140 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S II Official Thread V35, Jellybean soon, hopefully?

xsaintzx
post Jul 7 2012, 01:01 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Jul 7 2012, 10:12 AM)
hm...i'm confuse.... rclxub.gif

why your s2 value suddenly drop in your eyes? hmm.gif
just because it may not get android jelly bean?

till today, i feel my phone is special, it cost a bomb, and i saved long time for it.
especially after upgrade to ics, feels even nicer.

its already very good, and only reason i will change, is that it has hardware problem.
example GPS doesn work anymore, camera spoil, unable to call etc...

if every android release also need to change phone,
then you really become a droid-sheep. letting google & phone manufacturers suck your money.
Agree, I still feel my S2 rocking solid after 1 year of release.
Personal opinion that S3 isn't too much of a upgrade from S2.
So far my phone still haven't fail me in anything, although GPS always bug me from ROM to ROM. doh.gif
salimbest83
post Jul 7 2012, 01:26 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(JonSpark @ Jul 7 2012, 07:59 AM)
Feipusi 2100mah batt?
aa ya. tat one.
for me. i more fedup with original battery already.
many shop alwayz conned ppl.
say ORI la bla2. price also like ori
then performance worse than standard battery

Added on July 7, 2012, 1:28 pm
QUOTE(firemoon82 @ Jul 7 2012, 09:46 AM)
guys where to buy ori sammy bat 2000mah ? Can buy it at sammy centre?
VERY2 PRICEY!!
CANT GET 2-3 pcs 2100mAh battery

This post has been edited by salimbest83: Jul 7 2012, 01:28 PM
firemoon82
post Jul 7 2012, 01:59 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(salimbest83 @ Jul 7 2012, 01:26 PM)

VERY2 PRICEY!!
CANT GET 2-3 pcs 2100mAh battery
what do u mean? Its not worth to buy that ori samsung 2000mah bat?..
nehalem176
post Jul 7 2012, 03:13 PM

781 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Jul 7 2012, 12:01 PM)
say, anyone using cm9 or paranoidandroid notice that sometimes in sdcard/DCIM/thumbnails/ will have a cache file that is over 2gb? sweat.gif everytime i delete it  but it will appear back if i use the gallery app  sweat.gif
None happen to me. Maybe you're using dir bind. Thats my first guess.
garytey
post Jul 7 2012, 03:22 PM

948 posts

after upgrade to ics, most of my video file cannot play, even with mx player. during gingerbread they all play well.. can anyone help pls
nehalem176
post Jul 7 2012, 03:25 PM

781 posts

QUOTE(garytey @ Jul 7 2012, 03:22 PM)
after upgrade to ics, most of my video file cannot play, even with mx player. during gingerbread they all play well.. can anyone help pls
Welcome to the club. Yup, ics built in codec is suxx
garytey
post Jul 7 2012, 03:27 PM

948 posts

QUOTE(nehalem176 @ Jul 7 2012, 03:25 PM)
Welcome to the club. Yup, ics built in codec is suxx
really? guess i need to go back to gingerbread, if the stock rom i download from sammobile is only a single file(without modem and csc), shall i tick re-partition or just leave it uncheck??

or any custom rom is suggested?

This post has been edited by garytey: Jul 7 2012, 03:28 PM
salimbest83
post Jul 7 2012, 03:28 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(firemoon82 @ Jul 7 2012, 01:59 PM)
what do u mean? Its not worth to buy that ori samsung 2000mah bat?..
cant say suck but since there a few aftermarket battery supplier that is good enuf.
so the asking price for ori samsung is crazily high

Added on July 7, 2012, 3:31 pm
QUOTE(garytey @ Jul 7 2012, 03:27 PM)
really? guess i need to go back to gingerbread, if the stock rom i download from sammobile is only a single file(without modem and csc), shall i tick re-partition or just leave it uncheck??

try zetarom, turkbey or omega for sammy flavor
or neat, paranoid etc..
much2 better lor than stock sammy..

battery life on my zetarom really great. still 74 since this morning

This post has been edited by salimbest83: Jul 7 2012, 03:31 PM
SUSdestEX
post Jul 7 2012, 03:37 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(nehalem176 @ Jul 7 2012, 03:13 PM)
None happen to me. Maybe you're using dir bind. Thats my first guess.
yea could be hmm.gif also i'm using quickpic, could be that causing it also, ohwell not a big problem, just gotta delete it if i need to use that 2GB

QUOTE(garytey @ Jul 7 2012, 03:27 PM)

weird, my vid codecs worked fine when i using sammy ics hmm.gif you can try DICE player and see
garytey
post Jul 7 2012, 03:52 PM

948 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Jul 7 2012, 03:37 PM)
yea could be  hmm.gif also i'm using quickpic, could be that causing it also,  ohwell not a big problem, just gotta delete it if i need to use that 2GB
weird, my vid codecs worked fine when i using sammy ics hmm.gif  you can try DICE player and see
still cannot with dice player ad..haiz
REManiac
post Jul 7 2012, 05:34 PM

22 posts

Sometimes when I plugged in my dad's Galaxy SII to my PC via USB, the speaker will suddenly doesn't work anymore.
I had tried to play a song/video but no luck. Same goes to incoming call's ringtone.
Tried to perform phone restart, still can't solve it.
I had checked the phone settings, the volume was set to highest level, and silent/vibrate weren't activated, just same as before.

Anyone knows what's wrong with the phone? And how to solve it?
antt00
post Jul 7 2012, 05:41 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Jul 7 2012, 03:37 PM)
yea could be  hmm.gif also i'm using quickpic, could be that causing it also,  ohwell not a big problem, just gotta delete it if i need to use that 2GB
Yeah i had 1gb in my sdcard thumbnail and a few hundred mb in external card thumbnail. I dun use gallery only quickpic, so maybe thats the culprit. I just emptied both the thumbnail folder, to observe when they come back.
FreakyRookie
post Jul 7 2012, 05:42 PM

155 posts

How to print screen my S2..i just bought de phone. Mine is ïcs 4.o.3....need help..

game4life
post Jul 7 2012, 05:43 PM

1,943 posts

QUOTE(FreakyRookie @ Jul 7 2012, 05:42 PM)
How to print screen my S2..i just bought de phone. Mine  is ïcs 4.o.3....need help..
vol down + power button
antt00
post Jul 7 2012, 05:43 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(garytey @ Jul 7 2012, 03:22 PM)
Are you sure. On samsung ICS rom i had never had video codec problem. All those that run on GB run well also on ICS with MXplayer.

On ICS aosp i use diceplayer which seems to be able to play everything so far. Mxplayer seems buggy for aosp.
REManiac
post Jul 7 2012, 05:45 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(FreakyRookie @ Jul 7 2012, 05:42 PM)
How to print screen my S2..i just bought de phone. Mine  is ïcs 4.o.3....need help..
Lock Key + Home Key works too
Dark_Angel85
post Jul 7 2012, 05:59 PM

Government Agent
956 posts

Confession of an S III vs S II experience:

Got a hold of the S III finally to play around with. Was honestly VERY impressed with the hardware cause from the pictures and the videos, I always thought that the design was too rounded and just in general not so nice like the SII..

So, it did take me by surprise that I didn't think that the S III design was bad or even the slightest bit unbecoming... in fact, it felt so ergonomic in the hand with the rounded back. Overall, really liked the design.

In terms of day to day uses, only 2 things stood out for me. Firstly, browsing was like indeed a very pleasant experience. I'm not so much in for the speeds and loading time cause they WERE NOT THAT different. of course the S III is DEFINITELY faster, but not by a mile. the browsing experience on the S III won heavily because of the smart stay option. Not having to bother about dimming screens and a sharper display indeed is a killer combo. It wins in that aspect, making the browsing experience VERY improved. Of course, browsing the internet was nice with that display and it of course loads everything a tad bit faster. I got mixed results when it came to browsing... maybe due to the fact that my S II was heavily modded and also probably some cached websites sometimes... Other than that, it didn't feel wayyyyyyyyy snappier compared to each other..

The camera reallllllly was the one that blew me away... the front facing camera was so god damn smooth, it felt like butter compared to our S II. and the 0 shutter lag is always impressive. I dare say it's even better than the iPhone's back camera. the sharpness and quality just blows me away.

In terms of gaming (which to me is quite important), luckily Shadowgun was installed in this dudes' phone, tried it cause I played it a lot on my S II as well... and it was not SOOOOOOOO much of a difference. Just that a bigger screen, a bit sharper details... but overall smoothness... unnoticeable to me at least.

In fact, probably you're paying RM1400++ (after trading in our via telco contract) for just a hairs inch of improvement in terms of smoothness and opening of apps. The camera and browsing experience were not justified enough for me to chip out RM1400 to change it.

RM 1400 for a better browser and camera?

I think I will wait.
FreakyRookie
post Jul 7 2012, 06:37 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(REManiac @ Jul 7 2012, 05:45 PM)
Lock Key + Home Key works too
Thanks ya.get it.

Added on July 7, 2012, 6:37 pm
QUOTE(game4life @ Jul 7 2012, 05:43 PM)
vol down + power button
Got it thanks ya.

This post has been edited by FreakyRookie: Jul 7 2012, 06:37 PM
Ryutaro
post Jul 7 2012, 06:42 PM

~ Just a noob programmer ~
545 posts

QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Jul 7 2012, 05:59 PM)
Confession of an S III vs S II experience:

Got a hold of the S III finally to play around with. Was honestly VERY impressed with the hardware cause from the pictures and the videos, I always thought that the design was too rounded and just in general not so nice like the SII..

So, it did take me by surprise that I didn't think that the S III design was bad or even the slightest bit unbecoming... in fact, it felt so ergonomic in the hand with the rounded back. Overall, really liked the design.

In terms of day to day uses, only 2 things stood out for me. Firstly, browsing was like indeed a very pleasant experience. I'm not so much in for the speeds and loading time cause they WERE NOT THAT different. of course the S III is DEFINITELY faster, but not by a mile. the browsing experience on the S III won heavily because of the smart stay option. Not having to bother about dimming screens and a sharper display indeed is a killer combo. It wins in that aspect, making the browsing experience VERY improved. Of course, browsing the internet was nice with that display and it of course loads everything a tad bit faster. I got mixed results when it came to browsing... maybe due to the fact that my S II was heavily modded and also probably some cached websites sometimes... Other than that, it didn't feel wayyyyyyyyy snappier compared to each other..

The camera reallllllly was the one that blew me away... the front facing camera was so god damn smooth, it felt like butter compared to our S II. and the 0 shutter lag is always impressive. I dare say it's even better than the iPhone's back camera. the sharpness and quality just blows me away.

In terms of gaming (which to me is quite important), luckily Shadowgun was installed in this dudes' phone, tried it cause I played it a lot on my S II as well... and it was not SOOOOOOOO much of a difference. Just that a bigger screen, a bit sharper details... but overall smoothness... unnoticeable to me at least.

In fact, probably you're paying RM1400++ (after trading in our via telco contract) for just a hairs inch of improvement in terms of smoothness and opening of apps. The camera and browsing experience were not justified enough for me to chip out RM1400 to change it.

RM 1400 for a better browser and camera?

I think I will wait.
Thumbs up for the long review haha how about the battery life?

For me SII suit my everyday need already, if anything i wan extra would be asus transfomer prime@@
Dark_Angel85
post Jul 7 2012, 06:43 PM

Government Agent
956 posts

QUOTE(Ryutaro @ Jul 7 2012, 06:42 PM)
Thumbs up for the long review haha how about the battery life?

For me SII suit my everyday need already, if anything i wan extra would be asus transfomer prime@@
I didn't get to play with it throughout the day... but I'm assuming battery life should be about the same. Bigger battery but more cores. So, they should cancel each other out

140 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0267sec    1.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:30 PM