Best movie player, With subtitle

mintgadget
post Jul 10 2012, 11:30 AM

328 posts

If you have the backend storage, the easiest method would be running a Plex Media Server, no hassle at all and all done automatically. Using the Plex app and myPlex you could stream easily (yes even on 3g). Everything can be transcoded on the fly or even direct stream.
mintgadget
post Jul 10 2012, 12:53 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jul 10 2012, 11:53 AM)
Been there. Done that.

Tested on my Sysnology 410. Thats where my 4x1tbs are in. Read/Write around 60mbps over the Ethernet.

Has tones of issue on high level profile on h.264 streaming... very jaggy. Tested with the MKV's i had before i reencode it.

Same thing via itunes no issue on homesharing.

Both times new ipad at full bar.
again y Pay for something when u already have a inbuilt app that works better, faster etc. Just need some work to get it sorted.

btw ppl i am just telling u guys my experience.. tested all the players etc.. in the end for ios video is the best.

btw i just realize that on homesharing tv shows are organized by title name instead of episode id. Corrected with this program tag that did the whole 40 episodes. in 1 Min.
I suggest you revisit it, Plex is probably the best media server/organizer around today. Sorry to say its your hardware issue. Personally, I hate to re-encode and its a waste of time, we have the capabilities to do it on the fly. I am running PMS on my computer and grabbing from my Synology box without any issues. Everything is automatic with Sickbeard and Sabnzbd. I will leave it at that.
mintgadget
post Jul 10 2012, 01:16 PM

328 posts

i agree with your comment, if it aint broke don't fix it.... hehe

i believe i am just as buff of a media enthusiast like yourself, if quality is bad, forget it. so that tells you how far i would have tested it.

i had a 410 before its too slow for a NAS. When you unrar within the box everything comes to a grinding halt. Granted a hobby like this aint cheap with all the equipment/software you need to purchase.

even tried Plexbmc on RPi (probably cheapest media player you can find) definitely more interesting than ATV2.

sorry i am such a Plex freak but love sharing that idea to people coz its just amazing.

mintgadget
post Jul 10 2012, 01:43 PM

328 posts

like i say, aint cheap but once you have invested is awesome what synology box can do. team both the nic ports and you can get close to 200mb/s that is super fast when you transfer files... hehe

i beg to differ, put Plex in ATV, it rocks any HTPC. small footprint and does wonders, wish they get Plex installable without the need for JB on ATV. ATV2 only 720p sad.gif. its already available on Appstore. MyPlex is genius for noobs, best idea they have came up with.

mintgadget
post Jul 10 2012, 02:11 PM

328 posts

http://www.synology.com/products/performan...ang=enu#tabs-10. check out the 5-12 bay nas section, can be done, i have setup before unfortunately i don't have a link aggregated switch to support it here to show you a screenshot.

and i agree in terms of good streaming, i can't push more than what unifi offers now for remote streaming to get good 1080p playback. 720p is fine.

htpc is good for "somewhat technically incline" person aka CONEHEAD... hahaha, not for our parents or newbies. if something happens then what. do u like to be remote support? hence ATV was built to be idiot proof. if cannot work off/on. don't you agree?

mintgadget
post Jul 10 2012, 02:24 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jul 10 2012, 01:55 PM)
as for synology.. lol been down that marvel road.. get some highpoint rocket raid cards lol. U will show ure middle finger to NAS.
if something "c*ck ups" with your raid, will they remote in and troubleshoot? Believe me raid is no fun when it crashes for whatever reason. synology team actually ssh or team viewer with you to fix your problem. this is based on personal experience, thumbup.gif to their support. furthermore i believe they are "greener" in terms of power consumption.. i guess all this comes at a price.

mintgadget
post Jul 10 2012, 03:11 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(eclipsejee @ Jul 10 2012, 03:04 PM)
Bro... Please don't download the RushPlayer from AppStore, I mean the RushPlayer+, RushPalyer+ can only be downloaded from Cydia.. As Apple does not approved it's native H264 hardware API called...
tried it, lags sad.gif with default settings
mintgadget
post Jul 10 2012, 03:14 PM

328 posts

the interface is its ugly as hell too... smile.gif
mintgadget
post Jul 10 2012, 03:22 PM

328 posts

make sure u setup the media server too, to enjoy full experience. hehe
mintgadget
post Jul 10 2012, 03:26 PM

328 posts

plex media center is the player. media server does the scrapping and all the good stuff. the account creation is for myplex, a lot has been discussed about this over their forums, you don't like it don't use it. but they assured nothing is passed to their servers. like bank lor, u don't like put your money somewhere else.
mintgadget
post Jul 10 2012, 03:36 PM

328 posts

hmmm must be your hardware, i encode at 20MBps no issue. run smoothly on the iPad. no lag whatsoever streaming off my NAS. its as good as watching in on tv with a media player.
mintgadget
post Jul 10 2012, 03:49 PM

328 posts

see, you agree right. this is probably the best media organizer around. might not be able to handle some of your requirements but i am happy got another plex supporter... hahaha. now to get u converted to auto grabbing and renaming with sick beard, you will love it.
mintgadget
post Jul 10 2012, 04:08 PM

328 posts

hmmm... ok sounds like heck of a lot of work to do for each episode that comes out. don't you think. and if you mentioned watch then delete what an effort. hehe anyway. i guess it was fun having this back and forth. we have already stir off topic.

0.0137sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 01:58 AM