4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S II Official Thread V35, Jellybean soon, hopefully?

ming24
post Jul 21 2012, 02:43 PM

246 posts

Hi guys! Long time didn't follow this thread edi. So is there any chance of Jelly Bean coming to our phones?
ming24
post Jul 24 2012, 12:14 AM

246 posts

QUOTE(crimsonhead @ Jul 23 2012, 08:23 PM)
what is OTA download? rclxub.gif

im dling samsung kies from the official website right now.
just connect my phone to kies,and hit the update button?simple as that?
is it adviseable to update my firmware to ice cream sandwich?
I fully recommend you to update to Ice Cream Sandwich. When I was using Gingerbread last time, my phone (I9100G) used to hang at least once a day, which was really annoying. After the update, whether you believe it or not, my phone HAS NEVER hang smile.gif not even once.
ming24
post Aug 1 2012, 11:52 PM

246 posts

hi all! I just rooted my s2g. any recommended things to do with my phone after that? other than custom roms ?
ming24
post Aug 2 2012, 05:16 PM

246 posts

Thanks all, for the suggestions! smile.gif
ming24
post Aug 2 2012, 10:48 PM

246 posts

I have a few questions regarding rooting.

What is a firmware and its uses? Why is there a need to flash it?

What is a modem?

Thanks!

This post has been edited by ming24: Aug 2 2012, 10:56 PM
ming24
post Aug 3 2012, 01:01 AM

246 posts

saw this link in an XDA thread ( http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1583091 )

http://api.viglink.com/api/click?format=go..._13439268514462

It's the frequently asked questions about cm9. when i go to the page, there's nothing there except for the sentence "Content is available under GNU Free Documentation License 1.3 or later."

What is the GNU thingy?
ming24
post Aug 3 2012, 11:40 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(ming24 @ Aug 3 2012, 01:01 AM)
saw this link in an XDA thread ( http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1583091 )

http://api.viglink.com/api/click?format=go..._13439268514462

It's the frequently asked questions about cm9. when i go to the page, there's nothing there except for the sentence "Content is available under GNU Free Documentation License 1.3 or later."

What is the GNU thingy?
any sifus out there that can explain? :)Thank you!
ming24
post Aug 4 2012, 01:28 AM

246 posts

Is CM9 and CM10 now stable for daily usage? smile.gif
ming24
post Aug 4 2012, 12:51 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(game4life @ Aug 4 2012, 09:13 AM)
not sure about others but jb is stable for me. No fc, no freeze, battery life is the same as ics and smooth. Using it as a daily driver
i'm really curious, is it (CM 9 and CM10) really super smooth compared to stock ICS? I've seen videos, but I would like to hear more from fellow users here. for me, stock ICS is good enough. Smoothness as in the graphics? smile.gif

Also, I heard that we can't restore system apps with TB (for CM10 and CM9). What are system apps? Are they the ones highlighted in red when in TB? smile.gif

Thanks!!
ming24
post Aug 4 2012, 01:40 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Aug 4 2012, 01:35 PM)
Cm9 is ics. For me cm10 or jb is smoother than ics. System apps are the red one. Its not just cm9 or 10, any rom even gb stock rom u r not suppose to restore system app unless u r sure there will be no conflict
so would it be foolish of me to say that CM9 is equally smooth as ics? assuming i dont install any other kernels if i use CM9.
ming24
post Aug 4 2012, 04:01 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Aug 4 2012, 03:59 PM)
There is something wrong with your comparison.  Cm9 is running on ics so i dunno what you are comparing. It's like saying a Ferrari is faster than a car.
oops. I'm sorry. I mean comparing cm9 and stock, official ics. is it possible to compare these two ?
ming24
post Aug 4 2012, 04:22 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(heavyduty @ Aug 4 2012, 04:08 PM)
guys what kind of cases do you use with your phones?
Otterbox ! I dropped my previous phone quite a number of times. With s2, i dare not risk it.
ming24
post Aug 4 2012, 04:28 PM

246 posts

What is the purpose of flashing modems? Can i not flash it and use the current one?

This post has been edited by ming24: Aug 4 2012, 04:49 PM
ming24
post Aug 4 2012, 05:16 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Aug 4 2012, 04:50 PM)
You don't have to change modem if nothing is wrong with your phone connection.
I see. thanks! I've rooted my phone and i'm planning to flash cm9 later. i have used TB to backup my apps ( not including system apps, of course). the steps for flashing include doing data wipe and factory reset. my question is, if i do that, then will TB be wiped as well? how do i re-install it after flashing?
ming24
post Aug 4 2012, 05:31 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Aug 4 2012, 05:27 PM)
flash gapps is mentioned in the steps, then you go play store download back lor
ok. Thanks a lot! smile.gif one last question before i flash, how do i unroot my phone if i want to claim my warranty? smile.gif

This post has been edited by ming24: Aug 4 2012, 05:34 PM
ming24
post Aug 4 2012, 05:41 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Aug 4 2012, 05:40 PM)
Flash back stock rom and factory reset.
Where do i get it?

I managed to flash CM9 into my phone. Problem is, how do i mount my sd card?

This post has been edited by ming24: Aug 4 2012, 07:22 PM
ming24
post Aug 4 2012, 07:55 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Aug 4 2012, 07:44 PM)
Mount your sd card where? External SD on CM9 is in /emmc and no longer in /sdcard/external_sd. But you can do binding if you want.

Stock rom can get from Intractech thread in original development section or from samfirmware website.
i reversed the location by gonig to settings>storage. now my external SD is my sdcard and /emmc is my internal SD. is that all right? how do i do the binding?

This post has been edited by ming24: Aug 4 2012, 07:56 PM
ming24
post Aug 5 2012, 01:40 AM

246 posts

I'm having a problem after I flashed cm9. My phone is unable to go into deep sleep. Partial wakelocks include media scanner. Any solutions?
Battery life is really important to me.
ming24
post Aug 5 2012, 01:21 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Aug 5 2012, 08:28 AM)
Kill media scanner.  You can also disable it with rescan media root.
Where do I kill it? It's not in settings>apps>running. Also, is it possible to under clock and under volt cm9?
Where do I check my running apps other than at settings? In stock ics before this, I checked it at task manager. Thanks!
ming24
post Aug 6 2012, 01:03 AM

246 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Aug 5 2012, 05:49 PM)
If you cannot find it in running apps means it had already done its job and went off. Keep monitoring if there is any more batt drain. Yes u can UC and UV.
what steps do i need to do in order to UC and UV ? need certain kernels?

This post has been edited by ming24: Aug 6 2012, 01:04 AM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0554sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:08 PM