General LEARNING JAPANESE!, LEARNING JAPANESE!!

oneeleven
post Jan 28 2007, 10:36 PM

1,515 posts

Frenz, I've posted this elsewhere, but all of you here seem like good hearted people, so just a little note to help you further along the cultural path:

QUOTE(oneeleven @ Jan 2 2007, 04:49 PM)
People serious about JP must first learn that being lazy and saying "jap" is not acceptable to many JPNS. Sometimes it's felt to be the same as the "N-word" for Blacks or to be called a Chink Gook or Chinaman.

Thank you I was just about to correct him/her , I am japanese and it's quite offending. It's the same as calling the chinese "chinks" , same effect on me you'd be suprised how many ppl i've corrected via PM. Thank you for highligting the mistake.

Thanx for understanding everyone , nihongo ganbatte ne~

YammieR6

This post has been edited by oneeleven: Jan 28 2007, 10:37 PM
oneeleven
post Jan 29 2007, 10:45 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(paklan @ Jan 29 2007, 07:26 PM)
日本人? 英語上手ですな。。。。
だから。。。?!?

同意しませんか icon_rolleyes.gif

oneeleven
post Feb 6 2007, 09:13 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(jasonhanjk @ Feb 6 2007, 09:51 AM)
It's something like your English is very good but Japanese is very weak. biggrin.gif
OK, enough already, chilllllll......

Neither the English nor the Japanese here is fantastic, so please don't anybody intimidate beginners with negative comments.

上級者 can start some new topics/threads in full Japanese script discussion like the Cantonese/Hakka ones, etc. and be as crude as you dare!

This post has been edited by oneeleven: Feb 7 2007, 11:34 PM
oneeleven
post Feb 9 2007, 08:01 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(oe_kintaro @ Feb 9 2007, 01:29 PM)
Perhaps it would be more interesting if we discussed the finer points of the language or life in Japan or cultural interaction with the Japanese people.
Yes, especially if something we can't get on a hundred other J-practice forums.
Maybe if there are Japanese words for our tropical things, etc., dunno.

This recent banter was because of cultural insensitivity (using "Jap"), about which I believe the gang here aspiring to learn JPNS was just naive and needed to hear it witnessed from someone who feels hurt by it.

Anyway, to move on, I'll contribute info about some learning sites. Search iTunes Store Podcasts and you'll get tons of free Japanese lessons. (You don't need anything more than your PC.) Follow up by printing out texts from the websites listed.

oneeleven
post Feb 10 2007, 05:18 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(oe_kintaro @ Feb 10 2007, 10:20 AM)
as well as the inputs of native speakers like oneeeleven-san.
blush.gif Dun deserve the label.... I'm not a native speaker but many trips to Japan. In fact, I am several stages behind most -- fluent broken stuff, struggling with grammar, sorta like early Kintaro-san, not Chinese educated.

My story's unusual, so not really relevant to others here. However, I brought up the "Jap" no-no because of personal encounters with J's who complained. When a real Japanese spoke up right HERE at LYN, I wanted to show it to everyone.

oneeleven
post Feb 12 2007, 05:38 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(magic-addict @ Feb 12 2007, 04:57 PM)
It pisses me off when I see a Japanese noodle package in a store near my house and I can only read a few letters and not the whole thing sad.gif
You're doing OK. "Rome wasn't built in a day."

I know that noodle package feeling..... try shopping in a supermarket in Japan! After you know what you're buying, then take it home and figger out how to use it!

That should suggest a good manageable project for lessons here. Vocab for deciphering noodle packets! How about it, Master Senseis???

oneeleven
post Feb 13 2007, 08:14 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(clemong_888 @ Feb 13 2007, 11:27 AM)
actually, why do u want to move to japan? if possible i would rather raise my children away from here. bullying is just too bad, i dont want my child to jump off my apartment building! japan is not rosy at all.
Oi, Clem, how did you get such a bad impression? Surprising, since Toyota-shi is such a rich and suburban like place.

The problem is mostly the parents. Don't you think you could be a better parent than those workaholics? You aren't Japanese, so no need to be like them.

And dear Mahou (magic), you can't just move to Japan. I pass through often and visit close friends, sometimes for months. Hope you got a skill in high demand and a job offer before you go. You might be able to just HIDE there, but then what kind of life can you expect? Prepare first, don't rush and make hasty mistakes!

oneeleven
post Feb 16 2007, 05:54 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(dopodplaya @ Feb 15 2007, 03:00 PM)
kenka suru na- demo bokura wa tomo-tomo janai na no ne? iikara, hanase tsuzukero!
"So you wanna speak Japanese ?" の thread に使ったら。。。

ここで勉強することのトピックだけど。。。

How about keeping this to study help? Chat on the Japanese language thread?

This post has been edited by oneeleven: Feb 16 2007, 06:26 PM
oneeleven
post Apr 16 2007, 11:59 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(magic-addict @ Feb 12 2007, 04:57 PM)
It pisses me off when I see a Japanese noodle package in a store near my house and I can only read a few letters and not the whole thing sad.gif
Seems none of the gurus here motivated to help, so here's a challenge:

I'll choose the material, something everyone can buy at Jusco,

LET'S SEE YOU CREATE A LESSON FOR US!
-----------------------
TOPVALU AWASE MISO

即席 みそ汁  10食入
切り口
写真はイメージです。 
------------------------
信州米みそ使用
合わせみそ   生みそタイプ。
2 種類 の信州米みそをあわせて、ごくのある味仕上げました。
庄内麩、わかめ、ねぎ入り。
----------------------------------------------------------
[Instructions on the back]
お召し上がり方
具  みそ  外袋  
(1) 袋の中にわは、みそが10袋ずつつながった具が2セット入っています。
確認をお願いします。
(2) お椀に 「みその袋」と「具の袋」の中身を1つずつあけます。
* 「具の袋」はミシン目よりきりはなしてからあけてください。
(3) 熱湯約160mlを注ぎ,よくかきまぜてからお召し上がりくダサい。
* 熱湯はお好みにより加減してください。
* 製造日からの日数が経過するとみその色が赤みを帯びてきますが品質には問題ありません。
!注意  調理時、飲用時には、熱湯でのやけどに十分ご注意ください。
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Gambare,

This post has been edited by oneeleven: Apr 17 2007, 12:04 AM
oneeleven
post Apr 22 2007, 07:28 PM

1,515 posts

Hey where are the Sensei, in Japan?!?! (Can still e-mail from there.....)

Added on April 24, 2007, 11:58 pm
QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Apr 17 2007, 01:57 PM)
What does sama means? Watch anime quite a lot and some ppl are call by sama in the end of the name. Like Hokage Sama, Jiruyi Sama.. What is this sama? Is it for hi ranking ppl?
Guess the Senseis find your question too simple, not worth their time.....

In addition to what the others said, the LORD meaning (just like English MR=MASTER) is probably used only in manga with feudal or gang leaders, since modern Japanese don't have much to do with royalty.

In everyday usage, you'd probably only see it on envelopes after the addressee's name. Occasionally with a name at a ceremonial function or formal speech at a company party.

111 (NOT a JP lang teacher!)

This post has been edited by oneeleven: Apr 24 2007, 11:58 PM
oneeleven
post Apr 29 2007, 05:05 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(dopodplaya @ Apr 27 2007, 12:50 PM)
You will not dare call the Tenno as "-san" in public, right, since he is the Japanese EMPEROR and bears no family name, right, one11?
What do you mean by "public" ? With friends, just say Tenno. As for me making a formal speech in front of audience in suits? -- muridayo!

oneeleven
post May 1 2007, 10:47 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(clemong_888 @ May 1 2007, 09:04 PM)
@oe_kintaro

i would have to agree with everything u just posted except the 'okasan' n
'haha' part. i used to refer my mom as 'haha' or my brother as 'ani' when i got here but it just feels weird.
I have to control myself blush.gif if a female refers to Father as chichi, which can also mean.... brows.gif

oneeleven
post May 13 2007, 03:56 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(oe_kintaro @ May 4 2007, 05:50 PM)
honme is the real McCoy, the guy a girl can trust and can pour out her feelings to.
Is it one of these? 本目 本命 ?

oneeleven
post May 19 2007, 05:15 AM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(SetaNoriyasu @ May 17 2007, 08:09 AM)
Could anyone enlighten me on how to say/pronounce 志陽 as a name? Seeing as 'kokorozashi-hi' isn't very name-like
Sometimes even JPNS dunno! That's why J-phones have an extra entry in the address book for the pronunciation of the name entered with kanji.

Someone I know is 英代。 Reading? "Hanayo", which you might think should be 花葉!

Anyway, hope someone has an answer to the question.

oneeleven
post May 22 2007, 09:55 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(clemong_888 @ May 22 2007, 07:25 PM)
pls study on-yomi and kun-yomi before trying to make names...

u shud be using on-yomi instead of kun-yomi in names....

志should be し while 陽 should be よう

its not a common japanese name so i'm not too sure about it.
My observation, isn't it usually the opposite?

No wonder 志陽 is unrecognizable/unpronounceable... not a Japanese name, but your Chinese name?!?!

Tell me where Baraisaia or Umakunishia is?!? It's マレーシア, ね? (Yeah, I know... Chuugoku and Nitupon.. well shakehead.gif )

oneeleven
post May 23 2007, 07:22 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(clemong_888 @ May 23 2007, 09:19 AM)
care to give an example? unless its a single character name, its usually following the on-yomi

eg 竜星 its not ryuuhoshi but ryuusei
Tatoeba?

Just about any name! I don't know anybody with these, but common combinations:

Yamada Shigenobu 山田茂伸

Igarashi Kaori 五十嵐香り

Kobayashi Takehiro 小林武広

Not a single Chinese-type reading?!? I don't think there's any hard & fast rule with names. JP themselves have a lot of trouble with unusual combinations and character choices.

Personally, the Chinese type names seem too pretentious. I like like the home-grown Japanese ones. If I extend mine a bit, I can get Tomomasa!

oneeleven
post May 27 2007, 04:16 PM

1,515 posts

Q? about old post:

QUOTE(clemong_888 @ May 2 2007, 06:46 AM)
u wanna understand the young society? 2 words.. uzai and yabai.. fits almost any situation...
"Yabai" I know, but what's "uzai" ? I'm still trying to get a handle on "teki 的 " appearing everywhere.

oneeleven
post May 31 2007, 12:01 AM

1,515 posts

Nande....OK, Iskandar-kun, hahahah, so where's your Japanese lesson? Please explain the NON-ENGLISH!

oneeleven
post May 31 2007, 11:20 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(dopodplaya @ May 31 2007, 09:44 AM)
He got no Japanese lesson at all, he just want to say f***!
doh.gif やっぱり "Desperate Virgin" 。子供ってびっくりしたなくて成らん。 whistling.gif

oneeleven
post Jun 7 2007, 10:33 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(najminaruto @ Jun 7 2007, 10:32 AM)
Shall I roast or fry you, Porky?
猪(いのしし)は食べて行けません!

0.0636sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 01:15 PM