Hobbies Model Trains (HO, N, O, G scale...), Discuss and share here

Funderland
post Jun 2 2012, 12:30 PM

QUOTE(judge-the @ Jun 1 2012, 04:40 PM)
everything still on a flat surface... very small layout... noob layout. just pm me if you are at seremban
i ran out of space to put my trains on the layout smile.gif

will drop by soon at your shop, need some materials

hmmm... faller train's platform?
Yes, is faller trains platform...how you know? haha....

This post has been edited by VincC454: Jun 12 2012, 09:19 PM
Funderland
post Jun 5 2012, 02:43 PM

QUOTE(judge-the @ Jun 4 2012, 12:33 PM)
faller products are very nice but pricey too. i bought some secondhand platforms recently, got them very cheap. those that in your pic are a little bit new/modern

hope can see these 2 pics in my attachment. 2 of my favorites locomotives, kato sd70
Faller is one of my favorite also. Don't worry, you can still find some with cheaper price.
Or you can directly buy the scenery also, can save some money.

Those locomotives is digital or analogue? Look so nice!
Funderland
post Jun 7 2012, 04:56 PM

QUOTE(judge-the @ Jun 5 2012, 04:25 PM)
both locomotives are powered and digital too... using digitrax decoders. i don't run analogue smile.gif

i did a kibri warehouse 4 months ago and i think kibri is much more precise and easier to built than faller. either way both faller and kibri are good products
I agree with you, both are good product, but as my opinion I prefer Faller because of the detail...haha...
By the way, hope can visit your place to see your trains someday.. drool.gif
Funderland
post Jun 11 2012, 11:53 AM

QUOTE(judge-the @ Jun 9 2012, 07:18 PM)
sure can visit but my layout still on flat surface no real landscape yet... not enough space to put everything on the layout. my remaining items should be arriving by end of next week, don't know how much kastam will tax those personal collections

i'm not so particular about roadnames and era... too me price is always number one. that's why if you look at the attached pic, i have various roadnames
yes, I saw it. you had a lot of model trains...haha..by the way, how you shit your items back to malaysia? using ships or plane?

Added on June 11, 2012, 11:54 am
QUOTE(mrave07 @ Jun 11 2012, 12:46 AM)
Hello Guys,

Very Interesting to know there are many train modellers in Malaysia. It is also my hobby. At present i have a OO gauge model from Hornby, Bachmann Branchline. Mine is DCC (Hornby).

Im planning to start a 11 x 7 feet layout. At present mine is 6 x 4 feet (all ready dismantle most of it to start the new lay out).
To all you bros out there who wants to buy train models (the whole works!) biggrin.gif . My advise is go to Ebay. There price there is very much cheaper.
Cheers

M.Ravendran

(Feel free to drop a few notes in my email - mrave07@gamail.com)
thanks mrave07...can you show some photo of your layout?

Added on June 11, 2012, 11:56 am
QUOTE(mrave07 @ Jun 11 2012, 02:00 AM)
My layout after partly dismantle.

[attachmentid=2886238]

[attachmentid=2886239]

[attachmentid=2886240]

[attachmentid=2886241]

Added on June 11, 2012, 2:48 amCheck out my layout

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=73K0Cofl5zc&feature=youtu.be
Bachmann Class 55 DCC Sound

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vYh_DTCiWx4&feature=youtu.be
now i saw it..haha...watching your youtube video~ drool.gif

Added on June 11, 2012, 11:58 amuser posted image

Tips of Cleaning Track

Use green Scotch pad type scrub sponge (dry) or a fine sandpaper to clean that dirty track. Works especially well on the larger gauges. Never use steel wool on track. It creates tiny gouges that fill with dirt and never come clean. Use rubbing alcohol or liquid track cleaning solution to clean really dirty track.

Try an ordinary pencil eraser if you don't have an abrasive cleaning block, but need a quick track cleaning. Having clean locomotive wheels can be as important as clean rails as those wheels carry electricity to the motor. Eliminating as many sources of track grime as possible---dust and cigarette smoke, for example---will make cleaning your track easier.

This post has been edited by VincC454: Jun 12 2012, 09:16 PM
Funderland
post Jun 11 2012, 12:02 PM

QUOTE(judge-the @ Jun 11 2012, 11:59 AM)
all my precious locomotives were checked-in into my flight when i flew back here last month. don't wanna take any risk at all.

the rest are all on the ship... shipping company told me should be arriving today at port klang but so far still nothing
have you check with the shipping company?
Funderland
post Jun 11 2012, 12:13 PM

QUOTE(judge-the @ Jun 11 2012, 12:10 PM)
the local agent at port klang will let me know once my cargo is here. my main concern now is the tax since i have so many train items... even though all those are my personal collection they will still find a way to tax them
yeah also....malaysia's kastam... mad.gif
Funderland
post Jun 16 2012, 06:11 PM

[quote=yamyinhao,Jun 11 2012, 01:09 PM]congrat bro , i need so more information and advice before i really start to setup 1 set .

For me I think that's the price is no much different compare to you buy from Singapore or ebay, except the local retail shop they din follow the recommended price and mark up a lot.

Added on June 16, 2012, 6:13 pm[quote=zerouzer,Jun 11 2012, 01:14 PM]wow thats awesome stuff.. how much do you reckon you paid for all of that? newb here..

[/quote]
depends on what locomotive or track you buy, price range from a few hundred to a few thousand. For a starter i will suggest buy a starter-set, can buy a cheaper one first

Added on June 16, 2012, 6:14 pm[quote=judge-the,Jun 11 2012, 01:50 PM]ebay does can get very cheap but again shipping also expensive unless you do combine shipping
try invest/spend a little bit more and get a DCC setup... after that you don't have to upgrade anymore. but do pick carefully as some DCC controller have limitations on number of locomotives can run simultaneously

my humble layout... still very basic

[/quote]

wow!! rclxms.gif
how many trains running on that layout?

Added on June 16, 2012, 6:18 pm[quote=judge-the,Jun 11 2012, 04:41 PM]hornby digital select is a good beginner dcc setup. i started with hornby digital select, after that upgraded to bachmann ez-command. now i'm using mrc prodigy advance 2 because it allow me to program 4 digits address according to most of my locomotives. when i have extra budget i'll get a 8amp booster for my controller.

[/quote]
For DCC, i like ROCO one, it can program until 9000++ locomotives!!!! drool.gif
But of course, I can't control that much. For me, 4 locomotives is enough already

Added on June 16, 2012, 6:20 pm[quote=mrave07,Jun 11 2012, 04:51 PM]Check out my layout (4 x 6) before i dismantle it ........... biggrin.gif
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=53zfQSx33cY&feature=youtu.be
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gqKwNV4zc2s&feature=youtu.be

Added on June 11, 2012, 5:23 pm

Scale OO - Most of the Bachmann Branchline is compatible with hornby, lima, heljan, dapol, graham farish.

Tracks - Bachmann/Hornby/Peco are compatible.
Cheers  biggrin.gif

[/quote]
nice! rclxms.gif
why don't you make your layout a beautiful landscape? add on some flowers, trees, mountain....

Added on June 16, 2012, 6:22 pm[quote=judge-the,Jun 13 2012, 06:40 AM]i'm using model power and hornby points/switches. a friend told me before, the company who manufacturer model power points is the same company who did atlas points. as for now my layout still not finalized yet so i didn't wired everything up yet. still waiting for my remaining items from auckland.

my yard is using hornby points, some new and some old ones. i was lucky bought a bunch of them for $1 each when i was at auckland

we should arrange a teh tarik session with everyone smile.gif

[/quote]

Yes, I agress! we should arrange a teh tarik session with everyone....

Added on June 16, 2012, 6:24 pm[quote=mrave07,Jun 13 2012, 11:47 AM]Im staying at Ampang. Yeah we can go for a teh tarik.

Cheers  biggrin.gif

M.Ravendran (017-2644886)

Added on June 13, 2012, 11:59 am
Im comfy with British OO scale trains. The decoders and the trains are mostly compatible with each others. Most of my locos are from Hornby and Bachmann Branchline.  Most of the couplings are NEM standard. Bachmann DCC Sound locos are around RM800.00 to RM1,200.00.

Hi Mr Jugde .... quite interesting to know you know how to  convert a analog loco to DCC. I want to learned about there wiring. Cos converting a analog loco to DCC on board is much cheaper.

I use Hornby/Bachmann and Peco tracks.

Cheers  biggrin.gif

M.Rave

[/quote]

I'm in PJ area....don't forget me..let me know when and where is the teh tarik session.... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by VincC454: Jun 24 2012, 10:40 AM
Funderland
post Jun 18 2012, 10:42 AM

[quote=mrave07,Jun 16 2012, 06:42 PM]nice! rclxms.gif
why don't you make your layout a beautiful landscape? add on some flowers, trees, mountain........
That is why i asked you , do you sell landscape and ballast?

Added on June 16, 2012, 6:47 pm

I'm in PJ area....don't forget me..let me know when and where is the teh tarik session.... laugh.gif

[/quote]
Yes for a start lets list down our friends info (Train Modellers - biggrin.gif )
1. M.Ravendran (Ampang) - 017-2644886

[/quote]

Yes. We do have landscape and ballast....

Added on June 18, 2012, 10:43 am[quote=zolarius,Jun 16 2012, 10:31 PM]
Yes for a start lets list down our friends info (Train Modellers -  biggrin.gif )
1.  M.Ravendran (Ampang) - 017-2644886
2. Judge (Tg Malim/Seremban)- 019-6700969
3. Zol - Setapak, KL - 0192610512
4. Funderland - 0173847043

This post has been edited by Funderland: Jun 18 2012, 10:46 AM
Funderland
post Jun 25 2012, 12:50 PM

Scale VS Gauge

The terms scale and gauge are two of the most confused terms in the model railroad hobby.

“Scale” relates to the comparative ratio of measurements between a model and its full-size prototype. The SCALE proportion is expressed as a fraction of a real life-sized railroad. As an example, HO scale is 1/87 the size of real life-sized railroads.

“Gauge,” the second aspect of a model’s size, refers to the space between the rails of the track. For model trains, track GAUGE is the width between the inside running edge of the rails. For toy trains, gauge is the measurement from the center of the two outside rails. There are two main types: standard gauge and narrow gauge. In the US, Canada and most European countries, trains run on "standard gauge."

Interesting Fact:
There are few narrow gauge railroads still in operation. Some have been converted to the standard railroad system. Others have been dismantled and turned into scrap. Even though narrow gauge railroads were inexpensive to build, off loading and on loading became too much of an expense. Each time a narrow gauge railroad met a standard railroad, shipments would have to be unloaded and reloaded.

The same locomotive in six different scales, measuring just 2¾" long in Z scale up to a whopping 20¾" long in large scale

The most popular gauge for toy trains is O, with 1¼ inches between the rails and built to a ratio of 1:48. The 50-foot locomotive in the photo is 12½ inches long in O.

HO Scale Steam Locomotive

Scale models built to be approximately half the size of O gauge models are called HO. These trains have a relationship of 1:87 to their full-size compatriots, and the track gauge measures 16.5 mm. HO trains are small enough to allow you to plan a satisfying layout in a compact space, and still are large enough to show off lots of detail and be easy to work with. HO railroading is the most popular of the scales, with more than two-thirds of modelers making it their top choice.

N scale Diesel Locomotive

Smaller still is N scale. Rolling stock and locomotives of this size are designed to be in a ratio of 1:160 to their prototypes. The track gauge is 9 mm between the rails. N scale works well for modelers who don’t have a lot of space at their disposal or who prefer to run their trains through truly expansive scenery.

Even smaller are Z scale trains. Their pro-portion to the prototype is 1:220, and they run on track whose rails are 6.5 mm apart. How tiny is this scale? That 50-foot locomotive measures just 2¾ inches in Z.

Which size is best? No one scale is right for everyone. Look at several scales and consider how much space you have to devote to your trains. Talk with experienced modelers, or hobby shop employees. Don’t worry if you change your mind and later decide that a different scale is a better choice for you. No matter what you choose, prepare to have a blast!
Funderland
post Jun 26 2012, 12:02 PM

QUOTE(judge-the @ Jun 25 2012, 03:06 PM)
busy working here in tg malim and so far from ampang smile.gif

received call from my local agent at port klang this morning. my boxes are arriving at seremban by tomorrow noon... then need to think how to sort out all the extra HO scale rolling stocks
congratulation!
Funderland
post Jun 27 2012, 02:54 PM

QUOTE(zolarius @ Jun 26 2012, 10:41 PM)
very informative...TQ.

Added on June 26, 2012, 10:45 pm

A'ah good idea...I've no problem...kalau tak kerja I'll confirm with you this coming Friday...

Added on June 26, 2012, 10:51 pm

bro, I started with C size battery operated train...still keep the train... don't worry whether cool or not, for as long as it is train its ok with me...please can you upload the photo of the coupling...I'll try to look in by drawer...kalau ada you are lucky...kalau takda bo luck lah...
you're welcome...c size battery operated train? like this one?
i remember i had one before, but dunno where i put it already

Added on June 27, 2012, 2:54 pm
QUOTE(judge-the @ Jun 27 2012, 02:44 PM)
all my boxes are currently backhome. lucky... no tax smile.gif
this weekend will be very busy. need to redo my layout because too many things can't fit everything
good. remember to take more picture and share with us

This post has been edited by Funderland: Jun 27 2012, 02:54 PM
Funderland
post Jun 30 2012, 06:39 PM

so when is the teh tarik session?

Added on June 30, 2012, 6:40 pm
QUOTE(mrave07 @ Jun 30 2012, 06:35 PM)
Hi ..... My 11 x 7 ft is in progress now ....... wink.gif

Jus ordered by steel bracket for my layout.

My future train room

[attachmentid=2921861]
[attachmentid=2921864]
My new shelf in my train room.... jus built today to place part my hornby & bachmann branchline collection , another lhalf still in the box  ...... smile.gif

[attachmentid=2921870]

[attachmentid=2921871]

[attachmentid=2921876]
Can't wait to start my new layout ........... rclxm9.gif
Cheers ........ brows.gif
i can't wait to see your full layout.... rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Funderland: Jun 30 2012, 06:40 PM
Funderland
post Jul 3 2012, 05:20 PM

QUOTE(mrave07 @ Jul 1 2012, 05:41 PM)
My new layout plan
[attachmentid=2923722]
got how many floor?? 2?

Added on July 3, 2012, 5:25 pmWhat is DCC?

DCC stands for Digital Command Control. It is a system where digital commands are sent to the locomotives through the rails.

The layouts in former times used block control, each required its own power pack and a complex control panel to keep each locomotive electrically separate from each other. But DCC allows independent control of multiple locomotives within the same block. DCC provides for digital control of turnouts and signaling as well. Other features include a multitude of sounds, block detection, momentum control, and the ability to lash together locomotives.

DCC is an NMRA standard. This means locomotives equipped with decoders from various manufacturers may be used with any DCC system!

A DCC system consists of five basic components:
Command Station – The heart or brains of DCC. The Command Station is a dedicated computer that communicates with all other parts of the DCC system.

Throttle or Cab – The man-machine interface between You, the engineer, and the Command Station controlling the train. Some systems use a plug-in, walk-around Throttle, with the possibility that more than one can be used at the same time. Some systems have Throttles built into the Command Station.

Booster – A power amplifier of the communication signals from the Command Station into power applied to the track. Some starter systems combine a Command Station and Booster into one box. Almost all Boosters require an external Power Supply. The ampere rating of the Booster and Power Supply will limit how many locos you can run at the same time. Some Boosters are in a separately available box and may be controllable from a Command Stations of a different brand.

Power Supply – An AC transformer or DC power source for the Command Station and track power Booster. The Power Supply is NOT INCLUDED with many DCC equipment systems and must be purchased separately. An additional Power Supply is usually required with each additional Booster.

Loco Decoder – An electronic receiver inside the loco out on the track. The Decoder receives communications from the Command Station and controls the loco motor and lighting effects. Some Decoders also add locomotive sounds to operation. Every DCC controlled locomotive must have its own decoder. But any brand of Loco decoder should work with any brand of DCC Command Station / Throttle equipment.

In a simple terms, DCC (Digital Command Control) is a way to run a lot of trains on your tracks without a whole lot of complicated wiring, toggle switches, and power packs."

This post has been edited by Funderland: Jul 3 2012, 05:25 PM
Funderland
post Jul 4 2012, 06:20 PM

QUOTE(zolarius @ Jul 3 2012, 07:11 PM)
Wow!!! sexy looking blue set, how much is the above set?

Can we connect Lokmaus 2 mouse to this set?.
Do you mean can it connect to 2 controller? Yes, it can. According to ROCO, the amplifier provides 2 direct connections (master & slave) for a multiMAUS and e.g. another mouse. The amplifier prepares the 'Master mouse' data for running and switching operation. The track output delivers 3.2A. Other multiMAUS devies, RoutesControls or the interface with RocoMotion can only be connected on the 'slave' output.

Added on July 4, 2012, 6:24 pm
QUOTE(judge-the @ Jul 4 2012, 11:31 AM)
my simple setup in my office room. too many things so need to split them at 2 different locations; home and office smile.gif
can't do anything fancy here so only pure basic setup because at workplace
how many locomotive running on it? blush.gif

This post has been edited by Funderland: Jul 4 2012, 06:24 PM
Funderland
post Jul 5 2012, 01:05 PM

QUOTE(judge-the @ Jul 5 2012, 09:12 AM)
HO scale... i can't survive with n-scale too small smile.gif
thinking of running 2 locos simultaneously on this basic layout
I'm thinking wanna visit you to see your train and layout...wakaka
Funderland
post Jul 7 2012, 12:21 PM

QUOTE(zolarius @ Jul 5 2012, 08:09 PM)
please refer below as explained by FUNDERLAND.

Added on July 5, 2012, 8:09 pm

Thanks FUNDERLAND.
haha...you're welcome

Added on July 7, 2012, 1:16 pmDo you guys still remember this? Raya Decoration in Sunway Pyramid at 2010

This post has been edited by Funderland: Jul 7 2012, 01:16 PM
Funderland
post Jul 15 2012, 11:04 AM

QUOTE(judge-the @ Jul 9 2012, 08:50 PM)
user posted image[/IMG]
think pretty much done here in my room

Close up on my intersections
nice bro...very impressive

Added on July 15, 2012, 11:05 am
QUOTE(alhazen @ Jul 12 2012, 01:47 AM)
Abang Zul, ni saya lah - Din  biggrin.gif Tengah tunggu NCE ProCab DCC controller belum sampai lagi ni...

Added on July 12, 2012, 2:06 amBy the way, just for sharing - here is my train station diorama that I made a few years back:

nice...can you show more picture?

Added on July 15, 2012, 11:22 am
QUOTE(zolarius @ Jul 9 2012, 10:39 PM)
Welcome bro...Are you into DC, DCC, 2 rail or 3 rail? BTW where is your location?

So far:

1. M.Ravendran (Ampang) - 017-2644886 (mrave07)
2. Judge (Tg Malim/Seremban)- 019-6700969 (judge-the)
3. Zol - Setapak, KL - 0192610512 (zolarius)
4. FUNDERLAND 0173847043 (FUNDERLAND)
5. you're next (alhazen)
thanks...so when is the meet of us?

This post has been edited by Funderland: Jul 15 2012, 11:22 AM
Funderland
post Jul 17 2012, 06:50 PM

QUOTE(zolarius @ Jul 15 2012, 10:16 PM)
oh no wonder I tried a few times x dapat.  OK nice talking with you.

Added on July 15, 2012, 10:30 pm

ya la when can we meet bros, next week puasa starts on Saturday (21) if I'm not mistaken.  Looks like after hari raya some where end of August.
sure, i can't wait to meet you guys

Added on July 17, 2012, 6:50 pm
QUOTE(alhazen @ Jul 16 2012, 03:09 AM)
As requested, here is the photos of my other diorama.

wao!!! I love your layout very much!!!

Added on July 17, 2012, 6:51 pm
QUOTE(judge-the @ Jul 16 2012, 12:56 PM)
bro alhazen, very the impressive!!!

i was busy with my layout at home... still work in progress. will continue again this weekend.
i have no more space... wife already bising about the whole room been dedicated to trains

haha...it's normal one la.... why dun turn your wife become the hobbyist also... then she won't bising anymore

This post has been edited by Funderland: Jul 17 2012, 06:51 PM
Funderland
post Jul 21 2012, 01:19 PM

Just for info, Funderland opened at Paradigm Mall

This layout come with analogue, digital and also car system

This post has been edited by Funderland: Jul 21 2012, 01:19 PM
Funderland
post Jul 25 2012, 04:44 PM

QUOTE(judge-the @ Jul 23 2012, 08:50 PM)
congrats! will try find free time and drop by soon. new opening no special discount for forumers?

right now really desperate for a xuron track cutter!
sure. Just tell the person there, you're modeller from lowyat.net...

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0223sec    1.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:30 PM