Travel Travel To Japan V2, Info on pg1

TSstimix
post Oct 7 2012, 04:14 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Oct 7 2012, 02:23 PM)

but 500-700 yen is like super ultra cheap stuff in tokyo liao.

whereas rm20++ in KL is considered premium pricing liao (comparing to chap fan rm3, pork noodle rm3-5, etc).
Hehe, Yeah.. That's why I posted that budget food list on pg1. I don't eat anything >500yen in Tokyo..well except, no choice in Nikko.. ate that fames ramen restaurant there that cost me 1000yen/bowl... sad.gif
On the photo of the Suliya, u can even see the signboard wth 330yen rice thumbup.gif Atleast I choose the 380yen options. biggrin.gif

Anyway, KL ramen price is ~ RM16- RM25-lah for those high end Japanese restaurant. So they kenot sell so expensive than KL.. just like Yoshinoya rice.. in Tokyo, avg ~ 800-1000yen but in KL, ~ RM15 on avg only.. i.e price of Yoshinoya in Tokyo worse than KL.. so I'm hoping cheaper in KL not the other way round rclxms.gif

TSstimix
post Oct 9 2012, 07:21 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Oct 9 2012, 06:24 PM)
don't have any plan at the moment but better if near to public transport and convenience.

RM300 per night is enough?
My proper hotel in Nihonbashi near Tokyo stn (Horidome) Only ~ RM220/room/nite and I squeezed in 3 persons biggrin.gif
TSstimix
post Oct 9 2012, 07:42 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(natzakaria @ Oct 9 2012, 07:36 PM)
Dont they charge for 3rd person?
Most hotel don't do this unless guesthouses & hostel... biggrin.gif
TSstimix
post Oct 10 2012, 07:46 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Oct 9 2012, 08:49 PM)
1 bedroom for 2 people. prefer double bed. i thought minimum will be RM300 per night in peak season hmm.gif
Well.. just check Mid Dec still at RM226/room/night rclxms.gif

http://www.agoda.com.my/asia/japan/tokyo/h...CNK4Mt9h36opzmc
TSstimix
post Oct 10 2012, 08:19 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(ham_revilo @ Oct 10 2012, 02:39 PM)
but bro, is that legal in japan? coz i heard they dont like customer like that and chase you out of the hotel if they found out.

if its like malaysia, book 1 room, squeeze in as many person as possible, then i think i can save alot when i go jap in december smile.gif
The receptionist keeps on bowing and hai here & there not to 2 of us but 3 of us biggrin.gif ...Whatever you tell them to do, they will do it straight away without question.. even refilling our empty mineral water everyday bcos the tap water got funni smell although they said is OK biggrin.gif

Added on October 10, 2012, 8:21 pm
QUOTE(menmissed @ Oct 10 2012, 03:29 PM)
Got some info from other sources & japanese, they said they are very strict on this matters.
"They don't spy on you, but it will be quite clear by TV Monitors and front desk near the elevators. As soon as they find out that you are in room with an unregistered / unpaid person, be it male or female, you will be in serious trouble as some places declare outright that they call the police right away if found so.

You should pay for the number of people in a room. In Japan, rules are generally the last word, there is really no room for negotiation or bargaining, or bribing. If you break it, and if found out, you would be in serious trouble. You shouldn't risk things just for saving money."
So far in my all travel, I only kena charged xtra at a budget hotel in Jogja. Otherwise, all can fit in 3 or even 4 biggrin.gif

Added on October 10, 2012, 8:22 pm
QUOTE(aliluya @ Oct 10 2012, 05:19 PM)
hi all, speaking about the visa, since i have shift all my money into my current acc for housing loan  purposes, wondering is this ok that i show my current acc statement rather than the normal saving acount statement?

Added on October 10, 2012, 5:19 pmhi all, speaking about the visa, since i have shift all my money into my current acc for housing loan  purposes, wondering is this ok that i show my current acc statement rather than the normal saving acount statement?
They dun care whther current or saving just a bank ac will do.. My maybank a'c also a current ac smile.gif

This post has been edited by stimix: Oct 10 2012, 08:22 PM
TSstimix
post Oct 10 2012, 08:57 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(afiqasbar @ Oct 10 2012, 08:43 PM)
hahah..same here..will do exactly like bro stimix this coming trip..3 person in double bedroom at horidome villa smile.gif
But be warned.. That semi double bed is slightly smaller than our queen sized bed and the room size is like 1st world hotel size i.e damn small.. biggrin.gif .. U hv to add chair & dressing stools to support all 3 person legs.. blush.gif biggrin.gif
TSstimix
post Oct 11 2012, 07:15 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(afiqasbar @ Oct 11 2012, 10:26 AM)
My budget For a week trip is around 5k
That was my actual total cost inc of airtickets for 3 persons return all in to Tokyo biggrin.gif ..or ~ RM1,700/pax all in
TSstimix
post Oct 11 2012, 08:33 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(afiqasbar @ Oct 11 2012, 07:52 PM)
wow?? how come? really budget trip..haha..my flight ticket only almost rm800..then transport fee, ticket fee,hotel..huh,2k per person is impossible for me..  sweat.gif
Haha.. My return ticket per pax only RM550X3 mah.. and that was the most expensive..Others, that hotel only RM1100 for 5 nites..Others normal daily makan & traveling....So ~ RM5K enuf for 3 person liao
TSstimix
post Oct 12 2012, 07:39 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Oct 12 2012, 07:26 AM)
no..not that because I become lazy to plan..but for a day or two to digest all the information..I'll try..  nod.gif
ah..how did u found hostel with staff that can speak english? u make reservation when u reach japan or from malaysia?
i don't know yet..disneyland/sea seems so kid type..i more prefer to go to universal studio or other manga museum like doraemon, gundam's..
my ticket already cost 715 for 2 ways flight..my budget to go there around 2k+..today we finalizing everything..or maybe will decide to cancel the trip entirely..  sweat.gif
You have not heard about discounted hotel booking sites such as agoda, hotel.com, asiarooms & etc? hmm.gif biggrin.gif

Anyway, at RM700 return to Tokyo already cheap, you just need another RM1K for 4-5 days hotel and thereafter probably another RM2K living expenses for a week there can liao rclxms.gif
TSstimix
post Oct 12 2012, 01:43 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Oct 12 2012, 10:23 AM)
i didnt plan to go shopping there as my trip will be a budget 1..
so less money involve places is better.. tongue.gif
still undecide yet..need to make proper discussion otherwise all will be mess (i think so)
I will issue those link to my friend during discussion..
suppose your trip is still atleast 1-2 mth from now right and not 2 days from now?? Otherwise..It will be messy for sure bcos at this point of time you need atleast 4 days to apply for the super ridicolous VISA and atleast 1mth ahead to get those disocunted hotel rooms.. Otherwise, you hv to settle to the remaining expensive last min booking
TSstimix
post Oct 12 2012, 02:42 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Oct 12 2012, 02:40 PM)
cannot compare with stimix man. he is lyn's resident king of kiamsiap travel icon_idea.gif
brows.gif blush.gif biggrin.gif
TSstimix
post Oct 12 2012, 08:39 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Oct 12 2012, 03:44 PM)
well now..it's officially cancelled..my another member also cancel his trip. burn RM715(ticket) + RM100(passport)
wish can do that..but no budget..
no..everything already done for malaysia part..like visa, flight ticket..the missing part is when the mastermind withdraw from the trip last minute..
as he the one who need to arrange living, transport at japan..now these 2 days we need to carve to settle down the planning..
and unfortunately we're unable to make it done..so everybody need to cancel this trip.. will arrange for next time..surely next time.. haha
Adooiiii... Just go on your own-lah. Dun waste the money you paid.
TSstimix
post Oct 12 2012, 08:50 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

BTW, no one really imagine of hardcore poor in Japan.. Kecian that old guy... have to depend on his youger GRO GF to support him and the house...damn so small
The best part, in early 90's before the downturn in Japan (I pressumed b4 Kobe EQ) he owned few business and buying BMW using cash cry.gif

TSstimix
post Oct 17 2012, 07:22 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(audreyreiko @ Oct 17 2012, 06:33 PM)
my iti ada mention how we went to osaka castle smile.gif

btw a word of warning the castle itself has been rebuilt 3rd time so not exactly look like ori, more towards historical buff will want to see the scrolls and letter exchanges, and not so much displaying towards the actual ancient building.
Most of the ancient palaces around the world also been rebuilt many times including those famous palaces & monuments in China including Great walls biggrin.gif
TSstimix
post Oct 18 2012, 08:10 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 18 2012, 05:42 PM)
Now here got so many Otai give info. Looks like i going bungkus kedai soon.

No more value ....gg
You wanna fee for info mah so other willing forumers gave free flow info lor biggrin.gif
TSstimix
post Oct 20 2012, 02:05 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(yashin @ Oct 20 2012, 01:29 PM)
Poor exchange rate between Yen and RM.
Looked on internet and todays rate is 1/3 different to rate offered by banks/money changers here in KL. 

No choice?  I read that the money changer in Tokyo will be worse rate than here.  What do you suggest?

Added on October 20, 2012, 1:33 pmAnyone had experience of air asia flight to Tokyo delayed and then missed all transport out of the airport?  This would be nightmare scenario. Last year i went and slight delay but just managed to get out.  Taxi is too expensive ....don't really want to spend night in airport
Actually Japanese Yen dropping already compare to months ago.. Today rate at 39.20 quoted by Mid Valley Money master.. consider very low already i.e below 40 compare to ~ May-Aug this year when price higher than 40 http://www.moneymaster.com.my/

Nothing wrong staying overnite in airport. I did that recently in Perth rclxms.gif Save me >RM350/nite staying in hotel and not forgetting midnite surcharge to airport early in the morning catching early flight bck to M'sia biggrin.gif
TSstimix
post Oct 21 2012, 09:48 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(popcorn513 @ Oct 21 2012, 09:10 AM)
Meal 1000 yen per day 2 meal
Accommodation 2000-3000 per night
Budget way
No transport biggrin.gif One trip to Hakone via MRT & slow train atleast 6000yen liao.. so do to Nikko. And on avg ~ 500-1000yen on transportation within Tokyo urban.. To elsewhere in Japan, I pressumehe will buy JRail pass otherwise rclxub.gif
TSstimix
post Oct 22 2012, 07:27 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Oct 22 2012, 05:19 PM)
strange question - is it worth it to buy japan made clocks in tokyo? i wonder if we get taxed at immigration or not....kinda looking forward to buying a rhythm clock in japan
Any electronics in Japan more expensive than KL.. smile.gif

Added on October 22, 2012, 7:33 pm
QUOTE(menmissed @ Oct 21 2012, 10:58 PM)
I would like to know about pricing of camera stuff in jap. I've learned about Yodobashi Camera and Bic Camera, the leading discount electronics retailers. Does it really cheap compare to here?
Im looking for some lenses or other camera accessories, new/2nd hand is acceptable. Any idea?
NO. but one thing for sure they have lotsa secondhand good quality cameras there.. rclxms.gif That comparable to those ebay site. I bought my Minolta antique manual focus lens from Map camera in Shinjuku.. There are 2 map camera in Shinjuku

Recommended for those looking for 2nd hand cameras stuff.. you can find lotsa antique cameras there too rclxms.gif
http://www.mapcamera.com/

I spent 2 nights of my trips to Shinjuku just admiring those 2nd hand stuff blush.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by stimix: Oct 22 2012, 07:33 PM
TSstimix
post Oct 22 2012, 08:34 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Oct 22 2012, 08:09 PM)
thank you stimix for your info
will definitely look into the 2nd hand stuff in shinjuku
BTW, you can find more secondhand cameras, iphones, ipad & etc from those electronics stores in Akihabara st too. but for one stop 2nd hand cameras wth multiple floors of old cameras.. Map camera for sure is the best. rclxms.gif
TSstimix
post Oct 23 2012, 07:01 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(Oblivionz @ Oct 23 2012, 12:50 AM)
Was thinking of buying a PSV in Japan, didn't expect there were so expensive, better buy here than there.....

When I was there, they were launching the new iphone 5 at yodobashi, u can see a lot of sales person walk to you trying to lure you in........

I think the biggest yodobashi store is in akiba, am i correct?
Yes Yodabashi Akihabara, nxt to the intersection of JRail stn of akihabara, Sinkansen stn & also Hinaya line if I'm not mistaken

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0430sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:45 PM