powder. find a trail not near to your plants (at least edible ones) and just sprinkle some on the trail. can buy from hardware store i think RM1-2.
hutazi
post Nov 30 2017, 09:09 AM

496 posts

dunno. but looks like a sorta normal plant. just water it when the soil gets a bit dry and since from cameron, i would put it in indirect sunlight. haha. sorry cant help. maybe check with malaysian gardeners FB
hutazi
post Dec 10 2017, 09:35 PM

496 posts

Nope. Just ajinomoto. Then my tomato plant like on crack lol. Flowers everywhere
hutazi
post Dec 16 2017, 07:20 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Dec 16 2017, 04:49 PM)
but does it bear more fruits?
Well the ones that get pollinated do I guess. I too lazy to self pollinate so I leave it to nature haha
hutazi
post Jan 8 2018, 01:38 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(audy @ Jan 8 2018, 12:37 PM)
Actually how to self pollinate?  Just shake the plant? That was what I did to my tomato plant last time. Don't know if that works or not...flowering was very slow and not that many anyway.
you try to add the ajinomoto. that one really boosted flowering.

self pollinate can be by shaking. or take electric toothbrush and vibrate the flower, using a tuning fork to vibrate the flower, some use paint brush and brush pollen on each flower sleep.gif. if rajin i just shake shake the plant. but doubt its effective. the toothbrush and tuning fork should be very effective.
hutazi
post Jan 12 2018, 09:47 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Jan 12 2018, 08:09 PM)
Any idea where to find wheatgrass seeds in Klang Valley?
Order off Lazada.
hutazi
post Jul 6 2018, 10:07 AM

496 posts

QUOTE(razorknight @ Jul 5 2018, 02:45 PM)
to me treatment to soil or change soil also same....

Do treatment is cheaper only as compare to changing the soil.

My idea is to plant those plants which got no roots or less roots as the soil condition is too hard!!!

Any suggestion for less roots plants or veg??
treatment of soil and changing the soil is not the same lah. its like using chicken essence in cooking, of course can use powder to make the soup, but using actual chicken sure lagi bes even though it takes longer.

if you seriously want to grow something just dig a hole (or if malas hire someone to do it). maybe just loosening the earth is enough, depending on what you are trying to plant. roots are strong and can push through the hard earth but they need to breathe a bit at first.

put some effort in the beginning to stop yourself from suffering later on. #pennywisepoundfoolish

hutazi
post Mar 4 2019, 10:12 AM

496 posts

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Mar 3 2019, 05:58 PM)
Recommended indoor plants, preferably leafy types (those that don't flower much), loves humidity and sunlight. But not cactus types, coz of the thorns. Recommendation?
snake plant/mother in law tongue
ivy (forgot the name, but all nursery got them. in pots, about 1m tall with the wooden stake to help climbing)
spider plant.
hutazi
post Jul 29 2019, 01:49 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(jian5481 @ Jul 29 2019, 11:12 AM)
Hey everyone, I have just moved into a newly completed landed house at the beginning of the year. The place was infested with the pest as shown. Already removed all existing soil along with all the plants, weeds, etc. in order to lay artificial grass with coarse sand underneath.

Definitely less of the pest now, and I would individually remove them when i see them. However, I could still easily find around 3-5 of them every single day. Any idea what this is and how I can permanently get rid of them?
oh nasty. i think thats a centipede. are they all from the garden? or you finding them in other parts of your house?

maybe can try DE (Diatomaceous earth)? can sprinkle it over your new lawn or their hot spots you find them
hutazi
post Jul 29 2019, 05:01 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(jian5481 @ Jul 29 2019, 03:32 PM)
None inside the house so far. All of them have been in the garden. Couldn't find any area where they are concentrated. It's usually one at a corner, another at the other end. Before I moved in, I could find their nests with dozens of them inside and destroyed them. Now, no nests can be found, but a few of them still linger around everyday.

They are usually found at open area in my garden, so DE might not be effective if it gets wet. More interested to know exactly what they are and how to track their nests.
ok lah. as long as only outside LOL. but DE becomes effective again after it dries so could still be good. but dunno if it works on such big insects.

keep us updated. looks damn creepy.

0.0379sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:12 PM