General LEARNING JAPANESE!, LEARNING JAPANESE!!

clemong_888
post Aug 15 2006, 05:26 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(dopodplaya @ Aug 13 2006, 12:53 AM)
Basic Lessons on Number, Commencing!

Let's start with the basic kun-yomi (the Japanese pronounciations)
For those who already learned Japanese or Chinese, observe the suprise later lessons.

Basic 0 to 10

Suprise no. 1
零 (Kanji, rarely used for number 0) or 〇 (a perfect circle) - zero, rei (rarely used)

一 - ichi (one)
二 - ni (two)
三 - san (three)
四- yon (four)
五- go (five)
六 - roku (six)
七 - nana (seven)
八 - hachi (eight)
九 - kyuu or kuu (nine)
十 - jyuu or ju (ten)

No suprising fact, do you know where the word Yakuza came from?
It's from the numbers 8-9-3 (in total 20, ya = 8, ku = 9, 3 = sa(za))

There is a traditional Japanese card game, where you need to win with 19 face instead of 21 (blackjack). 20 face meaning you are losing the game by one point. Isn't it a disgrace to lose just by one face? Later, Yakuza (8-9-3) is used to described dark, digraced and unfortunate society of Japan, the Yakuza.

Irregular kun-yomi for today - e.g. 三 three = sa or za.
The regular kun-yomi is san (さん).

Tips for today
Be careful, san could also mean (mountain) e.g. 藤山
Fujisan (regular - Fujiyama, Mount Fuji, not Mr. Fuji 藤さん, notice the kana).

For basic Japanese lessons, refer to the start of this thread.
actually rei is used pretty normally.

4 can also be pronounced shi
7 can also be pronounced sichi

no chinese background shouldnt deter u from studying japanese. i don't have one and got my 2nd level proficiency in 1.5 years. i've heard of other foreigners who got 1st level in the same amount of time. がんばって!!あきらめないでください

This post has been edited by clemong_888: Aug 15 2006, 05:29 PM
clemong_888
post Aug 17 2006, 06:48 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

u're right on this.

This post has been edited by clemong_888: Aug 17 2006, 06:49 PM
clemong_888
post Aug 28 2006, 05:41 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(FrustratedStreamyxUser @ Aug 28 2006, 11:29 AM)
Anyone taken JLPT test here?
yeaps 3kyuu 2004, 2kyuu 2005 biggrin.gif.. maybe this year 1kyuu but no confidence of passing:P
clemong_888
post Oct 14 2006, 07:43 AM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Oct 5 2006, 11:23 AM)
kanji

edit : note * that japanese will use 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,0 instead of the kanji, laziness ^^
numeric is so much easier what.. i can't imagine myself writing kanji when doing math or calculations. tongue.gif

clemong_888
post Dec 2 2006, 11:54 AM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(dopodplaya @ Nov 24 2006, 10:55 AM)
Hey, any of you otaku here a member of JFKL library?
I am going to register myself as a member but I am wondering the benefits you guys gained from being a member of that library.

Tell me and elaborate some of your past experience if any.
u got to borrow books and tapes.. but thts about it..
clemong_888
post Feb 13 2007, 11:27 AM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(magic-addict @ Feb 13 2007, 11:16 AM)
Thanks 111. Anyway, I'm wondering...what do you do in Japan? Do you live there? Takes so much effort to browse each forum page and read all the previous posts. I plan to move to Japan as well, and I know sometimes it sounds a little childish and all. But i'm already a working person and have been in love with the culture since i was young. Anyway I'll continue my noodle deciphering project now. Off to a sundry shop now.
actually, why do u want to move to japan? if possible i would rather raise my children away from here. bullying is just too bad, i dont want my child to jump off my apartment building! japan is not rosy at all.

noodle dechipiring.. not easy! but then i never look at instructions . tongue.gif
clemong_888
post Feb 14 2007, 08:16 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(oneeleven @ Feb 13 2007, 08:14 PM)
Oi, Clem, how did you get such a bad impression?  Surprising, since Toyota-shi is such a rich and suburban like place.

The problem is mostly the parents.  Don't you think you could be a better parent than those workaholics? You aren't Japanese, so no need to be like them.

And dear Mahou (magic), you can't just move to Japan. I pass through often and visit close friends, sometimes for months. Hope you got a skill in high demand and a job offer before you go. You might be able to just HIDE there, but then what kind of life can you expect?  Prepare first, don't rush and make hasty mistakes!

cos i'm staying/studying here at the moment. tends to open your eyes shocking.gif

it's not a bad impression,it's reality here.often foreigners have the impression that japan is a mystical place with hot chicks,anime and what not but the living standard has been getting worse. poor getting poorer, rich getting richer( but it's a problem in any country as well). toyota-shi and most places in aichi-ken are exceptions.

bullying goes beyond parents, the education system is to be blamed and japanese perception of taking responsibility=suicide. a kid commits suicide because of bullying. the headmaster commits suicide cos he said he's responsible for it. what sorta example is that.

being a foreigner here is another problem. i don't like the term gaijin, almost the same as calling japanese 'japs'. and us aliens ( as started in our alien cards) are hardly accepted into society.

of course it's not all bad here. i do enjoy life here and i do have some japanese friends, albeit not close(friendship takes time , so i cant blame them) traveling is a blast, cost aside. and some japanese are just so friendly(friendly and accepting into society are 2 diff things)

i notice u people wanted topics about japan, there are abundant, the pacifist constitution and mr.abe , declining birth rate, the future of japan? the health minister calling women 'baby making machines' shocking.gif and etc tongue.gif

QUOTE(magic-addict @ Feb 14 2007, 12:39 PM)
I'm actually more of an academic. I'm planning to do my masters there, but I don't know if they teach in Japanese or English. Have to find out. So yeah probably after that I should be living there or something. But first have to try to get myself studying there.

Anyway how long do you think should one wait before starting the next writing system?  lets say from Hiragana to Katagana?
most unis offer courses in english for masters up. basic japanese is required for communication and stuff like that. u should start hiragana and katakana right away!

clemong_888
post Feb 16 2007, 08:58 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(oneeleven @ Feb 16 2007, 05:54 PM)
"So you wanna speak Japanese ?" の thread に使ったら。。。

ここで勉強することのトピックだけど。。。

How about keeping this to study help?  Chat on the Japanese language thread?

yea, would agree that this be thread for helping people study while the other one become the real battlefield tongue.gif
clemong_888
post Feb 18 2007, 06:37 AM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(mumeichan @ Feb 18 2007, 12:53 AM)
How do I wish people in Japanese. Now is Chinese New year and I was wondering how to say "Wish you Good Luck" and "Wish you a prosperous year ahead"/"Wish you a year of prosperity". My main problem is I do not know what verb to use. Should I use ....omedeto gozaimasu or .... o iimashita or somthing else?
shinnen akemashite omedetou would do.
clemong_888
post Feb 19 2007, 06:24 AM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(hamburger89 @ Feb 19 2007, 02:47 AM)
hmm...i am a newbie here...hehe i want to go to japan to study...==  so i really need helps and guides from you guys...
well, i finished my SPM last year, still waiting for the result. i have never been to any japanese language class, i manage to speak, write and read a little...just a little.. i learn it from those anime by the way,
still learning though. Hiragana is still not bad but katagana is really killing me. Many of the katagana similiar to some simple chinese words and they are similiar to each other too! ha...it is very confusing...hehe i am not worry too much about kanji as it is almost the same to the old-styled-chinese words (i am chinese educated ^^v but i learn the simple-styled-chinese words)

How is the life there? i mean a normal life of a student..curious bout it.
katakana and hiragana is actually pretty similar, u can actually see the connections smile.gif

if u wanna do engineering, the easiest way is to apply for jpa's look east prog, if u're chinese, through ppktj in utm kl,malay either ppktj or aaj in um.

studying here is well different smile.gif and of course the same, u cant run away from going class,study,etc..
clemong_888
post Feb 19 2007, 04:08 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(mumeichan @ Feb 19 2007, 02:04 PM)
That would be wishing someone happy new year. I am trying to find out how to say Kong Hey Fatt Choy, San Lin Fai Lok (Sorry if this is not how you really spell it) in Japanese. (Should mean Wish you good luck and a year of prosperity)
hrm.. i got no idea on this one, it's not sth japanese normally say i guess. if u read the nen ka jou (new yr cards) they sent out, they dont usually say it either. so cant help u there , do share with us if u find out biggrin.gif
clemong_888
post Feb 20 2007, 06:20 AM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(hamburger89 @ Feb 19 2007, 11:16 PM)
ha.....may i know what is "ppktj", "utm" , "aaj"?
ahaha .. i forgot myself tongue.gif but to summarize it, apply for jpa is the easiest way as not many chinese wanna go there. u just finish spm right?
clemong_888
post Feb 20 2007, 07:45 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(hamburger89 @ Feb 20 2007, 07:06 PM)
yeah....i just finished my SPM
go where? blink.gif
go japan on jpa scholarship, alot of ppl reject, more than u can imagine tongue.gif so apply for it once your result comes out.
clemong_888
post Feb 20 2007, 09:01 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(hamburger89 @ Feb 20 2007, 08:11 PM)
y they are rejected? can i noe? so that i am more prepared for the consequenses.....i am quite scared to b rejected you noe? now i only can think of JPA and MONBUKAGAKUSHO scholarship to realise my dream to the japan...got other ways? (beside going there on private money....i dun have that much...) i need more alternatives in case i could get the scholarships...
jpa would be easier than monkasho. other alternatives would be to look for your own sponsor but those are mostly for ppl wanting to do masters or phd.
clemong_888
post Feb 22 2007, 07:57 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(mumeichan @ Feb 22 2007, 07:37 PM)
On another site, someone said mohaya is anymore. Is that right. Is mohaya a word on it's own or is is a combination of mo and haya?

That guy also said that mono in this sentence equals to phenomena. My dictionary has not explanation on that. What is the difference between mono and genshou(現象) if mono does mean or can be use to mean phenomena.

What is the difference between iware and riyuu (理由).

This part should be read like this right

riradan(what is this?) - [mirai(future) no('s)ivu(eve)]

One thing I noticed is that the katakana for vu is not in my kana index. Is there something special about it. It seems that my kana index doesn't have the double small line version of all the kana for a,i,u,e,o . Is there a va,vi,vu,ve,vo in Japanese?
i just looked up the dic, mohaya = anymore but its the 1st time i've seen it. mono=things/happenings so phenomena is pretty alright.

urm, i think va,vi,vu,ve,vo does exsit.. even ti as well but only for katakana.

clemong_888
post Feb 22 2007, 10:12 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(mumeichan @ Feb 22 2007, 10:02 PM)
I just remembered, I used to have fun reading the way Japanese pronounce English and french words. In all the words that I have seen, the v in english is always changed to b in japanese. For example television is terebi and not televi. I have too lookup more in this.

The other person just pointed out to me that riradan is how Japanese pronounce, L'Isle Adam, the French author who wrote L'eve Future. Gosh, I learned so many words today.
u're right about japanese changing the v to b but there are a few rare cases smile.gif i've learned quite a bit on this as well. thanks for sharing, post more in the future!
clemong_888
post Feb 24 2007, 08:28 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

mo actuallys means also , to is and while ya is and but usually added with nado at the end to mean etc..

i guess all would be somehow acceptable. but mo just sounds cool tongue.gif

i'm talking rubbish tongue.gif
clemong_888
post May 1 2007, 09:04 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

@oe_kintaro

i would have to agree with everything u just posted except the 'okasan' n
'haha' part. i used to refer my mom as 'haha' or my brother as 'ani' when i got here but it just feels weird. i've not heard a japanese say it! yes, grammar wise, it might be the right thing but in today's society, no one uses it anymore...

clemong_888
post May 2 2007, 06:46 AM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(oe_kintaro @ May 1 2007, 11:57 PM)
you refer to your own mother as okaasan when you address her but refer to her as haha when you are talking to others about her.
Likewise, you refer to your brother as ani when you are talking to others but you call him oniisan when you address him. Nothing has changed regarding this, except that maybe these days some kids may prefer more modern terms like "mama" or affectionate terms like okaachan etc. Perhaps also there is the issue of the perceived decline in language standards and etiquette among the young. Some of my Japanese acquaintances complain that every time they go back home to Japan, they don't understand what the youngsters are saying anymore sweat.gif
I'm not denying what you said, but what you experienced is perhaps partly due to the social environment you are in. Since I tend to deal more with older Japanese, usage of the language tends to be more "correct" in a sense.
exactly..i was taught saying 'haha' or 'ani' when refering to my own parents but the young don't use it. and i deal with the young most of the time.

u wanna understand the young society? 2 words.. uzai and yabai.. fits almost any situation.. that hows bad japanese has become and in some ways, mine as well...
clemong_888
post May 21 2007, 11:14 AM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

i think its shiyou but i aint tht good with names either...

0.0199sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 08:15 PM