11 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 >Bottom

Monk Discussion V2, guides, opinions and builds for Monk!

ALeUNe
post Sep 27 2012, 12:46 AM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
9,692 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ Sep 26 2012, 08:49 PM)
Stone of Jordan.. rclxms.gif cheap wat monk's one smile.gif Just find 1 with + lightning damage and + % to Fot = Profit!!!!
Why you no have AR or at least physical resistance?? laugh.gif
ALeUNe
post Sep 28 2012, 01:38 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Sep 28 2012, 12:24 PM)
I think every monk will suffer from the STI nerf. How many of us are getting 1k STR + 2k armor from equipment? I tried this way but it sacrificing my DEX so much that it affect the effect of the DEX on attacking side.

NOTE: +2k armor means on average your 10pieces gear had to have +200 on average. Not an easy choice as to compensate others losses.

I think we'll be seeing more MoE+HT in higher MP levels.
I already upgraded few gears.
I still can keep my armor at 6K+ (without shield) after patch 105.

Added on September 28, 2012, 1:56 pm
QUOTE(clautee @ Sep 28 2012, 01:38 PM)
... I've nt start to hit mobs already kiss floor at encounter of large group mobs.
May I know which Act? A3?

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Sep 28 2012, 01:56 PM
ALeUNe
post Oct 3 2012, 10:18 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(duabijitelur @ Oct 2 2012, 12:32 PM)
http://us.battle.net/d3/en/profile/duabiji...85/hero/4396871
hmm anyone sell cheap stuff for monk?
wanna upgrade monk for act 3 farming biggrin.gif
Let me know if you want these.

ALeUNe
post Oct 3 2012, 12:50 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(M2K2Land @ Oct 3 2012, 11:41 AM)
As I mention before Yes... wanted to see my MAX buff ma biggrin.gif Yeah but quite disappointing not AR (I scarified for 50 Arcane and 70 AR, I am not sure worth or not, now left 700+ AR) in the pant but already appreciated after so long never drop any good thing.
You can try PTR to find out whether you can survive or not with 700+ AR.
If you can survive, you can keep the Inna's pants.

Added on October 3, 2012, 1:02 pm
QUOTE(LifeX @ Oct 3 2012, 09:55 AM)
You all so lucky. :-( I got nothing yesterday :-(
Likewise, couldn't find a sh-t yesterday.

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Oct 3 2012, 01:02 PM
ALeUNe
post Oct 3 2012, 01:32 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(M2K2Land @ Oct 3 2012, 01:24 PM)
Does the PTR link to our current account? download 8GB right?
It picks up your char from your account.
Whatever thing in PTR, stays in PTR.
It is a test environment.
ALeUNe
post Oct 3 2012, 01:46 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(sexbomb @ Oct 3 2012, 01:42 PM)
the inna chest droped yesterday. got really lucky since it has nice rolls
couldnt bring myself to sell it so i end up using it
Yup, the one you got is godly.
With high AR.
ALeUNe
post Oct 5 2012, 02:29 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(duhdude @ Oct 5 2012, 01:17 AM)
Got zunimassa set boots yesterday at fields of slaughter using monk paragon 20
Have you sold it? Show me the stats of the boots.
ALeUNe
post Oct 6 2012, 04:17 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ Oct 5 2012, 04:12 PM)
... at least offer an alternative...
Just want to touch on the alternative.

IMO, the alternative would be changing gears.

I am not sure whether you aware or not, Blizzard has been giving us many many gears.

i.e. It is common to have 700-800+ Armor from the chest armor and pants nowadays.
i.e. Gears like Vile Ward is giving tons of Armor/AR/Core stat. Another example is Ice Climbers.
i.e. It is also getting common for a yellow rare to have 200+ core stat and high armor. You know, yellow rare with the core stat of "Ice Climbers" or "Vile Ward" (refer to the attachment).

I didn't bid the pants for my Monk today (as I planned to upgrade gears for my Wiz/WD instead). The price of the pants was about 40m+.
God-like attributes, 713 Armor / 135 STR / 90 DEX / 180 VIT / 80 AR / 50 PHY RESIST / 2 sockets
If I got this item, my armor after patch 105 will be about 6400-6500. And AR will be 1080. Both armor & AR unbuffed.

Added on October 6, 2012, 4:21 am
QUOTE(KenAragorn @ Oct 5 2012, 10:37 PM)
Phew....was trying my luck in Normal mode, Act 2, Vault of the Assassin for 5 stack of NV, then go to clear Oasis....finally got the ring.  tongue.gif

Your resistance at level 60 + Paragon LVL12... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Oct 6 2012, 04:30 AM

ALeUNe
post Oct 6 2012, 11:40 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Oct 6 2012, 10:27 AM)
i'm afraid 90 dex is not exactly godly by today standards...  sweat.gif

40mil?! i rather farm till i drop!  laugh.gif
90 dex with 2 free sockets. Insert 2 x 50 DEX gems and you'll have 190 DEX.

713 Armor + 135 STR + 190 DEX = 1038 Armor for a pants.
Not godly?

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Oct 6 2012, 11:50 AM
ALeUNe
post Oct 7 2012, 06:31 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Oct 7 2012, 12:46 PM)
armor is godly, agree. but dex is a little low. may be i need to change my perception a little towards armor. after testing MP5 for quite some times... i really think i need to invest a little bit more in armor.

in 1.04, my armor is 6.8k (with eirena). feel really nice. with both STI and eirena nerf in 1.05, my armor is only 5.1k  sad.gif MP5 mobs is quite painful.
Not just the armor.
If you look at all attributes, this is a rare yellow godly item.

713 Armor
135 STR
90 DEX
180 VIT
80 All Resistance
50 Phy Resist
2 sockets

Added on October 8, 2012, 11:07 pmWhy monk thread so quiet today? Com'on, let me cheer you up. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Oct 8 2012, 11:07 PM
ALeUNe
post Oct 9 2012, 09:27 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Oct 9 2012, 09:20 AM)
Every monk is depress upon the 1.0.5 incoming nerf wave...
Do not feel disheartened.
With healing skills/serenity, Monk is still the best tanker.

Patch 105 will need more co-op from various characters.
ALeUNe
post Oct 9 2012, 11:22 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 9 2012, 11:18 AM)

I have mindfvck to see you post this as well.
ALeUNe
post Oct 9 2012, 02:35 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ Oct 9 2012, 02:30 PM)
Lol..can ...monk can still be the best tanker...

just load up 2.k LoH, 5.6% LS, 800 Regen...and stack AR + Armor + Vit.

DPS....maybe 9k? But still the immortal tanker..smile.gif
LOH/LS will do. Regen per second is too slow.

If you have budget, you can have 60-70K DPS.
If you have small budget, 40-60K DPS is achievable.
If you have no budget, 20-30K is obtainable.

9K if you equip with a shield + half of the LOH/LS that you rightfully get, which is a wrong build. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Oct 9 2012, 02:37 PM
ALeUNe
post Oct 9 2012, 03:22 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(sexbomb @ Oct 9 2012, 03:20 PM)
took a break from d3 for the past 1-2 days
Hmmm... nothing to upgrade anymore? laugh.gif
I have itchy hand to revamp the gears for my monk... hmm.gif
ALeUNe
post Oct 9 2012, 03:36 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(sexbomb @ Oct 9 2012, 03:25 PM)
got, my gloves...but prices are ridiculous so im just like waiting for 105 to be out.
not in a hurry since i already hit my target 100k dps.
upgraded all my gems the other day. quite broke now lulz
I find your gloves are good.
I think it is better to upgrade your right ring.

P/S You bought all 8 radiant stars? shocking.gif

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Oct 9 2012, 03:37 PM
ALeUNe
post Oct 9 2012, 07:02 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 9 2012, 05:21 PM)
yeah like the other classes cant do that amirite?

you know, considering the polar opposites, you and aleune should go on a debate on how is monk's survival.

no really i am curious.
Until you play other classes of heroes then you know.

Just a general idea for you.
For Wiz and WD, 1H weapon and the other hand source/mojo. This virtually means they have at least half LOH/LS lesser..
DH, "good tanker" for some build but it is not really as good as monk due to lack of healing skills/4 seconds serenity.
Barb? Barbs don't tank anymore.

I used to say Wiz is the best tanker.
But after so many patches, not anymore unless there is revamp of gears.

I have mindfvck for you.

Added on October 9, 2012, 7:03 pm
QUOTE(ronn77 @ Oct 9 2012, 06:15 PM)
I have a question here.
If i equip weapon on both hand with attribute 500 life per sec, will it means for each hit I will get 1000 life per sec or just 500 life per sec?
it will be 500 + 500 = 1000.

Added on October 9, 2012, 7:05 pm
QUOTE(dreaming @ Oct 9 2012, 05:39 PM)
hi sifu monks,

anyone using skorn (without life steal) and break 100k DPS?
can share your items build?

thanks in advance smile.gif

-----------------

i have a skorn (without life steal), DPS 1300+, dex 330+, gear up only reach 89k DPS  sad.gif
I see few monks in public game using Skorn.

Yes, a powerful build with more than 100K DPS.
Stack it up with IAS gears.

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Oct 9 2012, 07:16 PM
ALeUNe
post Oct 9 2012, 07:10 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 9 2012, 07:08 PM)
yeap those are definitely a worthy solid argument points.

hell, i'm not sure if you even got the definition of tanking right, as you clearly couldn't get "crowd control" (CC) right in the first place
Go check with a DH on how he/she tank.
Then you know the definition of tank.

I think you monk still doesn't have teleport skill. laugh.gif
ALeUNe
post Oct 10 2012, 11:11 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Oct 10 2012, 11:05 AM)
Ever since ALeUNe set a damn high standard in his "stand-wack" Ghom video, I always wanted to do the same. Found a lame sword recently, I gave it a go:

10 millions for 2 fist weapon is not a high standard.
It is just a way of doing it.

You can do the same with a lame sword. How could it be high standard? Everyone can do it. nod.gif

P/S I set no standard to anyone. I just share how you can do it. wink.gif

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Oct 10 2012, 11:14 AM
ALeUNe
post Oct 10 2012, 03:31 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ Oct 10 2012, 03:11 PM)
Yeah..LS is the "in" thing now...prices gone up a lot. I notice LS procs with SW, hence I have dropped cyclone and replaced it with blade storm. Can face tank Ghom, Azmo with 700 AR and 35k DPS, 5.8 LS, 1.5k LoH. No skills involved..just spam overraw..blind ...... indeed its the lazy man style...lol. Can run with 0 death sometimes in Act 3 in co-op...
Precisely.
non-skill for a lazy man. laugh.gif
ALeUNe
post Oct 10 2012, 08:02 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ Oct 10 2012, 03:11 PM)
Yeah..LS is the "in" thing now...prices gone up a lot. I notice LS procs with SW, hence I have dropped cyclone and replaced it with blade storm. Can face tank Ghom, Azmo with 700 AR and 35k DPS, 5.8 LS, 1.5k LoH. No skills involved..just spam overraw..blind ...... indeed its the lazy man style...lol. Can run with 0 death sometimes in Act 3 in co-op...
gladly, i used to test blade storm. It didn't work quite well as compared to cyclone.
So i opt for cyclone.

I saw your message and tempted to test blade storm again. I still find it doesn't work as well as cyclone.
I have 2500 LOH + 5.7% LS.

May be it is just me... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Oct 10 2012, 08:03 PM

11 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 >Top

0.0461sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:25 PM