Issue with 2008 Honda City

babygrand123
post Apr 12 2014, 05:59 AM

672 posts

QUOTE(ohy85 @ Sep 5 2013, 05:00 PM)
i know the problem. basically it's nothing to do with the CVT and there are a few problems that might have the same symptoms. i will list down most common ones first:

1. sparkplugs: Honda City 1.5 CVT uses iridium plugs. According to honda the plugs have lifespan of 100,000km but have known to be faulty even at 60k if you constantly rev over 5k RPM. mine died at 70,000km because i'm a vtec person.
symptoms: doesn't cause that much vibration but you will notice the RPM will dip suddenly causing the car to jerk at times when idling and also when slow accelleration. many have feared that their CVT have problems but this is not the case. just change the plugs. not any plugs because you have to use the same factory NGK iridium plugs. Damage: RM200+/set
Solution: replace

2. intake are control valve (IACV): most common issue associated with RPM drop when stopping, also when your aircon compressor kicks in. This version of honda city do not use an electronic sensor, the IACV is more of an actuator that controls the air flow to maintain stable idling. It controls air when you press on the brakes, turn your steering wheel, aircon kicks in, putting in D, etc. pretty much everything. this module rarely spoils but it can get dirty causing unstable idling when you do one of the above. if left unchecked, it can also lead to flywheel problem which is your next problem.
symptoms: RPM drops rapidly when you brake, compressor kicks in, turn your wheel, put on D.
Solution: just need to clean it but that's the tricky part. the IACV is screwed onto the throttle body with 4 security torx screws and no workshop have the key to open it. Honda CC will not bother to clean it for you and most probably ask you to change the entire throttle body. After some pain aching time, i got my friend to buy the security torx screw set for his workshop and i fixed the problem there.

3. flywheel: the CVT version uses a flywheel that sort of looks like a clutch, torque converter combo. There are 4 springs on this thing that can get loose over time. if this happens, it will increase the vibration and cause some crackling sound then the RPM drops too low.
Symptoms: most noticable when you put on reverse. RPM drops and engine seem to vibrate uncontrollably. you will hear the some crackling sound (that's actually the sound of your flywheel) just before your gear frees itself automatically and the RPM kicks back up by your ECU. This feature is meant to protect your engine and transmission but can get annoying at times.
Solution: change flywheel set for RM1400 at any Honda CC.
Honda City CVT issues: earlier models had issue with CVT but is only associated with aeroplane noises when idling and cruising. This problem was fixed and no longer present itself after the 2005 model. i believe they made the steel belt bigger and stronger. Many are also caused by workshops unfamiliar with CVT and used ATF when they should have used CVTF. Just make sure you service and replace the CVTF every 18,000km and you are safe. My Honda City Vtec 2007 model is already nearing 300,000km mileage and the CVT still works perfectly.
thanks for sharing bro thumbup.gif
TSguilt79
post Apr 12 2014, 10:30 AM

149 posts

I didn't manage to solve this problem..

Lost patience and sold the car already.. bye.gif bye.gif bye.gif

BTW, hope the new City don't have this issue. After this, kinda lost confidence in CVT.. cry.gif

This post has been edited by guilt79: Apr 12 2014, 10:31 AM
dav3
post Apr 27 2014, 12:47 AM

230 posts

my car still having the jerking problem under D mode after Clean Air Intake Manifold. I guess i have to change the spark plug for verification
frostworld
post Apr 29 2014, 07:03 PM

DD♥BB
563 posts

Solved my prob, change the flywheel. and do not do it at honda sc, as they charge u a bomb!
wrb7878
post May 19 2014, 12:23 PM

843 posts

Finally i also solved my problem.
ftptwistedclown
post May 26 2014, 08:22 AM

242 posts

QUOTE(frostworld @ Apr 29 2014, 07:03 PM)
Solved my prob, change the flywheel. and do not do it at honda sc, as they charge u a bomb!
QUOTE(wrb7878 @ May 19 2014, 12:23 PM)
flywheel? how much it cost? and where u done it?
Volfeed
post May 26 2014, 02:07 PM

396 posts

Did a check on my City last week, find out the flywheel also need replacing.

Problem -> Jerking during acceleration / CVT auto shift down. Hopefully this will eliminate the problem.

Mileage: 260,000 km already.

This post has been edited by Volfeed: May 26 2014, 02:08 PM
frostworld
post May 26 2014, 10:46 PM

DD♥BB
563 posts

QUOTE(wrb7878 @ May 19 2014, 12:23 PM)
QUOTE(ftptwistedclown @ May 26 2014, 08:22 AM)
wrb7878, you solved by changing flywheel as well? How much u did it?
Mine at RM1200 inclusive of ats oil change, flywheel, labour.

wrb7878
post May 30 2014, 11:35 AM

843 posts

QUOTE(frostworld @ May 26 2014, 10:46 PM)
wrb7878, you solved by changing flywheel as well? How much u did it?
Mine at RM1200 inclusive of ats oil change, flywheel, labour.
Hi, i don't have problem on flywheel now yet, Mileage: 120,000 km only.
I think the shop quote RM750 for flywheel including installation.

My jerking issues is on coil plug only, 1 of the 8 coil plug is broken.
So just change used coil plug RM80, i think new coil plug is 170-200(google from honda dealer).
I'm so happy that i can drive my car without any jerking problem now, feel want to change new car after Honda SC tell me this is standard problem on City and cost 5K++ to solve it....I hope i can drive another 2-3 year without problem. My city is 6 year now. rclxms.gif

I hope this LINK can help those have issues on your City.
http://armanautocare.blogspot.com/p/jazzcity.html

wrb7878
post May 30 2014, 11:36 AM

843 posts

QUOTE(Volfeed @ May 26 2014, 02:07 PM)

Problem -> Jerking during acceleration / CVT auto shift down. Hopefully this will eliminate the problem.

Who tell you flywheel problem? Better send to specialist to check on it.
Mine end up just 1 of coil plug problem only...

Hope my LINK above can help you. thumbup.gif
wrb7878
post May 30 2014, 11:38 AM

843 posts

QUOTE(ftptwistedclown @ May 26 2014, 08:22 AM)
Please check my LINK and call them and ask for best price.
I read from their facebook, he got mention around 750.
Volfeed
post May 30 2014, 02:38 PM

396 posts

QUOTE(wrb7878 @ May 30 2014, 11:36 AM)
Who tell you flywheel problem? Better send to specialist to check on it.
Mine end up just 1 of coil plug problem only...

Hope my LINK above can help you.  thumbup.gif
Well, Honda SC gave me that information smile.gif
zainms
post Jan 17 2015, 12:08 AM

QUOTE(Volfeed @ May 26 2014, 02:07 PM)

Bro, this will be ur 1st tym change/replace the flywheel?

Tanx...
roadie
post Feb 18 2015, 06:32 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(ohy85 @ Sep 5 2013, 05:00 PM)
2. intake are control valve (IACV): most common issue associated with RPM drop when stopping, also when your aircon compressor kicks in. This version of honda city do not use an electronic sensor, the IACV is more of an actuator that controls the air flow to maintain stable idling. It controls air when you press on the brakes, turn your steering wheel, aircon kicks in, putting in D, etc. pretty much everything. this module rarely spoils but it can get dirty causing unstable idling when you do one of the above. if left unchecked, it can also lead to flywheel problem which is your next problem.
symptoms: RPM drops rapidly when you brake, compressor kicks in, turn your wheel, put on D.
Solution: just need to clean it but that's the tricky part. the IACV is screwed onto the throttle body with 4 security torx screws and no workshop have the key to open it. Honda CC will not bother to clean it for you and most probably ask you to change the entire throttle body. After some pain aching time, i got my friend to buy the security torx screw set for his workshop and i fixed the problem there.
anyone know workshop that got that security torx screw set, and can open and clean IACV?

This post has been edited by roadie: Feb 18 2015, 06:36 PM
mytaffeta
post Feb 19 2015, 03:15 AM

1,326 posts

QUOTE(roadie @ Feb 18 2015, 06:32 PM)
anyone know workshop that got that security torx screw set, and can open and clean IACV?
google honda specialist ampang, or link provided in few post back.. they know everything about honda's car.. recommended..
special
post Nov 17 2016, 04:21 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(secondrate @ Jul 9 2012, 04:45 PM)
I think 2008 one is CVT? I dunno. My family has 2010 City, the one before recent facelift. Recently also it vibrates more in D mode when at traffic light and holding using the brake... my friends have Myvi also feel the same. I guess normal la.
at D while holding brake and it vibrates - you car Throttle body got problem. first step is to clean the throttle body. service about Rm 120.
if still fail then have to change throttle body.

second possible issue is engine mounting. but engine mounting is obvious. even at idle the engine vibration is visible.
cause the engine is no longer in a firm holding position.

for spark plugs, this morning I just identify my Honda city 2006, coil broke. how it broke I don't know.
while idle to drive once a while the car jerk. Honda original coil plug cost RM 500++ . better buy the spare parts yourself outside at RM 150.

rgds, chris dna hr capital sdn bhd

This post has been edited by special: Nov 17 2016, 04:23 PM
RicoT
post Nov 18 2016, 11:43 AM

200 posts

QUOTE(guilt79 @ Jul 8 2012, 09:52 PM)
Dear Sifus

I have encounter a problem with my Honda City 1.5L VTEC

My car keeps jerking for a while and when you drive at certain distance, it backs to normal.

Today even worse when I was stopping at the traffic, still under "D" and the jerking starts, even worse when I release my brake and accelerate, it didn't response and jerk heavily, then move.

I sent to Honda USJ service and complain twice but they still can't find the problem.

Anyone encounter this problem?
Happened to my 2004 City, sooner or later, it will jerk non-stop while driving and about a few months later the "D" light on instrument cluster will keep blinking. This jerking is as in rowing boat jerk (like you press accelerator and release, press accelerator and release, non-stop), not vibrate shake shake jerk. Have to change whole gearbox.

If vibrate shake shake jerking, try replace transmission mounting and engine mounting together. Last time I replaced at Honda SC, significantly reduced vibrate shake shake jerking.

This post has been edited by RicoT: Nov 18 2016, 11:51 AM
secondrate
post Nov 20 2016, 05:08 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

QUOTE(special @ Nov 17 2016, 04:21 PM)
at D while holding brake and it vibrates - you car Throttle body got problem. first step is to clean the throttle body. service about Rm 120.
if still fail then have to change throttle body.

second possible issue is engine mounting. but engine mounting is obvious. even at idle the engine vibration is visible.
cause the engine is no longer in a firm holding position.

for spark plugs, this morning I just identify my Honda city 2006, coil broke. how it broke I don't know.
while idle to drive once a while the car jerk. Honda original coil plug cost RM 500++ . better buy the spare parts yourself outside at RM 150.

rgds, chris dna hr capital sdn bhd
Actually it was the throttle body dirty. Had it cleaned at Honda SC and fine now.
arinsms
post Jan 25 2017, 12:02 PM

318 posts

noted
delsoo
post Jan 25 2017, 12:16 PM

3,187 posts

QUOTE(guilt79 @ Jul 8 2012, 09:52 PM)
Dear Sifus

I have encounter a problem with my Honda City 1.5L VTEC

My car keeps jerking for a while and when you drive at certain distance, it backs to normal.

Today even worse when I was stopping at the traffic, still under "D" and the jerking starts, even worse when I release my brake and accelerate, it didn't response and jerk heavily, then move.

I sent to Honda USJ service and complain twice but they still can't find the problem.

Anyone encounter this problem?
I have city 04 idsi . I have the same problem , the mechanic told me to replace the spark plug . IDSI version gt 8 spark plug , i havent replace it yet . sweat.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0223sec    0.69    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:27 PM